Market
Pennywise
What is a "good salary" in Kenya?
kaka2za wrote:Am sticking to my lane. Kinoo -Rengen all the way! Brings us to the issue of middle class Most middle class are in the lower middle class category
Rank: New-farer Joined: 2/7/2016 Posts: 79 Location: Home
I believe for a bachelor/spinster, a net income of 300k is enough to live well. When living alone, you only need a one bedroom apartment in a good address. You only need around 40k or 50k max and you have 250k for everything else. You can save 200k and have expenses of 50k which is very extravagant. So in my opinion, a bachelor earning a net of 300k is living life on the first lane. For a man with a working wife and one child, I would put it at 500k...and assume that his wife earns 100k. I do not intent to mean that women should earn less than men, only that women tend to marry "up" and men marry "down". A man with an income of 400k will likely have a wife with an income of 100k (assumption). Therefore, for a family with one child, a net income of 500k will afford them a comfortable life.
Rank: New-farer Joined: 5/22/2016 Posts: 69 Location: Nairobi
Mkondoa Macho wrote:I believe for a bachelor/spinster, a net income of 300k is enough to live well. When living alone, you only need a one bedroom apartment in a good address. You only need around 40k or 50k max and you have 250k for everything else. You can save 200k and have expenses of 50k which is very extravagant. So in my opinion, a bachelor earning a net of 300k is living life on the first lane. For a man with a working wife and one child, I would put it at 500k...and assume that his wife earns 100k. I do not intent to mean that women should earn less than men, only that women tend to marry "up" and men marry "down". A man with an income of 400k will likely have a wife with an income of 100k (assumption). Therefore, for a family with one child, a net income of 500k will afford them a comfortable life. , Part of this might be what is fueling this corruption and accumulation craze. Tenderprenuers .
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
newfarer wrote:Salary wise very very few people earn more than 100K gross. Kenyan road are still jammed with cars and not all these car owners have known businesses. So If you are earning over 100K count yourself lucky . Live your life within the 100k limit don't live other people's life. You will only lose it if you want to live a celebrity life True. Only less than three per cent of all salaried Kenyan workers earn more than Sh100,000, according to the Kenya National Bureau of Statistics 2015 report. http://www.the-star.co.k...s-strikers-told_c1470936
Rank: User Joined: 8/15/2013 Posts: 13,236 Location: Vacuum
hardwood wrote:[quote=newfarer]Salary wise very very few people earn more than 100K gross. Kenyan road are still jammed with cars and not all these car owners have known businesses. So If you are earning over 100K count yourself lucky . Live your life within the 100k limit don't live other people's life. You will only lose it if you want to live a celebrity life True. Only less than three per cent of all salaried Kenyan workers earn more than Sh100,000, according to the Kenya National Bureau of Statistics 2015 report. http://www.the-star.co.k...-strikers-told_c1470936[/quote] So who are these guys spending 50K on food alone while they earning a mere gross of 100K? If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
I wonder how many Kenyans are "genuinely " earning kshs300K(close $40K annually). A good number in developed countries earning less. Majority of Chinese making less. work to prosper
Tokyo wrote:I wonder how many Kenyans are "genuinely " earning kshs300K(close $40K annually). A good number in developed countries earning less. Majority of Chinese making less. If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/19/2010 Posts: 1,308 Location: nairobi metropolitan
Swenani wrote:githundi wrote:Just wondering. ..how many earn above 450 k gross here. ..let us be real. . Mimi sijafika huko. .. Hii wazua sio ya watu wanaoishi huko Yols, ask admin to start a forum for "your kind" of people earning peanuts or you join me in relocating to Todonyang Wewe Swenani wacha matusi. .. Just saying those earning more than 450k are outliers in the scheme of things #Fact Democracy does not belong to the dead
Rank: Member Joined: 6/21/2010 Posts: 345 Location: easto
Swenani wrote: watu huku Nairobi boil stima for Breakfast and deep fry it for lunch...Kwanza inakaa hujaona hio ya 50K for shopping and food every month? On top of the boiled and fried stima
We are not necessarily talking about ourselves, we have colleagues, relatives and friends(experiences) whom we know very well and know(with 90% certainty) their costs. We also know they live a comfortable and befitting life in these upmarket places. For stima, kuwa na water pump, bake/grill like thrice a week and come and report here what you will pay that month.. 50K shopping and food covers all aspects including house gal, cloths, food etc. From the kitchen... Dinner comprising fish(not Swenanis ) and carbohydrates, fruits etc for a family of 5 will cost you minimum Ksh 900. That is one meal. So spending 30K on food per month in a middle class home is not extravagance. "The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence." ― Charles Bukowski
Rank: Member Joined: 6/21/2010 Posts: 345 Location: easto
githundi wrote:Swenani wrote:githundi wrote:Just wondering. ..how many earn above 450 k gross here. ..let us be real. . Mimi sijafika huko. .. Hii wazua sio ya watu wanaoishi huko Yols, ask admin to start a forum for "your kind" of people earning peanuts or you join me in relocating to Todonyang Wewe Swenani wacha matusi. .. Just saying those earning more than 450k are outliers in the scheme of things #Fact 450K gross house hold income think ni wengi kiasi. OK I imagine. 450K gross salary for individuals will be mostly for deputy managers/managers in large Corporations/Private sector. Husband and wife who are in middle management in these corporations will also make that combined. "The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence." ― Charles Bukowski
folks on wazua 24/7/365 and earning over 450k ? how
#hides
If you are relying on employment to generate that 300k lifestyle then stop imagining that you belong to the leafy suburbs. If you are fired today and cannot maintain that lifestyle for 5 years just go back to your lane. You are not that productive.
Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote:folks on wazua 24/7/365 and earning over 450k ? how
#hides In most organisations kuna 'food chain' Those guys on the top(horses) spend time 'thinking' Thinking could include wazuaing The guys beneath them (donkeys) toil hard, bila net
tnai9 wrote:githundi wrote:Swenani wrote:githundi wrote:Just wondering. ..how many earn above 450 k gross here. ..let us be real. . Mimi sijafika huko. .. Hii wazua sio ya watu wanaoishi huko Yols, ask admin to start a forum for "your kind" of people earning peanuts or you join me in relocating to Todonyang Wewe Swenani wacha matusi. .. Just saying those earning more than 450k are outliers in the scheme of things #Fact 450K gross house hold income think ni wengi kiasi. OK I imagine. 450K gross salary for individuals will be mostly for deputy managers/managers in large Corporations/Private sector. Husband and wife who are in middle management in these corporations will also make that combined. You have no idea of what you are talking about! If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:tnai9 wrote:githundi wrote:Swenani wrote:githundi wrote:Just wondering. ..how many earn above 450 k gross here. ..let us be real. . Mimi sijafika huko. .. Hii wazua sio ya watu wanaoishi huko Yols, ask admin to start a forum for "your kind" of people earning peanuts or you join me in relocating to Todonyang Wewe Swenani wacha matusi. .. Just saying those earning more than 450k are outliers in the scheme of things #Fact 450K gross house hold income think ni wengi kiasi. OK I imagine. 450K gross salary for individuals will be mostly for deputy managers/managers in large Corporations/Private sector. Husband and wife who are in middle management in these corporations will also make that combined. You have no idea of what you are talking about! I thought that is the starting salary of most software devs, akina masukuma na alma
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/19/2010 Posts: 3,504 Location: Uganda
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Swenani wrote:tnai9 wrote:githundi wrote:Swenani wrote:githundi wrote:Just wondering. ..how many earn above 450 k gross here. ..let us be real. . Mimi sijafika huko. .. Hii wazua sio ya watu wanaoishi huko Yols, ask admin to start a forum for "your kind" of people earning peanuts or you join me in relocating to Todonyang Wewe Swenani wacha matusi. .. Just saying those earning more than 450k are outliers in the scheme of things #Fact 450K gross house hold income think ni wengi kiasi. OK I imagine. 450K gross salary for individuals will be mostly for deputy managers/managers in large Corporations/Private sector. Husband and wife who are in middle management in these corporations will also make that combined. You have no idea of what you are talking about! I thought that is the starting salary of most software devs, akina masukuma na alma I most large organisations with over 500 employees fewer than 10 employees earn more than 300000 pm from a point of knowledge punda amecheka
Count Yourself lucky if You have a gross salary above 200,000ksh. The low mortgage uptake statistics in Kenya is a pointer that a small percentage of the population can comfortably service a monthly mortgage payment of 100,000ksh , that is unless You are a banker.
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Swenani wrote:tnai9 wrote:githundi wrote:Swenani wrote:githundi wrote:Just wondering. ..how many earn above 450 k gross here. ..let us be real. . Mimi sijafika huko. .. Hii wazua sio ya watu wanaoishi huko Yols, ask admin to start a forum for "your kind" of people earning peanuts or you join me in relocating to Todonyang Wewe Swenani wacha matusi. .. Just saying those earning more than 450k are outliers in the scheme of things #Fact 450K gross house hold income think ni wengi kiasi. OK I imagine. 450K gross salary for individuals will be mostly for deputy managers/managers in large Corporations/Private sector. Husband and wife who are in middle management in these corporations will also make that combined. You have no idea of what you are talking about! I thought that is the starting salary of most software devs, akina masukuma na alma Even a graduate with CPA and 3 yrs exp who is not a manager(who doesn't even supervise the filing clerk intern) makes that If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
josimar wrote: Count Yourself lucky if You have a gross salary above 200,000ksh. The low mortgage uptake statistics in Kenya is a pointer that a small percentage of the population can comfortably service a monthly mortgage payment of 100,000ksh , that is unless You are a banker.
it would be tricky using housing and especially mortgage as a pointer to what people earn, in kenya housing is cheap, do you know that majority of Kenyans actually own their homes, plus if one is even earning 50k it is very affordable for the same individual to own a house, a ka loan of 700k get one a nice plot and another loan of around 800k will put up a decent 3 bedroom house
Market
Pennywise
What is a "good salary" in Kenya?