Investor
Stocks
KCB buy buy buy
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,254 Location: Nairobi
obiero wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:lochaz-index wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Banking is all about "confidence" no matter the size of the bank. Despite all the "hate" vs the Kaburu banks, the reality is that is where I would run if there was a crisis of confidence among KE banks.
Not KCB [even with GoK support], definitely not NBK. I like Equity but coz King James is the king and he inspires confidence among the masses. GoK will support KCB but the inefficiencies at KCB will probably mean I have no access to my money anyway!
BBK and Stanchart have institutional memory. They have systems. They can draw on their parents for operational support.
Ironically, the money deposited into M-Pesa does end up at a bank. I think CBA and KCB. Yeah, quite likely CBA and KCB hold the bulk of Mpesa deposits. But with a systemic crisis in KE banks, safcom will simply divert the cash flush elsewhere till risk of deposit loss subsides. You should stick to fuel manenos.. KCB has a deeper history in Kenya than all the others you mention quite ignorantly Yet of all the banks mentioned, only KCB & NBK came close to collapsing BUT for GoK bailing them out. Lakini, what do some of these chaps know except to insult folks? *Equity wasn't a bank until fairly recently. It's predecessor did get into some trouble but managed to dig itself out without a GoK bailout* KCB simply made a loss in 2004, this propaganda that it almost collapsed borders on insanity.. Terry Davidson can prove it. Feel free to post contrary evidence Of course! As always, you are right. It simply made a loss and Terry Davidson [who also happens to be on KK's board] can prove it. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,889 Location: nairobi
VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:lochaz-index wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Banking is all about "confidence" no matter the size of the bank. Despite all the "hate" vs the Kaburu banks, the reality is that is where I would run if there was a crisis of confidence among KE banks.
Not KCB [even with GoK support], definitely not NBK. I like Equity but coz King James is the king and he inspires confidence among the masses. GoK will support KCB but the inefficiencies at KCB will probably mean I have no access to my money anyway!
BBK and Stanchart have institutional memory. They have systems. They can draw on their parents for operational support.
Ironically, the money deposited into M-Pesa does end up at a bank. I think CBA and KCB. Yeah, quite likely CBA and KCB hold the bulk of Mpesa deposits. But with a systemic crisis in KE banks, safcom will simply divert the cash flush elsewhere till risk of deposit loss subsides. You should stick to fuel manenos.. KCB has a deeper history in Kenya than all the others you mention quite ignorantly Yet of all the banks mentioned, only KCB & NBK came close to collapsing BUT for GoK bailing them out. Lakini, what do some of these chaps know except to insult folks? *Equity wasn't a bank until fairly recently. It's predecessor did get into some trouble but managed to dig itself out without a GoK bailout* KCB simply made a loss in 2004, this propaganda that it almost collapsed borders on insanity.. Terry Davidson can prove it. Feel free to post contrary evidence Of course! As always, you are right. It simply made a loss and Terry Davidson [who also happens to be on KK's board] can prove it. I may be wrong sir.. Simply asking for a link to your claims of simbas collapse COOP ABP 15.85; IMH ABP 35.55; KQ ABP 5.76; MTN ABP 5.20
obiero wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:lochaz-index wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Banking is all about "confidence" no matter the size of the bank. Despite all the "hate" vs the Kaburu banks, the reality is that is where I would run if there was a crisis of confidence among KE banks.
Ironically, the money deposited into M-Pesa does end up at a bank. I think CBA and KCB. Yeah, quite likely CBA and KCB hold the bulk of Mpesa deposits. But with a systemic crisis in KE banks, safcom will simply divert the cash flush elsewhere till risk of deposit loss subsides. You should stick to fuel manenos.. KCB has a deeper history in Kenya than all the others you mention quite ignorantly Yet of all the banks mentioned, only KCB & NBK came close to collapsing BUT for GoK bailing them out. Lakini, what do some of these chaps know except to insult folks? *Equity wasn't a bank until fairly recently. It's predecessor did get into some trouble but managed to dig itself out without a GoK bailout* KCB simply made a loss in 2004, this propaganda that it almost collapsed borders on insanity.. Terry Davidson can prove it. Feel free to post contrary evidence Of course! As always, you are right. It simply made a loss and Terry Davidson [who also happens to be on KK's board] can prove it. I may be wrong sir.. Simply asking for a link to your claims of simbas collapse It happened many years ago. If I had a link, I would link you up. Some of were there. We saw the "fake" profits announced by Bii and Kaminchia. Anyway, it's OK. Choose what you want to believe. I don't have the copies of the then Annual Reports but they made interesting reading. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 10,786 Location: NAIROBI
@VVS Stick to fuel maneno. Kcb wasn't boiled out by GOK. It didn't have preference shares issued to it It didn't have negative working capital Debenture shares weren't issued like for the case of Uchumi There was no shareholders loan from GOK to KCB KCB just simply made a loss like other business do. Now you are saying GOK to bailout equity bank when it goes down . when GOK bails out equity you will have no access to your money similar like what you've mentioned about KCB Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Ericsson wrote:@VVS Stick to fuel maneno. Kcb wasn't boiled out by GOK. It didn't have preference shares issued to it It didn't have negative working capital Debenture shares weren't issued like for the case of Uchumi There was no shareholders loan from GOK to KCB KCB just simply made a loss like other business do.
Now you are saying GOK to bailout equity bank when it goes down . when GOK bails out equity you will have no access to your money similar like what you've mentioned about KCB Yes, you & @Obiero are always right. KCB was a solid bank. The best managed bank. Great profits. A bank that was run as well as the best of them. KCB has always met its Capital Ratios. How silly of me to think otherwise. My error. I apologize. http://erepository.uonbi...%20Commercial%20Bank%20(KCB)%20Rights%20Issue%20Of%202004.pdf?sequence=3 Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/4/2016 Posts: 1,997 Location: Kitale
VituVingiSana wrote:Ericsson wrote:@VVS Stick to fuel maneno. Kcb wasn't boiled out by GOK. It didn't have preference shares issued to it It didn't have negative working capital Debenture shares weren't issued like for the case of Uchumi There was no shareholders loan from GOK to KCB KCB just simply made a loss like other business do.
Now you are saying GOK to bailout equity bank when it goes down . when GOK bails out equity you will have no access to your money similar like what you've mentioned about KCB Yes, you & @Obiero are always right. KCB was a solid bank. The best managed bank. Great profits. A bank that was run as well as the best of them. KCB has always met its Capital Ratios. How silly of me to think otherwise. My error. I apologize. http://erepository.uonbi...%20Commercial%20Bank%20(KCB)%20Rights%20Issue%20Of%202004.pdf?sequence=3 Towards the goal of financial freedom
Ebenyo wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Ericsson wrote:@VVS Stick to fuel maneno. Kcb wasn't boiled out by GOK. It didn't have preference shares issued to it It didn't have negative working capital Debenture shares weren't issued like for the case of Uchumi There was no shareholders loan from GOK to KCB KCB just simply made a loss like other business do.
Now you are saying GOK to bailout equity bank when it goes down . when GOK bails out equity you will have no access to your money similar like what you've mentioned about KCB Yes, you & @Obiero are always right. KCB was a solid bank. The best managed bank. Great profits. A bank that was run as well as the best of them. KCB has always met its Capital Ratios. How silly of me to think otherwise. My error. I apologize. http://erepository.uonbi...%20Commercial%20Bank%20(KCB)%20Rights%20Issue%20Of%202004.pdf?sequence=3 And now @vvs sends us a dud link.. Who allows this guy to be soo reckless COOP ABP 15.85; IMH ABP 35.55; KQ ABP 5.76; MTN ABP 5.20
@Obiero Vvs never accepts defeat so its better just leave him alone. Nearly all the listed companies have done a rights issue at one time. Even EABL, Stanchart, Equity before he came to know about it so his reasoning doesn’t hold water. Vvs kaa na petroli wachana na banks. Unfortunately and luckily kk main banker is KCB Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Ericsson wrote:@Obiero Vvs never accepts defeat so its better just leave him alone. Nearly all the listed companies have done a rights issue at one time. Even EABL, Stanchart, Equity before he came to know about it so his reasoning doesn’t hold water. Vvs kaa na petroli wachana na banks. Unfortunately and luckily kk main banker is KCB
Equity Bank [after it listed] has never done a Rights Issue. A Rights Issue is NOT a bad thing in itself BUT the reason for a Rights Issue is important. KQ, Uchumi, etc did Rights Issues to fill holes/shortfalls NOT to expand their business. Anyway, good luck with KCB. I wish you well. *In the meantime, while KK supports KCB, I hope you fill up at KK.* Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/4/2016 Posts: 1,997 Location: Kitale
The results of this debate is as follows: 1.Obiero-20% 2.Ericson-25% 3.Vvs-55% Towards the goal of financial freedom
Ebenyo wrote:The results of this debate is as follows: 1.Obiero-20% 2.Ericson-25% 3.Vvs-55% @vvs 100% COOP ABP 15.85; IMH ABP 35.55; KQ ABP 5.76; MTN ABP 5.20
obiero wrote:Ebenyo wrote:The results of this debate is as follows: 1.Obiero-20% 2.Ericson-25% 3.Vvs-55% @vvs 100% More wood for the fire.. http://www.businessdaily...82548-xhdxvaz/index.html COOP ABP 15.85; IMH ABP 35.55; KQ ABP 5.76; MTN ABP 5.20
VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:lochaz-index wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Banking is all about "confidence" no matter the size of the bank. Despite all the "hate" vs the Kaburu banks, the reality is that is where I would run if there was a crisis of confidence among KE banks.
Ironically, the money deposited into M-Pesa does end up at a bank. I think CBA and KCB. Yeah, quite likely CBA and KCB hold the bulk of Mpesa deposits. But with a systemic crisis in KE banks, safcom will simply divert the cash flush elsewhere till risk of deposit loss subsides. You should stick to fuel manenos.. KCB has a deeper history in Kenya than all the others you mention quite ignorantly Yet of all the banks mentioned, only KCB & NBK came close to collapsing BUT for GoK bailing them out. Lakini, what do some of these chaps know except to insult folks? *Equity wasn't a bank until fairly recently. It's predecessor did get into some trouble but managed to dig itself out without a GoK bailout* KCB simply made a loss in 2004, this propaganda that it almost collapsed borders on insanity.. Terry Davidson can prove it. Feel free to post contrary evidence Of course! As always, you are right. It simply made a loss and Terry Davidson [who also happens to be on KK's board] can prove it. I may be wrong sir.. Simply asking for a link to your claims of simbas collapse It happened many years ago. If I had a link, I would link you up. Some of were there. We saw the "fake" profits announced by Bii and Kaminchia. Anyway, it's OK. Choose what you want to believe. I don't have the copies of the then Annual Reports but they made interesting reading. KCB was bailed by Gok in 2002. When Gareth took over that is how government ended up with 35% shareholding which was diluted in subsequent rights issues. KCB run well
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
Kausha wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:lochaz-index wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Banking is all about "confidence" no matter the size of the bank. Despite all the "hate" vs the Kaburu banks, the reality is that is where I would run if there was a crisis of confidence among KE banks.
Ironically, the money deposited into M-Pesa does end up at a bank. I think CBA and KCB. Yeah, quite likely CBA and KCB hold the bulk of Mpesa deposits. But with a systemic crisis in KE banks, safcom will simply divert the cash flush elsewhere till risk of deposit loss subsides. You should stick to fuel manenos.. KCB has a deeper history in Kenya than all the others you mention quite ignorantly Yet of all the banks mentioned, only KCB & NBK came close to collapsing BUT for GoK bailing them out. Lakini, what do some of these chaps know except to insult folks? *Equity wasn't a bank until fairly recently. It's predecessor did get into some trouble but managed to dig itself out without a GoK bailout* KCB simply made a loss in 2004, this propaganda that it almost collapsed borders on insanity.. Terry Davidson can prove it. Feel free to post contrary evidence Of course! As always, you are right. It simply made a loss and Terry Davidson [who also happens to be on KK's board] can prove it. I may be wrong sir.. Simply asking for a link to your claims of simbas collapse It happened many years ago. If I had a link, I would link you up. Some of were there. We saw the "fake" profits announced by Bii and Kaminchia. Anyway, it's OK. Choose what you want to believe. I don't have the copies of the then Annual Reports but they made interesting reading. KCB was bailed by Gok in 2002. When Gareth took over that is how government ended up with 35% shareholding which was diluted in subsequent rights issues. KCB run well KCB was in deep sh** kwanza when they tried to sell Kencom to the KCB Pension Fund to stay afloat in 2002. Life is short. Live passionately.
sparkly wrote:Kausha wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:lochaz-index wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Banking is all about "confidence" no matter the size of the bank. Despite all the "hate" vs the Kaburu banks, the reality is that is where I would run if there was a crisis of confidence among KE banks.
Ironically, the money deposited into M-Pesa does end up at a bank. I think CBA and KCB. Yeah, quite likely CBA and KCB hold the bulk of Mpesa deposits. But with a systemic crisis in KE banks, safcom will simply divert the cash flush elsewhere till risk of deposit loss subsides. You should stick to fuel manenos.. KCB has a deeper history in Kenya than all the others you mention quite ignorantly Yet of all the banks mentioned, only KCB & NBK came close to collapsing BUT for GoK bailing them out. Lakini, what do some of these chaps know except to insult folks? *Equity wasn't a bank until fairly recently. It's predecessor did get into some trouble but managed to dig itself out without a GoK bailout* KCB simply made a loss in 2004, this propaganda that it almost collapsed borders on insanity.. Terry Davidson can prove it. Feel free to post contrary evidence Of course! As always, you are right. It simply made a loss and Terry Davidson [who also happens to be on KK's board] can prove it. I may be wrong sir.. Simply asking for a link to your claims of simbas collapse It happened many years ago. If I had a link, I would link you up. Some of were there. We saw the "fake" profits announced by Bii and Kaminchia. Anyway, it's OK. Choose what you want to believe. I don't have the copies of the then Annual Reports but they made interesting reading. KCB was bailed by Gok in 2002. When Gareth took over that is how government ended up with 35% shareholding which was diluted in subsequent rights issues. KCB run well KCB was in deep sh** kwanza when they tried to sell Kencom to the KCB Pension Fund to stay afloat in 2002. I recall the KCB Pension Fund refused to take Kencom House in lieu of a cash "contribution" to the pension fund. What happened thereafter? Nowadays, Kencom House has many other (non-KCB) tenants. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
edwinmukiri wrote:Gatheuzi wrote:obiero wrote:KiFagio wrote:obiero wrote:sold my entire KCB holding today @ 60 You must be loaded. What was your entry point? 26.50 Profit 19,600X(60-26.50)=656,600. Potential CGT ignoring brokerage fees = 32,830. Thats awesome profit... for how long did you hold the share?? TBT COOP ABP 15.85; IMH ABP 35.55; KQ ABP 5.76; MTN ABP 5.20
Rank: Veteran Joined: 8/11/2010 Posts: 1,011 Location: nairobi
Rank: Veteran Joined: 3/26/2012 Posts: 985 Location: Dar es salaam,Tanzania
@ 23.75 Testing supply “The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.”
Equity and KCB in a tight race to the bottom  $15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Investor
Stocks
KCB buy buy buy