mlennyma wrote:
Yowel wrote:
@Mainat, the reality will only sink in when the economy takes his job

True. Typical Kenyan mentality.

i concur. the economy humbles people, big and small.

Small people are already humbled.
Let's enjoy the small picture before the prophecy of the Wazua geniuses becomes reality.
For now,we, daft people are happy!

As a leading economic researcher in Africa.. I confirm and repeat, economically speaking the bill will make Kenya great again

Yes trump,Iam buying banks next year when reality sinks.I expect a mean dividend on bank stocks this year

All the best. Be careful with the smaller banks though, some will fold

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#1582 Posted : Thursday, December 01, 2016 6:07:32 PM

Yowel wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
Yowel wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
Let me be counted among the pro rate cap hoi poloi. I still dont understand why rate cap is bad for business. The sooner banks get over their pity party , double down and get to work lending to those who deserve loans, the better it will be for all of us. No need having registered shylocks masquerading as banks. By June 2017, they will have seen the light and done away with their credit crunch games.

By the way, can someone explain to me slowly what interest rates have to do with weakening kenya shs against the dollar. What is the relationship.

First, refer to post #1522. Then ask questions.

@Yowel, kama huna jibu, dont expose your ignorance. Post #1522 does not answer my question. Let me give you another chance to answer the question. Go ahead, give it a shot, sio mtihani . . . nkt.

@tom_boy, kuwa mpole bwana.

Currency exchange rates are determined by a number of factors e.g. interest rates, current account on balance of payments, economic growth, relative inflation rate etc. Now looking at interest rates in isolation: if Kenyan interest rates rise, it shall become more attractive to save in Kes, thus a demand for the currency thus appreciation, but the KES is not a major currency and no one will dare do what ive explained considering the fragile nature of third world countries where savings could be wiped out in a flash.

Now, answering your question based on the current situation: most emerging economies have borrowed in USD, i.e. both governments (read Eurobond in kenya, Nigeria, Ghana etc) and even the private sector. When the US raise their interest rates, investments and funds shall start trickling back at the expense of other countries, demand for the dollar shall rise and the USD shall appreciate and other currencies shall depreciate (KES etc).

These shall be the effects:

1) investment shall be withdrawn by foreigners, a capital outflow which shall affect key investments both in the private sector and public sector.

2) repayment of debt shall be more expensive since the govt source of revenue is kes and repayment of debt is in usd, thus it shall take more kes to buy the same dollar. Thus the govt shall borrow more, still in Kes to meet the obligation, this shall cause interest rates to rise and the debt burden to increase even further. (For Kenya this is dangerous considering our budget deficit stands at 9.3% of GDP). For the government to protect the KES it needs to by either buy more dollars or raising interest rates higher crowding out funding for the private sector.

Your answer is irrelevant to this topic.

Let me state that I am a proud pro-capping and even started this thread (in what now seems like a long time ago).

The capping as has been done only restricts the interest rate spread and affects banks only, it should have no impact on the rest of the economy any different from how a free interest rate regime would have. The base interest rate can still swing between 0-100% depending on the macros, our currency is also still free floating.

Basically what banks have been told is that you can only make money within this limits from interest income, nothing else.

All this scaremongering by akina Maichblack is a result of only study economic theory and never bothering to apply the same in real life where the variables are as numerous as one can imagine.

PS, a major bank last week came to our office to sell us loans including credit cards and mortgages so I don't get this credit crunch bit that everyone is harping about.

Wacha sisi tu ishi na caps. The doomsayers can continue waiting for doomsday. Na hata even if the caps were to be reversed, it could only return us to where we were before the capping.

The imminent economic collapse or slow down is a result of poor governance, corruption and overspending and has nothing to do with rate caps. It started way before 2016 and could have happened even without the rate caps
#1583 Posted : Thursday, December 01, 2016 6:58:27 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

All this scaremongering by akina Maichblack,Central Bank Governor, Finance Cabinet Secretary, Experts at Treasury, World Bank, Kenya Association Manufacturers CEO, etc. etc. is a result of only study economic theory and never bothering to apply the same in real life where the variables are as numerous as one can imagine.

We are sorry @Obi 1 Kanobi!!! What do we know???
#1584 Posted : Thursday, December 01, 2016 8:23:08 PM

Barclays has been begging to extend a loan to me,including a credit card loan at 1.15% per month. I also don't understand when people say there is a credit crunch . I'm actually restraining myself from taking unplanned loans

Obi wrote :

PS, a major bank last week came to our office to sell us loans including credit cards and mortgages so I don't get this credit crunch bit that everyone is harping about.
#1585 Posted : Thursday, December 01, 2016 9:09:25 PM

Barclays has been begging to extend a loan to me,including a credit card loan at 1.15% per month. I also don't understand when people say there is a credit crunch . I'm actually restraining myself from taking unplanned loans

Obi wrote :

Let a businessman write his current situation with banks right now.. Personal banking has always been less risky. The SMEs are the real sufferers in this capping shit

#1586 Posted : Thursday, December 01, 2016 9:21:49 PM

Obi wrote :

Times are not easy for the small business owners

#1587 Posted : Thursday, December 01, 2016 9:54:33 PM

Obi wrote :

Let a businessman write his current situation with banks right now.. Personal banking has always been less risky. The SMEs are the real sufferers in this capping shit

Being in consultancy, I'm privy to smes doing very well with their banks. The thing is building relationships that can be trusted. Paying loans on time
. Wazua has many keyboard experts
#1588 Posted : Thursday, December 01, 2016 10:17:07 PM

Obi wrote :

They will come around for small businesses as well.
#1589 Posted : Friday, December 02, 2016 12:18:43 AM

Obi wrote :

Times are not easy for the small business owners

Says who? My installment has been reduced by 40%! Can't get easier.
#1590 Posted : Friday, December 02, 2016 7:25:22 AM

Obi wrote :

Being in consultancy, I'm privy to smes doing very well with their banks. The thing is building relationships that can be trusted. Paying loans on time

Hehe. You must be the chair of the experts if you believe Kenyan banks are fair to SMEs. Which Kenyan bank can give more than KES 3M to an SME unsecured? Which Kenyan bank gives less than KES 10m PERSONAL unsecured? There's a bias towards traders and it's known

tom_boy
#1591 Posted : Friday, December 02, 2016 8:08:12 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Yowel wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
Yowel wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
Let me be counted among the pro rate cap hoi poloi. I still dont understand why rate cap is bad for business. The sooner banks get over their pity party , double down and get to work lending to those who deserve loans, the better it will be for all of us. No need having registered shylocks masquerading as banks. By June 2017, they will have seen the light and done away with their credit crunch games.

By the way, can someone explain to me slowly what interest rates have to do with weakening kenya shs against the dollar. What is the relationship.

@Yowel, kama huna jibu, dont expose your ignorance. Post #1522 does not answer my question. Let me give you another chance to answer the question. Go ahead, give it a shot, sio mtihani . . . nkt.

Currency exchange rates are determined by a number of factors e.g. interest rates, current account on balance of payments, economic growth, relative inflation rate etc. Now looking at interest rates in isolation: if Kenyan interest rates rise, it shall become more attractive to save in Kes, thus a demand for the currency thus appreciation, but the KES is not a major currency and no one will dare do what ive explained considering the fragile nature of third world countries where savings could be wiped out in a flash.

Now, answering your question based on the current situation: most emerging economies have borrowed in USD, i.e. both governments (read Eurobond in kenya, Nigeria, Ghana etc) and even the private sector. When the US raise their interest rates, investments and funds shall start trickling back at the expense of other countries, demand for the dollar shall rise and the USD shall appreciate and other currencies shall depreciate (KES etc).

1) investment shall be withdrawn by foreigners, a capital outflow which shall affect key investments both in the private sector and public sector.

2) repayment of debt shall be more expensive since the govt source of revenue is kes and repayment of debt is in usd, thus it shall take more kes to buy the same dollar. Thus the govt shall borrow more, still in Kes to meet the obligation, this shall cause interest rates to rise and the debt burden to increase even further. (For Kenya this is dangerous considering our budget deficit stands at 9.3% of GDP). For the government to protect the KES it needs to by either buy more dollars or raising interest rates higher crowding out funding for the private sector.

Let me state that I am a proud pro-capping and even started this thread (in what now seems like a long time ago).

The capping as has been done only restricts the interest rate spread and affects banks only, it should have no impact on the rest of the economy any different from how a free interest rate regime would have. The base interest rate can still swing between 0-100% depending on the macros, our currency is also still free floating.

Basically what banks have been told is that you can only make money within this limits from interest income, nothing else.

All this scaremongering by akina Maichblack is a result of only study economic theory and never bothering to apply the same in real life where the variables are as numerous as one can imagine.

Wacha sisi tu ishi na caps. The doomsayers can continue waiting for doomsday. Na hata even if the caps were to be reversed, it could only return us to where we were before the capping.

The imminent economic collapse or slow down is a result of poor governance, corruption and overspending and has nothing to do with rate caps. It started way before 2016 and could have happened even without the rate caps

@yowel, thanks for trying but as pointed out above, your answer does nothing to explain how rate caps are bad with a strong Usd. If anything, rate caps ensure that the Govt has better control of tbill rates as they are literally flooded by banks trying to buy paper. I keep saying its a dance between govt and the banks. Banks must choose wisely. Flood the govt with your money and rates will go lower thus less profit for them. Alternatively, get to work, do your research, make real effort in establishing relationships with loan worthy clients and you will have a good loan book not dependent on govt paper to make a profit. I believe those businesses exist and majority of them have never bothered to take a loan because of the usurious rates,but now, may just be willing to do so.
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
Kausha
#1592 Posted : Friday, December 02, 2016 11:26:48 AM

tom_boy wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Yowel wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
Yowel wrote:
tom_boy wrote:

@yowel, thanks for trying but as pointed out above, your answer does nothing to explain how rate caps are bad with a strong Usd. If anything, rate caps ensure that the Govt has better control of tbill rates as they are literally flooded by banks trying to buy paper. I keep saying its a dance between govt and the banks. Banks must choose wisely. Flood the govt with your money and rates will go lower thus less profit for them. Alternatively, get to work, do your research, make real effort in establishing relationships with loan worthy clients and you will have a good loan book not dependent on govt paper to make a profit. I believe those businesses exist and majority of them have never bothered to take a loan because of the usurious rates,but now, may just be willing to do so.

All these sounds nice but the theory breaks down when ypu realize the government is actually not flooded with money but is instead collecting all and showing insatiable appetite for more funds. GK is borrowing at 14.5% from twelve years do you really expect a bank to take consumer or SME credit risk? Certainly not.
#1593 Posted : Friday, December 02, 2016 12:02:32 PM

Obi wrote :

Hehe. You must be the chair of the experts if you believe Kenyan banks are fair to SMEs. Which Kenyan bank can give more than KES 3M to an SME unsecured? Which Kenyan bank gives less than KES 10m PERSONAL unsecured? There's a bias towards traders and it's known

@Obiero - Some fellows "analysis" is based on the fact that their M-shwari applicable loan has been increased from 7,500/= to 15,000/=. To them life is great! Good luck trying to explain to them SME manenos!!!
#1594 Posted : Friday, December 02, 2016 12:39:09 PM

@Obiero - Some fellows "analysis" is based on the fact that their M-shwari applicable loan has been increased from 7,500/= to 15,000/=. To them life is great! Good luck trying to explain to them SME manenos!!!

O U C H
iris
#1595 Posted : Friday, December 02, 2016 1:05:54 PM

condescending, supercilious, ++
#1596 Posted : Friday, December 02, 2016 1:08:54 PM

aemathenge wrote:

O U C H

I am still to see an intelligent post from ^^that guy.
#1597 Posted : Friday, December 02, 2016 2:09:42 PM

aemathenge wrote:

O U C H

Some people think speaking/typing good English is show of intelligence.

one thing I know about these keyboard expats have never run even a dip as a business. Theirs is to wait for monthend Salo only to discover how poor they were the moment the paycheck stops.

One day a huge stone fell on a squirrel. Everything went black. The squirrel said to himself, if all squirrels are feeling like me ni Sawa tu.

Lesson learn to say Sina pesa not Hakuna pesa
#1598 Posted : Friday, December 02, 2016 2:57:45 PM

aemathenge wrote:

O U C H

Some people think speaking/typing good English is show of intelligence.

one thing I know about these keyboard expats have never run even a dip as a business. Theirs is to wait for monthend Salo only to discover how poor they were the moment the paycheck stops.

One day a huge stone fell on a squirrel. Everything went black. The squirrel said to himself, if all squirrels are feeling like me ni Sawa tu.

Lesson learn to say Sina pesa not Hakuna pesa

@sparkly name and shame the bugger.. @newfarer soo true, some people depend on employment which drains the soul, modern day slavery

mkeiy
#1599 Posted : Friday, December 02, 2016 8:10:21 PM

Obi wrote :

@newfarer & obi. You two are the keyboard experts. Just because some bank came to your office,doesn't mean things are not bad. They are thick.
I am in business and things are going south. Sales are low, debtors are not paying and the banks are afraid of us. Majority of my circle have never taken a bank loan, but with sales low and debtors not paying, we need cash, so we go to the banks. The statements look impressive, but not for the last few months.
With the perceived high risk, we are getting no credit. And so we are sending employees home. Lost livelihoods. Lost tenants. Lost patrons. Lost tithe. Lost bus fare. Lost airtime. Etc.
The average business person consumes more of everything than the average office guy. Food. Beer. Real estate. Ict. Transport. Sex. Etc.
Business people run the economy. If they are not doing well, the whole economy gonna hurt.
For now the tide is sweeping the low-lying mortals like us, don't think you are too high. Once the whole economy grinds to halt, whom are you gonna consult for? Where will 'your offices' be getting money to pay you? How are you gonna pay that capped-interest loan? How about the credit?

In short,winter is in the offing. You the office 'northeners'and us the business 'wildlings', we all gonna be shitting!

#1600 Posted : Saturday, December 03, 2016 11:51:07 AM

muandiwambeu wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:
I told you guys to sell off bank stocks in 2014. Luckily made it out of some major holdings in good time..

but a big percent of your portfolio is still in banks!

so, what do you expect to be a fair hair cut on obieros portfolio as a result of kamwanaas house attempt to please Wanjiku. what will be the overall industries' hit in percentage. my fair guess from my lender's perspective
(16-14.5)/(16*0.5)*100=18.75% conservetively
thieves.

COOP & HF will come out strongest in this.. Too little meat to be bitten out from the two. Plus HF has never been strong on deposits being only licensed to have current accounts a few months ago!! HF will have the least interest expense of all listed lenders

Hey @Obiero. Bill not signed. And please note I did not put the word 'yet' at the end.

Its bound to be signed on Monday 29th Aug 2016

The bankers will visit statehouse with big brown envelop and this story will be forgotten.

Smaller banks will fold

October 24.2016.. The exchange bar remains true http://www.nation.co.ke/...ins/1226-3467944-48hpye/