wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

7 Pages«<4567>
North is not up!
#101 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 10:29:54 PM

It was mandated by the slave owner that only one breast could be used to feed the white child...if she switched up and let both black and white babies suckle from the same breast, she could be whipped because it was like them sharing the same water fountain. She wasn't a paid wet nurse who chose this profession, she was an enslaved woman who had to feed all of the white babies first and her child last. So if her milk went dry, the slave owner brought in another enslaved woman to feed his children; while the enslaved women's children went hungry. Enslaved ate leftovers or what they could grow in their little yards so sharing her milk with the slave owners' children meant her children got less or nothing at all.

hii pic imenijamisha mbaya sana.
the explanation is sickening to the core
thuks
#102 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 10:33:34 PM

as @simonkabz would say - matimoni

Users browsing this topic
Guest (3), masukuma

Guest (4), thuks
they never sleep smile
I care!
#103 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 10:42:21 PM

It was mandated by the slave owner that only one breast could be used to feed the white child...if she switched up and let both black and white babies suckle from the same breast, she could be whipped because it was like them sharing the same water fountain. She wasn't a paid wet nurse who chose this profession, she was an enslaved woman who had to feed all of the white babies first and her child last. So if her milk went dry, the slave owner brought in another enslaved woman to feed his children; while the enslaved women's children went hungry. Enslaved ate leftovers or what they could grow in their little yards so sharing her milk with the slave owners' children meant her children got less or nothing at all.

hii pic imenijamisha mbaya sana.
the explanation is sickening to the core

huko ndio tulitoka! kinda reminds me of the punchline of this comedy!
#104 Posted : Monday, December 29, 2014 12:03:37 AM

mathukuma yalienda wapi?
thuks
#105 Posted : Monday, December 29, 2014 7:05:31 AM

mathukuma yalienda wapi?

Yamekuwa ingokho smile
I care!
#106 Posted : Monday, December 29, 2014 8:58:22 AM

Africans are cry babies. As we speak we know that Petroleum and mining will drive African economies for the next 50-100 years. How many people have take petroleum industry based courses? the industry is not just mechanical drilling. It needs lawyers to draw contracts, accountants to keep books, insurers with special policies, environmental consultants, social workers, trainers, communications systems, security and so on. Then one day people will wake up and start crying "foreigners"
#107 Posted : Monday, December 29, 2014 10:47:28 AM

Mastermind wrote:
Yep. North isn't up, North is Kanyes daughter.

uko na mchezo sana masterApplause Applause
#108 Posted : Monday, December 29, 2014 11:28:49 AM

Africans are cry babies. As we speak we know that Petroleum and mining will drive African economies for the next 50-100 years. How many people have take petroleum industry based courses? the industry is not just mechanical drilling. It needs lawyers to draw contracts, accountants to keep books, insurers with special policies, environmental consultants, social workers, trainers, communications systems, security and so on. Then one day people will wake up and start crying "foreigners"

there is always a sound voice in wazua, you will never lack at least one in this forum
#109 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 5:50:45 AM

thuks wrote:
mathukuma yalienda wapi?

Yamekuwa ingokho smile

yako hapa! kasi ndio migi!
#110 Posted : Monday, January 05, 2015 10:56:02 AM

nimerudi!! let me piss off @kysse some more! Did You Know that Black Babies Were Once Used as Alligator Bait?

#111 Posted : Monday, January 05, 2015 12:04:26 PM

kyt wrote:

there is always a sound voice in wazua, you will never lack at least one in this forum

sasa ni shule gani inafunza hizo, if we do not have local expertise we still need to bring in the foreigners at some level, either at the training or implementation.
#112 Posted : Monday, January 05, 2015 12:36:45 PM

kyt wrote:

sasa ni shule gani inafunza hizo, if we do not have local expertise we still need to bring in the foreigners at some level, either at the training or implementation.

Local universities/ colleges can start these courses; or
Twende tusome huko majuu. Kina Kiash to come back.
#113 Posted : Monday, January 05, 2015 2:28:33 PM

kyt wrote:

Local universities/ colleges can start these courses; or
Twende tusome huko majuu. Kina Kiash to come back.

Our local universities have been offering these courses, like this one at the UoN:

http://geology.uonbi.ac....uon_degrees_details/1992
hindi ni riu
#114 Posted : Monday, January 05, 2015 2:36:18 PM

Tokyo wrote:
Africa will grow and develop. But the gap between rich a poor will widen.
Reasons?
For an economy to grow EQually/ equitably to all , you need only three factor
1. Justice- rule of law to all
2. Services- infrastructure etc. tax money working appropriately
3. Security- both to people and their property according to law.
Provide Africa and Kenyan with above and they develop in one generation.

Otherwise what's happening is a kid's growing but bones and internal organs not developing.
I heard Cape Town to Lagos - 6hrs. But cheapest is through Dubai and connect 23hrs

Umm...CPT to Jo'Burg, 2 Hrs. Joburg to Lagos...6 hrs. =8Hrs. 23 Hrs...asi? Who would want to do that?

“Once the last tree is cut and the last river poisoned,you will find you cannot eat your money" Traditional saying.
#115 Posted : Wednesday, November 30, 2016 10:57:55 PM

The original "blue marble" photo looked like this originally but was changed to reflect the 'north = up' lie.

... North is not UP!
checkout the link on http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reversed_map
No wonder we call europe and america ... MA-JUU!!

Size of Africa...

remember the maps we used when growing up? Greenland was almost the size of Africa? I actually considered denmark the largest country (greenland being its territory and all).

interesting video from the west wing on this
http://www.youtube.com/w...edded&v=n8zBC2dvERM

mimi iko na swali...so if this is how our typical earth looks like....whether upside down or otherwise,

.....then why does River Nile flow towards the North/South Pole while River Mississippi which is on the same hemisphere flows away from the North/South Pole?
#116 Posted : Thursday, December 01, 2016 10:52:03 AM

...and north is not necessarily higher. Thus the reference of the northern part of former Eastern province as 'upper eastern' with the southern as lower eastern is erroneous.

indeed - it has sneaked up on us!

I have always wondered how the longest river on Earth, River Nile flows "Uphill" from Lake Sango all the way up to to the Mediterranean.
Now I know why!!!!!
Not talking Not talking Not talking Not talking

When I was in std 4 , I actually believed it was the other way round! water flowed from the Mediterranean 'down' to Lake Sango! I wondered how the salt disappeared. Later I was informed that it flowed 'from the bottom of the page to the top' and it completely blew my mind! Of course later I realized the world did not have an 'top' or 'bottom' but the damage had been done.

Think about it... in the great expanse of space - there is no north, no south, no east and no west! no horizontal and no vertical. no top and no bottom! no point of reference to deduce these directional things!

This answers your initial post. If the space ship shot from SA into space and took a pic, it would appear like this.

[quote=masukuma]The original "blue marble" photo looked like this originally but was changed to reflect the 'north = up' lie.

... North is not UP!
#117 Posted : Thursday, December 01, 2016 11:46:48 AM

the reason water from Lake victoria follows to the Mediterranean is because... Lake victoria is HIGHER than the Mediterranean. Water at the arctic circle is at the same level as the one in the Antarctica. None is "higher"/"upper" than the other. The altitude of the "southest" point on our planet is 2,835 m and the North pole is actually on water so 0m above sea level. Kwa ufupi unless you are mambasani or on a beach somewhere saa hii... i can guarantee you that you are "higher"/"upper" than the North pole. Nairobi's altitude is lower than that of the south pole! Heck if you are living in a city and that city is not La Paz - I am sure YOU ARE LOWER than the South pole.
#118 Posted : Thursday, December 01, 2016 11:52:22 AM

The original "blue marble" photo looked like this originally but was changed to reflect the 'north = up' lie.

... North is not UP!
checkout the link on http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reversed_map
No wonder we call europe and america ... MA-JUU!!

Common English idioms support the notion that many English speakers conflate or associate north-with-up and south-with-down (e.g., "heading up north" or "down south"), a conflation that can only be understood as learned by repeated exposure to a particular map-orientation convention

Interesting video from the west wing on this

One of the early maps... Before the Europeans turned it around...

Left: Original Al-Idrisi 12th century map with Mecca (Makkah) center north above Arabia and Europe lower right.
Right: Map flipped to visualise our modern view, Europe in upper left and Mecca in the centre south.
#119 Posted : Thursday, December 01, 2016 11:55:10 AM

mimi iko na swali...so if this is how our typical earth looks like....whether upside down or otherwise,

.....then why does River Nile flow towards the North/South Pole while River Mississippi which is on the same hemisphere flows away from the North/South Pole?

the reason water from Lake victoria follows to the Mediterranean is because... Lake victoria is HIGHER than the Mediterranean. Water at the arctic circle is at the same level as the one in the Antarctica. None is "higher"/"upper" than the other. The altitude of the "southest" point on our planet is 2,835 m and the North pole is actually on water so 0m above sea level. Kwa ufupi unless you are mambasani or on a beach somewhere saa hii... i can guarantee you that you are "higher"/"upper" than the North pole. Nairobi's altitude is lower than that of the south pole! Heck if you are living in a city and that city is not La Paz - I am sure YOU ARE LOWER than the South pole.

He (@harrydre) is just acting ignorant... He knows the answer...
#120 Posted : Thursday, December 01, 2016 7:03:26 PM

He (@harrydre) is just acting ignorant... He knows the answer...

Seriously what's the reference point when measuring altitude? Are all seas at the same level? Masukuma's point would make sense if the earth was flat. But now considering the round shaped earth, thus my question why Mississippi flows in the opposite direction to Nile. Also if north pole is lower? Why is it covered in ice yet we know the higher you go the colder it becomes?