wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

17 Pages«<14151617>
How did you make your first Kes million?
bennry
#301 Posted : Friday, November 11, 2016 1:57:56 PM

I am no millionaire, but am heading there. i am soon turning 27 but i have literally have nothing to show for the 4 yrs i have been working. I have drunk my ass off, partied and my biggest regret is having had to spend money on women and booze. My mistakes;
1.Women- i love women and women love money, not men. I think i would be a millionaire if settled with my 'Sanford chips'campus girlfriend. my biggest regret is not having a stable relationship.
2. Alcohol- if i had invested what i have spent on booze and entertaining girls on stocks i think i would have been on my path to be a millionaire
3. Friends- you are who your friends are.. i wish i had joined wazua earlier instead of klist. I wish i could chosen my friends wisely instead of having team mafisi as friends
4. Mentors- i think i should start hanging out with people who have achievers, people who inspire you and build you intellectually.
5. Live below your means- i drive a 2m car...and that's my one of my biggest regret. I wish i could have stuck with my first car that i had bought debt free.
I am trying to make amends to the mistakes i have done. I also believe that whatever i have done in the past will shape my future. I will take steps and in the next 2 yrs i will be worth over 5m. That's my goal.
#302 Posted : Friday, November 11, 2016 2:23:16 PM

bennry wrote:
I am no millionaire, but am heading there. i am soon turning 27 but i have literally have nothing to show for the 4 yrs i have been working. I have drunk my ass off, partied and my biggest regret is having had to spend money on women and booze. My mistakes;
1.Women- i love women and women love money, not men. I think i would be a millionaire if settled with my 'Sanford chips'campus girlfriend. my biggest regret is not having a stable relationship.
2. Alcohol- if i had invested what i have spent on booze and entertaining girls on stocks i think i would have been on my path to be a millionaire
3. Friends- you are who your friends are.. i wish i had joined wazua earlier instead of klist. I wish i could chosen my friends wisely instead of having team mafisi as friends
4. Mentors- i think i should start hanging out with people who have achievers, people who inspire you and build you intellectually.
5. Live below your means- i drive a 2m car...and that's my one of my biggest regret. I wish i could have stuck with my first car that i had bought debt free.
I am trying to make amends to the mistakes i have done. I also believe that whatever i have done in the past will shape my future. I will take steps and in the next 2 yrs i will be worth over 5m. That's my goal.

That's the typical life of a young man, below 28... Buy households, Pay rent, buy a car, party like hell.

Most people start buying tangible assets from 29.

#303 Posted : Friday, November 11, 2016 3:29:33 PM

1.Women- i love women and women love money, not men. I think i would be a millionaire if settled with my 'Sanford chips'campus girlfriend.

#304 Posted : Friday, November 11, 2016 3:46:08 PM

bennry wrote:

Do not regret, You can start off by selling your 2 mirrion car and buy a car matching your income(My rule of thumb is not to buy a car more than 50% of my annual income and spend less than 5% of my income in maintenance and running)

mv_ufanisi
#305 Posted : Saturday, October 21, 2017 11:33:52 PM

mv_ufanisi wrote:
Made my first million within a year after campus. Was working at the time but I decided to start a business on the side and just kept looking for jobs and tenders and applying for them. After about 4 months of endless applications, finally landed a small contract which I over delivered on and that led to another that paid 4.8million with me taking a 2mill profit in 2 months. I was barely 25 yrs old then. Invested 1M in a new business and 1M in the NSE, quit my job.

Fast forward 3 years later. I'm in a much better spot financially than I was in 2014.

I have learnt a few more lessons

1. It was a much better use of my time to start a business which I could control and had ultimate responsibility over than speculate on the NSE. This is especially as I saw how some company management on the NSE e.g. Centum give themselves huge bonuses while leaving shareholders high and dry. Also notice how most of the fortunes made at the NSE have been by business owners that listed companies not by speculators which also suggests that the best way to make money on the NSE is to build a company that eventually gets listed on the NSE. There is nothing worse than being a spectator on your investments when you could use your skills to improve your chances of success. It also helped me to avoid looking at the stocks every hour of the day and my mood going up and down with the market.
2. What you have to do is the following; identify a business with good fundamentals i.e. where it is not too difficult to make money and even average players are making money, ensure that your education, skills, personality, experiences and talent give you an unfair advantage in that business i.e. don't get into land just because everyone is getting into it. Find a niche where few can outcompete you.
3. Do your best to grow that business and stay disciplined and patient.
4. Think big and stay hungry
5. Keep some perspective. No matter how much money you make, there is a whole lot more to life than money. You still have to take care of other aspects of life such as your relationships, health and happiness.
6. Try to be lucky by always looking out for more information, learning from mentors etc. Luck does play a big part of it but most times you get lucky by trying to put yourself in situations where you could get lucky.

#306 Posted : Sunday, October 22, 2017 6:14:16 AM

mv_ufanisi wrote:
Made my first million within a year after campus. Was working at the time but I decided to start a business on the side and just kept looking for jobs and tenders and applying for them. After about 4 months of endless applications, finally landed a small contract which I over delivered on and that led to another that paid 4.8million with me taking a 2mill profit in 2 months. I was barely 25 yrs old then. Invested 1M in a new business and 1M in the NSE, quit my job.

Fast forward 3 years later. I'm in a much better spot financially than I was in 2014.

1. It was a much better use of my time to start a business which I could control and had ultimate responsibility over than speculate on the NSE. This is especially as I saw how some company management on the NSE e.g. Centum give themselves huge bonuses while leaving shareholders high and dry. Also notice how most of the fortunes made at the NSE have been by business owners that listed companies not by speculators which also suggests that the best way to make money on the NSE is to build a company that eventually gets listed on the NSE. There is nothing worse than being a spectator on your investments when you could use your skills to improve your chances of success. It also helped me to avoid looking at the stocks every hour of the day and my mood going up and down with the market.
2. What you have to do is the following; identify a business with good fundamentals i.e. where it is not too difficult to make money and even average players are making money, ensure that your education, skills, personality, experiences and talent give you an unfair advantage in that business i.e. don't get into land just because everyone is getting into it. Find a niche where few can outcompete you.
5. Keep some perspective. No matter how much money you make, there is a whole lot more to life than money. You still have to take care of other aspects of life such as your relationships, health and happiness.
6. Try to be lucky by always looking out for more information, learning from mentors etc. Luck does play a big part of it but most times you get lucky by trying to put yourself in situations where you could get lucky.

Good for you @mv_ufanisi

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
winmak
#307 Posted : Sunday, October 22, 2017 9:52:49 AM

bennry wrote:

Thanks @Bennry, over the years I have found such stories to be more inspirational than those happy go lucky success stories. I have learned a lot. Let us know how it turned out 6 years later
For investors as a whole, returns decrease as motion increases ~ WB
kryptonite
#308 Posted : Sunday, October 22, 2017 1:22:43 PM

mv_ufanisi wrote:

Great advice @mv_ufanisi
3, 5 and 6 are highly recommended.
The harder you work, the luckier you get
Cornelius Vanderbiltt
#309 Posted : Friday, June 15, 2018 10:14:17 AM

how i made my first million ?? there you go (joke)

http://mawazo.byethost7....18&t=78&p=82#p82
winmak
#310 Posted : Friday, June 15, 2018 10:34:41 AM

[quote=Cornelius Vanderbiltt]how i made my first million ?? there you go

http://mawazo.byethost7....8&t=78&p=82#p82[/quote]

Sasa hii ndio tunaita click bait Ama namna gani? I followed quickly only to be disappointed
For investors as a whole, returns decrease as motion increases ~ WB
#311 Posted : Friday, June 15, 2018 11:23:23 AM

winmak wrote:

Sasa hii ndio tunaita click bait Ama namna gani? I followed quickly only to be disappointed

Online criminals
Cornelius Vanderbiltt
#312 Posted : Friday, June 15, 2018 4:18:15 PM

winmak wrote:

Online criminals

ma feelings nazo!
Chaka
#313 Posted: : Friday, June 15, 2018 5:37:41 PM

[quote=Cornelius Vanderbiltt]how i made my first million ?? there you go (joke)

#314 Posted : Friday, June 15, 2018 6:26:25 PM

Deleted
#315 Posted : Saturday, June 16, 2018 9:00:58 AM

Chaka wrote:

Looking for trafficsmile
#316 Posted : Saturday, June 16, 2018 12:20:21 PM

Chaka wrote:

Looking for trafficsmile

Fake it till its faked.
tony stark
#317 Posted : Tuesday, July 03, 2018 4:49:22 PM

I still haven't made my million..... help!
Kenyan Oracle
#318 Posted : Tuesday, July 03, 2018 7:27:18 PM

Chaka wrote:

Looking for trafficsmile

Angelica Ann, tell us your journey if you care to share. I believe you are already there.Drool Applause
You lose money chasing women, but you never lose women chasing money - NAS
#319 Posted : Wednesday, July 04, 2018 4:54:10 PM

Through Sportpesa.co.ke
mv_ufanisi
#320 Posted : Tuesday, August 28, 2018 11:06:08 AM

People are making lots of money in technology based businesses. That is likely where the next millionaires and billionaires will come from. The foreigners have realized this and there are now a lot of Americans and Europeans doing technology businesses here in Kenya looking to make cash. Usiachwe nyuma!