wazua Wed, Jan 15, 2025

151 Pages«<7273747576>»
Law Capping interest rates
winmak
#1461 Posted : Monday, November 07, 2016 8:36:02 AM

Kausha wrote:
Last 8 years debt growing more than GDP growth. Previous 6yrs it was the opposite. Have we been procuring growth with borrowed money?

At an individual level, how do you shield yourself from this? Considering the investment environment is at its riskiest; interest rate capping is making fixed securities unattractive; forex is also on a tight rope... What is one left to do?
For investors as a whole, returns decrease as motion increases ~ WB
#1462 Posted : Monday, November 07, 2016 8:51:49 AM

winmak wrote:
Kausha wrote:
Last 8 years debt growing more than GDP growth. Previous 6yrs it was the opposite. Have we been procuring growth with borrowed money?

At an individual level, how do you shield yourself from this? Considering the investment environment is at its riskiest; interest rate capping is making fixed securities unattractive; forex is also on a tight rope... What is one left to do?

I dont get this thing of fixed income being unattractive...kindly explain..
winmak
#1463 Posted : Monday, November 07, 2016 9:04:11 AM

winmak wrote:
Kausha wrote:

I said fixed to mean TBills and bonds, fixed deposits... All offering low yields... sub 10%
For investors as a whole, returns decrease as motion increases ~ WB
#1464 Posted : Monday, November 07, 2016 9:23:02 AM

winmak wrote:
Kausha wrote:

I said fixed to mean TBills and bonds, fixed deposits... All offering low yields... sub 10%

Tbills not Bonds....
#1465 Posted : Monday, November 07, 2016 9:32:30 AM

#1466 Posted : Monday, November 07, 2016 3:45:34 PM

winmak wrote:
Kausha wrote:

Tbills not Bonds....

She could be true.

If you are a @wanjiku like him and put your 10,000 in a 15 year Bond then she better buy gunia mbili za njugu karanga and sell by the roadside.

Bonds are for wazito...guys like @Ben Gethi,@Y-goro and I...people who could plant 100 Mio in a 15 year paper and earn free Kes. 1,000,000 per month for 15 years!!!!!!!!

#1467 Posted : Monday, November 07, 2016 9:01:34 PM

winmak wrote:
Kausha wrote:

Tbills not Bonds....

She could be true.

If you are a @wanjiku like him and put your 10,000 in a 15 year Bond then she better buy gunia mbili za njugu karanga and sell by the roadside.

Bonds are for wazito...guys like @Ben Gethi,@Y-goro and I...people who could plant 100 Mio in a 15 year paper and earn free Kes. 1,000,000 per month for 15 years!!!!!!!!

Wazito kama wewe!!!!
Yet a potential gain of 10K is keeping you excited and making you sleepless!

Portfolio: KQ 6,200

smile smile smile smile smile
#1468 Posted : Tuesday, November 08, 2016 12:10:47 AM

http://kenyanwallstreet.com/imf-says-rate-cap-bill-will-adversely-affect-kenyas-economy

However, the IMF team was concerned that the recent amendments to the Banking Act that set limits on deposit and lending rates are likely to have an adverse impact on Kenya’s economy. From their experience in other markets, such interest rate controls have been ineffective and gave rise to unintended negative consequences including reduced access to financing for the SMEs and an increase in informal lending at much higher interest rates.

“Interest rate limits could also reverse the remarkable increase in financial inclusion that has benefited a large proportion of Kenya’s population. These adverse effects could lead to lower economic growth and undermine efforts to reduce poverty. In addition, interest rates limits undermine the effectiveness of monetary policy aimed at ensuring price stability and supporting sustainable economic growth.” noted the IMF team.

I will not add anything lest I rattle some fellows who make up for the lack of knowledge with raw emotions!!!
#1469 Posted : Tuesday, November 08, 2016 6:17:31 AM

In my lack of knowledge raw emotions reaction, I got an increase in my 2 safaricom mshwari lines, KCB Mpesa limit Barclays is always calling me to extend a loan to me, what does this mean for those with greater knowledge in regards to rates capping?

In the words of Michael Joseph, Kenyan market is peculiar, mpesa failed in south Africa but it's a cash cow in Kenya, if rates capping failed elsewhere, it may not necessarily fail in Kenya,

Our biggest failure is corruption, not rate capping
#1470 Posted : Tuesday, November 08, 2016 9:10:56 AM

winmak wrote:
Kausha wrote:

Tbills not Bonds....

She could be true.

Wazito kama wewe!!!!

You dont air balls on the rock by the riverside to dry them...that 6,200 could anything divided by 100s or 1000s.

Kepp laughing mate!

T-Bag
#1471 Posted : Tuesday, November 08, 2016 9:26:13 AM

Barclays have instructed my employer to recover some bad loan without notice ni kubaya! I need arbitration ASAP!
I AM trust in GOD, I AM belief in THYSELF
#1472 Posted : Tuesday, November 08, 2016 9:42:42 AM

T-Bag wrote:
Barclays have instructed my employer to recover some bad loan without notice ni kubaya! I need arbitration ASAP!

Lipa madeni smile
Speculz
#1473 Posted : Tuesday, November 08, 2016 9:43:50 AM

T-Bag wrote:

"You can't have everything. Where would you put it?" - Stephen Wright
#1474 Posted : Tuesday, November 08, 2016 10:20:55 AM

T-Bag wrote:

You write this without shame?Why do you need a notice, Did you give Barclays a notice of defaulting?
#1475 Posted : Tuesday, November 08, 2016 10:25:30 AM

winmak wrote:
Kausha wrote:

Tbills not Bonds....

She could be true.

Wazito kama wewe!!!!

You dont air balls on the rock by the riverside to dry them...that 6,200 could anything divided by 100s or 1000s.

Kepp laughing mate!

Divided by 100=6200/100=62
Divided by 1000=6200/1000=6.2

#1476 Posted : Tuesday, November 08, 2016 3:22:56 PM

winmak wrote:
Kausha wrote:

Tbills not Bonds....

She could be true.

Wazito kama wewe!!!!

Kepp laughing mate!

Divided by 100=6200/100=62
Divided by 1000=6200/1000=6.2

#1477 Posted : Thursday, November 10, 2016 9:22:09 AM

#1478 Posted : Thursday, November 10, 2016 9:11:59 PM

muandiwambeu wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:
[quote=obiero]I told you guys to sell off bank stocks in 2014. Luckily made it out of some major holdings in good time..

but a big percent of your portfolio is still in banks!

so, what do you expect to be a fair hair cut on obieros portfolio as a result of kamwanaas house attempt to please Wanjiku. what will be the overall industries' hit in percentage. my fair guess from my lender's perspective
(16-14.5)/(16*0.5)*100=18.75% conservetively
thieves.

COOP & HF will come out strongest in this.. Too little meat to be bitten out from the two. Plus HF has never been strong on deposits being only licensed to have current accounts a few months ago!! HF will have the least interest expense of all listed lenders

Hey @Obiero. Bill not signed. And please note I did not put the word 'yet' at the end.

Its bound to be signed on Monday 29th Aug 2016

The bankers will visit statehouse with big brown envelop and this story will be forgotten.

Smaller banks will fold

Here we are... Family & Sidian, then Ecobank http://www.businessdaily...6506-316lohz/index.html[/quote]
First Community Bank and now Prime Bank http://www.businessdaily...47234-fgnhd2z/index.html

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#1479 Posted : Friday, November 11, 2016 3:28:44 PM

This are very simplistic calculations!!!

For some of these banks a huge percentage of the loans (on value) were to corporate clients who were enjoying rates lower than 14% even before rate caps!!!
#1480 Posted : Friday, November 11, 2016 6:41:36 PM

This are very simplistic calculations!!!

For some of these banks a huge percentage of the loans (on value) were to corporate clients who were enjoying rates lower than 14% even before rate caps!!!

Takataka analysis

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45