Culture
The 5 birrion
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
thuks wrote:hardwood wrote:When baba was the PM, he hired his brother as finance assistant minister, made his sister and cousin ambassadors to the US, and was supplying govt institutions with gas cylinders, oil and ethanol through family companies. He even gave direct ODM nominations to all his relatives. How come he never complained of conflict of interest? @alma1 say 'hapa ni ukora tu' so am cautious what I write. a complaint noted in an earlier post was the 'expeditious nature of the payment'. Was is it the same for all supplies to the ministry? Could lack of this uniformity be causing the gripes? So baba did it then it's ok? Was in a discussion last weekend in my village and they were telling me that I should vote for jubilee. Reason? Ati because I should not let Baba Win! Is Kenya just about the two rich families? Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/19/2015 Posts: 2,871 Location: hapo
kaka2za wrote:thuks wrote:hardwood wrote:When baba was the PM, he hired his brother as finance assistant minister, made his sister and cousin ambassadors to the US, and was supplying govt institutions with gas cylinders, oil and ethanol through family companies. He even gave direct ODM nominations to all his relatives. How come he never complained of conflict of interest? @alma1 say 'hapa ni ukora tu' so am cautious what I write. a complaint noted in an earlier post was the 'expeditious nature of the payment'. Was is it the same for all supplies to the ministry? Could lack of this uniformity be causing the gripes? So baba did it then it's ok? Was in a discussion last weekend in my village and they were telling me that I should vote for jubilee. Reason? Ati because I should not let Baba Win! Is Kenya just about the two rich families? It's a shame that young people like hardwood have difficulty reading. I don't consider reading tweets from Trump as an educational experience. Where in God's name did you see me supporting anyone who's picking their brothers to get the best jobs? Wapi? I don't say things on wazua for the sake of Jubilee or Cord or any other. I just tell it as it is. After all, I don't get a commission from these thugs when they steal gov't funds. Or do you think I get a commission by osmosis coz we are in the same town? If these fellows are stealing, they should go. If you have a country where the citizens think that giving tenders to family members of the very people giving out the tenders is ok, then shauri yenu. Some of us are global villagers, huu upus wa wakenya hatuwezani nao. We just comment coz its funny. Ati raira did it, its ok now. eisshhhh! mboyss!! Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
alma1 wrote:kaka2za wrote:thuks wrote:hardwood wrote:When baba was the PM, he hired his brother as finance assistant minister, made his sister and cousin ambassadors to the US, and was supplying govt institutions with gas cylinders, oil and ethanol through family companies. He even gave direct ODM nominations to all his relatives. How come he never complained of conflict of interest? @alma1 say 'hapa ni ukora tu' so am cautious what I write. a complaint noted in an earlier post was the 'expeditious nature of the payment'. Was is it the same for all supplies to the ministry? Could lack of this uniformity be causing the gripes? So baba did it then it's ok? Was in a discussion last weekend in my village and they were telling me that I should vote for jubilee. Reason? Ati because I should not let Baba Win! Is Kenya just about the two rich families? It's a shame that young people like hardwood have difficulty reading. I don't consider reading tweets from Trump as an educational experience. Where in God's name did you see me supporting anyone who's picking their brothers to get the best jobs? Wapi? I don't say things on wazua for the sake of Jubilee or Cord or any other. I just tell it as it is. After all, I don't get a commission from these thugs when they steal gov't funds. Or do you think I get a commission by osmosis coz we are in the same town? If these fellows are stealing, they should go. If you have a country where the citizens think that giving tenders to family members of the very people giving out the tenders is ok, then shauri yenu. Some of us are global villagers, huu upus wa wakenya hatuwezani nao. We just comment coz its funny. Ati raira did it, its ok now. eisshhhh! mboyss!! BTW yesterdays Daily Nation had 2 pages of tenders by the Nairobi County. I have already submitted 2 bids. Then when I win, you will start calling me a thief.
hardwood wrote:alma1 wrote:kaka2za wrote:thuks wrote:hardwood wrote:When baba was the PM, he hired his brother as finance assistant minister, made his sister and cousin ambassadors to the US, and was supplying govt institutions with gas cylinders, oil and ethanol through family companies. He even gave direct ODM nominations to all his relatives. How come he never complained of conflict of interest? @alma1 say 'hapa ni ukora tu' so am cautious what I write. a complaint noted in an earlier post was the 'expeditious nature of the payment'. Was is it the same for all supplies to the ministry? Could lack of this uniformity be causing the gripes? So baba did it then it's ok? Was in a discussion last weekend in my village and they were telling me that I should vote for jubilee. Reason? Ati because I should not let Baba Win! Is Kenya just about the two rich families? It's a shame that young people like hardwood have difficulty reading. I don't consider reading tweets from Trump as an educational experience. Where in God's name did you see me supporting anyone who's picking their brothers to get the best jobs? Wapi? I don't say things on wazua for the sake of Jubilee or Cord or any other. I just tell it as it is. After all, I don't get a commission from these thugs when they steal gov't funds. Or do you think I get a commission by osmosis coz we are in the same town? If these fellows are stealing, they should go. If you have a country where the citizens think that giving tenders to family members of the very people giving out the tenders is ok, then shauri yenu. Some of us are global villagers, huu upus wa wakenya hatuwezani nao. We just comment coz its funny. Ati raira did it, its ok now. eisshhhh! mboyss!! BTW yesterdays Daily Nation had 2 pages of tenders by the Nairobi County. I have already submitted 2 bids. Then when I win, you will start calling me a thief. Why? Are you a family member? Tuwache hii mambo. I would expect you in the Trump thread since it seems your guy may have a chance after all. Lakini, trying to blame the messenger ati sijui NTV ohhh and you know very well what's going on here is just plain interesting. Mtaibiwa hadi lini? All you can do is post about Maghafuli while huko kwenyu hamna wasia ni ujeuri tu na kuiba iba. mnataka niseme nini? 160 million here, 5 billion there, 100 million here and all you can say is raira, ntv, chocho mendia and maghafuli. If you want to know the meaning of madness wait for August 2017 where every voter will be voting based on their tribe. Muibiwe tena na mrudie yale yale mliyo yafanya. Alafu muende mkamuombe mola awahurumie. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
alma1 wrote:hardwood wrote:alma1 wrote:kaka2za wrote:thuks wrote:hardwood wrote:When baba was the PM, he hired his brother as finance assistant minister, made his sister and cousin ambassadors to the US, and was supplying govt institutions with gas cylinders, oil and ethanol through family companies. He even gave direct ODM nominations to all his relatives. How come he never complained of conflict of interest? @alma1 say 'hapa ni ukora tu' so am cautious what I write. a complaint noted in an earlier post was the 'expeditious nature of the payment'. Was is it the same for all supplies to the ministry? Could lack of this uniformity be causing the gripes? So baba did it then it's ok? Was in a discussion last weekend in my village and they were telling me that I should vote for jubilee. Reason? Ati because I should not let Baba Win! Is Kenya just about the two rich families? It's a shame that young people like hardwood have difficulty reading. I don't consider reading tweets from Trump as an educational experience. Where in God's name did you see me supporting anyone who's picking their brothers to get the best jobs? Wapi? I don't say things on wazua for the sake of Jubilee or Cord or any other. I just tell it as it is. After all, I don't get a commission from these thugs when they steal gov't funds. Or do you think I get a commission by osmosis coz we are in the same town? If these fellows are stealing, they should go. If you have a country where the citizens think that giving tenders to family members of the very people giving out the tenders is ok, then shauri yenu. Some of us are global villagers, huu upus wa wakenya hatuwezani nao. We just comment coz its funny. Ati raira did it, its ok now. eisshhhh! mboyss!! BTW yesterdays Daily Nation had 2 pages of tenders by the Nairobi County. I have already submitted 2 bids. Then when I win, you will start calling me a thief. Why? Are you a family member? Tuwache hii mambo. I would expect you in the Trump thread since it seems your guy may have a chance after all. Lakini, trying to blame the messenger ati sijui NTV ohhh and you know very well what's going on here is just plain interesting. Mtaibiwa hadi lini? All you can do is post about Maghafuli while huko kwenyu hamna wasia ni ujeuri tu na kuiba iba. mnataka niseme nini? The conditions are that one can only submit a maximum of 2 bids. That said, one can chose to either join in the kukula nyama by supplying goods and services or they can spend all their time complaining that others are eating nyama that they tenderers genuinely bid for. Regarding blaming the messenger, I really laughed when madowo was discussing this Mafya issue on NTV and said that the Mafya auditor is the most respected and feared auditor in kenya and therefore his word should be taken very seriously, only for madowo to make a fool of himself 3 minutes later and show us the mobile clinics that the auditor claimed were never delivered. In such a case, the stupid messenger should be lynched.
hardwood wrote:alma1 wrote:hardwood wrote:alma1 wrote:kaka2za wrote:thuks wrote:hardwood wrote:When baba was the PM, he hired his brother as finance assistant minister, made his sister and cousin ambassadors to the US, and was supplying govt institutions with gas cylinders, oil and ethanol through family companies. He even gave direct ODM nominations to all his relatives. How come he never complained of conflict of interest? @alma1 say 'hapa ni ukora tu' so am cautious what I write. a complaint noted in an earlier post was the 'expeditious nature of the payment'. Was is it the same for all supplies to the ministry? Could lack of this uniformity be causing the gripes? So baba did it then it's ok? Was in a discussion last weekend in my village and they were telling me that I should vote for jubilee. Reason? Ati because I should not let Baba Win! Is Kenya just about the two rich families? It's a shame that young people like hardwood have difficulty reading. I don't consider reading tweets from Trump as an educational experience. Where in God's name did you see me supporting anyone who's picking their brothers to get the best jobs? Wapi? I don't say things on wazua for the sake of Jubilee or Cord or any other. I just tell it as it is. After all, I don't get a commission from these thugs when they steal gov't funds. Or do you think I get a commission by osmosis coz we are in the same town? If these fellows are stealing, they should go. If you have a country where the citizens think that giving tenders to family members of the very people giving out the tenders is ok, then shauri yenu. Some of us are global villagers, huu upus wa wakenya hatuwezani nao. We just comment coz its funny. Ati raira did it, its ok now. eisshhhh! mboyss!! BTW yesterdays Daily Nation had 2 pages of tenders by the Nairobi County. I have already submitted 2 bids. Then when I win, you will start calling me a thief. Why? Are you a family member? Tuwache hii mambo. I would expect you in the Trump thread since it seems your guy may have a chance after all. Lakini, trying to blame the messenger ati sijui NTV ohhh and you know very well what's going on here is just plain interesting. Mtaibiwa hadi lini? All you can do is post about Maghafuli while huko kwenyu hamna wasia ni ujeuri tu na kuiba iba. mnataka niseme nini? The conditions are that one can only submit a maximum of 2 bids. That said, one can chose to either join in the kukula nyama by supplying goods and services or they can spend all their time complaining that others are eating nyama that they tenderers genuinely bid for. Regarding blaming the messenger, I really laughed when madowo was discussing this Mafya issue on NTV and said that the Mafya auditor is the most respected and feared auditor in kenya and therefore his word should be taken very seriously, only for madowo to make a fool of himself 3 minutes later and show us the mobile clinics that the auditor claimed were never delivered. In such a case, the stupid messenger should be lynched. Again twisting words. Who said tendering is a bad thing? Where did you read that? Ama Trump tweeted it? We are talking about corruption here. You don't have to be a genius and to watch Madowo and NTV to know something fishy was going on here? Or may be you do have to be. But as I said, shauri yenu, nchi yenu, maisha yenu. I have no problem with you on the Trump thread as you can do no harm there. You are not voting so its more fun than anything. You commenting there won't take food from my kids mouths. Lakini I really do feel sorry for the country when the youth are the ones who peddle tribalism and favoritism as part and parcel of doing business. But as I said, nchi yenu, maisha yenu, nyama yenu na shauri yenu. Hapa kazi tu. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
Those mobile clinics maybe empty containers. How come information is now flowing freely after the leak? Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
kaka2za wrote:Those mobile clinics maybe empty containers. How come information is now flowing freely after the leak?
NTV describes them as fully kitted, fully equipped. The information has always been out there but the journalists had a hidden agenda that has backfired badly. They have shot themselves in the foot. Also our journalists are known to be lazy and never investigate anything before putting it in the papers. Watch this clip and see how they are praising the sophisticated mobile clinics a day after telling us no clinics were delivered. Jinga kabisa. #HogwashPress
^^^^^^ How are these things called 'mobile' jameni yawa????????? In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Angelica _ann wrote:^^^^^^ How are these things called 'mobile' jameni yawa????????? @Nyandhiwa...according to this my Advanced Oxford Dicsonaary 2016 edition.. mo·bile adjective ˈmōbəl,ˈmōˌbīl/ 1. able to move or be moved freely or easily.
2. of or relating to cellular phones, handheld computers, and similar technology.Therefore, because the clinic is able to be moved freely or easily, it is mobile. It is mobile as opposed to a clinic with a foundation and concrete walls. If that clinic had wheels and an engine to propel itself, then it would be an "automobile clinic".
The bigger scandal will be when the contents will have disappeared ala vehicle parts in police stations I care!
hardwood wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:^^^^^^ How are these things called 'mobile' jameni yawa????????? @Nyandhiwa...according to this my Advanced Oxford Dicsonaary 2016 edition.. mo·bile adjective ˈmōbəl,ˈmōˌbīl/ 1. able to move or be moved freely or easily.
2. of or relating to cellular phones, handheld computers, and similar technology.Therefore, because the clinic is able to be moved freely or easily, it is mobile. It is mobile as opposed to a clinic with a foundation and concrete walls. If that clinic had wheels and an engine to propel itself, then it would be an "automobile clinic". Sawa sawa, thank you very much for educating me!!!!! In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Angelica _ann wrote:hardwood wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:^^^^^^ How are these things called 'mobile' jameni yawa????????? @Nyandhiwa...according to this my Advanced Oxford Dicsonaary 2016 edition.. mo·bile adjective ˈmōbəl,ˈmōˌbīl/ 1. able to move or be moved freely or easily.
2. of or relating to cellular phones, handheld computers, and similar technology.Therefore, because the clinic is able to be moved freely or easily, it is mobile. It is mobile as opposed to a clinic with a foundation and concrete walls. If that clinic had wheels and an engine to propel itself, then it would be an "automobile clinic". Sawa sawa, thank you very much for educating me!!!!! I want to add that due to its mobility a clinic can be loaded on a container transport lorry and taken to serve residents of village A, B, C etc within a period of time while it is still resting on a lorry. Alternatively the container clinic can be transported by the lorry to Village A and dropped there to serve residents for eg a month or 2 and then moved to another village or slum if the need arises.
hardwood wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:hardwood wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:^^^^^^ How are these things called 'mobile' jameni yawa????????? @Nyandhiwa...according to this my Advanced Oxford Dicsonaary 2016 edition.. mo·bile adjective ˈmōbəl,ˈmōˌbīl/ 1. able to move or be moved freely or easily.
2. of or relating to cellular phones, handheld computers, and similar technology.Therefore, because the clinic is able to be moved freely or easily, it is mobile. It is mobile as opposed to a clinic with a foundation and concrete walls. If that clinic had wheels and an engine to propel itself, then it would be an "automobile clinic". Sawa sawa, thank you very much for educating me!!!!! I want to add that due to its mobility a clinic can be loaded on a container transport lorry and taken to serve residents of village A, B, C etc within a period of time while it is still resting on a lorry. Alternatively the container clinic can be transported by the lorry to Village A and dropped there to serve residents for eg a month or 2 and then moved to another village or slum if the need arises. Thanks again, mobile clinic expert!!!! In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/28/2008 Posts: 2,276 Location: Kibish
Were the 36 Bloggers responsible for #NMGlies? Nadondosha meli kubwa seuze ngalawa!
@hardwood, am in evil mode so bear with me.
A close relative of hardwood is driving on mombasa road and gets into a nasty accident. The wallet or handbag gets stolen as usual with the medical insurance card. Ambulance guys show up ( they are available nowadays) and due to the nature of the injury, they decide KNH is their best bet.
Then the drama starts. You may want to refer to the knh thread to know what happens. But every night, the morgue guys show up to collect bodies of patients who never made it past reception. The ones who died groaning in pain on the floor at the casualty. The nurses will be chatting as they take their tea.
They are not evil, but they know they work in a system that collapsed many years ago. One that churns millionaires everyday. Do you know mututho was paid 100mn for curtains by KNH? But they only have 21 ICU beds. And don't have money to hire more doctors and nurses. It's called system ya Majambazi. The one you are defending here.
The day you show up at their morgue demanding to know why they let your relative die, you will remember us. The few of us who refused to worship the tribal gods. Those who called it as it is. The traitors who refused to protect uthamaki.
It's the scandal that never was. No money was stolen. http://www.standardmedia...-house-scandal/?pageNo=1
hardwood wrote:kaka2za wrote:Those mobile clinics maybe empty containers. How come information is now flowing freely after the leak?
NTV describes them as fully kitted, fully equipped. The information has always been out there but the journalists had a hidden agenda that has backfired badly. They have shot themselves in the foot. Also our journalists are known to be lazy and never investigate anything before putting it in the papers. Watch this clip and see how they are praising the sophisticated mobile clinics a day after telling us no clinics were delivered. Jinga kabisa. #HogwashPress 1. If they are fully equipped then they should open one and show us what's inside so we know they aren't lying. 2. Since they are containers, maybe they were to be loaded on a truck of some kind so make them mobile?
Kisero wrote:I have just gone through a copy of the audit report on the Ministry of Health by Mr Bernard Muchere of the Internal Audit Directorate of the Ministry of Finance, currently posted at Afya House.
The auditor liberally uses phrases such as “red flags”, “possible fraud schemes”, and “possible double payments”.
My honest view is that for an audit as important as this, and considering the political furore it has generated, it falls short of the very high audit thresholds expected, especially when you are alleging the theft of billions of shillings from public coffers.
I expected to see clear statements of findings backed by documentary evidence. For example, when you allege double payment to a supplier, you must show payment vouchers, goods-received notes, or wire transfer instructions to show that the supplier was indeed paid twice.
Still, the auditor has given juicy insights into the shenanigans that go on during end-of-the-year procurements when funds have to be shuffled between votes and the Integrated Financial Management Information System (Ifmis) manipulated to pay well-connected suppliers.
What you see is a mad rugby-style scram to empty the vaults before the end of the financial year. Most revealing in this regard is a payment of Sh200 million that was made to Estama Investments Ltd on the last day of the financial year — June 30, 2016. The LPO was raised on the same day. How can you start and complete such a process in a single day? Incredible.
These are the exploits of a tiny elite in the government that has mastered the game of manipulating Ifmis in order to smash and grab the public purse. In Ifmis jargon, the term used is “procure to pay”, which describes a process that starts from the requisition by user departments and takes you through several stages, each requiring specific passwords — from raising an LPO, raising the so-called goods-received note, matching these documents with supplier invoices, flagging for payment, approving payment, and finally effecting the payment.
The fact that Ministry of Health officials were able to procure to pay in one day shows that what we are dealing with is a clique of individuals who collectively possess multiple passwords to enable them to initiate and complete transactions in Ifmis. Or was it a case where one superuser with a high-level password was allowed to override the whole system? http://mobile.nation.co....37814-2w03w8z/index.html"There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/8/2013 Posts: 4,068 Location: At Large.
murchr wrote:[quote=Kisero]I have just gone through a copy of the audit report on the Ministry of Health by Mr Bernard Muchere of the Internal Audit Directorate of the Ministry of Finance, currently posted at Afya House.
The auditor liberally uses phrases such as “red flags”, “possible fraud schemes”, and “possible double payments”.
My honest view is that for an audit as important as this, and considering the political furore it has generated, it falls short of the very high audit thresholds expected, especially when you are alleging the theft of billions of shillings from public coffers.
I expected to see clear statements of findings backed by documentary evidence. For example, when you allege double payment to a supplier, you must show payment vouchers, goods-received notes, or wire transfer instructions to show that the supplier was indeed paid twice.
Still, the auditor has given juicy insights into the shenanigans that go on during end-of-the-year procurements when funds have to be shuffled between votes and the Integrated Financial Management Information System (Ifmis) manipulated to pay well-connected suppliers.
What you see is a mad rugby-style scram to empty the vaults before the end of the financial year. Most revealing in this regard is a payment of Sh200 million that was made to Estama Investments Ltd on the last day of the financial year — June 30, 2016. The LPO was raised on the same day. How can you start and complete such a process in a single day? Incredible.
These are the exploits of a tiny elite in the government that has mastered the game of manipulating Ifmis in order to smash and grab the public purse. In Ifmis jargon, the term used is “procure to pay”, which describes a process that starts from the requisition by user departments and takes you through several stages, each requiring specific passwords — from raising an LPO, raising the so-called goods-received note, matching these documents with supplier invoices, flagging for payment, approving payment, and finally effecting the payment.
The fact that Ministry of Health officials were able to procure to pay in one day shows that what we are dealing with is a clique of individuals who collectively possess multiple passwords to enable them to initiate and complete transactions in Ifmis. Or was it a case where one superuser with a high-level password was allowed to override the whole system? http://mobile.nation.co....7814-2w03w8z/index.html[/quote] @Muchr be my Baba. Read it for me and give summary. Had money been stolen or not? Love is beautiful and so are those who share it.With Love, Marriage is an amazing event in ones life time, the foundation of joy, happiness and success.
Culture
The 5 birrion