guru267 wrote:@astute I use fundamental analysis all the time and it works like a charm (not to toot my own horn)....
for a long term investor the balance sheet analysis is the most important of the financial statements to pick cheap babies in the market
You cannot truely value a stock by simly using the balance sheet. In fact the balance sheet is the least important of the three statements in terms of information. The balance sheet will capture the inflows and outflows into the business lakini there are various ways ala enron companys use to keep important information from the raia.
Look at the income statement to see if the company is producing profits. Then look at the cashflow statement to see if the have liquid cash. This will also tell you the source of the cash. If it's from operations, thats great. If it from investing activities, there maybe issues. For example, KQs cash should come mostly from selling tickets, not selling old planes.
At the end of the day, you have to discount free cash flows to the present to get the intrinsic value of the stock. Then compare that to what the market value of the stock is. BUT, unfortunately for a young market like ours, we don't all have the same information. You may do all this analysis, buy a stock based on sound judgement but we know the regulators sleep on the job, and some relevent information will come to light rendering all your analysis useless kabisa.