wazua Fri, Aug 8, 2025

Men's Socks
#1 Posted : Tuesday, October 18, 2016 10:07:29 PM

In the very foreseable future I will be returned to my mothers humble abode because I have been unable to manage Mr's Socks.

Here is my challenge

1.One side of a pair will somehow get lost.Have tried buying many of the same colour but haisidii.Somewhere along the way moja itapotea.

2.After washing the soles become rough and pale.Have tried different soaps but no change.If I use a machine they become loose on the edges.

Tafadhali before nirudishwe kwetu saidieni.

#2 Posted : Tuesday, October 18, 2016 10:23:44 PM

May you be blessed for caring about your man. A few things that will help:

Ask him to not be stingy and spend good money on good quality socks.

Like you have already done buy many of the same colour.

Socks should not be washed by pulling and rubbing. You stretch them and tear them when you do this. Soak them in warm water with detergent for an hour or overnight and then rinse them. Do not wring them; again you stretch and tear them when you do this (Allow them to self drain). Lay them on a flat surface to dry rather than hang them. If however you have to hang them hang them upside down.

#3 Posted : Tuesday, October 18, 2016 10:52:43 PM

Socks are devils, either one side mysterious disappears or becomes unnecessary enlarged. I keep curling and replacing every 3 months. Majorly black and blue colours, brown not soo much smile
#4 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2016 1:04:01 AM

Best take away from this...it isn't sabotage on the side of my madam...Kumbe it's common je many a homes.
Wa_ithaka
#5 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2016 6:56:11 AM

All black, same type. Nunua zile hufungua tano za aina moja.
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
marko
#6 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2016 7:17:31 AM

In the very foreseable future I will be returned to my mothers humble aboard because I have been unable to manage Mr's Socks.

Here is my challenge

1.One side of a pair will somehow get lost.Have tried buying many of the same colour but haisidii.Somewhere along the way moja itapotea.

2.After washing the soles become rough and pale.Have tried different soaps but no change.If I use a machine they become loose on the edges.

What material the socks are made of also matters. Bata have very good socks that don't get rough on the soles and also rarely stretch. Also most socks get lost during sorting. Count the socks before washing, make sure of an even number. Hang them in pairs sio moja moja. Thank me later.
WHO DARES WINS
#7 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2016 7:56:24 AM

Thought this was a problem for bachelors only!
#8 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2016 7:59:42 AM

Had a similar problem til i got married. The missus had a two-fold solution which works for the family to date. First, she introduced a basket for soiled socks and then taught everybody to roll up the used socks into a ball before depositing them in the basket. After drying, the socks are rolled again into a ball and this time they go to a dedicated drawer.All my kids picked up the habit of rolling their socks into a ball and i observed that it would happen as soon as they stepped into any house. The beauty of this is that the rolled pair would be found in one shoe. Did i say she never puts the socks on the wash-line?. I always find them lined on the slab of the laundry . Don't ask me the reasonsmile . Finally, as Marko put it, it's Bata 100% cotton socks or nothing. They are comfortable and easy on feet and do not wear/stretch like those shainese stuff.
#9 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2016 8:17:47 AM

Try happy socks!
#10 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2016 8:58:16 AM

In the very foreseable future I will be returned to my mothers humble aboard because I have been unable to manage Mr's Socks.

Here is my challenge

Try skin if due-REX fails you.

Thank me.

urstill1
#11 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2016 9:57:38 AM

Had a similar problem til i got married. The missus had a two-fold solution which works for the family to date. First, she introduced a basket for soiled socks and then taught everybody to roll up the used socks into a ball before depositing them in the basket. After drying, the socks are rolled again into a ball and this time they go to a dedicated drawer.All my kids picked up the habit of rolling their socks into a ball and i observed that it would happen as soon as they stepped into any house. The beauty of this is that the rolled pair would be found in one shoe. Did i say she never puts the socks on the wash-line?. I always find them lined on the slab of the laundry . Don't ask me the reasonsmile . Finally, as Marko put it, it's Bata 100% cotton socks or nothing. They are comfortable and easy on feet and do not wear/stretch like those shainese stuff.

@Julie, ni wewe ama wewe ni wa kureduce winnings to manageable levels?
Ngogoyo
#12 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2016 10:26:56 AM

Socks are devils, either one side mysterious disappears or becomes unnecessary enlarged. I keep curling and replacing every 3 months. Majorly black and blue colours, brown not soo much smile

like at what @kusadikika says i insist buy quality cotton thin socks. They cost slightly higher but last and do not lose their feel.

I make a habit of having about 7 pairs maximum for official shoes and replace them (all of them) with new ones every half year
#13 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2016 10:52:04 AM

Kumbe this is a common challenge? Earlier in my marriage, this was hectic... going to the socks drawer to find socks missing partners... After a while my Mrs. found a solution. First, we use @guka's method when removing dirty socks i.e. put them in special basket. Secondly, after washed and dry, they are paired i.e. tie the pair together or put one inside the other. That way, I always find them together...

As for the wearing out, solution is as specified: buy only quality socks.

NOTE: every man has worn a torn sock with big toe looking once in a while... It's kawaida until you dispose them... smile
#14 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2016 11:06:52 AM

Coolio wrote:
Try happy socks!

Have not found plain colours.The ones I have are for weekends and they are multicoloured with polka dots etc. He thinks they are childish but once in a while he wants to feel young.
#15 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2016 11:11:59 AM

#16 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2016 11:14:19 AM

Asanteni wote.

Have for sure learnt new things.My biggest joy is to know am not alone in the challenge.

Am happy to know even if he returns me my replacement may have same problems.😅😅😅

Any suggestion on soaps to use.Have been using sunlight ama any of the kipande varieties.I was cautioned against the omo's and persil's as they make worse foot infections(housewife tales)
#17 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2016 11:33:47 AM

Asanteni wote.

Have for sure learnt new things.My biggest joy is to know am not alone in the challenge.

Am happy to know even if he returns me my replacement may have same problems.😅😅😅

Any suggestion on soaps to use.Have been using sunlight ama any of the kipande varieties.I was cautioned against the omo's and persil's as they make worse foot infections(housewife tales)

@guka's Panga soap is the best.

Wamunyota
#18 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2016 12:45:54 PM

The secret is in the quality of socks.Apana nunua huko isilii.Then nunua shingi when you do the shopping.I buy 20 pairs when i do my shopping.Then have the mama arrange them in a drawer rolled together as Guka has suggested.
Hutia Mundu!!
#19 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2016 1:25:58 PM

Wamunyota wrote:
The secret is in the quality of socks.Apana nunua huko isilii.Then nunua shingi when you do the shopping.I buy 20 pairs when i do my shopping.Then have the mama arrange them in a drawer rolled together as Guka has suggested.

Wewe!Washaa hiyo.

Hapana nunua isilii mimi.

BTW I don't think quality is the issue here.He does buy good quality and the same to me when I have to buy for him. Thats why I thought there is something I am doing wrong.Have learnt about how not to lose one.....now am keen on maintainance so that they dont get rough nor pale at the soles and also maintain color.

Will get some from Bata today and observe.

And thanks once again to all.Lets meet at the Goat 11.
#20 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2016 1:30:21 PM

Wamunyota wrote:

Wewe!Washaa hiyo.

Hapana nunua isilii mimi.

BTW I don't think quality is the issue here.He does buy good quality and the same to me when I have to buy for him. Thats why I thought there is something I am doing wrong.Have learnt about how not to lose one.....now am keen on maintainance so that they dont get rough nor pale at the soles and also maintain color.

Will get some from Bata today and observe.

And thanks once again to all.Lets meet at the Goat 11.

I can send you a contact to buy socks from, goes for between 500 to 2K a pair