wazua Tue, Apr 21, 2026

17 Pages<12345>»
The Cancer Menace
#21 Posted : Thursday, October 13, 2016 4:37:41 PM

I recently buried my mum-in-law.
She was about 60, passed on frm stomach cancer.
We are still wondering how and where she got this menace - i mean she grew up on a diet of tradtl foods kabisa, has no family history of the disease, and zero intake of fast foods. And its only her, no other family members have it - so where did she pick this up?!
For the life of us we just cant understand.

#22 Posted : Thursday, October 13, 2016 4:43:33 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:

We are still wondering how and where she got this menace - i mean she grew up on a diet of tradtl foods kabisa, has no family history of the disease, and zero intake of fast foods. And its only her, no other family members have it - so where did she pick this up?!

Water....
#23 Posted : Thursday, October 13, 2016 4:53:38 PM

There's also a link between sexually transmitted diseases and cancer. The risk of unprotected sex is too great these days
#24 Posted : Thursday, October 13, 2016 5:15:17 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:

Water....

Chemicals through foods Sad
#25 Posted : Thursday, October 13, 2016 5:42:16 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:

Water....

Chemicals through foods Sad

The biggest culprit is weed killers and chemicals recently adopted by our farmers to replace hand weeding. They seep into all sorts of foods from maize (ugali) to sukuma wiki, milk and meat through animal proteins and water through drinking.
#26 Posted : Thursday, October 13, 2016 5:45:18 PM

I think Cancers are also a factor of longevity - unlike what you have heard - human beings never used to live to old age in large numbers. I know you have a grand mother/grand father somewhere you point at to say watu wa zamani walikuwa wanaishi sana.... they are more the exception than the norm.
Secondly, the kind of things people eat these days are not good... my suspicion sana sana is mafuta ya transformer being used to fry chips! plus all manner of things that find their way into food production.
#27 Posted : Thursday, October 13, 2016 5:54:31 PM

I think Cancers are also a factor of longevity - unlike what you have heard - human beings never used to live to old age in large numbers. I know you have a grand mother/grand father somewhere you point at to say watu wa zamani walikuwa wanaishi sana.... they are more the exception than the norm.
Secondly, the kind of things people eat these days are not good... my suspicion sana sana is mafuta ya transformer being used to fry chips! plus all manner of things that find their way into food production.

Methuselah lived for 969 years and died 1656AM (Anno Mundi, after Creation).

He was @Noah's grandfather, @Noah of teh Ark.

Hio sio kitambo?

#28 Posted : Thursday, October 13, 2016 6:59:48 PM

And food additives? Once I learnt that they use bleach in the manufacture of blue band I said never again! And this is what they encourage our kids to eat!
chemirocha
#29 Posted : Thursday, October 13, 2016 7:06:44 PM

Shak wrote:
And food additives? Once I learnt that they use bleach in the manufacture of blue band I said never again! And this is what they encourage our kids to eat!

For sure margarine is not healthy. But when you mention bleach, hapo umetudanganya.
#30 Posted : Thursday, October 13, 2016 7:10:46 PM

What about child cancers?

@Shak, They also bleach unga/sugar to make it "more white" - Benzoyl peroxide &Calcium peroxide.

@Chemirocha yes Chlorine is used to sanitize food.
17 Pages<12345>»