wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

Dad... I love you
githundi
#21 Posted : Friday, September 23, 2016 12:27:01 PM

Life is more complex than the way we think, what is your norm depends on how you have been socialised. What you think is progress can be viewed otherwise.
I have come to realise that a boy brought up in the village and the one brought up in town have different expectations on what is being a man. This happens to be the biggest cause of unhealthy relationships of our generation. Men and women are creatures of socialisation,and woe unto you if you socialise your male new borns to be women or you have been socialised as that.
And what is this love? ..and how is it expressed in men and women? . ..Our understanding of what is love definitely is critical in our expression or perceived expression.
Let me talk about myself and not what ought to be, because what we think ought to be is just that,because each one of us socialise our kids and manages our relationships in what we think will be the best for us and our generations to come. It pisses me when we sometimes preach how we bring up our children as if it is the gospel; as if there is no other way.

Women require affirmation, they need to be told they are loved, whatever love is because it's something nice. They need to be spoilt, once in while.

For me, if love is kindness, don't tell me, show me. . As a man respect and loyalty comes first. .but when we rear a newborn male like a woman, he will definitely require affirmation. .and then it is just lying in the bed we have laid for ourselves.
And then some of us will call it progress...my foot
Democracy does not belong to the dead
#22 Posted : Friday, September 23, 2016 12:29:05 PM

Is this the reason why men of nowadays are turning into boneless, crying, weak sissies?

the culture is changing.... your sons may surprise you. not that the old way of doing things was right and not that the current one is bad... humans change. c'est la vie.

This culture is reason why men are declining. They are becoming weaker emotionally and physically. Nowadays, to see a man whining and complaining is common occurrence... and now crying!

A research cited that "...attribute three negative characteristics to the modern male:"

1. Lack of courage: (already @masukuma exhibits this)
2. Fear of rejection
3. Absence of chivalry

One of the reason researchers have found out is due to lack of a strong male role model. I think those male supporting this "feminism" of male are trying to justify their doing bad job being parents of today ...

#23 Posted : Friday, September 23, 2016 12:54:54 PM

githundi wrote:
Life is more complex than the way we think, what is your norm depends on how you have been socialised. What you think is progress can be viewed otherwise.
I have come to realise that a boy brought up in the village and the one brought up in town have different expectations on what is being a man. This happens to be the biggest cause of unhealthy relationships of our generation. Men and women are creatures of socialisation,and woe unto you if you socialise your male new borns to be women or you have been socialised as that.
And what is this love? ..and how is it expressed in men and women? . ..Our understanding of what is love definitely is critical in our expression or perceived expression.
Let me talk about myself and not what ought to be, because what we think ought to be is just that,because each one of us socialise our kids and manages our relationships in what we think will be the best for us and our generations to come. It pisses me when we sometimes preach how we bring up our children as if it is the gospel; as if there is no other way.

Women require affirmation, they need to be told they are loved, whatever love is because it's something nice. They need to be spoilt, once in while.

For me, if love is kindness, don't tell me, show me. . As a man respect and loyalty comes first. .but when we rear a newborn male like a woman, he will definitely require affirmation. .and then it is just lying in the bed we have laid for ourselves.

Good one @gathundi,you have put it right. Applause Applause

A father (male) does not need to be told "I love you", but he needs to be shown, he needs to see it in actions. I do not mean there is anything wrong if you keep telling them. But reserve this to your mother, sister, wife, daughter, aunt etc... You can even tell your mother "I love" you 24 times a day and she will be so happy...

For you to develop self-respecting male boys, you need to start valuing and respecting them... And teach them to be strong willed, good leaders, who can care and protect their families in future etc.
#24 Posted : Friday, September 23, 2016 12:56:27 PM

I found this hilarious:

Forget “what would Jesus do“. Turning the other cheek is weak. If you do what the church says you’ll get slapped in the mouth and then run away and cry on your girlfriends shoulder while she dreams of a stronger man ravaging her.
#25 Posted : Friday, September 23, 2016 12:57:19 PM

Is this the reason why men of nowadays are turning into boneless, crying, weak sissies?

the culture is changing.... your sons may surprise you. not that the old way of doing things was right and not that the current one is bad... humans change. c'est la vie.

This culture is reason why men are declining. They are becoming weaker emotionally and physically. Nowadays, to see a man whining and complaining is common occurrence... and now crying!

A research cited that "...attribute three negative characteristics to the modern male:"

2. Fear of rejection
3. Absence of chivalry

One of the reason researchers have found out is due to lack of a strong male role model. I think those male supporting this "feminism" of male are trying to justify their doing bad job being parents of today ...

A possible explanation is that we are more white collar than blue collar these days but that said... it's likely that we will out live those fellows... Masculinity Is Killing Men: The Roots of Men and Trauma
#26 Posted : Friday, September 23, 2016 1:05:52 PM

As I said... it's all cultural... how were were socialized - is it changing? YES!! will you as a dad be more in touch with your feelings that your dad.. YES!! (you know that to be true). Our parents were not perfect beings - they did their best. The problem here is that we think how things are being done is the only way things have always been done or will ever be done. Our goggles mask us from seeing anything else - but it's expected... it's similar to other hardcoded elements of our culture... of course it won't change now... but change it will MPENDE MSIPENDE. you can shout all you want about days when the man was king... all my kyuk boys can listen to this, I remember this...

and
githundi
#27 Posted : Friday, September 23, 2016 2:52:02 PM

As I said... it's all cultural... how were were socialized - is it changing? YES!! will you as a dad be more in touch with your feelings that your dad.. YES!! (you know that to be true). Our parents were not perfect beings - they did their best. The problem here is that we think how things are being done is the only way things have always been done or will ever be done. Our goggles mask us from seeing anything else - but it's expected... it's similar to other hardcoded elements of our culture... of course it won't change now... but change it will MPENDE MSIPENDE. you can shout all you want about days when the man was king... all my kyuk boys can listen to this, I remember this...

and

Nobody is in disagreement that culture is ever evolving. Will we manage this transition to deliver men from boys instead of women by way of upbringing?,or will we deliver social misfits?.
Which way? Those are the choices we have to make,..
#28 Posted : Friday, September 23, 2016 3:11:02 PM

and

@masukuma, and this is the issue. The sissy "Men" are copying and moving with the wind thinking this is the best way... Look at this.

Television, Movies, Music, Magazines – Every piece of entertainment media depicts men as bumbling idiots and women as the wise and strong leaders. Media teaches us that all women “deserve” happiness whatever the cost and men are the pawns to achieve that. That’s great for fantasy world but that isn’t reality.

The problem is that most people cannot tell fictional TV apart from reality and act accordingly. If the man acted like an effete loser in the movie and got the girl then maybe it will work for me. There are almost zero masculine men in entertainment media. And when masculine men do appear it’s as a redneck wife beater or a rapist or something equally stupid.
PeterReborn
#29 Posted : Friday, September 23, 2016 3:26:50 PM

and

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Ihii itithiaga uthoni
Those boys have raised very pertinent issues.
The boy child was neglected and all the focus and resources channeled to girls.
There is inua dada,women fund,women rep but who is fighting for the empowerment of boys.
Girls are mentored in their lives and careers.Who is mentoring the boys?
How is a boy supposed to know what manhood entails.He is supposed to know everything and not being a sissy by asking for guidance.The men who go to maendeleo ya wanaume become laughing stock.Let them go drying.
Consistency is better than intensity
#30 Posted : Friday, September 23, 2016 3:33:08 PM

and

@masukuma, and this is the issue. The sissy "Men" are copying and moving with the wind thinking this is the best way... Look at this.

Television, Movies, Music, Magazines – Every piece of entertainment media depicts men as bumbling idiots and women as the wise and strong leaders. Media teaches us that all women “deserve” happiness whatever the cost and men are the pawns to achieve that. That’s great for fantasy world but that isn’t reality.

The problem is that most people cannot tell fictional TV apart from reality and act accordingly. If the man acted like an effete loser in the movie and got the girl then maybe it will work for me. There are almost zero masculine men in entertainment media. And when masculine men do appear it’s as a redneck wife beater or a rapist or something equally stupid.

what movies have you been watching. The last couple of movies I have seen have been very masculine. Captain America, the pursuit of happiness, Chef, the Revenant e.t.c. granted that there are no movies with crazy mumbling women. Flicks with masculinity are all over the place
#31 Posted : Friday, September 23, 2016 3:58:53 PM

githundi wrote:

Nobody is in disagreement that culture is ever evolving. Will we manage this transition to deliver men from boys instead of women by way of upbringing?,or will we deliver social misfits?.
Which way? Those are the choices we have to make,..

We are all on the same page here - you guys tend to define masculinity as defined by men in the age that went by. I am not asking people to raise sissies - I am asking men to spend time with their boys. Boys are not weeds that grow untended - how has the current setup worked for us? Central Kenya is full of drunk young men who cannot "do anything for anyone"... who dropped the ball? As for me - I am holding my son's hand as he grows. coz manhood is a journey and step no. 1 is to ensure that he is content with being a man - no need to prove it to anyone. being comfortable in his skin... Males and Men are not synonymous. Men make Men... Men are not weeds. No. 1 thing about being a man is RESPONSIBILITY. That is our culture... dodging that breeds irresponsible men and I agree - Men respond to Respect but that is not the only thing they respond to... it's primary but not the only thing
Did you listen to the video of the kids calling their dads... the dads were pleasantly surprised.... I have been called a coward coz i will not expend my life for causes... i call that being shrewd!! I want my son to grow up knowing what battles to pick and to only pick battles he can win. The rest can raise heroes we shall read about in the papers. Culture is changing but not to a predefined culture.. be like a judoka and use the movement of culture to your advantage ama it will roll over you. The future belongs to our kids - let's figure out a way that they will be winners... p.s. a son looking at their dad and saying -
I know I haven't said this ... but I love you dad... I really appreciate what you have done for me. all the sacrifices have not gone unnoticed - you are a great man and I am proud to be called by your name.

Will make their dad's day or even week... even if the father always knew that the son loved him and respected him. Let's raise men... not bush men.

Secondly, who says in order for men to be MEN women must be trampled on? It's not a fixed area pie that if one has more - the other one has less. it's a candle with a flame...
#32 Posted : Friday, September 23, 2016 4:10:39 PM

I am trying to find words that i would tell my son just in case he says that......Let's just say i am not sure but i think i would sit the man and find out if he is into illegal/banned substances.
#33 Posted : Friday, September 23, 2016 4:38:57 PM

sitaki.kujulikana
#34 Posted : Friday, September 23, 2016 4:40:36 PM

2. Fear of rejection
3. Absence of chivalry

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly mambo gani hii, I thought those rugby tackles take courage, kumbe wewe ni kiguoya smile

lakini I saw obama crying the other day, ama the leader of the free world is not a 'man'
sitaki.kujulikana
#35 Posted : Friday, September 23, 2016 4:49:48 PM

githundi wrote:

tuko twedi sigistini, could you care to explain how boys and girls are brought up differently, I mean what in terms of survival in todays world can a man do that a woman can not, actually I think we should raise our kids the same boys and girls I don't see where the discrimination comes in.
#36 Posted : Friday, September 23, 2016 5:29:23 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

2. Fear of rejection
3. Absence of chivalry

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly mambo gani hii, I thought those rugby tackles take courage, kumbe wewe ni kiguoya smile

lakini I saw obama crying the other day, ama the leader of the free world is not a 'man'

I mean crying hovyo, hovyo. And breaking your leg while running away from a "ghost" on the road. And taking people's money when they sent you by mistake on Mpesa. How is that raising a responsible man? To me this is raising a mjambazi
githundi
#37 Posted : Friday, September 23, 2016 5:35:36 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
githundi wrote:

tuko twedi sigistini, could you care to explain how boys and girls are brought up differently, I mean what in terms of survival in todays world can a man do that a woman can not, actually I think we should raise our kids the same boys and girls I don't see where the discrimination comes in.

You can't get it...Please don't bring silly feminist views here. Who said there is something a man can do a woman can't?
For avoidance of doubt, I meant boys and girls have to be socialised in a way we will have men and women as end products, I am proponent of equity but not equality,
Otherwise, bring up your girl to become a man or vice versa and please do not complain when they become social misfits such as being attracted to people of same sex..
#38 Posted : Friday, September 23, 2016 5:35:52 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
githundi wrote:

The boy will earn money, the girl will too. The boy will pay 1/2 rent, the girl 1/2. The boy will pay 1/2 school fees, the girl 1/2. The boy will buy 1/2 food, the girl 1/2... Will be boy get pregnant? Will he carry the pregnancy for 9 months? Will he breastfeed? Where is equality now?
sitaki.kujulikana
#39 Posted : Friday, September 23, 2016 5:53:48 PM

githundi wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
githundi wrote:

You can't get it...Please don't bring silly feminist views here. Who said there is something a man can do a woman can't?
For avoidance of doubt, I meant boys and girls have to be socialised in a way we will have men and women as end products, I am proponent of equity but not equality,
Otherwise, bring up your girl to become a man or vice versa and please do not complain when they become social misfits such as being attracted to people of same sex..

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly just wanted to know in 2016 how different boys and girls are raised, sasa matusi ni ya nini.

sasa give an example of how to socialise boys differently than girls, we are learning I might learn something, does it mean you say I love you, or hug your daughter and not your son, do you mean go eat nyam chom with your son and ask your daughter to be in the kitchen, just wanted to know the different social environments in 2016 that would be different between bringing up a boy and a girl.

ni swali tu boss, usisikie offended even if I am a feminist its about tolerance smile
sitaki.kujulikana
#40 Posted : Friday, September 23, 2016 6:01:47 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
githundi wrote:

The boy will earn money, the girl will too. The boy will pay 1/2 rent, the girl 1/2. The boy will pay 1/2 school fees, the girl 1/2. The boy will buy 1/2 food, the girl 1/2... Will be boy get pregnant? Will he carry the pregnancy for 9 months? Will he breastfeed? Where is equality now?

smile just wanted to know how we bring up boys differently from girls, na hi mambo ya bringing up boys like women, I mean we are different anatomy wise, of course a woman can choose to have kids or not, or to breastfeed the kids or not, that's their choice how does that change the way we bring up our kids both boys and girls.

you tell your girl not to get into premature sex because of abcd... you also tell your boy not to do the same because of abcd...

you tell your boy not to get into drugs because of abcd, you also tell your daughter not to get into drugs because of abcd...

you teach your son to respect others, the same way you teach your daughter to respect others

you teach your son the rewards of hard work (or smart work) and you do the same to your daughter

you teach your son to respect their partner the day they decide to marry, the same way you teach your daughter

what I can not see is the difference in raising our kids based on gender.