wazua Fri, Mar 20, 2026

7 Pages123>»
Dad... I love you
#1 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2016 7:58:44 PM

Just stumbled upon some TV programme moderated by Victoria Rubadiri. They just told a group of young men to call their fathers and tell them that they love them. Yaani you call mzee and tell him "Mzee, nakupenda sana"

Mimi sijawahi ona upuzi kama huo. No wonder I don't watch TV. Wacha nikasome.
#2 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2016 8:08:57 PM

Just stumbled upon some TV programme moderated by Victoria Rubadiri. They just told a group of young men to call their fathers and tell them that they love them. Yaani you call mzee and tell him "Mzee, nakupenda sana"

#3 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2016 8:11:03 PM

smile smile smile better tell him while both of you are well and alive
#4 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2016 8:21:37 PM

If a son tell his old school dad that he loves him, the father will never look at the son in the same way forever....Infact, the old man might die early due to stress
Wamunyota
#5 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2016 8:49:58 PM

If a son tell his old school dad that he loves him, the father will never look at the son in the same way forever....Infact, the old man might die early due to stress

Kabisa.It is unafrican and unacceptable.Kuna moja ilifanywa na capital fm kitambo..
Hutia Mundu!!
#6 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2016 9:46:17 PM

Wamunyota wrote:

Kabisa.It is unafrican and unacceptable.Kuna moja ilifanywa na capital fm kitambo..

this clip was done like 10 years ago and still holds true... one of the most difficult things Fathers and grown up Sons can say to each other. Just tucked my son in bed and i told him i love him... not sure where that whole thing breaks but i guess for us africans we would rather sell our houses and everything to make our kids lives better than whisper those 3 words.. We were not socialized in this... (not in our culture). I suspect suspect if I called my dad and said those words it would be
Me: Dad... I love you!
Dad: what's wrong?

for some people here it would go like
Son: Dad... I love you!
Dad: what do you want?
#7 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2016 10:19:14 PM

Mine passed on close to a decade ago. He never uttered those words but I never doubted his love for me and my siblings.

He showed it by his actions! That was enough.

Hata mimi sitaki kushinda nimeambiwa nimependwa. Kwani some of these guys like Pst Simon Mbevi and Ian want to turn men into women?

Then they're pushing us to cry...I can count the number of times I've cried since class 6

Let's just leave man the way he is
githundi
#8 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2016 10:22:10 PM

It is the way we are socialised. I mean which boy child does not love his father?
Democracy does not belong to the dead
#9 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2016 11:02:26 PM

githundi wrote:
It is the way we are socialised. I mean which boy child does not love his father?

It is more complicated than that. This word love is too simple to describe the emotions between people. The true nature of those feelings cannot be accurately captured in words. Also many people assume that the relationship they had with their parents is the same that everybody had with their parents.

There is also the problem that there are certain feelings that are appropriate for certain relationships regardless of how that relationship actually is. For example the appropriate feeling to have for your parents is that of love regardless of how your actual relationship is or was.

I have come to the accept the fact that I do not love my parents. (To the best of my understanding of what this word love means) I am not proud of the fact. I do not feel good that I do not love them, actually I feel bad that I do not love them and I feel real guilty about it when I think about it. I however cannot lie to myself that I love them. Its how I feel and I don't think I can change that.
Taurrus
#10 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2016 11:12:15 PM

githundi wrote:

It is more complicated than that. This word love is too simple to describe the emotions between people. The true nature of those feelings cannot be accurately captured in words. Also many people assume that the relationship they had with their parents is the same that everybody had with their parents.

There is also the problem that there are certain feelings that are appropriate for certain relationships regardless of how that relationship actually is. For example the appropriate feeling to have for your parents is that of love regardless of how your actual relationship is or was.

I have come to the accept the fact that I do not love my parents. (To the best of my understanding of what this word love means) I am not proud of the fact. I do not feel good that I do not love them, actually I feel bad that I do not love them and I feel real guilty about it when I think about it. I however cannot lie to myself that I love them. Its how I feel and I don't think I can change that.

Umelewa?
7 Pages123>»