Investor
Stocks
ScanGroup Results
Does anyone know when SCAN is to release the results for year ended 31st Dec 09? Last year at around 16th Apr they had released the numbers. Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,121 Location: Nairobi
Then pretty soon... I know they will have huge interest income coz they invested the cash from WPP into T.Bonds per the 1H results/announcement Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Mmm mhhh, we need the results, can hardly wait to see what Bharat's been up to...
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
CMA should order all traded companies to strictly have fixed announcement calendar dates to avoid raising anxiety in the market. BBI will solve it :)
Rank: New-farer Joined: 1/13/2010 Posts: 85 Location: Nairobi
Wazuans, scangroup results for the year ended 31 dec 2009 are to be released immently and given that they invested the money from WPP into T.Bonds per the 1H results/announcement coupled with the resurgence of the economy they should be good, i think this would be a good buy at 28/29 for short term basis only. What are your thoughts???
Rank: New-farer Joined: 1/13/2010 Posts: 85 Location: Nairobi
Wazuans, scangroup results for the year ended 31 dec 2009 are to be released immently and given that they invested the money from WPP into T.Bonds per the 1H results/announcement coupled with the resurgence of the economy they should be good, i think this would be a good buy at 28/29 for short term basis only. What are your thoughts???
With a rebound in the economy companies advertising spend will definately increase. The recent launch of digital advertising in a joint venture is timely especially given the fibre optic potential. Around March in another Joint Venture with Smollan Group, Scangroup will be involved in Field Marketing to offer logistical support and in-store brand services. With these new initiatives the company is still relevant in its field and more revenues should flow in. At current prices I am 56% into Scan. Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
I believe they've done well and the results are good. I was expecting them to announce b4 Friday.... Btw is Friday a public holiday or I'm the only one who's heard of this rumour? BBI will solve it :)
Results are out this afternoon:
Earnings attributable to shareholders are up 29.8% to 398.5 million. However, EPS is flat against last year at 1.81 vis-a-vis 1.79 for 2008. This is due to the increase in share capital with additional shares having been issued to WPP. It is worth noting that almost the entire increase in earnings (Kshs 91,478,000) was due to the interest earned on govt securities (Kshs 92,221,000).
Aaaaah Bharat, sasa hii ni nini? 13% increase in gross revenue, 24% increase in profit before tax/revaluations but only 6% increase in earnings before interest and taxes I expected so much more. Alas! imagine IF I had put all the wealth I could muster in this counter, it reminds me woefully of... If you can make one heap of all your winnings And risk it on one turn of pitch-and-toss, And lose, and start again at your beginnings http://www.nse.co.ke/new...uncements/Scangroup.pdf
Folks... Bharat is a smart chap! He kept his powder (cash) dry (safe) earning interest while waiting for opportunities to come about... Not bad considering the economy was crappy last year... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Divindends are however down to 110.34M from the previous 135.77M. Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
@gatheuzi - I was at a place where BT was speaking. He said that African PR/Ad firms were selling at too high a premium so they would wait for the prices to drop... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/25/2009 Posts: 4,534 Location: Windhoek/Nairobbery
with a pe of 15.6...a pbv of 2.6...revenue growth if 13% and a pat of 23%...this growth stock aint firing...hfck is the best at this prices.
@the deal - On the P/B... Scangroup will be high coz its 'value' is not the buildings but the talent... Example: You dont buy Apple or Microsoft shares coz of the buildings or machines BUT the ideas, trademark, patents & 'software'... The software is NOT physical yet what is an iPhone without iTunes? Or if Steve Jobs suddenly retired... Apple shares fell last year when he was sick... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
@ VVS At the current circumstances SCAN will have to wait before making any offer. You are right about the valuation methodology. Talent and not assets count. Infact the non-current assets are high only because of the Gvt. securities acquired. Most of the assets are just the trade and other receivables. Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
@Gatheuzi - It is better to wait (patience) for the right acquisition at the right price than acquire for bragging rights! Look at Olympia Capital, which is digging itself out of the mess with the huge (for them) S.African acquisitions... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Scangroup, Ogilvy mystery now unravelled. More on this link. http://www.scangroup.biz...p_Press_Announcement.pdf BBI will solve it :)
Aaah @2012, you beat me to it. Just made a post on the same issue on another thread, but here you have all the details. Mmmmh yes, this is the kind of news I expect from Scangroup; must admire the deal maker in the man. So let me get it: -Scangroup buys 51% of O&M Africa -Scangroup buys 50% of O&M East Africa Good stuff, but this one needs regulatory approval. And must he always dilute us - but hey, no complaints.
LOL... I told you this jamaa is after making deals... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Investor
Stocks
ScanGroup Results