wazua Wed, Jan 8, 2025

Sorghum farming. Has anybody done this?
#21 Posted : Tuesday, March 04, 2014 12:05:19 PM

How does one handle quelea birds. I understand they are enemy number one
#22 Posted : Tuesday, March 04, 2014 12:16:46 PM

Nitumie pia hii info consellationtradingco kwa gmail.com
mmarto
#23 Posted : Tuesday, March 04, 2014 2:53:33 PM

stocksmaster wrote:
mmarto wrote:
Chaka wrote:
mmarto wrote:
Has anyone here done sorghum farming for deliverary to EABL? I need someone to share experiences.

@mmarto,
I would also wish to know this..I believe EABL contracts farmers to grow the sorghum via their subsidiary called East African Maltings.I read somewhere that there is a new hybrid sorghun seed being introduced to farmers via an organization called Africa Harvest.
I would also like to know how long the crop takes to grow and how much EABL pays for it after harvest
well i do have most of that info but i just needed to know of any caveats e.g how long they take to pay after delivery etc. I am preparing the shamba to plant by July 1st.

@ mmarto: How did it go? What are your experiences with East Africa Malting Company? Also, would appreciate any info you have about the same.

Email is: stocksmaster79@gmail.com.

Happy Hunting.

harvesting now..[img]/img]
The only time you should be looking down on others is when you are helping them up.
mmarto
#24 Posted : Tuesday, March 04, 2014 3:11:20 PM

i bought fare(catapult) na kuweka vijana for 1 month. manageable for me coz birds sinakuja 7am and 4pm so easy to monitor.

@ Robinhood, nimekutumia.

bytheway how does one post photos. wanted to share but failed to upload onto wazua
The only time you should be looking down on others is when you are helping them up.
Chaka
#25 Posted : Tuesday, March 04, 2014 3:51:15 PM

@mmarto,
Where did you plant the sorghum?Is EABL still buying since Senator Keg sales went down(since sorghum was the raw material used to make it)?
mmarto
#26 Posted : Tuesday, March 04, 2014 4:30:19 PM

Chaka wrote:
@mmarto,
Where did you plant the sorghum?Is EABL still buying since Senator Keg sales went down(since sorghum was the raw material used to make it)?

EABL must still be buying, was there last week with my samples for their tests and will give a goahead if i desire to. i planted in trans-mara.
#27 Posted : Monday, January 05, 2015 2:20:07 AM

mmarto wrote:
Chaka wrote:
@mmarto,

EABL must still be buying, was there last week with my samples for their tests and will give a goahead if i desire to. i planted in trans-mara.

@mmarto how did it go? Is there any other wazuan who tried the venture?

To load pictures first upload them on flickr or sites such as imgur.com then copy the image URL and paste it on
mmarto
#28 Posted : Tuesday, January 13, 2015 12:18:46 PM

mmarto wrote:
Chaka wrote:
@mmarto,

To load pictures first upload them on flickr or sites such as imgur.com then copy the image URL and paste it on

sorry i had been locked-out from wazua.....forgot password.

The sorghum did very well. Problem EABL stopped buying.

http://i.imgur.com/vBtyifH.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/RQHtJFF.jpg
Chaka
#29 Posted : Tuesday, January 13, 2015 12:44:25 PM

[quote=mmarto]

http://i.imgur.com/vBtyifH.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/RQHtJFF.jpg[/quote]
It was not their wish..so what did you do with it?
#30 Posted : Wednesday, January 14, 2015 10:52:38 PM

mmarto wrote:
Chaka wrote:
@mmarto,

Looks like a good harvest, so what did you do with it? And what have you planted instead?
mmarto
#31 Posted : Thursday, January 15, 2015 2:08:05 PM

mmarto wrote:
Chaka wrote:
@mmarto,

Looks like a good harvest, so what did you do with it? And what have you planted instead?

Harvest is still in store. I am now doing soya. Hope to make animal feed
kawi254
#32 Posted : Thursday, February 11, 2016 12:59:55 PM

[/quote]

Harvest is still in store. I am now doing soya. Hope to make animal feed[/quote]

How did the soya go? Where did you get soya beans seeds? Been to Kenya Seed and they don't stock.
mmarto
#33 Posted : Monday, February 15, 2016 8:10:35 AM

mmarto wrote:
Chaka wrote:
@mmarto,

I'll harvest around march..
#34 Posted : Monday, February 15, 2016 12:19:11 PM

mmarto wrote:
Chaka wrote:
@mmarto,

@mmarto, How much would be a bag of surgum? Interested in like 10 bags if price is okay. Paste your email i contact you.
mmarto
#35 Posted : Wednesday, February 17, 2016 9:20:42 AM

Gathige wrote:
mmarto wrote:
Chaka wrote:
@mmarto,

@mmarto, How much would be a bag of surgum? Interested in like 10 bags if price is okay. Paste your email i contact you.

which variety. Red/White? Pricing differs but it will be difficult to get it now since many farmers abandoned it 2 years ago. Someone asked me for 100 tons
#36 Posted : Thursday, February 18, 2016 8:14:17 AM

mmarto wrote:
Gathige wrote:
mmarto wrote:
Chaka wrote:
@mmarto,

which variety. Red/White? Pricing differs but it will be difficult to get it now since many farmers abandoned it 2 years ago. Someone asked me for 100 tons

@mmarto, i need it for animal feeds so any variety would do. Weka email we link up.
mmarto
#37 Posted : Thursday, February 18, 2016 10:14:18 AM

edensoundZ@gmail.com
#38 Posted : Thursday, February 18, 2016 11:25:39 AM

mmarto wrote:
edensoundZ@gmail.com

Thanks. Check your inbox.
mitchellKIT
#39 Posted : Wednesday, September 07, 2016 1:32:46 PM

Kindly share the info to kitoshmitchell@gmail.com. would highly appreciate it