Kenya ready for take off
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/25/2014 Posts: 2,301 Location: kenya
I mentioned once why can't we think the same ,if this industry gets established in kenya people will have jobs , govt will collect more PAYE,crime will drop .why can't we think the same?wasn't there a time Alfred Mutua wanted to give land for free to manufacturing companies at machakos?what happened? Did it take off? Quote: Dangote also started selling cement in Tanzania early this year after completing its factory in Mtwara about 400 kilometers from the country’s capital, Dar es salaam My simple math head is asking me, why did Dangote go to tanzania, skip kenya and then went to ethiopia? ??? Why? I thought kenya is a magnate for foreign investors? ?
enyands wrote:I mentioned once why can't we think the same ,if this industry gets established in kenya people will have jobs , govt will collect more PAYE,crime will drop .why can't we think the same?wasn't there a time Alfred Mutua wanted to give land for free to manufacturing companies at machakos?what happened? Did it take off? Quote: Dangote also started selling cement in Tanzania early this year after completing its factory in Mtwara about 400 kilometers from the country’s capital, Dar es salaam My simple math head is asking me, why did Dangote go to tanzania, skip kenya and then went to ethiopia? ??? Why? I thought kenya is a magnate for foreign investors? ? Dangote sio foreign investor  but power plays a big role in this cement biashara, plus add the cartels, the enviromentalists, and huyu Dangote could not play ball hapa
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
enyands wrote:I mentioned once why can't we think the same ,if this industry gets established in kenya people will have jobs , govt will collect more PAYE,crime will drop .why can't we think the same?wasn't there a time Alfred Mutua wanted to give land for free to manufacturing companies at machakos?what happened? Did it take off? Quote: Dangote also started selling cement in Tanzania early this year after completing its factory in Mtwara about 400 kilometers from the country’s capital, Dar es salaam My simple math head is asking me, why did Dangote go to tanzania, skip kenya and then went to ethiopia? ??? Why? I thought kenya is a magnate for foreign investors? ? Easy,Raw materials. Kenya is not particularly well endowed in natural resources compared with its neighbors. Our strength is a well trained workforce and robust finance system. Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
An entrepreneur's rant on the difficulty of starting a business in Kenya Some Kenyan politician had suggested that he tries Rwanda instead We The Minions
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:enyands wrote:I mentioned once why can't we think the same ,if this industry gets established in kenya people will have jobs , govt will collect more PAYE,crime will drop .why can't we think the same?wasn't there a time Alfred Mutua wanted to give land for free to manufacturing companies at machakos?what happened? Did it take off? Quote: Dangote also started selling cement in Tanzania early this year after completing its factory in Mtwara about 400 kilometers from the country’s capital, Dar es salaam My simple math head is asking me, why did Dangote go to tanzania, skip kenya and then went to ethiopia? ??? Why? I thought kenya is a magnate for foreign investors? ? Dangote sio foreign investor  but power plays a big role in this cement biashara, plus add the cartels, the enviromentalists, and huyu Dangote could not play ball hapa Most likely driven away by our "RENT SEEKING" political class. Someone must have told him to part with 5% of his local shareholding to have the licence expedited. He being who is is, he must have given them the middle finger and told them to F***-off. I hear there is an investor who has been denied a sugar factory licence coz he has refused to part with Sh 200M "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Rank: Member Joined: 8/27/2010 Posts: 495 Location: Nairobi
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Most likely driven away by our "RENT SEEKING" political class. Someone must have told him to part with 5% of his local shareholding to have the licence expedited. He being who is is, he must have given them the middle finger and told them to F***-off.
I hear there is an investor who has been denied a sugar factory licence coz he has refused to part with Sh 200M Bitange Ndemo wrote about this last year: Extract: Quote:Investors in Ethiopia are happy that the government is taking the initiative and delivering on promises. They are flocking in, and the many hotel brands that have mushroomed all over Addis Ababa are not disappointed.
During the reception at the Radisson Blue, I meet a group of European investors and this is what they told me. Initially, their desire was to set up in Kenya and grow their business to other parts of Africa.
They travelled to Nairobi. Through a local contact, they tried to set up an appointment with the Minister but after several days in Nairobi, the appointment never materialised.
They went back to Europe, saying they would try to get a firm appointment before coming back to Kenya. Eventually, the appointment was set up and they travelled to Kenya.
On reaching the Ministry, they were told that the Minister would not be in. He had abruptly travelled, without sending an apology to his guests.
A Director at the Ministry met with them and since he could not commit in anything, they achieved nothing.
But they had one last hope. That evening, they were to meet with a county Governor for dinner. The Governor showed up late with his wife, giving excuses that they had had a long drive and the traffic was unbearable.
As they talked, the county Governor’s wife interrupted to tell the investors that she was setting up a children’s home and she would need Sh10 million donation to set off the project.
By this time they had made up their mind that Kenya was not going to be the place to invest. They politely paid for the dinner and left without mentioning the reason why they wanted to talk to the Governor.
To their surprise, the Governor did not ask what the purpose of their meeting was. With their Kenyan link, they decided to give Ethiopia a try.
One phone call and an Ethiopian official on a Tuesday morning secured an appointment the next day, Wednesday. They travelled to Ethiopia and were met at the Airport.
To their amazement, they were driven to the prestigious Sheraton Hotel by a retinue of vehicles led by a police car with a siren. In the evening, the Foreign Ministry had arranged a dinner with two other Ministers.
During the dinner, they were asked what kind of investment they were interested in. After explaining what they wanted, they were told that the following morning they would meet with the Governor of Oromia.
After breakfast on Thursday, they were driven to Oromia. The Governor was waiting for them. They were promptly shown three sites where they could put up the investment.
By 1pm, they had signed up a memorandum of understanding. Slightly more than three months later, they are through with the initial infrastructure on the ground.
With this speed of action, it does not surprise me why the Ethiopians are re-writing the story of economic transformation. http://www.nation.co.ke/...5990-120u333z/index.htmlSent from my Black Nokia 3310
Rank: Member Joined: 1/27/2012 Posts: 851 Location: Nairobi
kaka2za wrote:enyands wrote:I mentioned once why can't we think the same ,if this industry gets established in kenya people will have jobs , govt will collect more PAYE,crime will drop .why can't we think the same?wasn't there a time Alfred Mutua wanted to give land for free to manufacturing companies at machakos?what happened? Did it take off? Quote: Dangote also started selling cement in Tanzania early this year after completing its factory in Mtwara about 400 kilometers from the country’s capital, Dar es salaam My simple math head is asking me, why did Dangote go to tanzania, skip kenya and then went to ethiopia? ??? Why? I thought kenya is a magnate for foreign investors? ? Easy,Raw materials. Kenya is not particularly well endowed in natural resources compared with its neighbors. Our strength is a well trained workforce and robust finance system. @Kaka2za, As in, we don't have raw materials for making cement in Kenya? Hata kama ni excuse, hiyo miguu haina.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/19/2015 Posts: 2,871 Location: hapo
There are things on wazua I've said that sound bad.......to other people But there's only one thing I regret...Bashing Bitange Ndemo Gichimu Kahenya's story is being repeated daily...While others go to state house to look for money, those with real ideas are chased away... Enyewe bwana Ndemo, I trully apologise...I'm still against Konza but it seems you knew something I did not know...So now I'll remain positive about that idea. Entreprenuers need their own little city in this country...Just like Las Vegas... Policy, policy, policy...not painted cars and stupid laws. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
mkeiy wrote:kaka2za wrote:enyands wrote:I mentioned once why can't we think the same ,if this industry gets established in kenya people will have jobs , govt will collect more PAYE,crime will drop .why can't we think the same?wasn't there a time Alfred Mutua wanted to give land for free to manufacturing companies at machakos?what happened? Did it take off? Quote: Dangote also started selling cement in Tanzania early this year after completing its factory in Mtwara about 400 kilometers from the country’s capital, Dar es salaam My simple math head is asking me, why did Dangote go to tanzania, skip kenya and then went to ethiopia? ??? Why? I thought kenya is a magnate for foreign investors? ? Easy,Raw materials. Kenya is not particularly well endowed in natural resources compared with its neighbors. Our strength is a well trained workforce and robust finance system. @Kaka2za, As in, we don't have raw materials for making cement in Kenya? Hata kama ni excuse, hiyo miguu haina. We do but they are more costly. Land in Tzand Ethiopia is mainly controlled by government and it is easy to negotiate with government than trying to bargain with a thousand small holders who are constantly incited by their leaders to demand higher compensation. In short to get access to 100 hectares in Kenya you talk to 10,000 farmers,their families,brokers,politicians,NGO activists,criminals etc...the cost is too high! Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
kaka2za wrote:mkeiy wrote:kaka2za wrote:enyands wrote:I mentioned once why can't we think the same ,if this industry gets established in kenya people will have jobs , govt will collect more PAYE,crime will drop .why can't we think the same?wasn't there a time Alfred Mutua wanted to give land for free to manufacturing companies at machakos?what happened? Did it take off? Quote: Dangote also started selling cement in Tanzania early this year after completing its factory in Mtwara about 400 kilometers from the country’s capital, Dar es salaam My simple math head is asking me, why did Dangote go to tanzania, skip kenya and then went to ethiopia? ??? Why? I thought kenya is a magnate for foreign investors? ? Easy,Raw materials. Kenya is not particularly well endowed in natural resources compared with its neighbors. Our strength is a well trained workforce and robust finance system. @Kaka2za, As in, we don't have raw materials for making cement in Kenya? Hata kama ni excuse, hiyo miguu haina. We do but they are more costly. Land in Tzand Ethiopia is mainly controlled by government and it is easy to negotiate with government than trying to bargain with a thousand small holders who are constantly incited by their leaders to demand higher compensation. In short to get access to 100 hectares in Kenya you talk to 10,000 farmers,their families,brokers,politicians,NGO activists,criminals etc...the cost is too high! Problem is not the farmers but our politicians.Look at what happened to the wind project in nyandarua.  Hutia Mundu!!
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/27/2012 Posts: 2,256 Location: Bandalungwa
kaka2za wrote:Alba wrote:Kenya never took off. Boarding pass was stolen by corrupt official who gave to his mpako wa kando so they can go joyriding in Rio. Now Kenya is stranded at the departure lounge. Where was she going? I am not sure. All I know is that someone opened this thread saying Kenya was on the runway about to take off. Kumbe Kenya did not even have a boarding pass Its funny because when Kibs was elected in 2002, people had the same optimism...even more. I was on a different forum at the time and someone opened a thread saying Kenya GDP will match South Africa in 10 years. Yote yawezekana bila Moi blah blah blah. I laughed at the time. Now I am just cynical. Watu wanapiga kelele eti they want development and they want jobs but the psychology of having to elect a member of their tribe at all costs is overwhelming their ability to think rationally.
As you laments and whine, sisi tuko sawa towards 2022 ........  In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
http://www.businessdaily...72756-hm7tsm/index.html
Quote:Volkswagen South Africa has signed a deal with Kenya to assemble vehicles in Thika, President Uhuru Kenyatta has announced Wednesday.
This follows an agreement allowing the German automaker to use the Kenya Vehicle Manufacturers (KVM) facility in Thika to assemble its popular models beginning with the Volkswagen Vivo.
The country's first fully-assembled Vivo is expected to roll out of the Thika plant by December this year.
Making the announcement today, President Uhuru Kenyatta said the plant would later start assembling a variety of makes.
“I am happy to welcome back the Volkswagen Group, currently the largest car manufacturer in the world, back to Kenya,” said Mr Kenyatta at State House, Nairobi, where he witnessed the signing of the agreement between Kenya and Volkswagen.
http://www.nation.co.ke/...0054-gnnv4fz/index.html
Quote:A Chinese firm plans to construct a factory in Kenya for prepaid meters to supply power utility firms in East Africa as it eyes big cash from the expanding billing market.
Kenya Power chief executive Ben Chumo says the firm has sought the electricity distributor’s advice on how to align their production with local market specifications.
Kenya Power has welcomed the move, citing lower costs for Kenyan made devices and employment opportunities. “Units made locally will be cheaper, translating to overall reduced costs,” Dr Chumo said, adding that Kenya Power seeks to source all of its materials locally.
We have really taken off.... http://constructionrevie...-mega-factory-in-kenya/
Quote:A whopping US$ 38m is set to be spent on the construction of a massive factory in Nairobi , Kenya by the giant Chinese firm- China Wu Yi as it seeks to enhance its exposure in the real estate in Kenya.
The board of Director of the company approved the decision that its local subsidiary China Wu Yi Kenya Ltd will construct the building.
“The investment has already been signed out to the Kenya subsidiary China Wu Yi (Kenya) Ltd in Nairobi for the construction and building of the project,” the company said in a statement.
The mega factory which will sit on 177 acres of land will be funded by Chinese lenders and will encompass the construction of an industrial base for research purposes, production, marketing and display of prefabricated materials.
The Chinese company is well known in Kenya since it is a key player in the construction sector. It has over the years constructed high end malls and highways.
Rank: Member Joined: 7/27/2014 Posts: 560 Location: Eastlando
hardwood wrote:http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Corporate-News/Volkswagen-inks-deal-to-begin-assembling-cars-in-Kenya/539550-3372756-hm7tsm/index.html Quote:Volkswagen South Africa has signed a deal with Kenya to assemble vehicles in Thika, President Uhuru Kenyatta has announced Wednesday.
This follows an agreement allowing the German automaker to use the Kenya Vehicle Manufacturers (KVM) facility in Thika to assemble its popular models beginning with the Volkswagen Vivo.
The country's first fully-assembled Vivo is expected to roll out of the Thika plant by December this year.
Making the announcement today, President Uhuru Kenyatta said the plant would later start assembling a variety of makes.
“I am happy to welcome back the Volkswagen Group, currently the largest car manufacturer in the world, back to Kenya,” said Mr Kenyatta at State House, Nairobi, where he witnessed the signing of the agreement between Kenya and Volkswagen. The government should just build modern Autobahns connecting north and south, east and west and they will be suprised how investors will troop into our country.
hardwood wrote:http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Corporate-News/Volkswagen-inks-deal-to-begin-assembling-cars-in-Kenya/539550-3372756-hm7tsm/index.html Quote:Volkswagen South Africa has signed a deal with Kenya to assemble vehicles in Thika, President Uhuru Kenyatta has announced Wednesday.
“I am happy to welcome back the Volkswagen Group, currently the largest car manufacturer in the world, back to Kenya,” said Mr Kenyatta at State House, Nairobi, where he witnessed the signing of the agreement between Kenya and Volkswagen. interesting, apart from mobius hakuna personal moto gari maker mwingine hapa, hope mobius put in more effort, very encouraging.
We have taken off and are at 30,000ft, and getting to 36,000ft soon. Quote:Kenya’s first donkey slaughter house has finally been opened in Mogotio, Baringo County. The meat will be exported to China where there is a huge demand. The abattoir, which was licensed by Agriculture Cabinet Secretary Willy Bett belongs to Goldox (K) Ltd, and is set to venture into the export market.
“Cabinet Secretary for Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries declared the Goldox (K) Limited Donkey Abattoir an export slaughterhouse for the purposes of these regulations, with effect from the April 1, 2016,” said the CS in a notice.
The slaughter house at Chemogoch in Mogotio was put up at a cost of Sh 300 million by Chinese nationals Lu Jing and Lu Donglin and has a capacity to process 100 donkeys per day. The slaughterhouse has provided hundreds of jobs in the area. 
alma1 wrote:There are things on wazua I've said that sound bad.......to other people
But there's only one thing I regret...Bashing Bitange Ndemo
Gichimu Kahenya's story is being repeated daily...While others go to state house to look for money, those with real ideas are chased away...
Enyewe bwana Ndemo, I trully apologise...I'm still against Konza but it seems you knew something I did not know...So now I'll remain positive about that idea.
Entreprenuers need their own little city in this country...Just like Las Vegas...
Policy, policy, policy...not painted cars and stupid laws. I never thought I'd see the day. Progress. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Kenya ready for take off