It is long overdue.........
Realcement
#2 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2016 3:22:33 PM

Realcement wrote:

Still waiting
It is long overdue.........

wukan
#3 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 9:37:30 AM

The only thing that has gone up is dividends everything else is down. Print down 9%

"We are told there's close to 6% growth, but on the ground the story may be different" NMG Chairman
Realcement
#4 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 10:18:02 AM

Thanks a lot.
I expect in election Y17 they will make revenue from advertising costs by politicians.

Regards
#5 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 12:15:25 PM

Realcement wrote:
Thanks a lot.
I expect in election Y17 they will make revnue from advertising costs by politicians.

Regards

I really doubt. Newspaper advertising is the least effective for of advertising for prospecting candidates. Times have changed. TV, vernacular radios and outdoor signs will be the biggest winners (read Royal Media and magnate ventures).

Pesa Nane
#6 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 1:27:43 PM

Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
Pesa Nane
#7 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 1:30:07 PM

Interim Div. Ksh 2.50

Payable 30 September 2016
Closure 19 September 2016
#8 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 2:44:58 PM

They need to stop golfing and start innovating. Get rid of the chairman, recruit a new digital print boss and get rid of the TV head. In this new age, they can't afford to stay with people who have an archaic kind of thinking.
Mike Ock
#9 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 3:08:01 PM

They need to stop golfing and start innovating. Get rid of the chairman, recruit a new digital print boss and get rid of the TV head. In this new age, they can't afford to stay with people who have an archaic kind of thinking.

Boss, NMG are doing nothing wrong, it's the industry that's in for tough times ahead. Digital is the future, but the fundamentals of digital publishing are pathetic.

1. On digital news there is no barrier to entry. Any idler can whip up a wordpress blog, get some traffic with controversial posts and compete with Nation for ad dollars, unlike print where the printing press is a huge barrier to entry.
2. Digital ad budgets are split up, with around 80% of most budgets going to search engines and social networks.
3. There is banner blindness and ad blocking online, which makes the digital publisher ads less effective.
4. Online, Nation is dependent on Google and Facebook for traffic
5. Clients are not coming on board with digital as fast as the readers are

Online news business ni mashida tupu for traditional media. Only small, cheap outfits, the likes of Daily Post and Ghafla are profitable. Even look abroad, guys like New York Times has been suffering the past 10 years. It's only now that the trend is catching up in Kenya. I would advise people to dump the media stocks for now. They will be donkeys for the next 3-5 years at least.
#10 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 4:06:40 PM

Mike Ock wrote:

Boss, NMG are doing nothing wrong, it's the industry that's in for tough times ahead. Digital is the future, but the fundamentals of digital publishing are pathetic.

1. On digital news there is no barrier to entry. Any idler can whip up a wordpress blog, get some traffic with controversial posts and compete with Nation for ad dollars, unlike print where the printing press is a huge barrier to entry.
2. Digital ad budgets are split up, with around 80% of most budgets going to search engines and social networks.
3. There is banner blindness and ad blocking online, which makes the digital publisher ads less effective.

Online news business ni mashida tupu for traditional media. Only small, cheap outfits, the likes of Daily Post and Ghafla are profitable. Even look abroad, guys like New York Times has been suffering the past 10 years. It's only now that the trend is catching up in Kenya. I would advise people to dump the media stocks for now. They will be donkeys for the next 3-5 years at least.

And that is the truth.
I don't envy NMG at all.
Newsprint, their strongest division, is a dying industry.
TV is too confusing and too competitive after the digital migration, advertisers are confused and I can almost predict the closing or major downsizing of NTV like their radios in a few months. If their biggest gamble, Churchill acquired his own frequency, which is just a matter of time, NTV will be in a crisis.

Pesa Nane
#11 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 5:19:37 PM

Mike Ock wrote:

And that is the truth.
I don't envy NMG at all.
TV is too confusing and too competitive after the digital migration, advertisers are confused and I can almost predict the closing or major downsizing of NTV like their radios in a few months. If their biggest gamble, Churchill acquired his own frequency, which is just a matter of time, NTV will be in a crisis.

@2012 where have you been?! Closing AND downsizing is past tense not future
QTV = Shut down
Nation FM = Shut down
QFM = Shut down
KFM (Rwanda)= Shut down
(Consolidation, down scaling, rationalization.... etc are just big words for shut down)
#12 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 6:05:02 PM

Mike Ock wrote:

@Mike that is a very defeatist way of looking at this.

1. Any news organization should know the difference btn news and noise. In wazua, its not news until its published by nation/business daily and recently the star. We wazuans dont trust so much what has been published by substandard, daily post and other click bait e-papers....I think you know why but did you say they are making money?. So in as much as there are so many bloggers out there Nation Media group shouldn't cry foul but take the lead in giving accurate and objective news analysis that is not lazily researched, and poorly presented. Why do we always go to Reuters/Bloomberg for business news and Economist/Forbes for business magazines? NMG needs to scale...move with the times, the ocean has new entrants and the tide is different.

2. We the readers and/or investors really don't care about how budgets are split up, what we care for is content. Is it aesthetically displayed, is it entertaining, informative, accurate, upto date etc. Why would NMG want a search engine? Google and Microsoft created that, all you need to do is hire @alma (search engine optimization engineer) and the rest will fall in place. Type bbc on google, the results will give you every legitimate bbc page

3. Banners are not just the only kind of online advertising there is. Editorial content, like what the business daily had for Oracle is one way of doing it. There's a reason why companies are using Vloggers and Bloggers to advertise their stuff...Lack of creativity in traditional media companies. Which is very what NMGs management is all about. Look at Business Daily's youtube page... just random bogus clips, and this is where Rich Management beats you, Rich will air the financial results briefing live on Youtube and post them for those who missed out , while our the traditional news broadcasters sleep. Their digital classified product should have been the talk of town, but the likes of OLX will keep taking the largest market share because of management issues.

4. NMG has to see google and facebook as avenues of broadcasting. The under 25s are not waiting at the sitting room to watch the 7 or 9 oclock news. They are on facebook, snapchat, instagram and youtube watching stuff "happening now". Citizen has realized this and they've started broadcasting live on FB. Other news companies in the west will air just a short clip on TV and ask their listeners to watch the rest of the interview on their online page. And who is managing NMGs Youtube pages? You know your digital team has a problem when this happens

Stop giving excuses @mikeock. If you are in NMGs management hit me up on twitter my name is the same with an s I can give you pointers

Mike Ock
#13 Posted : Wednesday, August 31, 2016 3:56:33 PM

No, I'm not on NMG's team. However, I am very experienced in matters online. It's now my 7th year in the online hustle. The major thing in online is this: platforms are king. If you're one of the guys feeding off a platform, then you will only get the crumbs that fall off the wayside. Online news unfortunately, feeds off search and social platforms, and there is no way NMG can say OK, we will make our own search engine or social network to compete.

The platform opportunity that was missed by local media was the opportunity to build a big local classifieds website. NMG admittedly tried with N-Soko, but bahati mbaya it didn't work. Any forward thinking media executive should have banned OLX ads till they got their own platform right, but alas, here we are. OLX is the market leader off of marketing on Nation and Standard. However, there is an opportunity still in that classifieds is a natural monopoly market, and OLX clearly has no business plan, so someone at NMG could eat humble pie and offer to buy off or run OLX Kenya on a franchise licensing agreement. Then they need to monetize the OLX audience properly using featured listings. That's one of the best moves NMG or Standard can make at this point.
#14 Posted : Wednesday, August 31, 2016 4:32:54 PM

One day on this forum we had to agree Laughing out loudly

I have seen these so called media companies in Kenya just play games online. The horror stories I have for you just this year alone would scare a scarecrow.

It's now belief that this thing called digital is acturial science to Kenyan corporates.

Nation made stupid mistakes when they started copying every tom dick and harry online. This idea by Mick Ock that OLX is a flop is exactly what I mean when I say, corporates have no idea about the online business model. None at all. Who told you OLX doesn't make money for its investors? Where did you get those financials from?

They went ahead with Nsoko etc etc...Mistakes I called out as amatuer hour. But here we are.

Now they are all copying Ghafla...Star classifieds etc. Yaani if I was their digital team, I'd be very worried. No idea what the business model is. To them creating websites and adding the names Nation, The Star, Standard is a winning economic endevour.

Obviously, you are right murchr, these people spend more time golfing than understanding what the internet business is all about.

But I remember all too well saying that water shall find it's own level by 2016 and beyond. The time is nigh.

Mike Ock for someone who's been online for eons as you say, you really should google more about the impact of tom dicks and mary's setting up wordpress blogs. And how such has now changed how human beings behave.

This is not only in print media....Just google "accountant in kenya". Not a single accountant is in the top ten....Yet the fellows are hustling hiring marketers. mmhhhh.

The problem is not digital media. The problem is the people hired to ensure that a site with 1 million visitors a day, is still making a loss.

Just fire everyone in that office and start again.

My view is simple..Digital media shall only be understood by small business in Kenya. Agile business that doesn't have to go through 20 people to decide on how to answer a tweet. That's just the way things are done online.

#15 Posted : Wednesday, August 31, 2016 5:42:12 PM

Alma we started calling out this company long time ago.
@MikeOck I dont search for news I just open the site to see what's going on. Don't we all know that Nation is a news outlet in Kenya? Alexa.com says of the websites visited in Kenya Nation.co.ke ranks no. 5 What I get frustrated about is their lack of content, too slow to update information, and no in depth analysis. The digital age is too fast for these guys, some will be left holding nothing. Twitter is a perfect tool of spreading news BUT, those employed to run these accounts keep repeating the same news all day, why not post news as in the new stuff?

Now on platforms, Maybe I don't understand what you mean but are you referring to stuff like twitter, facebook? If that is what you refer to, do they need their own or just use what they have? Do BBC CNN AFP and the like have their own platforms? Surely it cant be that complicated. On N-soko....I believe they were the first to get into this space but until this day, they have not been able to sell this product to the masses. Their online page is an extension of the newspaper(WHY)??? Now compare that to OLX! If that is not a clear testament of management failure, I dont know what else they are waiting for.

In another thread huko green section, I said this is the information age, your must have employee should be 85% IT oriented, not accountants or marketers. Everything is going digital and the management that is focused towards growth should be able to see this. There's a reason why Bob Collymore spends his time at Nailab and ihub. Another thing, data is everything.

Print can make money they just need to play with the dynamics of distribution and create more targeted content.
Why dont they provide financial market data. They direct readers to mystocks why not buy it? Why is their TV so boring? Without Churchill they are nothing
#16 Posted : Wednesday, August 31, 2016 6:13:39 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Interim Div. Ksh 2.50

Payable 30 September 2016
Closure 19 September 2016

And the share is on a southward trend
#17 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 11:30:52 AM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Mike Ock wrote:

And that is the truth.
I don't envy NMG at all.

QTV = Shut down
Nation FM = Shut down
QFM = Shut down
KFM (Rwanda)= Shut down
(Consolidation, down scaling, rationalization.... etc are just big words for shut down)

I'm back @Pesa Nane. I took a break to start building a new company and now it's gotten a bit of a footing.
As for NMG, looking at the trends around the world, I would not put my money on print news media, not even magazines - they have no future. It's a wise and bold move by NMG to put 10 times more into digital, I just hope it was not a little bit late for them. As for Standard SG media, we can only wish them all the best.

lochaz-index
#18 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 12:27:36 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Mike Ock wrote:

And that is the truth.
I don't envy NMG at all.

QTV = Shut down
Nation FM = Shut down
QFM = Shut down
KFM (Rwanda)= Shut down

I'm back @Pesa Nane. I took a break to start building a new company and now it's gotten a bit of a footing.
As for NMG, looking at the trends around the world, I would not put my money on print news media, not even magazines - they have no future. It's a wise and bold move by NMG to put 10 times more into digital, I just hope it was not a little bit late for them. As for Standard SG media, we can only wish them all the best.

The long term outlook of this company is not appealing. Maybe they will survive but I highly doubt they will ever thrive especially with the current modus operandi.
The main purpose of the stock market is to make fools of as many people as possible.
Mike Ock
#19 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 3:58:25 PM

Just look at this stock graph of New York Times'

The rain is beating publishing globally, anywhere the internet penetrates deeply, newspaper companies are the first victims. In Kenya, the media companies have received the double blow on TV and print. Run for your life from these media companies
#20 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 5:46:04 PM

Mike Ock wrote:
Just look at this stock graph of New York Times'

The rain is beating publishing globally, anywhere the internet penetrates deeply, newspaper companies are the first victims. In Kenya, the media companies have received the double blow on TV and print. Run for your life from these media companies

NYT is just a newspaper. Not comparable to NMG which owns TV stations and a classified portal that is dormant. The markets are different, how many papers do you think Newyorkers read come-on wacha copy and paste thinking. People still need news in Kenya, no one else is better placed to give it. They just need to stop being too comfortable and get out of the comfort zone. Now paste News Corps chart

Even print advertising can make money.