24 Pages«<1213141516>»
Rais Magufuli
Wamunyota
#261 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 6:01:32 PM

safariant wrote:
Makufuli now moves TZs capital from Dar to Dodoma. He even sells Dar Statehouse because move is final.

www.the-star.co.ke/news/...vices-to-dodoma_c1411463

Good move.

Our gov't should also be relocated to Isiolo.

The decision to move to move the capital to Dodoma was made in 1973 and officaily it is the national capital while Dar is the Commercial capital.

National parliament moved there in February 1996 but little has been done to move other government institutions.
In contrast,General Murtala Ramat Muhammed short lived regime resolved to move Nigeria's capital from Lagos to Abuja in 1976 and this was achieved in 1991 despite frequent often forceful change of governments in that period.
Kakazetu bado wanasubiri 43yrs later

This is a bad idea.It should be done in a structured manner not just interrupting peoples lives overnight.There is no water, banks electricity etc.How will all the govt officials with their families survive?
Hutia Mundu!!
sitaki.kujulikana
#262 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 6:24:33 PM

safariant wrote:
Makufuli now moves TZs capital from Dar to Dodoma. He even sells Dar Statehouse because move is final.

Good move.

I think that would be a great move.
#263 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 10:17:27 PM

Wamunyota wrote:
safariant wrote:

Good move.

The decision to move to move the capital to Dodoma was made in 1973 and officaily it is the national capital while Dar is the Commercial capital.

National parliament moved there in February 1996 but little has been done to move other government institutions.
In contrast,General Murtala Ramat Muhammed short lived regime resolved to move Nigeria's capital from Lagos to Abuja in 1976 and this was achieved in 1991 despite frequent often forceful change of governments in that period.

This is a bad idea.It should be done in a structured manner not just interrupting peoples lives overnight.There is no water, banks electricity etc.How will all the govt officials with their families survive?

Wamuthirsty, I have also thought this Maghufuli guy is doing things kiundutho without much thought since he came in but the more time goes the more I tend to agree with him. There is no change that is comfortable and you do not have to see the end result before you can start. Some changes can take decades to be accomplished but someone has to start somewhere.

Have you ever moved from one house to another and discovered just how disruptive it is. You never feel you were ready, you forget things etc. So there is never going to a right time to move a capital city, it just has to be done at some point if it is to be done and then deal with the consequences once it is done and I think it is this very concept that Maghufuli has understood better than me and most of his critics. He sees something wrong and he fires people on the spot, I do not think he has a plan for what the next person will do but the next guy will definitely be paying more attention to what he is doing, the problems may not all be solved at once but I bet he will improve on some things. If 100 institutions improve on just 2 or 3 areas I guess the whole country moves forward a little bit.

I think his action first plan later style of leadership may produce results we may be surprised by. Lets wait and watch. Si we will still be here in 2026 wacha tuone.
sitaki.kujulikana
#264 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2016 10:43:16 PM

Wamunyota wrote:
safariant wrote:

Good move.

Wamuthirsty, I have also thought this Maghufuli guy is doing things kiundutho without much thought since he came in but the more time goes the more I tend to agree with him. There is no change that is comfortable and you do not have to see the end result before you can start. Some changes can take decades to be accomplished but someone has to start somewhere.

Have you ever moved from one house to another and discovered just how disruptive it is. You never feel you were ready, you forget things etc. So there is never going to a right time to move a capital city, it just has to be done at some point if it is to be done and then deal with the consequences once it is done and I think it is this very concept that Maghufuli has understood better than me and most of his critics. He sees something wrong and he fires people on the spot, I do not think he has a plan for what the next person will do but the next guy will definitely be paying more attention to what he is doing, the problems may not all be solved at once but I bet he will improve on some things. If 100 institutions improve on just 2 or 3 areas I guess the whole country moves forward a little bit.

I think his action first plan later style of leadership may produce results we may be surprised by. Lets wait and watch. Si we will still be here in 2026 wacha tuone.

we are in the age of big data, whatever he is trying to do in tz has been done before, I can understand if a country like norway adopt the trial and error since they are developed and are moving into territory no other country has ventured into before, but tz and other poor countries have vast examples on how to do things in a way that will produce results. we have data going back thousands of years to learn and copy.
#265 Posted : Saturday, September 24, 2016 12:38:17 PM

http://www.the-star.co.k...nt-magufuli-on_c1425873

A Tanzanian lecturer has been charged with insulting President John Magufuli in a WhatsApp message. He faces three years in jail or a USD3,000 fine, or both.
enyands
#266 Posted : Sunday, September 25, 2016 3:51:41 AM

http://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2016/09/23/tanzanian-lecturer-charged-with-insulting-president-magufuli-on_c1425873

A Tanzanian lecturer has been charged with insulting President John Magufuli in a WhatsApp message. He faces three years in jail or a USD3,000 fine, or both.

I love Kenya
#267 Posted : Sunday, September 25, 2016 8:41:42 PM

enyands wrote:
http://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2016/09/23/tanzanian-lecturer-charged-with-insulting-president-magufuli-on_c1425873

I love Kenya

Nchi ya majambazi wasio na nidhamu wala ustarabu.
#268 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2016 4:58:59 PM

#269 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2016 5:09:32 PM

From the guard1ansmile
#270 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2016 7:11:57 PM

https://ondamic.com/philippines-rodrigo-duterte-announced-as-worlds-best-president/

http://newslexpoint.com/world-best-president/

How many best presidents are there?

#271 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2016 11:42:06 PM

#272 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2016 10:03:53 AM

keraka
#273 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2016 11:03:44 AM

Ohuru was also voted best president.

http://www.politics.co.k...worst-opposition-loser/[/quote]

He who pays the ....... calls the shots.
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.
#274 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 6:39:33 PM

#275 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 6:48:34 PM

Kwani is this guy crazy, smile d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
#276 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 7:30:46 PM

Even a company cant be run this way. These workers must be so tense. If the machines are not working he needs to ask the minister.

This one shows the whole confusion.
#277 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 8:20:32 PM

I have an MBA and I can tell you that this is very poor management skill exhibited by this Makufuli fellow. He has absolutely no respect for the chain of command or organisational structure. Management 101 says that if you are head of eg Barclays Bank, you don't go to a branch eg Homa Bay and start harassing tellers, rather you talk to the regional or branch managers and demand to know what is happening in their areas of jurisdiction. I should school this Makufuli on management.
#278 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 8:41:34 PM

I have an MBA and I can tell you that this is very poor management skill exhibited by this Makufuli fellow. He has absolutely no respect for the chain of command or organisational structure. Management 101 says that if you are head of eg Barclays Bank, you don't go to a branch eg Homa Bay and start harassing tellers, rather you talk to the regional or branch managers and demand to know what is happening in their areas of jurisdiction. I should school this Makufuli on management.

You don't need MBA to know what he is doing is offering very poor leadership plus now management is zilch Sad
#279 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 9:04:05 PM

This makufuli will bankruppt TZ.Surely why is he blaming such a junior civil servant when he is always chairing the cabinet?
#280 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 9:54:35 PM

This makufuli will bankruppt TZ.Surely why is he blaming such a junior civil servant when he is always chairing the cabinet?

He's practicing the worst form of management, what we call MBWA, i.e. Management By Wandering About.