wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

Mumias: On your marks, Get Set ....
slykat
#41 Posted : Monday, April 26, 2010 12:41:16 AM

Hey, peeps r misleading u! There are many Kenyans who have made fortunes at NSE without ever having been to even nursery school! Use the money you would pay CFA fees with to start investing...experience is the best teacher! Unless of course u wanted to be a CFA when grew up!
#42 Posted : Monday, April 26, 2010 5:19:23 AM

@slykat hogwash, successful investing is not a game of chance or collecting pennies on the roadside. @kesh take the time to learn.
#43 Posted : Monday, April 26, 2010 6:01:23 AM

@skylat you cant trade on the NSE just hoping to be lucky... i know ours is a basic exchange but if one doesnt want to flush his/her hard earned money down the toilet or seriously underperform the market then one needs at least basic accuonting and economic language...

that said i do admit that they are alot of people who invest with their eyes closed and make money but trust me one wouldnt want to play that game....
#44 Posted : Monday, April 26, 2010 10:31:54 AM

Guru, I don't think skylat is talking about investing with your eyes closed. Kesh, The best form of investing is buying into well managed companies.
You DON'T need to be a CFA! Think of the time and money that will be spent. You could have missed a few excellent oppurtunities to invest in the market. Just sit down on a PC and search about companies on the NSE and look at what are their plans for the FUTURE! The key word here is future. We invest into companies because of their future prospects, not their past performance, no matter how sterling.
I doubt everyone at wazua has degrees and fancy courses to their name.
Usipote pesa, na masomo ni ya bure kwingine.
#45 Posted : Monday, April 26, 2010 10:47:39 AM

ai. kwani we cnt lol up in this.. it is much simpler to abbreviate stuff and this aint sm bizness meeting. as for the course, no need. common sense plus sm background research will suffice. cheers

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#46 Posted : Monday, April 26, 2010 10:49:29 AM

@youcant.... @kesh! was aiming at acquiring technical knowledge of market operations like for example candle stick and cup and handle trends and also aiming on how to properly analyze financial statements...
one definately needs formal education on some of these concepts that no amount of personal reading can help to understand...

general investing with a buy and hold for long strategy can be done by almost anyone but we all have to admit trading on stock markets is a whole different ball game....
slykat
#47 Posted : Monday, April 26, 2010 7:19:12 PM

@Youcant

Thanks. Illustration; recently while I was chasing a coupla cheques at thw registrars, I noticed this Mzee in his 70s who was being served next to me. He spoke kyuk and was humbly dressed.

An interpreter, I guess a relation, was explaining that the mzee had come to collect his div cheques. When I overheard the amount involved, I was really embarrassed. I whispered my thoughts to my clerk; that my only consolation was that when am 70 I might with luck, just pick up such a huge cheque with a bodyguard, not an interpreter.

She confided the Mzee has bought reasonable amounts of stocks across the board every month for decades with coffee proceeds. He trusts the index to go up, up and up! No NAVs, no PE no complicated ratios.

@Guru

Granted, the mzee is not a trader.

@All

Can the experts please advise on the ideal exit point for mumias? where is it leveling? 14? 15? 17? What do the magic graphs say please? Need to cash in, I cant wait till am 70.
#48 Posted : Tuesday, April 27, 2010 6:17:14 AM

@skylat mumias is running way faster than it should be if one were to consider this years earnings which means the market is factoring in other things possibly acquisitons and growth of co generation...

another thing to look at is that the volumes traded are extremely healthy trading no less than 1.5million shares per day and the strong demand seems to be wiping out any possible resistance....

all this indicates to me that the price rally still has some steam... but i can advise with a heavy heart if you've run out of balls to stay in this stock then 15-16bob can be a good exit point...
slykat
#49 Posted : Tuesday, April 27, 2010 3:07:14 PM

@Guru

Loljavascript:insertsmiley('Laughing out loudly%20','/Images/Emoticons/msp_lol.gif')! Me still got two balls left, enough to wait until demand shows signs of letting. Thanks.
Jaguar
#50 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 8:27:52 AM

seems to be stabilizing @13.00, demand 1.5M, supply 1.94M
slykat
#51 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 9:51:22 AM

I think it is traders taking capital gains.
#52 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 10:18:49 AM

Kesh - Pole... I did not know your constraints... I am getting old & the sms-like language is hard for me...
#53 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 11:03:51 AM

As much as i am not a trader i enjoy watching the ticker and making up theories, and testing them. For example i think, sometimes when the the big foreigners (wazungu ) are about to enter, brokers and bankers after receiving queries on cash transfers rapidly withdraw their speculative portfolios so as just to precede them slightly once they receive info on what the wazungu will buy. Hence the drop in the sweetest speculative stocks of recent (mumyash, thentum, coop, NIC, paka, kenre etc but not CFC and Sameer which i attribute to kichwa ngumu) All in all the only thing that is certain in the stock market is uncertainity....but in the long term though
A New Kenya
#54 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 1:22:05 PM

mv_ufanisi seems like the breakout we were waiting for never happened.
Looks like Guru was right, its going to be gradual. Closed at 13.35. Not bad. I'm still getting more of these.
fellifel
#55 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 1:40:05 PM

Any speculations on this counter, al start camping outside my brokers office if it hits SH.17. OOOOOhhhhh!
#56 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 2:22:53 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Looks like Guru was right, its going to be gradual. Closed at 13.35. Not bad. I'm still getting more of these.

i'm also thinking about picking up more of these since the price looks to have stabilised at above 13bob but i'm also wondering about KPLC....

i really hate it when you have limited funds and many options...
mv_ufanisi
#57 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 5:21:43 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

Breakout happened for me. I got in at 11.1 got out at 13.65 and went into KENOL at 84.
#58 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 5:58:14 PM

@mv - What next?
cnn
#59 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 6:02:51 PM

Me thinks WTK,they report next month and THEY will be strong,perhaps a generous dividend payout,then Equity for half year.
the deal
#60 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 6:15:36 PM

@cnn a dividend of 15 bob from WTK will send the market into a spin....LOL.