wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

23 Pages«<23456>»
Wai!! it is a blood bath, kcb, coop, equity down 9%
#61 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 2:59:02 PM

Creativity starts now. Credit cards will now be one of the holy grails for the banks. Expect a call on soon from your 'friendly bank'.

Credit cards are capped no?

Bank transactions are about to be cleverly introduced.

I see a mass exodus at MPESA bank. Those who've been salivating can now prepare their checks. Co-op will be hitting 9/- kesho
Wakanyugi
#62 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 2:59:35 PM

Wanjiku hayuko hapa

This is a platform where elitist, overfed fat cats (who think they are gods gift to the Kenyan economy, well they are not) come to practice their navel gazing.

They are the ones panicking, now that their beloved casino has been shaken a bit.

Wanjiku is too busy building the real economy.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#63 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 3:05:07 PM

Jon Jones wrote:
Banking stocks will slide until end of the year when investors can roughly investigate the impact of the law on their profitability. Until then, expect massive exits and rock bottom prices. Banks have a smaller margin for error now. Only the best candidates will get loans. You can now know that you can now qualify for maybe half what you would have qualified for before the law.

This is help banks curb the growing NPLs. The marginal borrowers [potential defaulters] will be locked out. Plus as you say those who will be lent funds will be charged less BUT expected to put more collateral up thus reducing the risk of default.

In my opinion, this law will force banks to work for their money. They will have to lend prudently by examining how the funds will be used in certain projects. This is a good thing for Wanjiku because they will be getting free financial advise in the process...basically, if the banker refuses to give you a loan, your idea probably sucks. Previously, they could afford to finance two bad projects for every five because the spreads were large enough.

"If the Bank refuses with a loan its because they do not understand my idea... Let me go to riveroad.. Although I will pay 90% p.a. to the shylock at least he understands my idea and is willing to lend" said Wanjiku
Wamunyota
#64 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 3:16:56 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:

Wanjiku hayuko hapa

This is a platform where elitist, overfed fat cats (who think they are gods gift to the Kenyan economy, well they are not) come to practice their navel gazing.

They are the ones panicking, now that their beloved casino has been shaken a bit.

So where does wanjiku get her money from?
Hutia Mundu!!
#65 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 3:22:26 PM

Jon Jones wrote:
JM has lost a cool BIRRION today. Tomorrow is another day he will take one for the team. His entire networth might be cut by half or worse by the time dust settles with this law. This is the flip side of the stock market. One day a politician can decide to cut your networth.

JM still has more than @VVS and the extended clan! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
Wakanyugi
#66 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 3:24:04 PM

Jon Jones wrote:
Banking stocks will slide until end of the year when investors can roughly investigate the impact of the law on their profitability. Until then, expect massive exits and rock bottom prices. Banks have a smaller margin for error now. Only the best candidates will get loans. You can now know that you can now qualify for maybe half what you would have qualified for before the law.

Banks have some of the smartest Kenyans at their helms. Can you think of Mwangi, Oigara, Muriuki etc, quietly accepting these kinds of loses in the competitive markets we have today? Think about this:

The Governor has suspended the issuance of new banking licenses. Any bank that declines too much becomes an automatic take over target. We are likely to see some interesting M&A action in the banking sector over the next one year.

Even the problem of pricing risk in our unique environment has been mostly solved, or very soon will be. KCB, Equity et al moved over 30 billion in loans using their digital platforms in the last year - relying essentially on little more than a credit rating number and a digital profile. Watch how quickly the other Banks pile in. Mwangi's investment in Equitel suddenly begins to look prescient.

My point? Don't cry for banks. They will do OK. They always do.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#67 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 3:27:30 PM

Wamunyota wrote:
Wakanyugi wrote:

Wanjiku hayuko hapa

Kaburu, Waiguru, Ngunyi et al can afford 90% loans.
Wakanyugi
#68 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 3:33:51 PM

Wamunyota wrote:
Wakanyugi wrote:

Wanjiku hayuko hapa

Mostly from Shylocks, Chamas, SACOO's, Table banking, friends, relatives etc. No banks.

The cause of this drastic bill is largely because Banks joined the Shylock business long ago - which they sanitize by using long words.

Even Equity, which started out as Wanjikus Bank, joined the Shylock club some years ago.
#69 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 3:37:01 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
Wamunyota wrote:
Wakanyugi wrote:

Wanjiku hayuko hapa

Mostly from Shylocks

The cause of this drastic bill is largely because Banks joined the Shylock business long ago - which they sanitize by using long words.

Even Equity, which started out as Wanjikus Bank, joined the Shylock club some years ago.

shylock using many wordssmile smile 2% in a month looks very cheap to wanjiku
#70 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 3:39:01 PM

Jon Jones wrote:
JM has lost a cool BIRRION today. Tomorrow is another day he will take one for the team. His entire networth might be cut by half or worse by the time dust settles with this law. This is the flip side of the stock market. One day a politician can decide to cut your networth.

JM still has more than @VVS and the extended clan! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

And this is just paper loss.

Isn't it Warren Buffet who said if you cannot bare to wake up and see your stock losing value by 50% without panicking then you should not be in the stock market? Or something close to that.
Boris Boyka
#71 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 4:45:58 PM

When did Uchumi,Kplc and Total become banks? Asking for a friend who saw them in near 10% loss of banks territory.smile
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
Boris Boyka
#72 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 4:53:49 PM

This was CBA and it was yesterday. Wacha wangojee secured borrowers.
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
#73 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 5:07:22 PM

Thus spake Mr. Aly-Khan Satchu:
The Shilling was last at 101.40. I am sure Not many Folks were ready
to pop their heads above the Parapet today.

Today was the first Opportunity for the Stock Market to react to the
statement issued by the President re the Banking Amendment Act [2015].
The Reaction was brutal and ugly.
The Nairobi All Share slumped -5.01% to close at 139.14
The Nairobi NSE20 crashed -4.41% lower to close at 3309.76 a level
last reached in March 2012.
As I said August 8th ''we have entered a new populist normal.
Politicians the World over are having to wrestle this [populist] tiger
by its tail''
The President evidently was convinced that Parliament would return the
Bill to him [if he were to reject it] with a super-majority and that
Political response was probably perceived to diminish his ''populist''
bona fides.
The Bill is in my opinion the equivalent of using a Sledge-Hammer to
crack a nut.
Banks will surely park their money in ''risk-free'' GOK Bills and Bonds.
Small Banks [who were already struggling] are effectively out of the market.
I find it difficult to see this Bill being operationalised in its
present format or that lashings and lashings of credit are going to be
made available at 14.5%.
The Collateral damage as we are witnessing today is vicious and should
give policy makers pause for thought.
Banking Shares were a Sea of red.
watesh
#74 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 5:13:09 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
Wamunyota wrote:
Wakanyugi wrote:

Wanjiku hayuko hapa

Mostly from Shylocks, Chamas, SACOO's, Table banking, friends, relatives etc. No banks.

Inaitwa thinking forward Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
People see 2% per month as cheap but cummulatively you can double you starting capital by the end of the year.
#75 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 5:39:41 PM

watesh wrote:
Wakanyugi wrote:
Wamunyota wrote:
Wakanyugi wrote:

Wanjiku hayuko hapa

Inaitwa thinking forward Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
People see 2% per month as cheap but cummulatively you can double you starting capital by the end of the year.

How does this Table banking work?
Naono Hustlerless is fully on it.

#76 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 6:09:19 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
Jon Jones wrote:

Banks have some of the smartest Kenyans at their helms. Can you think of Mwangi, Oigara, Muriuki etc, quietly accepting these kinds of loses in the competitive markets we have today? Think about this:

The Governor has suspended the issuance of new banking licenses. Any bank that declines too much becomes an automatic take over target. We are likely to see some interesting M&A action in the banking sector over the next one year.

Even the problem of pricing risk in our unique environment has been mostly solved, or very soon will be. KCB, Equity et al moved over 30 billion in loans using their digital platforms in the last year - relying essentially on little more than a credit rating number and a digital profile. Watch how quickly the other Banks pile in. Mwangi's investment in Equitel suddenly begins to look prescient.

Is this really viable when rates are at 14.5% p.a.?
#77 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 6:30:03 PM

For instance, clause 33(B) (a) reads “the maximum interest rate chargeable for a credit facility in Kenya at no more than four per cent, the base rate set by the Central Bank of Kenya”.

A strict reading suggests that this number will be only four per cent of the base rate, which at 10 per cent would mean that it is mathematically 0.4 per cent.

The advocacy by those who supported the law shows that the intended effect was a four percentage point added to the base rate which would make it four per cent plus 10 per cent.

If not corrected, financial institutions could argue sensibly that this part of the law is incapable of being implemented considering that that rate would be far below the inflation rate.
http://www.nation.co.ke/oped/Opinion/New-law-good-but-banks-might-find-a-way-around-it-/440808-3356806-iaacf1z/index.html
#78 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 6:31:05 PM

Creativity starts now. Credit cards will now be one of the holy grails for the banks. Expect a call on soon from your 'friendly bank'.

I see a mass exodus at MPESA bank. Those who've been salivating can now prepare their checks. Co-op will be hitting 9/- kesho

Coop @ 9 ? That's too expensive. Their 2016 eps will be down by around 30%.
#79 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 7:00:41 PM

Coop @ 9 ? That's too expensive. Their 2016 eps will be down by around 30%.

Shame on you EPS up 18%
Wakanyugi
#80 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 7:26:25 PM

guru267 wrote:
Wakanyugi wrote:
Jon Jones wrote:

Is this really viable when rates are at 14.5% p.a.?

I think it is possible. KCB, Equity, CBA etc are essentially using an algorithm to allocate loans, in other words small to zero transaction cost. Meaning the Shylock rates they levy now are pure risk cover plus - a humongous - margin.

They can afford to go from the average 2% a month to 1% and still make good money. They simply have to learn to live without supernormal profits, like the rest of us.