wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

House team wants Mumias delisted
#1 Posted : Tuesday, April 27, 2010 3:14:00 PM

http://www.nation.co.ke/...2/-/k4ee82/-/index.html

Are these MPs serious. We don't mind them delisting Mumias they just have to buy our shares back a Shs100!smile

Fundaah
#2 Posted : Tuesday, April 27, 2010 3:17:26 PM

will this reverse the share price gear?
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
slykat
#3 Posted : Tuesday, April 27, 2010 4:33:20 PM

I would not be worried. Parliament is simply meddling. Commercial disputes go to court, not parliament! In fact CMA should also ignore the committee.
#4 Posted : Tuesday, April 27, 2010 5:16:38 PM

MPs = Idiots... They cant even clean their backsides without asking for help...
#5 Posted : Tuesday, April 27, 2010 5:23:12 PM

Here; here!
#6 Posted : Tuesday, April 27, 2010 6:23:19 PM

Nyef nyef tu
annsal
#7 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 9:16:00 AM

could this be reason why mumias has dropped ? and is there a possiblity that it will climb up again to highs of 13.85? please advise
God loves a Trier!
#8 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 9:33:31 AM

annsal wrote:
could this be reason why mumias has dropped ? and is there a possiblity that it will climb up again to highs of 13.85? please advise

Mumias will even go much higher. I doubt this news had any effect on today's price but what that Mututho guy said on tv yesterday was bad pr for mumias and need to be countered.

#9 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 10:50:57 AM

Point of correction to the Honourable Mpigs. They claim that MSC should belong to the farmers. MSC never had an IPO. MSC sold its shares to Mumias Sugar Outgrower Association (or something like that). The farmers were given an outlet to sell their shares through the NSE. They sold. Others bought and benefitted. The Govt should reduce its shareholding in the company by selling the same shares to farmers but leave the listed stock as it is. Other concerns by the MPigs are serious.
#10 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 11:38:03 AM

@fund - huh? I am confused... and what are these other concerns???
wasee
#11 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 11:52:08 AM

Mambo gani hii?????
#12 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 12:00:22 PM

FundamentAli wrote:
Point of correction to the Honourable Mpigs. They claim that MSC should belong to the farmers. MSC never had an IPO. MSC sold its shares to Mumias Sugar Outgrower Association (or something like that). The farmers were given an outlet to sell their shares through the NSE. They sold. Others bought and benefitted.

I totally agree with you. For your information, some farmers didn't even wait for listing. I personally know of individuals who went "mashinani" or "graud" as kajoras call it and made deals with the farmers. You simply talk to a farmer, establish how many shares they have, agree on a price - like sukuma wiki - pay him/her cash (they loved that!), organize the trasfer (those days they had share certificates) and voila! the shares are yours. Willing buyer willing seller. The fact that this "mashinani buyers" made a killing when the shares were listed is besides the point. No one was forced to sell. Some of the sellers "drunk" their money others used it to educate their kids - again besides the point! Same happened to Muiganania a.k.a Equity & I haven't heard anyone asking for their shares back!

This is capitalist country. Just because Njung'e sold his five acre shamba in Ruiru at 1 million shillings four years ago (before he heard about the by pass), he can't now run to the government on learning that it's just next to the by pass and is actually worth 30 times more. Same applies to Mumias.
#13 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 12:12:59 PM

@vvs,

Other concerns are about non-compliance with the sugar act. Fair practice demands that the farmer be present when the cane is being weighed. The transport cost charged to the farmer should be fair. MSC does the weighing in the factory in the absence of the farmer. Transport cost were found to be exhorbitant. There were many other issues the company has to sort out. I do not think this is going away easily
#14 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 12:29:57 PM

Some of the issues raised by this Mututho and co is utter rubbish.MSC has contracts with "farmers" and no gun is used on them.I dare call them farmers even though the truth is that they are landlords (To be honest,Westerners are too lazy a people).Mumias does ploughing,harrowing,provides seeds,plants,weeds,applies pesticides and fertilizer,harvests,transports and weighs the cane.In the midst of this landlords are what are referred to as private cane farmers.They do everything for themselves and reap big.....the nyef nyeffing farmers are the lazy lot who sits and waits for the company to do everything for them.That aside,look at who is leading the campaign to tarnish MSC's name.The local MP,one BW who is known to be in bad books with Evans and has on several occasions incited farmers against Mumias (Wasn't just last year when his hand was broken in a protest march?)....and the other fellow,Gabriel,a former accountant with MSC who was hounded when caught with his hand in the cookie jar...

@Fundament,
Farmers are allowed to accompany their cane and be present during weighing in.Actually,this might not be the issue.BW and mututho's committe wants cane to be weighed in the farm....Think.MSC has over 40,000 small scale cane growers.How many weighbridges would you require?....Truth be told told,instead of making hopeless noise,MPigs from this region should be out there sensitizing farmers on the benefits of private cane farming.
#15 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 12:40:26 PM

Now that MB explained it... I get it...
haiyaa
#16 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 12:43:33 PM

Pray I'm praying Pray Pray .Just like mukiha on CFC that the price goes lower say 8 bob .So that I can board the bus .Panickers drive the price down as soon as possible
#17 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 12:55:39 PM

FundamentAli wrote:
@vvs,

Other concerns are about non-compliance with the sugar act. Fair practice demands that the farmer be present when the cane is being weighed. The transport cost charged to the farmer should be fair. MSC does the weighing in the factory in the absence of the farmer. Transport cost were found to be exhorbitant. There were many other issues the company has to sort out. I do not think this is going away easily

Why doesnt the farmer accompany the tractor to the factory for weighing? It is difficult for the weighing to be done at the farm...

From what I know of commercial weighing stations, the tractor/lorry is driven onto a platform & the weight recorded. The cane/goods are off-loaded & the tractor/lorry is weighed again... The net difference is the weight of the goods/cane...
#18 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 12:58:24 PM

@njunge - U gotta be kidding... Kwani, all these chaps do is drink busaa while Mumias does all the work...

I say Mumias dumps these fools & sources 100% of the cane from their farms (whether Tana, Western, Ramisi)...
#19 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 1:17:08 PM

The MPs don't get it; they think the can force anyone to do what they [MPs] wish.

So now they've summoned the CMA to demand that MSC be de-listed. CMA will simply tell them that MSC has not broken any listing regulations!

It is about time that serious organistaions started rejecting "orders" from Parliamentary Committees; remember what happened to the appointment of new CEO of KAA?

The MPs RECOMMENDED that the selection process be repeated, the KAA board said NO and forwarded three names to the minister for transport.

The minister made his choice from the three and the MPs are now crying foul. Do they not know the meaning of the word RECOMMENDATION?
#20 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 1:20:53 PM

Meanwhile; I sold a quarter of my holding at 13.50 two days ago and today MSC closed at 12.90