wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Medical Insurance
#21 Posted : Monday, August 08, 2016 9:16:23 AM

Mseto binti wrote:
@Xymalos...thats what i am still pondering, crazy exclusions if u ask coz for real anyone above 60 is bound to have a few pre-existing conditions.This sounds like another plan they have hatched to milk us dry without paying for anything....imagine ati waiting period for pre-existing conditions is 2 years!!!for anyone above 70 it could mean u are paying double for any eventuality within the 2year period! ...Jzameni is there any solution or remedy?????Pray Pray Pray Pray Pray Pray

Vote @baba in 2017 polls, he will bring us an #Obamacare equivalent!

#22 Posted : Monday, August 08, 2016 2:05:17 PM

The Linda Jamii one really sorted us for some time, then suddenly it was disqualified. Sad Sad
Ms Mkenya
#23 Posted : Tuesday, August 16, 2016 10:58:39 AM

Xymalos wrote:
Looking for insurance for my elderly 72 year old mom - anybody with good experience with any insurance covering elderly people? Currently she is with Faulu, it has been a blessing, but now I hear they've merged with UAP and premiums are way too high, with lots of exclusions - seems like age discrimination. Who in their 70s would not have pre-existing conditions? Advice welcome.

Keep renewing the Faulu covr and do not default. If you do, you cannot join afresh. UAP has a seniors cover, but get all details first.

Halafu, please continue paying their NHIF. It is being expanded every day.
....above all, to stand.
#24 Posted : Tuesday, August 16, 2016 11:16:13 AM

Ms Mkenya wrote:
Xymalos wrote:
Looking for insurance for my elderly 72 year old mom - anybody with good experience with any insurance covering elderly people? Currently she is with Faulu, it has been a blessing, but now I hear they've merged with UAP and premiums are way too high, with lots of exclusions - seems like age discrimination. Who in their 70s would not have pre-existing conditions? Advice welcome.

Keep renewing the Faulu covr and do not default. If you do, you cannot join afresh. UAP has a seniors cover, but get all details first.

Halafu, please continue paying their NHIF. It is being expanded every day.

NHIF...NHIF...NHIF that's what the common mwananchi should be fighting for its improvement...they paid for chemo for my buddies mum...you are right @Ms Mkenya they are evolving well but a lot more can be done.
Ms Mkenya
#25 Posted : Tuesday, August 16, 2016 11:43:32 AM

NHIF is paying even for dialysis so please enroll the older folk. In Nairobi i know they are paying in Coptic Hospital alongside others and of course KNH.
Let us keep fighting for this.

Secondly, for something like dialysis, please note that it is an exclusion on some policies, e.g. the Resolution one. They can only pay if you have 'Acute renal failure' so if it is the kind brought on by diabetes and hypertension (Which is where most of our older folk lie), they will not be covered.

Lastly, you can choose a facility near them where they can go for outpatient treatment at no cost as long as they are NHIF members. The list of hospitals is huge. For more information visit their website but for even more accurate info, visit an NHIF office.

Just for the record i do not work for NHIF but if something is working, it is working..
....above all, to stand.
heri
#26 Posted : Tuesday, August 16, 2016 9:20:36 PM

Has anyone used Equimed

https://insurance.equity...oup.com/products/health

someone told me they have no exclusions?
sitaki.kujulikana
#27 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2016 10:08:30 AM

Ms Mkenya wrote:
NHIF is paying even for dialysis so please enroll the older folk. In Nairobi i know they are paying in Coptic Hospital alongside others and of course KNH.

Secondly, for something like dialysis, please note that it is an exclusion on some policies, e.g. the Resolution one. They can only pay if you have 'Acute renal failure' so if it is the kind brought on by diabetes and hypertension (Which is where most of our older folk lie), they will not be covered.

Lastly, you can choose a facility near them where they can go for outpatient treatment at no cost as long as they are NHIF members. The list of hospitals is huge. For more information visit their website but for even more accurate info, visit an NHIF office.

Just for the record i do not work for NHIF but if something is working, it is working..

just make sure if you are not employed to pay your premiums annually, otherwise utashanga if you are a jua kali type and try get the services if you pay monthly, happened to me.
#28 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2016 1:26:49 PM

heri wrote:
Has anyone used Equimed

https://insurance.equity...oup.com/products/health

someone told me they have no exclusions?

What are the annual premiums for the Equimed?

streetwise
#29 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2016 11:12:58 PM

Try NHIF , the have greatly improved and I don't think they descriminate
#30 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2016 8:53:17 AM

streetwise wrote:
Try NHIF , the have greatly improved and I don't think they descriminate

Their network is always down whenever my local health center have tried to connect and check the card details.

merkava
#31 Posted : Friday, August 19, 2016 8:38:14 AM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Ms Mkenya wrote:

just make sure if you are not employed to pay your premiums annually, otherwise utashanga if you are a jua kali type and try get the services if you pay monthly, happened to me.
Sad Sad Sad Sad
Barikiwa tufanane
Taurrus
#32 Posted : Friday, August 19, 2016 2:54:50 PM

merkava wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Ms Mkenya wrote:

Sad Sad Sad Sad

No problem paying for jua kali at all,as long as you pay by 9Th of each month,500/-!
sitaki.kujulikana
#33 Posted : Friday, August 19, 2016 4:22:52 PM

Taurrus wrote:
merkava wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Ms Mkenya wrote:

Sad Sad Sad Sad

No problem paying for jua kali at all,as long as you pay by 9Th of each month,500/-!

trust me better pay annual if you are jua kali, if an emergency happens before then then you will know being jua kali nobody trusts you, happened to me on the 2nd of a month, the hospital refused, said that my monthly pay had not been done so no service, got pissed of told them about the deadline, they said that for self employed they require one to be active for like 2 - 3 months in advance, ati for employed people they are sure the employer will send the contribution.

I got angry and asked them why they have the deadline for monthly pay as the 9th if they have not factored in such a situation, nika ambiwa the guys who come up with these things are thinking of employed people, nyinyi wengine ni props tu.

my 2cents, kama wewe ni jua kali, wachana na the rosy stories those guys tell you, just make sure you are covered in advance, mambo ya monthly wacha.

now the worst part for my emergency was that it was at night, and to make matters worse, nhif do not work at night, nobody to call to sort out issues, nilijiongelesha if I was a judge I would sue for embarrassment or something Sad
#34 Posted : Friday, August 19, 2016 4:33:13 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Taurrus wrote:
merkava wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Ms Mkenya wrote:

Sad Sad Sad Sad

trust me better pay annual if you are jua kali, if an emergency happens before then then you will know being jua kali nobody trusts you, happened to me on the 2nd of a month, the hospital refused, said that my monthly pay had not been done so no service, got pissed of told them about the deadline, they said that for self employed they require one to be active for like 2 - 3 months in advance, ati for employed people they are sure the employer will send the contribution.

I got angry and asked them why they have the deadline for monthly pay as the 9th if they have not factored in such a situation, nika ambiwa the guys who come up with these things are thinking of employed people, nyinyi wengine ni props tu.

my 2cents, kama wewe ni jua kali, wachana na the rosy stories those guys tell you, just make sure you are covered in advance, mambo ya monthly wacha.

now the worst part for my emergency was that it was at night, and to make matters worse, nhif do not work at night, nobody to call to sort out issues, nilijiongelesha if I was a judge I would sue for embarrassment or something Sad

Please seek justices from @Judge JB. Kariuki, the chief litigator!

sitaki.kujulikana
#35 Posted : Friday, August 19, 2016 4:41:51 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Taurrus wrote:
merkava wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Ms Mkenya wrote:

Sad Sad Sad Sad

Please seek justices from @Judge JB. Kariuki, the chief litigator!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly was thinking if only I was 'a your honor guy', I would make some good coins from the embarrassment I was being dragged through, imagine me pulling out that ka richly colored blue card, with a wide grin towards the receptionist, only for them to ask me are you employed, to which I proudly replied mimi ni employer, self employed, and contributing richly to the economy by creating employment, only for her to look at me and tell me I had not paid up my contribution.

felt the same way gothi felt after davi twangad him with that rock in the head.
sitaki.kujulikana
#36 Posted : Friday, August 19, 2016 4:48:08 PM

... but in honesty to all jua kali guys on the national health fund, please make sure at all times you have at least paid in advance, avoid the monthly thing at least lipa 2-3 months in advance, and dont wait for that period to expire make sure you renew way in advne before the active period ends ... please I beg of you, you don't want an emergency wrong footing you.
#37 Posted : Friday, August 19, 2016 6:56:33 PM

Does PACIS have medical covers for individuals?
Taurrus
#38 Posted : Friday, August 19, 2016 9:07:28 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
... but in honesty to all jua kali guys on the national health fund, please make sure at all times you have at least paid in advance, avoid the monthly thing at least lipa 2-3 months in advance, and dont wait for that period to expire make sure you renew way in advne before the active period ends ... please I beg of you, you don't want an emergency wrong footing you.

Good advise,I also noted last week that from the hospital side the nhif system is a month behind,say like for this month august it reads covered for july though one has payed for august.
snifadog
#39 Posted : Saturday, September 03, 2016 1:10:44 PM

As others have mentioned, the NHIF is a decent option but you have to make sure your monthly contributions are very updated because the administration systems between the NHIF and the list of hospitals is not so efficient. The schedule for the NHIF hospital benefits from their website is http://www.nhif.or.ke/he...IF_Benefits_Package.pdf

The NHIF is now offering surgery benefits as of September 2016 and members can enjoy services from some private medical providers! This is the article from nation http://www.nation.co.ke/...61850-30j16o/index.html

UAP has a good medical insurance for seniors, the joining age is 65-80, once you are in, its for life, they also have a chronic disease management scheme, check it on their website page https://www.uap-group.co...Imara-Senior-Kenya.aspx

You can also view quotes for UAP and APA medical cover for the seniors from this website http://www.pesabazaar.co...nsurance/senior_citizen