Law Capping interest rates
streetwise
#381 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2016 8:53:27 AM

Us the people. Once we decide no one should stop us
#382 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2016 9:07:02 AM

streetwise wrote:

@streetwise amen and amen. Over KES 88B combined net profit for Kenyan banks does not make sense to me. That profit made by the banks directly represents the losses made at the dukawalla. Blind capitalism will never be sustainable in Africa. Thats why crime levels keep rising. Opportunity to make an honest living in this country keeps diminishing by the day. Safaricom is also guilty as alleged, but atleast they pay their workers outlandish salaries

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#383 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2016 9:10:06 AM

#384 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2016 10:14:13 AM

muandiwambeu wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:
I told you guys to sell off bank stocks in 2014. Luckily made it out of some major holdings in good time..

but a big percent of your portfolio is still in banks!

so, what do you expect to be a fair hair cut on obieros portfolio as a result of kamwanaas house attempt to please Wanjiku. what will be the overall industries' hit in percentage. my fair guess from my lender's perspective
(16-14.5)/(16*0.5)*100=18.75% conservetively
thieves.

COOP & HF will come out strongest in this.. Too little meat to be bitten out from the two. Plus HF has never been strong on deposits being only licensed to have current accounts a few months ago!! HF will have the least interest expense of all listed lenders

Hey @Obiero. Bill not signed. And please note I did not put the word 'yet' at the end.

Its bound to be signed on Monday 29th Aug 2016

The bankers will visit statehouse with big brown envelop and this story will be forgotten.

I like how people replace basic economics with conspiracy theories.

But at least, conspiracy theories can be as simple as you want them to be. Oh, big brown envelope. Oh, he owns a bank. Oh, bla bla bla. Why tax your brain with economics?
#385 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2016 10:17:39 AM

@Obiero, @Obi and crew, someni hii. I am sure it will make your day. Enjoy!
#386 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2016 10:26:41 AM

streetwise wrote:

@streetwise amen and amen. Over KES 88B combined net profit for Kenyan banks does not make sense to me. That profit made by the banks directly represents the losses made at the dukawalla. Blind capitalism will never be sustainable in Africa. Thats why crime levels keep rising. Opportunity to make an honest living in this country keeps diminishing by the day. Safaricom is also guilty as alleged, but atleast they pay their workers outlandish salaries

@Obiero - You are trying too hard!! You want to say the guys engaging in violent robberies, muggings, break in etc. are doing so because they don't have access to cheap credit?? Get serious! The buggers have access to interest free, collateral free and repayment free "credit" - whatever they rob from you!!! Do they go and start/expand a business and say bye bye to thuggery??

If whatever you are saying is even remotely true, thugs would be engaging in crime only once and then they start a business!!!

Thugs are just thugs!!! And most of them are actually from well to do families. The other thugs you elect also have access to more money than the average Kenyan and they are the biggest thugs we have around!!!
Ericsson
#387 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2016 10:32:34 AM

Hii story ya interest rates the way out I see it is when banks are adjusting interest rates it should apply to new applicants not existing
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Pesa Nane
#388 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2016 11:57:19 AM

I (DO NOT) like how people replace basic economics with conspiracy theories.

But at least, conspiracy theories can be as simple as you want them to be. Oh, big brown envelope. Oh, he owns a bank. Oh, bla bla bla. Why tax your brain with economics.

Applause
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
wukan
#389 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2016 12:19:48 PM

A 71-year-old man has committed suicide in Gititu Village in Tetu, Nyeri County, apparently because of a Sh50,00 debt he owed a shylock.

Family members found Gabriel Mwambia Kiboi hanging in a macadamia tree in his farm at around 10am Wednesday and reported the matter to Assistant Chief Simon Kiritu.

The family members said Mr Mwambia was a friendly and talkative person and they were confused as to why he decided to take his life.

Tetu OCPD Stephen Obara confirmed the incident, saying he found the man hanging on the tree with a sisal rope on his neck but with no physical injuries.

According to residents, the man is said to have committed suicide after the moneylenders threatened to auction his property after he defaulted in payments.

The family, however, disputed the allegations saying that was not the reason that triggered him to take his life but added that they were yet to identify the reason.

This incident comes a day after women in Karatina staged a protest alleging the loan sharks were colluding with police officer to harass them for failing to pay up the debts they owed.

The women alleged the lenders seized their property without a court order.

For those shouting interest rate controls this is the future of lendingPray Pray
#390 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2016 12:34:29 PM

wukan wrote:
A 71-year-old man has committed suicide in Gititu Village in Tetu, Nyeri County, apparently because of a Sh50,00 debt he owed a shylock.

Family members found Gabriel Mwambia Kiboi hanging in a macadamia tree in his farm at around 10am Wednesday and reported the matter to Assistant Chief Simon Kiritu.

The family members said Mr Mwambia was a friendly and talkative person and they were confused as to why he decided to take his life.

Tetu OCPD Stephen Obara confirmed the incident, saying he found the man hanging on the tree with a sisal rope on his neck but with no physical injuries.

According to residents, the man is said to have committed suicide after the moneylenders threatened to auction his property after he defaulted in payments.

The family, however, disputed the allegations saying that was not the reason that triggered him to take his life but added that they were yet to identify the reason.

This incident comes a day after women in Karatina staged a protest alleging the loan sharks were colluding with police officer to harass them for failing to pay up the debts they owed.

For those shouting interest rate controls this is the future of lendingPray Pray

Isn't the timing just great !!

Wakanyugi
#391 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2016 12:48:58 PM

wukan wrote:

This is not the future. It is the present.

I don't understand people who are arguing that, unless we cease our protests against the banks greed the sky will fall. For many Kenyans like Kiboi the sky has indeed already fallen.

Look at this logic: we control the price of fuel because it is too important to the economy to be left to market forces, but we can't control the cost of money for exactly the same reason?

Give me a break.

"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#392 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2016 2:07:22 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
I don't understand people who are arguing that unless we cease our protests against the banks' greed, the sky will fall.

For many Kenyans like Kiboi the sky has indeed already fallen.

Look at this logic: we control the price of fuel because it is too important to the economy to be left to market forces, but we can't control the cost of money for exactly the same reason?

Give me a break.

Hear, hear.
#393 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2016 2:33:45 PM

wukan wrote:

Isn't the timing just great !!

A convenient story, what makes you think the hanging was related to the debt na si kukosana na wife?
tinker
#394 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2016 3:28:02 PM

Am not a banker, I happened to meet and discuss this interest
capping topic with several bankers from some of the main stream banks in KE.
Its surprising how all of them are in support of 'Wanjiku'. hope PORK is listening and in the fullness of time, he will side with 'We The People of KE'. however, I highly doubt he will sign it.
....He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion..
wukan
#395 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2016 3:54:43 PM

Venezuela started this game of socialism and price controls look at the outcome for the wazuans wa huko.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly As always the road to hell is paved with good intentions. Let's stick to market forces.

THE ALBINO MINE, Venezuela — The 12th time Reinaldo Balocha got malaria, he hardly rested at all. With the fever still rattling his body, he threw a pick ax over his shoulder and got back to work — smashing stones in an illegal gold mine.

As a computer technician from a big city, Mr. Balocha was ill-suited for the mines, his soft hands used to working keyboards, not the earth. But Venezuela’s economy collapsed on so many levels that inflation had obliterated his salary, along with his hopes of preserving a middle-class life.

So, like tens of thousands of other people from across the country, Mr. Balocha came to these open, swampy mines scattered across the jungle, looking for a future. Here, waiters, office workers, taxi drivers, college graduates and even civil servants on vacation from their government jobs are out panning for black-market gold, all under the watchful eyes of an armed group that taxes them and threatens to tie them to posts if they disobey.

http://www.nytimes.com/2...-malaria-mines.html?_r=0
#396 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2016 7:19:08 PM

You know on this particular thread, the only person who's been honest is Maichblack.

The next person was Liv...Unfortunately by stating the truth, they stated the obvious...It's the gov'ts fault. Ipso facto, it's Uhuru. When you tell Liv and Murchr, Uhuru, these people start wetting their beds

Yet, facts are like Itumbi says, facts.

Now in Kenya when you say Uhuru, guys either start crapping or clapping. Depending...Just like the Donald Trump games...

The fact is Gov't is borrowing tooooo maaaash.

Rates have got to go up!!!!!!

Capping interest rates shall never happen in Kenya. Not when this CBK governor is alive. It shall never happen. Obiero pole. But it shall never happen!!!!

And it's a good thing it never happens because I believe in markets..I believe in water finding its own course.

Yet!!!!!!!!!

The Kenyan banks are just shylocks.

So as much as I'm capitalist, these people have to be stopped from stealing.

As Njunge said, next year we can reform that bill.

Lakini as it stands

Uhuru shall not sign it
Parliament shall be given money and Mpigs shall disappear from the floor

Wanjiku is still screwed because Murchr has another Konza project he's thinking about.

The people making your rates go up are right here on Wazua. Someone has to "lease" their car.

Tafakari hayo kaka.

#397 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2016 7:22:47 PM

@Alma1 wait for this months 10 year bond you see the rates...makes sense giving gava cash as compared to loaning the kawaida raia.
#398 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2016 7:56:11 PM

You know on this particular thread, the only person who's been honest is Maichblack.

The next person was Liv...Unfortunately by stating the truth, they stated the obvious...It's the gov'ts fault. Ipso facto, it's Uhuru. When you tell Liv and Murchr, Uhuru, these people start wetting their beds

Now in Kenya when you say Uhuru, guys either start crapping or clapping. Depending...Just like the Donald Trump games...

Capping interest rates shall never happen in Kenya. Not when this CBK governor is alive. It shall never happen. Obiero pole. But it shall never happen!!!!

And it's a good thing it never happens because I believe in markets..I believe in water finding its own course.

Yet!!!!!!!!!

Lakini as it stands

Uhuru shall not sign it

Wanjiku is still screwed because Murchr has another Konza project he's thinking about.

The people making your rates go up are right here on Wazua. Someone has to "lease" their car.

Tafakari hayo kaka.

People weaned on Thatchernomics have too much belief in privatisation and free markets.

Need to wake up to the fact that Thatchernomics failed, hence Brexit, Trumpism etc.

Govt controls are a necessary evil to maintain sanity in any market.
#399 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2016 8:11:53 PM

Yet!!!!!!!!!

Lakini as it stands

Uhuru shall not sign it

Tafakari hayo kaka.

People weaned on Thatchernomics have too much belief in privatisation and free markets.

Need to wake up to the fact that Thatchernomics failed, hence Brexit, Trumpism etc.

Even the CBR, KBRR are control mechanisms. UK via the LIBOR also avails a guide to sane rates. Current borrowing rates in the country are simply criminal. Whether this is caused by heavy domestic borrowing by the government is debatable

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#400 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2016 8:51:35 PM

Yet!!!!!!!!!

Lakini as it stands

Uhuru shall not sign it

Tafakari hayo kaka.

Even the CBR, KBRR are control mechanisms. UK via the LIBOR also avails a guide to sane rates. Current borrowing rates in the country are simply criminal. Whether this is caused by heavy domestic borrowing by the government is debatable

Hypocrites - hate govt control on fuel prices but want interest rate control in banks. Its simple. this is just a control of who can borrow. If you don't qualify to borrow at 14%, you'll simply be locked out. Banks will simply lend that extra to infrastructure projects.