24 Pages«<1011121314>»
Rais Magufuli
#221 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2016 4:52:51 PM

mmmhhh words spoken by Kenyans carry meaning in TZ?

You can continue uzembe na unafik

Hapa kazi tu.

ohhh they stole lapset as you were chatting on wazua on the evil evil Maghufuli.

Really? They are now going to Ethiopia? Laughing out loudly

As I said before, wewe endelea talking about Maghufuli. He's managed to kill the Lamu port stories, and now even the SGR shall end somewhere in Brookside hostels as Rwanda turned towards Maghufuli.

Instead of asking why so that you can help yourselves, you are posting your stuff on social media. The fellow doesn't care about Kenyans.

Huko kazi tu...Hapa selfies na statements za kutenga tu.

Alma I have proven your thoughts to be malenge more than once. SGR will go to Malaba, Lamu Port will still exist and go to ET and SS. Honestly, I dont know why UK/WSR were trying to force UG to consider using LAPSSET. UG was not in the original plan drawn by Baks team and M7 was not happy about it. When UK came in, he tried to accommodate him only for M7 to play dirty.

The northern and southern corridors are still on course, the noise is just kelele za siasa. UG and RW still export stuff to KE will they use TZ?
Fyatu
#222 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2016 5:07:54 PM

This incidence is a wake up call to most African states. Mheshimiwa Pombe had every right to be upset especially having arrived straight from Uganda where security even at airstrips is airtight (no pun) and Museveni and his son receive an almost by-the-minute intelligence from even the Ugandan equivalent of KWS.....

Secondly, Pombe raised a genuine concern about the possibility of ivory, gold, diamonds and other minerals that Tanzania is well endowed with being smuggled through JNIA as well as the risk of drug smuggling. Watching this video, makes someone very frustrated especially by the lack of confidence and forthrightness by Tanzania Airport Authority officials. One can easily sense heavy incompetence on the TAA part. Rais Pombe should fire all of them.

Thirdly, this video is a testament that Tanzania is still waaaaay behind our beloved country Kenya despite our Ukabila, Matusi, and banditry. If you doubt my third point, visit JKIA or even Malindi and Isiolo Airports and see how much our government has invested in such scanning machines....or even dare by pass those KAA checks without proper scanning or worst still arrive past check-in time especially for international departures.

Finally, i believe what is happening in Tanzanian airports is a pure case of sabotage and thank God for rais Pombe Magufuli, this mess will be cleaned up
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
#223 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2016 5:19:09 PM

Fyatu, what has Pombe done since last wkd? Has he fired those responsible for this mess? Has he directed funding to revamp the airport? Has he formulated policy to get these airports to EA standard if international standards are too high to achieve?

He is just playing to the public gallery, notice he doesn't even wait for the workers to complete their sentences
Fyatu
#224 Posted : Thursday, May 19, 2016 1:57:49 PM

Fyatu, what has Pombe done since last wkd? Has he fired those responsible for this mess? Has he directed funding to revamp the airport? Has he formulated policy to get these airports to EA standard if international standards are too high to achieve?

He is just playing to the public gallery, notice he doesn't even wait for the workers to complete their sentences

I don't know whether he has fired those guys or not but as i said, Tanzania is still waaaay behind of Kenya in some areas like this. 3 years ago, i travelled to Dar via JNIA. On arrival my book (passport) was stamped but on departure they told me that it is not necessary to stamp Kenyan passports in the spirit of East Africa. A few months down the line i was back and TAA officials nearly went berserk when i acted surprised that they wanted to stamp my book. JNIA is a big joke....Other than traffic,and runway it cannot compare to Mombasa or Kisumu in terms of terminals.Actually it cannot compare to Mombasa on anything other than traffic. I agree with you to some extent about his knee jerk/ad hoc/roadside/pedestrian antics...they are not sustainable and he will fair better as intimated here on wazua if he set up institutions. All in all, i like his spirit and his love for his nation...
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
sitaki.kujulikana
#225 Posted : Friday, May 20, 2016 11:15:07 PM

He has fired a minister for being drunk,
#226 Posted : Friday, May 20, 2016 11:36:38 PM

murchr other than a selfie, what has Uhuru done since last weekend.

I'm here in magufuli land and it's not Kenya. That I can assure you

Poleni lakini, selfies don't cut it.

#227 Posted : Saturday, May 21, 2016 2:17:09 AM

Hahahahaha.....kwani wanashindana? Hapo gumzo tu!
#228 Posted : Saturday, May 21, 2016 10:21:41 AM

Fyatu wrote:

I don't know whether he has fired those guys or not but as i said, Tanzania is still waaaay behind of Kenya in some areas like this. 3 years ago, i travelled to Dar via JNIA. On arrival my book (passport) was stamped but on departure they told me that it is not necessary to stamp Kenyan passports in the spirit of East Africa. A few months down the line i was back and TAA officials nearly went berserk when i acted surprised that they wanted to stamp my book. JNIA is a big joke....Other than traffic,and runway it cannot compare to Mombasa or Kisumu in terms of terminals.Actually it cannot compare to Mombasa on anything other than traffic. I agree with you to some extent about his knee jerk/ad hoc/roadside/pedestrian antics...they are not sustainable and he will fair better as intimated here on wazua if he set up institutions. All in all, i like his spirit and his love for his nation...

I once traveled to TZ on an expired passport. I didn't realize my passport had expired until i got to JKIA and as I was waiting on the cue and scanning it I was shocked to see it had expired. Anyway, I decided to feign ignorance and just use it.

Shock, I went past the JKIA check in, at both checks no one noticed, KQ attendants did pick this up, landed in TZ and the expired document was not picked on entry. On return, the second person checking the pp picked the expired date but just politely advised me to renew it.

Shocked that upto 10 separate eyes could not observe that I was traveling with an expired document. I have no confidence with public servants and can understand Pombe's frustrations.
UpcomingPaperChaser
#229 Posted : Saturday, May 21, 2016 11:43:02 PM

Hey vp mkuu? Uko mitaa ipi bosi?
Enjoy every moment of your life, you never know when your time will come.
#230 Posted : Friday, May 27, 2016 7:01:34 PM

However, some Tanzanians, especially businessfolk, are having doubts about Mr Magufuli’s flair for the dramatic. When he thinks a public official has misbehaved he fires him on the spot, rather than following due process. More important is that he shows little interest in wider reforms aimed at spurring economic growth. If anything he seems to be making it tougher to invest in a country that already scores dismally on the World Bank’s ease of doing business index, where it is ranked 139th out of 189. “What Africa needs is strong institutions, not strong men or women,” says Zitto Kabwe, an opposition leader.

Instead of addressing these deeper structural issues Mr Magufuli has continued to live up to his nickname of “Bulldozer”: one foreign firm was given seven days to settle a $5m bill, says its boss. The country’s revenue authority then took the money directly from its bank account. By contrast, the government is painfully slow to pay its own bills: it still owes the same company $30m.

Acacia Mining, a gold producer, is owed $98m in VAT rebates—effectively an interest-free loan to the government. “The country has become totally uninvestable,” says a bigwig at a private-equity firm with holdings across Africa. “You pay your taxes for five years and have the returns to prove it and then some guy arrives with his own calculation and says you haven’t paid your tax.”
#231 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2016 7:01:23 AM

Mseto binti
#232 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2016 11:27:57 AM

However, some Tanzanians, especially businessfolk, are having doubts about Mr Magufuli’s flair for the dramatic. When he thinks a public official has misbehaved he fires him on the spot, rather than following due process. More important is that he shows little interest in wider reforms aimed at spurring economic growth. If anything he seems to be making it tougher to invest in a country that already scores dismally on the World Bank’s ease of doing business index, where it is ranked 139th out of 189. “What Africa needs is strong institutions, not strong men or women,” says Zitto Kabwe, an opposition leader.

Instead of addressing these deeper structural issues Mr Magufuli has continued to live up to his nickname of “Bulldozer”: one foreign firm was given seven days to settle a $5m bill, says its boss. The country’s revenue authority then took the money directly from its bank account. By contrast, the government is painfully slow to pay its own bills: it still owes the same company $30m.

Acacia Mining, a gold producer, is owed $98m in VAT rebates—effectively an interest-free loan to the government. “The country has become totally uninvestable,” says a bigwig at a private-equity firm with holdings across Africa. “You pay your taxes for five years and have the returns to prove it and then some guy arrives with his own calculation and says you haven’t paid your tax.”

@ Murchur you have raised some good points on " ease of doing busines in TZ'...now anyone interested in a business meeting, conference or any business/work related issue has to pay for a business permit of USD 200 for Africans and USD 250 for others.....now tell me how will the spirit of EAC be captured....Is TZ trying to emulate UK and the drama of divorcing European Union??...I give up....Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall
I found meaningful work🤓
#233 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2016 12:42:02 PM

He he...From that Economist article...

The president, nicknamed “the Bulldozer”, has delighted Tanzanians with an anti-corruption drive and public displays of austerity. However, he has a worrying tendency not to think things through.

Take, for example, his efforts to extract more tax from people using the port at Dar es Salaam, a gateway for the region. He has enforced VAT on the costs of moving goods that arrive at the port overland to neighbouring countries such as Zambia and Malawi. Shipping firms have immediately switched routes and now unload in Kenya, Mozambique or South Africa, leaving a once bustling harbour almost empty.

Mr Magufuli’s zeal may be admired, but his party, which has ruled Tanzania since independence, is thuggish and undemocratic: it suppressed dissent during the elections last year and then cancelled a vote held in Zanzibar after the opposition probably won it. Frustrated, America suspended $472m of aid. The Bulldozer merely harrumphed that Tanzania would soon no longer need aid and told the revenue authority to squeeze even harder.
#234 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2016 4:28:10 PM

#235 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2016 6:04:22 PM

Waaa...He should come to Kenya.

#236 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 10:53:13 PM

The Tanzanian government has banned a weekly local newspaper Mseto for three yearson grounds that it breached the Newspapers Act.

Mr Nape Nnauye, the Minister for Information, said the newspaper had published a story that claimed the deputy minister for Works, Transport and Communication, Eng Edwin Ngonyani, had implicated President John Magufuli in corruption during elections.

Mr Nnauye said the newspaper had tampered with a document from State Mining Corporation to justify the story and when asked to produce the original document, failed to do so.

http://www.theeastafrica...340844-nvpdvy/index.html
innairobi
#237 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2016 11:47:15 PM

this guy has very thin skin. typical of megalomaniacs.
All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
chemirocha
#238 Posted : Saturday, August 13, 2016 6:37:36 AM

Waaa...He should come to Kenya.

There's no need to import the mentality of a primary school headteacher.
guard
#239 Posted : Sunday, August 14, 2016 4:02:52 PM

On a serious note,TZ seems to be on the right track as compared to Kenya.Their towns though small are better planned and clean (Arusha and Moshi) as compared to ours which are chaotic and full of heaps of garbage and no one cares about the environment.Tz Police are just as corrupt as KP but at least they do their job..and then there is the Tribal issue where they beat us 10-0.

Despite the fact that Kenya is definitely a larger economy,We need to pause and learn afew things from Magufuli and TZ.
Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery
#240 Posted : Sunday, August 14, 2016 5:50:51 PM

innairobi wrote:
this guy has very thin skin. typical of megalomaniacs.

Still way way better than our guy here.