wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

18 Pages«<1415161718>
Safaricom FY 2016 results net profit up 19.6%
#301 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2016 2:45:47 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Hating on safaricom:
1. Wanjiku carried the pregnancy and bore the child (IPO and refund saga)
2. Wanjiku nurtured the child through hardship (Stagnant share price coupled with very low dividends to earn all of the 85Bn in retained earning)
3. Wanjiku got bought off on the cheap by the fat cats (HNW investors, Foreigners, Institutions)
4. Fat cats pumped the price and invaded the cookie jar (awarded themselves Super High dividends + a forced SPECIAL dividend) - Wanjiku's blood, sweat and labour over the years
5. Fat cats are now planning to hand over the emaciated stock back to Wanjiku at a princely sum for another cycle.

Disclaimer: I sold my holding at a good profit smile BUT at a paltry Ksh. 4.10 Sad

You have made my afternoon #wanjiku Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
hisah
#302 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2016 2:49:40 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Hating on safaricom:
2. Wanjiku nurtured the child through hardship (Stagnant share price coupled with very low dividends to earn all of the 85Bn in retained earning)
3. Wanjiku got bought off on the cheap by the fat cats (HNW investors, Foreigners, Institutions)
4. Fat cats pumped the price and invaded the cookie jar (awarded themselves Super High dividends + a forced SPECIAL dividend) - Wanjiku's blood, sweat and labour over the years
5. Fat cats are now planning to hand over the emaciated stock back to Wanjiku at a princely sum for another cycle.

Disclaimer: I sold my holding at a good profit smile BUT at a paltry Ksh. 4.10 Sad

I disagree. Wanjikus are outpriced here and have given up the chase. The shareholding has shifted from many weak hands to a few strong hands over the years as witnessed by the bid volume. Until institutionals change their bid behaviour I don't see how the price will crash. It's easier for price to race to KES 50 than to head to KES 10 unless an outlier event occurs.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Ericsson
#303 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2016 3:21:08 PM

@ebenyo
ABP is 14.7 excluding dividends received.
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Ebenyo
#304 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2016 3:38:12 PM

Ericsson wrote:
@ebenyo

You are doing well.But going by the current price movement,i think it will take a long time for you at 14.70 and me at 16.60 to lower the ABP.We might need to increase.Im not in a hurry.Im taking a long term view on this.
Lets wait for ex dividend period and see how things goes.
Towards the goal of financial freedom
Ericsson
#305 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2016 3:44:01 PM

To increase will have to be done before next year February.
The buying price will be calculated using the historical dividend yield
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
mkate_nusu
#306 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2016 11:37:01 PM

Ebenyo wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
@ebenyo

You are doing well.But going by the current price movement,i think it will take a long time for you at 14.70 and me at 16.60 to lower the ABP.We might need to increase.Im not in a hurry.Im taking a long term view on this.

I like Safcom even though trading at high PE(compared to Amazon trading at a PE of 190 this does not bother me)
It can easily get to 100 KES per share in 5 years with consistent growth in profits
ex-dividend price will not go below 20
KEGN, KPLC, KQ, SCOM
ARAP CHARLES
#307 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2016 11:49:30 PM

Safaricom promotions 2016d'oh!
2015 Safaricom Mauzo Kochokocho Retailers Promotion over 60million WHERE IS FOR 2016!!!

Shangwe Mtaani by Safaricom!!! over 100million etc..

AMA KUNA 1BILLION TO BE GIVEN AWAY cooking in store!!!
AMA this time round it was inform of the special dividend!!!Applause Applause Applause
Watch and Listen and Live
#308 Posted : Saturday, August 13, 2016 12:41:21 AM

mkate_nusu wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
@ebenyo

I like Safcom even though trading at high PE(compared to Amazon trading at a PE of 190 this does not bother me)
It can easily get to 100 KES per share in 5 years with consistent growth in profits

at 100 Safaricom will be 2/3 of Kenya GDP
#309 Posted : Saturday, August 13, 2016 2:14:59 AM

mkate_nusu wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
@ebenyo

About 40% of Kenya's GDP is transacted through MPESA.
#310 Posted : Saturday, August 13, 2016 7:54:18 AM

mkate_nusu wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
@ebenyo

Can a company be bigger than the country in which it operates? I ask because Safaricom cannot expand to other countries.
#311 Posted : Saturday, August 13, 2016 9:19:42 AM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Hating on safaricom:

If Wanjiku [unfortunately, put me in that group who sold too early] was stupid enough to sell... it's Wanjiku's fault.
ARAP CHARLES
#312 Posted : Saturday, August 13, 2016 10:10:59 AM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Hating on safaricom:

If Wanjiku [unfortunately, put me in that group who sold too early] was stupid enough to sell... it's Wanjiku's fault.

interesting analysis.. wah...
Watch and Listen and Live
#313 Posted : Saturday, August 13, 2016 3:54:53 PM

mkate_nusu wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
@ebenyo

Can a company be bigger than the country in which it operates? I ask because Safaricom cannot expand to other countries.

Safaricom is a very big contributor of GDP. Are you assuming the country's GDP will not grow?

Bloomberg wrote:
Safaricom Ltd., the Kenyan mobile-phone company that runs a money transfer service almost the size of the East African nation’s economy, invested in a courier service business in an effort to stimulate e-commerce and gain a foothold in growing demand for deliveries.
The operator invested $125,000 in part of a loan that could convert into equity in Sendy, a company that uses a network of independent motorbike riders to navigate traffic and deliver packages in the gridlocked Kenyan capital, Nairobi, Safaricom Chief Executive Office Bob Collymore said, declining to give more details on the transaction.
“We want to see the business in the region grow,” he said.
Safaricom, 40 percent owned by Newbury, England-based Vodafone Group Plc, is seeking to tap into an increase in online transactions on the continent, which has the potential to grow into a $395 billion economy in 15 years, from about $50 billion, Collymore said. The country’s largest company by market value facilitated transactions equal to 85 percent of Kenya’s total economic output in the year through March via it’s M-Pesa mobile-money transfer platform.
#314 Posted : Saturday, August 13, 2016 9:55:42 PM

mkate_nusu wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
@ebenyo

No. It can if it expands to other countries. Safaricom is based 100% in Kenya so it cannot be larger than Kenya.
#315 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2016 3:57:36 PM

Sh30bn airtime lending raises Safaricom profile in credit market

Mobile phone subscribers borrowed up to Sh30 billion worth of airtime or nearly a third of the total airtime Safaricom sold last year, underlining how critical telecoms operators have become in the credit market.
#316 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2016 4:27:17 PM

Mobile phone subscribers borrowed up to Sh30 billion worth of airtime or nearly a third of the total airtime Safaricom sold last year, underlining how critical telecoms operators have become in the credit market.

And when they are told they have peculiar habits, Kenyans take it personally!!

Most of these Kenyans could actually afford the airtime but okoad jahazi for other reasons - too lazy to go to the shop (never mind you can buy using MPesa), why buy cash while I can okoa (American tabia ya living on credit) etc. etc.

But those are extra coins in my dividend account so I am not complaining - as long as my fellow Kenyans had other options but chose to make me a few coins richer!!!
#317 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2016 4:34:55 PM

Next will be "Tuma sasa, lipa baadaye". You simply send someone money you don't have in your Mpesa account (amount depends on your profile) and you can load the account later - within say 7 days.

So if mpango smses you in the middle of a meeting telling you she is at the Salon and needs 3k ASAP, and you have nothing in you account, you still send her pap and load later. But on loading, 3,300/= or something close to that plus sending fee inamezwa pap!!

Mpango is happy, you are happy (ending?), company is happy and I (the shareholder) am happy!!! Ka ching ching!!!

Until of couse some communist comes along and says we need to protect you and your mpango from the "high charges"!
Spikes
#318 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2016 6:56:01 PM

Next will be "Tuma sasa, lipa baadaye". You simply send someone money you don't have in your Mpesa account (amount depends on your profile) and you can load the account later - within say 7 days.

So if mpango smses you in the middle of a meeting telling you she is at the Salon and needs 3k ASAP, and you have nothing in you account, you still send her pap and load later. But on loading, 3,300/= or something close to that plus sending fee inamezwa pap!!

Mpango is happy, you are happy (ending?), company is happy and I (the shareholder) am happy!!! Ka ching ching!!!

Until of couse some communist comes along and says we need to protect you and your mpango from the "high charges"!

@Maich you want to say Kenyan economy is driven by mpango induced transactions ?
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
watesh
#319 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2016 8:44:38 PM

Equity Group grew its loan book by 50bn while KCB grew by 62bn for the full year 2015. Okoa Jahazi Bank is half way the amount of the big banks do. Remarkable
#320 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2016 10:38:59 PM

Spikes wrote:

@Maich you want to say Kenyan economy is driven by mpango induced transactions ?

Are you serious??? That was just a by the way example meant to capture your attention (and evidently it did that very well). There are thousands various examples where one would use the service.