Investor
Economy
Law Capping interest rates
mlennyma wrote:Coolbull wrote:May Uhuru sign this thing ASAP then we can see how many Kenyans who currently qualify for loans are going to be denied the same.
As Isaac Ruto says, "msituletee upuzz hapa". Banks will now style up.
banks have panicked and come with m.o.u's Who has the MOU?. Details will do but i must ask then, why didn't the banks come up with the same to form part of the debate and possibly even,be included as amendments to the motion? Wasituletee upuzz!! Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/21/2010 Posts: 6,183 Location: nairobi
Njung'e wrote:mlennyma wrote:Coolbull wrote:May Uhuru sign this thing ASAP then we can see how many Kenyans who currently qualify for loans are going to be denied the same.
banks have panicked and come with m.o.u's Who has the MOU?. Details will do but i must ask then, why didn't the banks come up with the same to form part of the debate and possibly even,be included as amendments to the motion? Wasituletee upuzz!! banks will win hata kama ni kupeleka gunia ya ninii huko mlimani kwani pesa ya campaign itatoka wapi "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/25/2014 Posts: 2,300 Location: kenya
mlennyma wrote:Njung'e wrote:mlennyma wrote:Coolbull wrote:May Uhuru sign this thing ASAP then we can see how many Kenyans who currently qualify for loans are going to be denied the same.
banks have panicked and come with m.o.u's Who has the MOU?. Details will do but i must ask then, why didn't the banks come up with the same to form part of the debate and possibly even,be included as amendments to the motion? Wasituletee upuzz!! banks will win hata kama ni kupeleka gunia ya ninii huko mlimani kwani pesa ya campaign itatoka wapi If I own a gun I can't shoot my own foot. If I own a bank I can't sign those bill. My bank won't perform in long run. The Bill will be sent back to house for ammendment..buy time ..... we forget .....and finally shelved like it didnt happen before ... this is just my take .
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,516 Location: nairobi
enyands wrote:mlennyma wrote:Njung'e wrote:mlennyma wrote:Coolbull wrote:May Uhuru sign this thing ASAP then we can see how many Kenyans who currently qualify for loans are going to be denied the same.
banks have panicked and come with m.o.u's Who has the MOU?. Details will do but i must ask then, why didn't the banks come up with the same to form part of the debate and possibly even,be included as amendments to the motion? Wasituletee upuzz!! banks will win hata kama ni kupeleka gunia ya ninii huko mlimani kwani pesa ya campaign itatoka wapi If I own a gun I can't shoot my own foot. If I own a bank I can't sign those bill. My bank won't perform in long run. The Bill will be sent back to house for ammendment..buy time ..... we forget .....and finally shelved like it didnt happen before ... this is just my take . Raila will use it to campaign against the many failed promises by Jubilee. SGR wapi, laptops wapi, lower interest rates wapi?? Get the drift.. Further, CBA is big in mobile money and will on Monday launch MoKash in Kampala, similar product to Mshwari HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/18/2008 Posts: 3,434 Location: Kerugoya
Vampires who depend on the monetary blood that are high Kenyan Banking interest rates abound. These vampires will do anything within their power to make sure this Bill does not see the light of day. For if it does, they will fizzle into nothing or seek other avenues of quenching their usurious thirst. Nothing brings this clearly to light than The Nairobi Securities Exchange (NSE) Chief Executive Geoffrey Odundo’s press statement last evening, as reported by Geoffrey Irungu in the BusinessDaily.
Among the vampires identified by the article, include: The banks, particularly the eleven trading on the NSE, their shareholders, and employees; The Nairobi Securities Exchange (NSE); Pension Assets and Pensioners; Stock Brokers; Institutional NSE investors; Foreign Investors; Foreign Currency Inflows – The Central Bank of Kenya. That is one HELL of a lot of fire power facing The Presidency.
aemathenge wrote:Vampires who depend on the monetary blood that are high Kenyan Banking interest rates abound. These vampires will do anything within their power to make sure this Bill does not see the light of day. For if it does, they will fizzle into nothing or seek other avenues of quenching their usurious thirst. Nothing brings this clearly to light than The Nairobi Securities Exchange (NSE) Chief Executive Geoffrey Odundo’s press statement last evening, as reported by Geoffrey Irungu in the BusinessDaily.
Among the vampires identified by the article, include: The banks, particularly the eleven trading on the NSE, their shareholders, and employees; The Nairobi Securities Exchange (NSE); Pension Assets and Pensioners; Stock Brokers; Institutional NSE investors; Foreign Investors; Foreign Currency Inflows – The Central Bank of Kenya. That is one HELL of a lot of fire power facing The Presidency. Now they are saying if you cap interest rates, it will impact your pensions. I can't believe the extent banks are going to try and maintain their usurious practices. What next, they will say capping interest rates will lock the mwananchi and SME out of heaven "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:aemathenge wrote:Vampires who depend on the monetary blood that are high Kenyan Banking interest rates abound. These vampires will do anything within their power to make sure this Bill does not see the light of day. For if it does, they will fizzle into nothing or seek other avenues of quenching their usurious thirst. Nothing brings this clearly to light than The Nairobi Securities Exchange (NSE) Chief Executive Geoffrey Odundo’s press statement last evening, as reported by Geoffrey Irungu in the BusinessDaily.
Among the vampires identified by the article, include: The banks, particularly the eleven trading on the NSE, their shareholders, and employees; The Nairobi Securities Exchange (NSE); Pension Assets and Pensioners; Stock Brokers; Institutional NSE investors; Foreign Investors; Foreign Currency Inflows – The Central Bank of Kenya. That is one HELL of a lot of fire power facing The Presidency. Now they are saying if you cap interest rates, it will impact your pensions. I can't believe the extent banks are going to try and maintain their usurious practices. What next, they will say capping interest rates will lock the mwananchi and SME out of heaven The stakes are very high you can't win "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
mlennyma wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:aemathenge wrote:Vampires who depend on the monetary blood that are high Kenyan Banking interest rates abound. These vampires will do anything within their power to make sure this Bill does not see the light of day. For if it does, they will fizzle into nothing or seek other avenues of quenching their usurious thirst. Nothing brings this clearly to light than The Nairobi Securities Exchange (NSE) Chief Executive Geoffrey Odundo’s press statement last evening, as reported by Geoffrey Irungu in the BusinessDaily.
Among the vampires identified by the article, include: The banks, particularly the eleven trading on the NSE, their shareholders, and employees; The Nairobi Securities Exchange (NSE); Pension Assets and Pensioners; Stock Brokers; Institutional NSE investors; Foreign Investors; Foreign Currency Inflows – The Central Bank of Kenya. That is one HELL of a lot of fire power facing The Presidency. Now they are saying if you cap interest rates, it will impact your pensions. I can't believe the extent banks are going to try and maintain their usurious practices. What next, they will say capping interest rates will lock the mwananchi and SME out of heaven The stakes are very high you can't win The way this bill will be handled will determine if I go chupiree or olange. My stakes are personally high ,want to see how he will handle it
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/21/2010 Posts: 6,675 Location: Nairobi
To maintain any form of credibility Uhuru should not sign this rubbish concoction cooked up by one of those Mpig simpeltons... The Banks will stop lending to Wanjiku and those high risk Mpigs and then they will see how bad things can become.. Only blue chip companies and t bills stand to gain from this! Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/18/2008 Posts: 3,434 Location: Kerugoya
You see @Guru267, my online Sweetheart, it is not the Presidency I am worried about. It the power held by those "Mpig simpeltons" you so eloquently allude to. You see, it will take 234 of them to come together and veto The President's rebuttal back to The August House. This close to the Erections, and knowing nearly 90% of them are not coming back, how much will it cost to bribe them to decline to veto or be absent on voting day? His Excellency will also have to work with "Mpig simpeltons" who will have tasted the power of showing the middle finger to him, so to speak. We live in interesting times, Dear, Don't you think? This "rubbish concoction" is going to become Law, Honey. I guess we should now concentrate on scenarios to work in with it as Law.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/19/2010 Posts: 1,308 Location: nairobi metropolitan
This bill if signed the way it's will lead to financial turmoil. .. 1. The death of small banks or how do you expect them to borrow at 15% and lend at 14% Democracy does not belong to the dead
2. Economic contraction. ..Credit is what facilitates economic expansion, a slow down on the same. ..? Democracy does not belong to the dead
3.These wanjikus who think they will benefit from low rates will be shocked to find out they will in first instance not qualify for a loan Democracy does not belong to the dead
4. Investors in capital market. .blood will be on the streets as the valuation of banks will drastically reduce. . Democracy does not belong to the dead
5. For pensioners, it will simply be negative returns for pension schemes for the foreseeable future Democracy does not belong to the dead
6. Joblessness. ..With less customers to lend to. ..There shall be increased job cuts. .The banks will likely increase lending to government Democracy does not belong to the dead
And so only a mad man can sign the bill the way it is...I foresee ammendments to balance the interests of bank borrowers and the banks Democracy does not belong to the dead
@Githundi these are nice points . The man is walking on a tight rope .I'm wondering where @MaichBlack went to. Now here is my take ;
If he ascends and bows to pressure to append the signature, wanjikus will be happy for a short, but assured of votes 2017, hence prolonged presidency
Now if he choses not to do anything, he will be seen as someone who doesn't connect with wanjiku ,understand their plight ,hence it will give babuon a chemical weapon for campaign.
So option kamwana has: resend the bill back to mpigs for ammendment and also propose they look at the mou from banks and come up with a consensus.With this,2 birds will be destroyed with one bullet , 1 The rates will come lower hence wanjiku gets happy(I don't know how lower the rates will go)
2 the banks will get their way hence not punish the economy either intentionally or unintentionally
I'm for the consensus option.i feel pain of people losing businesses because of skyrocketed rates overnight ,and I feel bad if the economy gets messed up,the ripple effect is huge.
Things to note :
I don't know why this pigs are sensitive with this bill when they are almost out of job .Joe donde tried 1 or 2 years to elections .don't know if this is a way for them to survive once 90% of them loose their jobs.
No gun holder can shoot their own foot with their own gun . Impossible and it will never happen.
githundi wrote:3.These wanjikus who think they will benefit from low rates will be shocked to find out they will in first instance not qualify for a loan i can see how bitter you feel breaking your points a post after the other instead of a single script,how about earning more interest on deposits? "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
mlennyma wrote:githundi wrote:3.These wanjikus who think they will benefit from low rates will be shocked to find out they will in first instance not qualify for a loan i can see how bitter you feel breaking your points a post after the other instead of a single script,how about earning more interest on deposits? .that's cold mlennyma, very cold
Investor
Economy
Law Capping interest rates