wazua Mon, Mar 2, 2026

Unga
#1 Posted : Tuesday, August 09, 2016 10:52:28 AM

Prices of both maize and wheat flour are now 110 bob per 2kg packet. Traditionally maize flour has always been cheaper than wheat flour. So what is happening? Are we overpaying for maize flour, or is it that wheat has become more abundant and cheaper?

#2 Posted : Tuesday, August 09, 2016 11:10:29 AM

Maneno ya Unga wachia Mama smile
#3 Posted : Tuesday, August 09, 2016 11:21:23 AM

I am looking at the bigger picture, which is the maize sector. Especially now that the new Eldoret Fertiliser factory is to be opened soon, one that is supposed to bring the cost of fertilizer and maize production down.

I was shocked to read yesterday that the Ksh 103B factory will not be manufacturing fertilizer but rather will be a fertilizer blending plant. Meaning that we will be still be importing pure N or P fertilizers and blending them at the plant to make the final product. This is contrary to what we have always been told, that we will no longer have to import fertilizers and will be saving billions in forex. Someone from the ministry was also saying that the factory will not lead to cheaper fertilizer "because the raw materials will have to be imported".
#4 Posted : Tuesday, August 09, 2016 11:52:29 AM

Walaji wa Ugali
#5 Posted : Tuesday, August 09, 2016 12:14:11 PM

Prices of both maize and wheat flour are now 110 bob per 2kg packet. Traditionally maize flour has always been cheaper than wheat flour. So what is happening? Are we overpaying for maize flour, or is it that wheat has become more abundant and cheaper?

Kenya has finally become a middle income economy.
Now we all know the middleclass eat chapos and such like "clean" carbs like spaghetti, noddles etal.

With more consumers of Unga ngano, manufacturers are able to break even easily due to economy of scale hence the lower Unga ngano prices you are seeing.

Also, the traditional maize baskets in the country have largely shunned maize farming due to dwindling returns hence scarcity of maize floor in the market which has eventually led to the spike in prices.

Sad Sad

#6 Posted : Tuesday, August 09, 2016 12:16:58 PM

I am looking at the bigger picture, which is the maize sector. Especially now that the new Eldoret Fertiliser factory is to be opened soon, one that is supposed to bring the cost of fertilizer and maize production down.

I was shocked to read yesterday that the Ksh 103B factory will not be manufacturing fertilizer but rather will be a fertilizer blending plant. Meaning that we will be still be importing pure N or P fertilizers and blending them at the plant to make the final product. This is contrary to what we have always been told, that we will no longer have to import fertilizers and will be saving billions in forex. Someone from the ministry was also saying that the factory will not lead to cheaper fertilizer "because the raw materials will have to be imported".

You will even be shocked MORE by blindly supporting the Jubilee gaament.
Shock on your *sss.

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

thuks
#7 Posted : Tuesday, August 09, 2016 12:24:05 PM

Avoid paying taxes on unga, go to the local miller and buy at 85 Bob, kwani karatasi ina maana gani? Book covers smile?
I care!
#8 Posted : Tuesday, August 09, 2016 12:32:28 PM

Walaji wa Ugali

@masukums, please share some interpretation to the map. What do the colours say... Red means less or yes does? You know I'm a farmer Drool
#9 Posted : Tuesday, August 09, 2016 12:39:56 PM

I have seen this value quoted by media. Is it actually Kes 103B?. I don't buy that cost. I have not seen it but would expect it to be Kes. 1.03B.
#10 Posted : Tuesday, August 09, 2016 12:40:27 PM

Walaji wa Ugali

@masukums, please share some interpretation to the map. What do the colours say... Red means less or yes does? You know I'm a farmer Drool

Read means "more". we eat more mahindi that most people on the planet.Mahindi is a staple hapa.. not everywhere and so it's possible that other trends are slowly picking uup. eating less mahindi, growing/importing more wheat and rice.
Taurrus
#11 Posted : Tuesday, August 09, 2016 12:48:52 PM

Walaji wa Ugali

Red means size ya Ugali!
#12 Posted : Tuesday, August 09, 2016 1:03:57 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

I have seen this value quoted by media. Is it actually Kes 103B?. I don't buy that cost. I have not seen it but would expect it to be Kes. 1.03B.

And the factory stands on 2acres of land, smaller than my simba shags.
#13 Posted : Tuesday, August 09, 2016 4:33:39 PM

Meanwhile..

#14 Posted : Tuesday, August 09, 2016 4:41:23 PM

Meanwhile..

sasa watu wanataka? Drop your prices - kama mahindi inapandwa, inavunwa, inapanda meli, inafika kenya, kila mtu ana kula hapo katikati na inashinda yako ile imetoka hapa kitale - shida iko kwako. Hata mkizuia "cheap maize" - kenyans will still be eating expensive maize unless there is a strategy.
#15 Posted : Tuesday, August 09, 2016 4:42:33 PM

Meanwhile..

I have never seen yellow cob planted and sold in Kenya. If they do, its basically for animal feed. If Americans in Kenya want yellow cob, nakumatt is providing it for them, any Kenyan should be asking how they can grow and sell at the same price.
#16 Posted : Tuesday, August 09, 2016 7:44:09 PM

Meanwhile..

I have never seen yellow cob planted and sold in Kenya. If they do, its basically for animal feed. If Americans in Kenya want yellow cob, nakumatt is providing it for them, any Kenyan should be asking how they can grow and sell at the same price.

@murchr, I was in those cities of yours once and I wanted to eat maize. I bought one yellow maize for 50/- d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
#17 Posted : Tuesday, August 09, 2016 8:51:35 PM

Meanwhile..

@murchr, I was in those cities of yours once and I wanted to eat maize. I bought one yellow maize for 50/- d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

By the way a lot of sweet corn is grown for export hapo Naivasha. It looks similar to one above.
#18 Posted : Wednesday, August 10, 2016 2:04:52 PM

Walaji wa Ugali

Read means "more". we eat more mahindi that most people on the planet.Mahindi is a staple hapa.. not everywhere and so it's possible that other trends are slowly picking uup. eating less mahindi, growing/importing more wheat and rice.

I agree with @Alph, that map is not clear. What's that scale? What are those measurements? 1 what? 6-10 what?
#19 Posted : Wednesday, August 10, 2016 2:25:12 PM

Walaji wa Ugali

I agree with @Alph, that map is not clear. What's that scale? What are those measurements? 1 what? 6-10 what?

The map is very clear. The scale 1-10 is a ranking of countries depending on their citizens daily intake of maize. Those in the red states derive most of their daily calories from maize, thus ranked as no 1.
sitaki.kujulikana
#20 Posted : Wednesday, August 10, 2016 5:18:33 PM

Walaji wa Ugali

The map is very clear. The scale 1-10 is a ranking of countries depending on their citizens daily intake of maize. Those in the red states derive most of their daily calories from maize, thus ranked as no 1.

Uganda is equal to kasins land when it comes to ugali munching