My Cheating Husband. Please Advise
@gift
Leona has said it very well. I dont think there is much to add to what she has said but i think in life, there is one rule that i believe in.... If your intention is not to leave your husband for ever and ever and ever, then dont leave. The moment you leave and come back, you have given him the certificate to dog on you even in your bedroom because he knows for sure you arent going no where... its just empty threats.... Only leave your matrimonial home if you are sure what you are doing and adrenaline and hormones are not ruling your world. True you may be annoyed, anyone would, but i think you husband is not so unreasonable as not to talk about. Have you even tried raising it with your parents, a professional marriage counsellor, a church leader(if you believe them) etc before leaving your home? how will your leaving your home affect your children? Do you believe leaving him is the best solution you have? i commend you for not even thinking of hurting the child. Keep your dignity. dont let his wayward behaviour force you to stoop lower than you would go on your own accord.
By the way, the mistake that we women sometimes do is to shun our men once we learn he is dogging instead of facing the situation and trying to sort it out as honestly as we possibly can - eg, whether it is him with the problem or if it is actually us who are the problem. sometimes, it is also good to admit that with some men, you just cant stop them from dogging... i know men who adore their wives and they wont do anything to 'hurt' them but they will dog when they have a chance.... as Muganda said, one of the reason he is dogging is No. 5, that there is a woman out there too willing to dog with him but seriously, as his wife, how much can you control that short of putting him in your handbag and hitting his head(big or small) once it starts peeping?
Another issue raised by Leona and which I sometimes find an unrealistic expectation is the issue of trying to be Jeniffer lopez with flat tummy, no single stretch mark, hair always done with no chipped nails! Lets face it. If the guy does not want any child, is ok with eating take aways and having all his clothes done at serena or laico I have no problem looking like jeniffer lopez any day.... but if he wants to father children with me he needs to accept that those children are carried in a stomach that is not as huge as to fit 3+kgs of his image and has to do abit of stretching, if he wants me to be the best mother, then he should accept that once in a while, especially when i have just come from salon, his son/daughter - and himself, will pull my hair off for attention, and with age, the elasticity just fades away, just like his does - its the way we are created.... I am not saying that women should just let themselves go, but you cant expect her to be the same as the 20 year old swinging on a pole at applebees when she is 35 with three children to boot! You will have to accept to love her the way she is because she lost all that glory for her family... kweli ama rongo?
Just out of curiosity, does the age difference between spouses matter in terms of their communication?
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/3/2010 Posts: 1,797 Location: Kenya
leona wrote: Do you have a flowing,interesting converstaion with him,ama after the marriage all conversations became an inquiry,request or complain?e.g Kuja na diaper... or utakunywa chai?.. or kwani huwezi kuwa home mapema for once?
 Ten nil! I may be wrong..but then I could be right
Rank: Elder Joined: 8/1/2008 Posts: 1,432 Location: Marsabit
@All Thanks guys,that was just some lame,unprofessional advice for our sister gift and i blame it on hanging around old women in my family.. @Fundaah Dont worry my dear,you have about 4decades to catch up with me...by then,you will be the 'advisor'. You'll understand why they say 'Kuishi kwingi ni kuona mengi. @Wendz Great advice right there  I was wondering why i havent heard from you on this one! Just a small clarification though,i didnt mean that married women should strive to be super gorgeous like akina JLO,the pole dancers or the drop dead gorgeous 20something year old down the street. It might have come out wrongly,but i meant,strive to look your best. It's a lot to ask for,but it works for many married women. You know? Dont let your hair look like you were fighting a fire all the time! Dont ignore the flabby tummy if you can do something about it,Dont let your eyebrows overgrow yet 2yrs down the line,you wouldnt be seen dead with bushy brows, maintain your dental health, keep your nails clean and well filed even if you cant afford the time and cash for a manicure. Dressup smartly according to your bodyshape and age,etc.There's something about a neat,organised and confident woman that appeals to most men.especially if he has to spend half his time with you per day,not to mention most of it is while sqeezed in the same 5 by 6 mini cell we call a bed Just like the submission thing that most of us women spend ages to learn about and agree to(and still hate it),most women hate to imagine that looking good is part of the marriage sacrife you have to make,but harsh reality is,you have to look good for your hubby.With or without kids. Try the best you can at your own capacity.At least let him know & see that you try. In short,i dont mean makeup,scanty dressing or such,i mean putting an effort to look good(like the one we put while going for a friend's wedding or to the chama) Not everybody was born beautiful,and not everyone can retain their natural beautiful,Beauty is deep down your heart,but the outer beauty and keeping yourself healthy and in good shape boosts your self esteem and wins the hearts of those around you(even kids love parents who put in some effort to look good). Michelle Obama has 2kids,but looks absolutely gorgeous at her age,add the fact that she's intellegent and dresses up well without exaggerating,then Ask Obama if he isnt proud of her Nevermind what haters say, ignore them til they fade away - Just live your life
Gift, This guy was cheating on you BEFORE you were married. I assure you that whether you dress sexy, or keep interesting conversations or do whatever some guys are proposing here, the guy will still cheat. He was doing it before you became his wife, and I doubt anything will make him stop. My advice is that if you choose to continue living with him, please know that he will cheat again and again. Make sure that you can live with this FACT and pray that he will never form an emotional attachment to any of the chicks he sleeps with. You may just get a co-wife. If you choose to go away, please weight it carefully and for the sake of all that which is good, do not harm the unborn child. You do not know how the child's life will turn out. While it's true your kids need a father and a family, it's important to have a stable and loving family environment. Consider if you would want to subordinate your happiness for the sake of your children and act as your heart tells you. Great men are not always wise, neither do the aged understand judgement...
Mbwa ya sokoni ni ya sokoni tuu..... feeding it with fish cake,choice steak,buttered bread and milk doesn't change it's ways.Ship out gal and find yourself a life.....or maybe your love for him is worth the sacrifice? Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Rank: New-farer Joined: 4/26/2010 Posts: 14 Location: mt kaddam, w.pokot
mama mia! am surprised, how yu all can condemn a person by listening to only 1 side of the story?! The man who you all are stoning has a story too!!!? it may shock you. so gift is a saint? to what extent she has contributed to her current problem?
like @gg, i hesitate to condemn on the basis of one side's story - we know a guilty person tries to present himself in good light as if he/she's an angel. relationships be difficult, not that simplified. but gift plse work things out - you call the man 'MY'showing u have some possesiveness/luv for him. use it for basis of reconcilaition.
we have man forms of cheating (phone, mail, physical, emotional, flirting) - which one he was doing, how you basted him?
You Have 2 options. 1 is to stay with him knowing mko wengi 2nd is to walk and agree on how you will raise the kids. Anything else is waste of time,he will change only because he sees he is wrong not because you talked to marriage counselor or a relative-in fact a relative will spread the story like bush fire.
@ Gift,
In most cases, age difference matters. Chances are very high that you dont share anything in common with your hubby.
Does your hubby drink the sweet waters from ruaraka?.
I personally dont like those so called marriage counselor's. Those guys are like proffesors in campus. They teach how campanies are run, but they have never practically run any themselves. Most counselors i have heard are single, so whatever they counsel is just theory. They'll add very little to what leona & wendz have said.
Trust your instint.
negativity dont solve anything..if a mistake happened by marring the guy dont dwell on that its the past and life continues....the two of you need to seat down and talk and you must show your hubby you are serious and not desparate(you can survive without him) The kids need the dad but also need you and if you are stressed you will be doing them no good..involve your closes family freind or someone that your husband can listen to.dont give up know that God is always on your side and will se you through....To all that hink "men are dogs" or women are bad,you are one of the two so be a good example and give the best always. life is a swinging pendulum,dont stay up too long to forget that you could come down]
Rank: Veteran Joined: 3/31/2008 Posts: 761 Location: Nairobi
Suppose u tell the hubby that you are aware he has cheated on you again, then go ahead and give him license to cheat whenever he can but insist that he uses protection. Then treat him very well. Tell him you want to understand why he does it. Chances are that it will get him thinking deeply about his ways and will most likely mend them. It might just be the start of reforming him and will at least ensure you don't get HIV on your marital bed.......and if he reforms, your in for a very wonderful time. When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.
My Cheating Husband. Please Advise