Safaricom 1H16 Results net profit up 23%
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#301 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2016 2:49:48 PM

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:
Metasploit wrote:
Waiting for volume build up.
Once you see mpesa do 50 to 100 million shares, get ready to bail out. Until then, stay putsmile

I expected volume build up at 19-20..No serious volumes.

Bidders are hungry..very hungry...sellers arent doing good enough

Very true

Volume increase in play. Not very long before harvesting begins.
@SufficientlyP
rwareinvestor
#302 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2016 2:57:52 PM

The stock is defying the bear.I think it will continue to grow due to interest by local and foreign investors.
Emerger
#303 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2016 2:59:50 PM

kimanimsc wrote:
Metasploit wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
It should hit a high of 18.70 today.
Smash the damn record highs.
@vvs
Are you in this bus

A supply of 600,000 at 18.75 was swiped away like 30 Mins ago

Watching EABL too.The guy has been doing serious volumes at 300

300 is a resistance point..Bids at 300 have been high

A high of 19 already printed.

A darling of the foreign investors, with Fed Rate remaining stable for the next quarter and fear of BREXIT, the foreign capital has to find a place and this Saf seems an avenue for them.
Very solid demand.
How far higher is it heading? @Chartists
Realtreaty
#304 Posted : Friday, June 17, 2016 10:00:49 AM

Emerger wrote:
kimanimsc wrote:
Metasploit wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
It should hit a high of 18.70 today.
Smash the damn record highs.
@vvs
Are you in this bus

A supply of 600,000 at 18.75 was swiped away like 30 Mins ago

Watching EABL too.The guy has been doing serious volumes at 300

300 is a resistance point..Bids at 300 have been high

A high of 19 already printed.

A darling of the foreign investors, with Fed Rate remaining stable for the next quarter and fear of BREXIT, the foreign capital has to find a place and this Saf seems an avenue for them.
Very solid demand.
How far higher is it heading? @Chartists

Drool It is eyeing between 24-30 next summer( Jan to April 2017
Pray
Ericsson
#305 Posted : Friday, June 17, 2016 10:08:52 AM

@Realtreaty
24-30 that is mkt cap of over sh.1 trillion.
If safaricom reaches mkt cap of 1 trillion;then total mkt cap of NSE should be over 3 trillion
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#306 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 8:12:42 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Dividend - 90 cents.

Anzeni kufanya hesabu!!!

safcom has 40billion shares,it needs to make 40billion profit after tax to have 1bob earnings per share,of this 1bob you want to say it will part with 90cts,.....this is a dream

Remember they did Sh31.9 billion PAT in 2014/15

so you suggest they have added 8.1 billion more and are willing to pay 90% as dividend?

They paid 64cts in FY15 which was a 36% rise. 90cts will just be a 40% rise. Will that be impossible? I dont think so, it will all depend on the results

that one off gvt security contract must have boosted them but the share price is making the dividend less attractive for those buying now,attractiveness is now pegged on future prospects and safcom has an uphill task to keep the growth momentum without declining ,a growing company needs to retain at least 50% of earnings as cash reserves

As of May last year, Safaricom had Kshs. 27.5 Billion in cash reserves. You want them to hoard cash like Apple?? For no good reason?

Even an average company should have at least a 5 year plan which includes cash requirements projections. Safaricom of course have plans in place and know how much they need and how much projected earnings are over a period of time.

You don't just hoard cash for the sake of hoarding. And there is a difference between a telecom like Safcom and an investment company (which needs all the cash they can get because they can invest in anything!!)

You had been warned! See post #197

I posted that three months ago!

I told you hii retained earnings tutapewa coz given Safaricom's business model, they did not need all that cash!

I hate to tell you I told you so, but I told you so!!! And the news is better than I expected!!!
Aguytrying
#307 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 9:06:04 PM

Good call MaichBlack. One day come pick the passengers that were left behind
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
ngapat
#308 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 11:47:29 PM

Should have used that cash to roll out 4g network country wide
“Invest in yourself. Your career is the engine of your wealth.”
Ericsson
#309 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2016 6:00:45 AM

@ngapat
Pesa ya kurollot 4G countrywide wako nayo already.
Safaricom spends in excess of sh.30bn in network modernisation every year
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#310 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2016 8:49:18 AM

ngapat wrote:

You imagine the fellows will give us money and then start hustling for money to build and upgrade infrastructure???

They have a freaking 82 Billion in retained cash! They are giving us "only" 27 Billion. That leaves them with Kshs. 55 Billion cash! And they are still making more as we speak!
#311 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2016 8:55:10 AM

ngapat wrote:

You imagine the fellows will give us money and then start hustling for money to build and upgrade infrastructure???

They have a freaking 82 Billion in retained cash! They are giving us "only" 27 Billion. That leaves them with Kshs. 55 Billion cash! And they are still making more as we speak!

Pesa iko ya kilakitu!!! smile
#312 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2016 9:40:04 AM

ngapat wrote:

Pesa iko ya kilakitu!!! smile

Habari ndiyo hiyo!!!