#61 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 10:42:47 PM

In all honesty, why are we shocked? 3 years ago, @symbols asked a question

#3806 Posted : Monday, July 08, 2013 10:45:28 PM

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:
symbols wrote:
A fundamental question,which is the most powerful company in the NSE and is slowly becoming the backbone of Kenya?

Safaricom

Habari ndio hiyo

I have always done ETFs thru mpesasmile

If p/e ratios mean anything, Safaricom PEs ratio reflects investors high expectations for safcoms future earnings and this is simply because they have a proven record of continuous improvement and disruptive innovation.

As we get into the era of big data, who knows everything about you? (Watch trends out there - Verizon buys yahoo and aol)
gatoho
#62 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 11:08:30 PM

Ebenyo wrote:
This is very sweet news indeed.Unfortunately i might not see my average buying price of 16.20 soon.

This would have been me retiring had I stuck to my promise to invest every nse coin I had since 08 but I wavered. Still my average buy is 5.5 but problem is when it was 2.5 only used to buy with change and hence hold considerably way fewer than I know I should have
Foresight..
Ebenyo
#63 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 11:56:55 PM

gatoho wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:
This is very sweet news indeed.Unfortunately i might not see my average buying price of 16.20 soon.

This would have been me retiring had I stuck to my promise to invest every nse coin I had since 08 but I wavered. Still my average buy is 5.5 but problem is when it was 2.5 only used to buy with change and hence hold considerably way fewer than I know I should have

Thats very interesting! this was my first share too in 2008 ipo but sold faster and came back late.A big lesson for me!
At 5.5,please keep on buying!
Towards the goal of financial freedom
#64 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2016 12:25:22 AM

A very clear example of you can never go wrong buying a good/solid company it will definitely pay off one day.
#65 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2016 8:57:18 AM

Most people are regretting not buying Safaricom at 2.xy

Most shares are trading at a discount at the moment but a majority are afraid to buy. In a couple of years, people will be regretting not buying all these shares. Mark my words!! I will probably unearth this post when people start wishing they bought share a, b , c at Kshs. xy in 2016/2017.

Identify shares that are trading at a discount and align with your investment philosophy and start buying like crazy - between now and December 2017. My free advice.
Wondergirl
#66 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2016 9:46:03 AM

Most shares are trading at a discount at the moment but a majority are afraid to buy. In a couple of years, people will be regretting not buying all these shares. Mark my words!! I will probably unearth this post when people start wishing they bought share a, b , c at Kshs. xy in 2016/2017.

Identify shares that are trading at a discount and align with your investment philosophy and start buying like crazy - between now and December 2017. My free advice.

@ Maichblack,
I don' want to be one of those. Please advise what I can pick now? Safaricom, is it wise to pick it now?
#67 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2016 10:15:43 AM

Wondergirl wrote:

@ Maichblack,
I don' want to be one of those. Please advise what I can pick now? Safaricom, is it wise to pick it now?

@Wondergirl - At the moment, there are shares that are more discounted than Safaricom.

I will gradually load up (more - mimi ni member) on Housing Finance. I am carefully watching KCB but not yet pulled the trigger. If somehow Equity Bank goes down, I will be buying (more - niko ndani ya bus) but for now watching...

If you want to start buying today, I would say start with Housing Finance.

But I hope you are a long termer. In the short term the price(s) might go down before it finally goes up. Remember you cannot really time the market!

Also, read other threads like "bear wishlist" so that you can hear the opinions of other wazuans before you make up your mind.
Ebenyo
#68 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2016 10:32:47 AM

Wondergirl wrote:

@ Maichblack,

In the spirit of wazua:
Buy Total kenya @15.50
Buy kenya re @19.65
Buy equity @38.25
Buy kcb @ 32.25
Buy kengen @ 6.60
Wait for safaricom @ 16.20

Towards the goal of financial freedom
#69 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2016 10:44:55 AM

Ebenyo wrote:
Wondergirl wrote:

@ Maichblack,

In the spirit of wazua:
Buy Total kenya @15.50
Buy kenya re @19.65
Buy equity @38.25
Buy kcb @ 32.25
Buy kengen @ 6.60
Wait for safaricom @ 16.20

Good stock deals are like buses. There is always another one coming. Guys buy when you are ready to buy. Never rush.
Ericsson
#70 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2016 11:15:34 AM

Hii bear run ni noma.
Even safaricom will succumb to it after book closure on september 3
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Spikes
#71 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2016 4:08:08 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Hii bear run ni noma.
Even safaricom will succumb to it after book closure on september 3

Safaricom is gathering vigor. In a span of a month short term speculators will be seen jumping out clinging on kes 5/- capital gains per share.
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
Metasploit
#72 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2016 4:19:25 PM

Resistance at 18.80-19.10
This was expected

Closing supply between 18.90-19.10 at 7M

Support at 18.40-18.50

Should correct the RSI and set all time high

“The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.”
#73 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 12:29:19 AM

hisah wrote:
The top is nigh.

This is to the newbies.

New all time high intraday is 19.20. Bids are now trimming back towards 18.50 (former resistance) to rope in more bid power.

Total div payout KES 1.44. As @metaspoilt states the dividend yield is too good to ignore. Does the interim div mean that mpesa bank has now officially crossed the KES 1.00 threshold?

Trailing div yield was 4.22% at KES 18. Theoretically after factoring the interim div and maintaining the same div yield the price projection is KES 34.

Can mpesa bank sustain such a div payout for year 2016/7 to justify that price rally?

Now imagine if mpesa bank can sustain such a payout in a bullish market...! Crazy PER coming up!

smile Is this music or what? Sportspesa fueling the glut in cash

The volume of cash moving through mobile money transfer platforms grew by a fifth in the first six months of this year, powered by increased uptake of cellphone-based gaming, industry data shows.

A total Sh1.59 trillion moved through the mobile platforms in the first six months of the year, according to Central Bank of Kenya (CBK) data, signalling that consumers in East Africa’s largest economy are on course to surpassing 2015’s full-year record of Sh2.81 trillion.

This means an average of Sh220.4 billion is moving on mobile money platforms every month compared to Sh186.4 billion per month in in a similar period last year.
#74 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 9:00:47 AM

hisah wrote:
The top is nigh.

This is to the newbies.

New all time high intraday is 19.20. Bids are now trimming back towards 18.50 (former resistance) to rope in more bid power.

Total div payout KES 1.44. As @metaspoilt states the dividend yield is too good to ignore. Does the interim div mean that mpesa bank has now officially crossed the KES 1.00 threshold?

Trailing div yield was 4.22% at KES 18. Theoretically after factoring the interim div and maintaining the same div yield the price projection is KES 34.

Can mpesa bank sustain such a div payout for year 2016/7 to justify that price rally?

Now imagine if mpesa bank can sustain such a payout in a bullish market...! Crazy PER coming up!

smile Is this music or what? Sportspesa fueling the glut in cash

The volume of cash moving through mobile money transfer platforms grew by a fifth in the first six months of this year, powered by increased uptake of cellphone-based gaming, industry data shows.

A total Sh1.59 trillion moved through the mobile platforms in the first six months of the year, according to Central Bank of Kenya (CBK) data, signalling that consumers in East Africa’s largest economy are on course to surpassing 2015’s full-year record of Sh2.81 trillion.

This means an average of Sh220.4 billion is moving on mobile money platforms every month compared to Sh186.4 billion per month in in a similar period last year.

this is the next front to cap and say the sender and user should not all be chargedsmile
ARAP CHARLES
#75 Posted : Friday, September 02, 2016 9:43:53 AM

Drool Drool Drool Haki i feel like jumping to ship! this dividend is really sweet KSH 1.44CTS.. heeeelp! I wish i can know the depth days after..
Watch and Listen and Live
kimanimsc
#76 Posted : Friday, September 02, 2016 2:01:27 PM

ARAP CHARLES wrote:
Drool Drool Drool Haki i feel like jumping to ship! this dividend is really sweet KSH 1.44CTS.. heeeelp! I wish i can know the depth days after..

Chances are high 19.15 printed on 25.08.16 will not be revisited. It is likely to play just like last year where 12.80 was printed on 26.08.15 and did not drop to that level after books closure.
Spikes
#77 Posted : Friday, September 02, 2016 2:06:11 PM

kimanimsc wrote:
ARAP CHARLES wrote:

Chances are high 19.15 printed on 25.08.16 will not be revisited. It is likely to play just like last year where 12.80 was printed on 26.08.15 and did not drop to that level after books closure.

This bear has gathered enough momentum to down Safaricom to 15/-. Your historical observation above is profound though.
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
#78 Posted : Friday, September 02, 2016 10:31:54 PM

kimanimsc wrote:
ARAP CHARLES wrote:

the last minute rally was missing meaning it might slide much than expected
#79 Posted : Saturday, September 03, 2016 12:22:03 PM

mlennyma wrote:
kimanimsc wrote:
ARAP CHARLES wrote:

I will climb it at 12-15 range.

watesh
#80 Posted : Saturday, September 03, 2016 9:58:36 PM

mlennyma wrote:
kimanimsc wrote:
ARAP CHARLES wrote:

I will climb it at 12-15 range.

Time for us who missed out to jump in