wazua Wed, Apr 22, 2026

103 Pages«<7891011>»
Question for a4architect
#81 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 10:12:04 AM

These are the guys on the ground hakuna formalities they do the actual job with their "watu wa mkono". Wambua and Mungai can be contacted as follows: Wambua 0710194072 and Mungai is 0717930991.
tom_boy
#82 Posted : Saturday, April 24, 2010 8:10:08 PM

This thread is amazing,

I am in the process of planning for constructing and hope to start very soon, in fact I am looking for a fundi. How much can I reasonably expect to spend on labour when doing the foundation (red soil), slab and roofing ( mabati roof).

The foundation is approx 160 square metres while slab is about 150 square metres. I plan to give labour contracts for the different stages so just need an estimate from those who have been there.
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
Pablo
#83 Posted : Monday, April 26, 2010 8:37:28 AM

My foundation of 180SqM cost about 450k incl. 105k for labour.
Slab 750k incl 160k Labour (thats if you hire the trappers rather than buy them). Roofing - ongoing.

Also note that youll need maybe some 200k for pre works. I.e water tank, road access some clearing etc.
se7en
#84 Posted : Monday, April 26, 2010 12:39:36 PM

this is the best post ever!! Such a wealth of knowledge! *Hat Tip @ Pablo*
speak softly and carry a big stick, you will go far... Theodore Roosevelt
se7en
#85 Posted : Monday, April 26, 2010 12:41:02 PM

this is the best thread ever!! Such a wealth of knowledge! *Hat Tip @ Pablo and other contributors*
speak softly and carry a big stick, you will go far... Theodore Roosevelt
kenstat
#86 Posted : Monday, May 10, 2010 1:33:35 PM

As an aside, any recommendations for trustworthy lawyers (oxymoronic, I know) that members have used in their shamba deals? Thanks.
#87 Posted : Monday, May 10, 2010 4:09:48 PM

Wow!! for the first time i have read a thread reply by reply. @Pablo that's a big heart you got man! God Bless you.

@All...let's also not critisize Architect. At least he replied..
Jkwaititu
#88 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 9:56:09 PM

@pablo, if guys like u were president of Kenya...man we'd be far kabisa, ur the king of cost-cutting man!! Applause Applause

God willing i'm coming home in dec, best believe first thing i'll look for is someone to sell me a tree
#89 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 10:14:03 AM

Pray .Doing 2nd floor slab and can't believe the savings on mbao, props and trappers. The later are for hire @100 per piece for 40 days and I can't regret a thing. smile. Now the electricals and plumbing issues to sort, got this KPLC technician "engineer" as they call him doing the cabling for 12k, the cables etc cost abt 30k, plumber asks for 4k. NB: The plumber plus electrician will oversee the koroga process to secure their works!
kenstat
#90 Posted : Sunday, May 23, 2010 3:46:01 PM

Is this a personal house ama rental? What is the location?

Rahatupu wrote:
Pray .Doing 2nd floor slab and can't believe the savings on mbao, props and trappers. The later are for hire @100 per piece for 40 days and I can't regret a thing. smile. Now the electricals and plumbing issues to sort, got this KPLC technician "engineer" as they call him doing the cabling for 12k, the cables etc cost abt 30k, plumber asks for 4k. NB: The plumber plus electrician will oversee the koroga process to secure their works!

103 Pages«<7891011>»