wazua Sat, Dec 28, 2024

68 Pages«<2223242526>»
KCB buy buy buy
Aguytrying
#461 Posted : Sunday, July 24, 2016 12:30:11 AM

@arap Charles, tmatekwa.

Not all the 1 billion shares will be used in the rights issue. It says exactly that in the link u provided
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
enyands
#462 Posted : Sunday, July 24, 2016 1:21:26 AM

gatoho wrote:
researchfirst wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:
researchfirst wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
Crediting of the script dividend shares is today.
Tomorrow listing and trading

the conversion formula was very poor.

Agreed. It will be interesting to see how many actually took shares as opposed to cash.

@Pesa Nane. Thanks. So the total number of new shares issued represents 1.35% of the existing issued shares and 1.33% of the issued Shares as enlarged by the issue of the new shares.

What happens cos I never chose?

By default they will issue you scrip shares .
merkava
#463 Posted : Sunday, July 24, 2016 5:25:25 PM

Having read all these and being new at this then the question begs,when is the best time to jump onto this ship? and like somebody put it earlier ni ya kulipa university fees of a 2year old boy!!
Barikiwa tufanane
merkava
#464 Posted : Sunday, July 24, 2016 5:31:40 PM

Meant to ask now at 32 bob or after the rights
Barikiwa tufanane
Ericsson
#465 Posted : Sunday, July 24, 2016 5:33:03 PM

Tumia akili yako.
no one can give you a definite answer for that
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Ebenyo
#466 Posted : Sunday, July 24, 2016 5:37:56 PM

merkava wrote:
Having read all these and being new at this then the question begs,when is the best time to jump onto this ship? and like somebody put it earlier ni ya kulipa university fees of a 2year old boy!!

My average buying price so far is 38.25.I started accumulating in Dec last year.So you see at the current price of 32.25,thats a real bargain.It depends also with your investment philosophy.Are u a speculator or a long term investor? Im a long term investor.
The current price is a buy for a long term investor.Then the rights issue is coming.The price might be 27 or 28.Take position by buying again when it reaches that level.
Towards the goal of financial freedom
merkava
#467 Posted : Sunday, July 24, 2016 5:49:40 PM

@Ebenyo,wel put,am a long time investor and that goes for all counters i have bought before.u read my mind want to get on this counter and accumulate and this journey begins as early as this week.it has always been about my kids with the stock market,my dad before me did the same and I know what impact that had when it came to paying my university tuition. All said and done, thanxs
Barikiwa tufanane
Ebenyo
#468 Posted : Sunday, July 24, 2016 7:34:31 PM

merkava wrote:
@Ebenyo,wel put,am a long time investor and that goes for all counters i have bought before.u read my mind want to get on this counter and accumulate and this journey begins as early as this week.it has always been about my kids with the stock market,my dad before me did the same and I know what impact that had when it came to paying my university tuition. All said and done, thanxs

We are on the same journey! i have a child who is 3 years old now.And being self employed,im really concerned about her future.I have accumulated this year dividends in a savings account and i intend to do so for the next ten years.Then i will pay her high school and university fees stress free.How did your father did it? which other counters are u in?
#469 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2016 5:29:34 AM

merkava wrote:

The fair value is 65.
merkava
#470 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2016 8:40:40 AM

@Ebenyo I have 2 year old boy,he turns 2 this friday. Am in Kengen,Safcom and recently picked on stanlib fahari I-reit during the IPO. My dad had accumulated KCB,Coop,Nation Media,standard Chart and ICDC(centum). My intentions are to jump on to a few counters and accumulate,just starting to run the ropes on how the NSE works. Am looking at getting to KCB,Equity,centum,CIC and leave it at that,at least for the next few years
Barikiwa tufanane
#471 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2016 8:53:34 AM

Ebenyo wrote:
merkava wrote:

We are on the same journey! i have a child who is 3 years old now.And being self employed,im really concerned about her future.I have accumulated this year dividends in a savings account and i intend to do so for the next ten years.Then i will pay her high school and university fees stress free.How did your father did it? which other counters are u in?

@merkava and @Ebenyo - That is the spirit! Kufikiria maslahi ya "mitoto" yetu.

Though I am over invested in financials, I have my eye on KCB too. I have a feeling (based on market emotions, bear environment, the rights - Not fundamentals!) that the price will go lower! Not pulling the trigger yet. But my eyes are wide open.

After I get into KCB (If and when) I will have a good chunk of my money in financials but I don't think that is such a big problem (There different schools of thought when it comes to diversification). And if I feel it is a problem in two or more years, I can always re-balance my portfolio.

My only issue with KCB is their appetite for rights money. Every couple of years they come for more!
#472 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2016 8:57:27 AM

merkava wrote:
@Ebenyo I have 2 year old boy,he turns 2 this friday. Am in Kengen,Safcom and recently picked on stanlib fahari I-reit during the IPO. My dad had accumulated KCB,Coop,Nation Media,standard Chart and ICDC(centum). My intentions are to jump on to a few counters and accumulate,just starting to run the ropes on how the NSE works. Am looking at getting to KCB,Equity,centum,CIC and leave it at that,at least for the next few years

All the best @merkava. Best time to buy shares - between now and December next year. Prices might still go down (or up) in the mean time but most stocks are trading at a discount. That's the most important thing to a long termer. Good company at a discount.
snifadog
#473 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2016 10:03:37 AM

don't buy stocks to pay for your child's school fees, that's not a wise gamble. There is life insurance for children's education for this. I suggest you go down that route.

Disclaimer: I am in the insurance industry.
#474 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2016 10:24:10 AM

snifadog wrote:
don't buy stocks to pay for your child's school fees, that's not a wise gamble. There is life insurance for children's education for this. I suggest you go down that route.

In was about to ask if you are insurance until I read your disclaimer.

Education insurance is only good as an insurance! In case something happens to you, your kids fees still get sorted out. It is a good thing you didn't try to disguise it as an an investment because as an investment it sucks big time!!! It can't even keep up with inflation!!

If one can build up a portfolio that can take care of the kids if he/she is not around, then that would be the wisest move. If you cannot do that (or may be before you do that) you should consider the Education policy.

Problem with the "before" bit is that exiting this policies is next to impossible. The fine print ensures you get much less than you put in!!! The fellows set you up to pay up a certain amount every month for the next 10 or more years and you cannot exit without losing a substantial percentage of your principal and getting zilch gains!! I don't like that one bit!!! Talk about giving insurance companies zero interest capital (or worse, negative interest capital) to invest, make money and give you back money already eaten up by inflation. But you benefit - If you die!! Or are maimed.

NOTE: I am not saying insurance is bad. But it is NOT an investment. Choose policies that work for you. And invest elsewhere also.
Ebenyo
#475 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2016 10:37:07 AM

merkava wrote:

@Merkava,thanks for sharing.Honestly im not an expert in NSE.Im also learning.This site of wazua has really been helpful to me.Though be very careful as every good place has its madmen too.
So you have a two year old boy,and i have a three year old girl.Maybe one day in future they will meet and get married.Then we will be inlaws!
Your father portfolio was good.But co-op bank lacks creativity and innovation to grow going forward.So i wont advice you to rope into that yet.
Nation media group has fell victim to generation change from analogue to digital.Instead of embracing change of times, they tried to resist and fight.Dont get into it untill they go digital.
Stanchart is still finding it difficult to go to the low income bracket segment.They are still in the old system of targeting high income end.Growth here will be slow and difficult.
Centum is a company whose priorities are to benefit 1.Employees 2.Speculators.
As a long term investor you will suffer here.
From your father portfolio,I will only pick KCB.My reasons:
1.Innovation- the company has been busy creating new products to meet the needs of the market.They started kcbmpesa last year.
2.Growth-new target markets to venture include somalia and mozambique.
3.Faith in the MGT-kcb board led by Ngeny Biwott and a young CEO Joshua Oigara,is vibrant enough to guarantee shareholder returns.

You are in Safcom,Kengen and Fahari i reit.
Safcom is a dream company,mpesa product will be difficult to rival.Banks are trying but they are not yet near.It generated 45 bilion revenue in the last financial year.Thats a good pick for you.As this is a bear market,continue working on your average buying price.My current average buying price for safaricom is 16.20.So the current price of 18.10 is not good for me.Whats your current average price?
Kengen-Im worried at huge debt to equity ratio currently at 74%.My entry price was 6.80.
I dont know if kengen will ever try to reduce dependency on debts.Huge reliance on debts makes shareholders equity look like cramps.
I give this counter 3-5 years to observe trends.But i like the CEO,Albert Mugo.He seems to have shareholders interest at heart.
There was a rights issue recently.There will be dilution going forward which i will wait to see.
I dont know much about stanlib fahari i reit.I only know its a real estate investment.Going by what i saw with Home afrika,i wont touch untill i see their forthcoming financial results.
From your portfolio,i will only pick safaricom.Though im in kengen,high debt to equity ratio is a discouraging factor which in future if it doesnt reduce,might see me opt out.
fahari i reit is a wait and see for me.
As to the stocks you are planning to acquire,buy KCB and Equity.
I have shared my thoughts on centum already from your father portfolio.
CIC is a sister of co-op bank.They share the same heredity disease.
On insurance counters,i like kenya Re.
My portfolio currently stand as follows:
1.Equity
2.Safaricom
3.Kcb
4.Kengen
im thinking to add Bamburi,Kenya Re,Total,Nse,Eabl,Kapchorua.
My target is to posses ten companies only out of the possible 64 in NSE.I will try to be diverse as much as possible.
Speculators are the ones who will just keep two or three stocks for quick play.Why should a long term investor do that? i believe you should have atleast five and above.

enyands
#476 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2016 10:57:18 AM

Ebenyo wrote:
merkava wrote:

@Merkava,thanks for sharing.Honestly im not an expert in NSE.Im also learning.This site of wazua has really been helpful to me.Though be very careful as every good place has its madmen too.
So you have a two year old boy,and i have a three year old girl.Maybe one day in future they will meet and get married.Then we will be inlaws!
Your father portfolio was good.But co-op bank lacks creativity and innovation to grow going forward.So i wont advice you to rope into that yet.Nation media group has fell victim to generation change from analogue to digital.Instead of embracing change of times, they tried to resist and fight.Dont get into it untill they go digital.
Stanchart is still finding it difficult to go to the low income bracket segment.They are still in the old system of targeting high income end.Growth here will be slow and difficult.
1.Innovation- the company has been busy creating new products to meet the needs of the market.They started kcbmpesa last year.
3.Faith in the MGT-kcb board led by Ngeny Biwott and a young CEO Joshua Oigara,is vibrant enough to guarantee shareholder returns.

Safcom is a dream company,mpesa product will be difficult to rival.Banks are trying but they are not yet near.It generated 45 bilion revenue in the last financial year.Thats a good pick for you.As this is a bear market,continue working on your average buying price.My current average buying price for safaricom is 16.20.So the current price of 18.10 is not good for me.Whats your current average price?
Kengen-Im worried at huge debt to equity ratio currently at 74%.My entry price was 6.80.
I dont know if kengen will ever try to reduce dependency on debts.Huge reliance on debts makes shareholders equity look like cramps.
I give this counter 3-5 years to observe trends.But i like the CEO,Albert Mugo.He seems to have shareholders interest at heart.
There was a rights issue recently.There will be dilution going forward which i will wait to see.
I dont know much about stanlib fahari i reit.I only know its a real estate investment.Going by what i saw with Home afrika,i wont touch untill i see their forthcoming financial results.
From your portfolio,i only pick safaricom.Though im in kengen,high debt to equity ratio is a discouraging factor which in future if it doesnt reduce,might see me opt out.
As to the stocks you want to buy,buy KCB and Equity faster.
1.Equity
2.Safaricom
3.Kcb
4.Kengen
My target is to posses ten companies only out of the possible 64 in NSE.I will try to be diverse as much as possible.
Speculators are the ones who will just keep two or three stocks for quick play.Why should a long term investor do that? i believe you should have atleast five and above.

Applause Applause good analysis.you summed it all well and precise. He can also try on green section. Investment saccos like safaricom investment sacco Ama stima investment sacco. Tawanya wimbi kabisa.
Ebenyo
#477 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2016 11:05:18 AM

snifadog wrote:

it was very honest of you to state your interest.
I could have agreed with you,if the money the policy holder pays monthly was used by the insurance company in other ways that i might not be able to do.As it is,insurance companies are the most active speculators in the bourse,which sometimes they loss heavily,
they are heavily invested in treasury bills and bonds and they are in real estate.All these are things which im able to do myself and generate good returns.Insurance business thrive because most people lack self discipline to delay instant gratification.
Emerger
#478 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2016 11:17:58 AM

Ebenyo wrote:
merkava wrote:

Your father portfolio was good.But co-op bank lacks creativity and innovation to grow going forward.So i wont advice you to rope into that yet.Nation media group has fell victim to generation change from analogue to digital.Instead of embracing change of times, they tried to resist and fight.Dont get into it untill they go digital.

From your portfolio,i only pick safaricom.Though im in kengen,high debt to equity ratio is a discouraging factor which in future if it doesnt reduce,might see me opt out.
As to the stocks you want to buy,buy KCB and Equity faster.
1.Equity
2.Safaricom
3.Kcb
4.Kengen

@Ebenyo, good analysis there with supporting info on each and basis of decision and/or recommendation.
snifadog
#479 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2016 11:25:20 AM

i agree with you, but i advise that you leave some responsibilities to 'specialists' i.e. the insurers. it is not advisable to manage all the aspects of your financial planning.
re: insurance policy returns, using football as an analogy, insurance is the defence/keeper, savings are the midfield, stocks/investments are the strikers. so, set your finances up accordingly.
Ebenyo
#480 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2016 11:43:53 AM

snifadog wrote:
i agree with you, but i advise that you leave some responsibilities to 'specialists' i.e. the insurers. it is not advisable to manage all the aspects of your financial planning.
re: insurance policy returns, using football as an analogy, insurance is the defence/keeper, savings are the midfield, stocks/investments are the strikers. so, set your finances up accordingly.

its nice you are defending your business.Thats really natural.But i guess its difficult to convince a fellow businessman to buy your product when you are all selling!