wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

KQ FY 2016 operating loss down to 4bn; net loss record (26.2bn)
#21 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2016 9:58:29 AM

New KQ.

#22 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2016 10:01:26 AM

ArrestedDev wrote:
Is this 26B Net loss or Gross loss?
I feel the press is misquoting ndugu @obiero.

He was forecasting at a reduced loss of 11 billion? What a shock?? KQ is a dead meat. Total overhaul of the management required. There is no way KQ will repay the current debt.

Hii ata haitaki serikali kuingia kati aka kuweka kishwa tu, hii lazima serikali iiingie yote ndani.

Fyatu
#23 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2016 10:04:17 AM

In plain(wanjiku) language, can the fundies tell wazuans how KQ makes these phenomenon losses.

1. Is it that people are not flying?
2. Is it that they have excess employees who are paid lots of money?
3. Is it that Jet A-1 is very expensive?
4. Is it they are paying more parking fess at the destinations they land/operate?
5. Is it the interest charged on previous loans?

What is the issue with KQ in leihman language?
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
muandiwambeu
#24 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2016 10:10:05 AM

pittance.
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
littledove
#25 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2016 10:12:02 AM

ArrestedDev wrote:

He was forecasting at a reduced loss of 11 billion? What a shock?? KQ is a dead meat. Total overhaul of the management required. There is no way KQ will repay the current debt.

Hii ata haitaki serikali kuingia kati aka kuweka kishwa tu, hii lazima serikali iiingie yote ndani.

they mean sale of assets had no impact at all?
There are only two emotions in the stock market, fear and hope. The problem is, you hope when you should fear and fear when you should hope
#26 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2016 10:13:45 AM

littledove wrote:
ArrestedDev wrote:

they mean sale of assets had no impact at all?

It is important to note that excluding one-off impacts related to asset sales, compensation for late delivery of new aircraft, write-offs, impairments and provisions, the group broke-even at operating loss level, an improvement of Kshs 11,139 million while loss before tax improved by Kshs 2,513 million.
#27 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2016 10:15:59 AM

Fyatu wrote:
In plain(wanjiku) language, can the fundies tell wazuans how KQ makes these phenomenon losses.

4. Is it they are paying more parking fess at the destinations they land/operate?

It's being run by a clueless guy who is bothered by such minor things like Koffi Olomide was not met and throws tantrums about it...I don't why the bugger cannot resign.
Spikes
#28 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2016 10:16:06 AM

Suppose assets were not sold imagine how wider the loss would have been!

I am now forced to revise my target entry price of 2/- bob downwards to 50 cents coz the loss territory still remains in the next couple of years.
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
#29 Posted: : Thursday, July 21, 2016 10:17:46 AM

Kirubi mislead him. Pole @obiero.
Spikes
#30 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2016 10:22:09 AM

Kirubi mislead him. Pole @obiero.

How can you start investing calculating your risk based on heavyweights, people not of your class? Even if CK DJ loses everything in KQ life goes on with him. I pity poor @obiero!!!
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
#31 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2016 10:25:48 AM

Obiero, you're in my thoughts in this trying times....
#32 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2016 10:29:48 AM

I also pity the new COO first day and he is met with this crap...
ArrestedDev
#33 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2016 10:31:53 AM

Fyatu wrote:

It's being run by a clueless guy who is bothered by such minor things like Koffi Olomide was not met and throws tantrums about it...I don't why the bugger cannot resign.

You are very right. He is a just a petty individual. He is the one who destroyed the product and he can't be the same guy to build/redeem it.
moneydust
#34 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2016 10:34:15 AM

My thoughts too for one Obiero..
#35 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2016 10:36:33 AM

The loss also saw the national carrier set a new record in wiping out shareholders’ equity, with the company’s net worth now at a negative Sh35.6 billion from the previous negative Sh5.9 billion...
ArrestedDev
#36 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2016 10:36:54 AM

Spikes wrote:

I am now forced to revise my target entry price of 2/- bob downwards to 50 cents coz the loss territory still remains in the next couple of years.

I suspect that part of the other income was not booked under FY 15/16 and will be shown under FY 16/17 since not all the deals/transactions were closed before March 16. It will have an impact on the half FY 16/17 results. Many people will think it is an improved performance.
#37 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2016 10:43:33 AM

KQ investors misled by these two common psychological traps (Hello @Obiero)

Source: Investopedia

DEFINITION of 'Superiority Trap'

A psychological or behavioral trap that leads people to believe that they have superior skill in some areas. The superiority trap can be a dangerous delusion in the stock market, since investors who believe their investment prowess is superior to that of others may end up losing a lot of money. One way of avoiding this trap is through retaining a sense of humility, rather than hubris. An oft-cited example of the superiority trap is the fact that the overwhelming majority of people think they are above-average drivers, which is a contradiction in itself.

DEFINITION of 'Sunk Cost Trap'

The tendency of people to irrationally follow through on an activity that is not meeting their expectations because of the time and/or money they have already spent on it. The sunk cost trap explains why people finish movies they aren’t enjoying, finish meals that taste bad, hold on to investments that are underperforming and keep clothes in their closet that they’ve never worn. The sunk cost trap is also called the Concorde fallacy after the failed supersonic Concorde jet program that funding governments insisted on completing despite the jet’s poor outlook.

Individuals, businesses and governments fall into the sunk cost trap when they base their decisions on past behavior and a desire to not waste the time or money they have already spent, instead of cutting their losses and making the decision that would give them the best outcome going forward. People are reluctant to admit, even to themselves, that they have wasted resources on a past decision. Changing directions is viewed, perhaps only subconsciously, as admitting failure. As a result, people tend to stay the course or even invest additional resources in a bad decision in a futile attempt to make their initial decision seem worthwhile.
#38 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2016 10:56:18 AM

ArrestedDev wrote:
Spikes wrote:

I suspect that part of the other income was not booked under FY 15/16 and will be shown under FY 16/17 since not all the deals/transactions were closed before March 16. It will have an impact on the half FY 16/17 results. Many people will think it is an improved performance.

#39 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2016 10:58:40 AM

Obiero in the house! !Let's all stand up!!!
#40 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2016 11:02:52 AM

@Obiero sasa...