Investor
Stocks
Safaricom FY 2016 results net profit up 19.6%
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/4/2016 Posts: 1,997 Location: Kitale
Ericsson wrote:Yes they do and it depends on which side of the mkate nusu the particular institution falls under. E.g safaricom where gava owns 40% is majorly on the TNA side TKL which has now just being taken over by Hellios and GoK owns 40% henceforth is on the URP side and that's why John Barorot has been appointed the CTO. Now look at how the management of the two firms will be played out. Same case applies to energy sector where Kengen is on the TNA side while KPLC is on the URP hehehe! kumbe ni hivyo? its good now i know. Towards the goal of financial freedom
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,121 Location: Nairobi
Ericsson wrote:Yes they do and it depends on which side of the mkate nusu the particular institution falls under. E.g safaricom where gava owns 40% is majorly on the TNA side TKL which has now just being taken over by Hellios and GoK owns 40% henceforth is on the URP side and that's why John Barorot has been appointed the CTO. Now look at how the management of the two firms will be played out. Same case applies to energy sector where Kengen is on the TNA side while KPLC is on the URP This was brought to my attention by a guy who is neither URP nor TNA. He told me POINT BLANK that the scams being perpetuated in KPLC are huge. Furthermore, he said he prefers the TNA folks who don't completely kill off the golden geese unlike the URP folks. He said the rot will show up in 2-3 years. I stopped buying KPLC [& became a seller] after this conversation. [BTW, I do not care for KenGen either at this point]. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/4/2016 Posts: 1,997 Location: Kitale
VituVingiSana wrote:Ericsson wrote:Yes they do and it depends on which side of the mkate nusu the particular institution falls under. E.g safaricom where gava owns 40% is majorly on the TNA side TKL which has now just being taken over by Hellios and GoK owns 40% henceforth is on the URP side and that's why John Barorot has been appointed the CTO. Now look at how the management of the two firms will be played out. Same case applies to energy sector where Kengen is on the TNA side while KPLC is on the URP This was brought to my attention by a guy who is neither URP nor TNA. He told me POINT BLANK that the scams being perpetuated in KPLC are huge. Furthermore, he said he prefers the TNA folks who don't completely kill off the golden geese unlike the URP folks. He said the rot will show up in 2-3 years. I stopped buying KPLC [& became a seller] after this conversation. [BTW, I do not care for KenGen either at this point]. The reality is that a govt is headed by politicians and so we cannot completely divorce political management from govt controlled firms. Its a fact we live with it as investors. The points we shared and agreed earlier are important.So lets follow what we agreed. Meanwhile i have not yet seen the 'experts' telling us the answer to our earlier question,why some gava controlled firms are doing better while others are on dead bed. im waiting. Towards the goal of financial freedom
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 10,702 Location: NAIROBI
@Ebenyo The answer lies on which side of the mkate nusu the company falls. Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
VituVingiSana wrote:Ericsson wrote:Yes they do and it depends on which side of the mkate nusu the particular institution falls under. E.g safaricom where gava owns 40% is majorly on the TNA side TKL which has now just being taken over by Hellios and GoK owns 40% henceforth is on the URP side and that's why John Barorot has been appointed the CTO. Now look at how the management of the two firms will be played out. Same case applies to energy sector where Kengen is on the TNA side while KPLC is on the URP This was brought to my attention by a guy who is neither URP nor TNA. He told me POINT BLANK that the scams being perpetuated in KPLC are huge. Furthermore, he said he prefers the TNA folks who don't completely kill off the golden geese unlike the URP folks. He said the rot will show up in 2-3 years. I stopped buying KPLC [& became a seller] after this conversation. [BTW, I do not care for KenGen either at this point]. This is very sad. Thats how shareholders interests are played with, they mean nothing to these vampires. I don't like kplc. I'm also warry of KenGen. The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
VituVingiSana wrote:Ericsson wrote:Yes they do and it depends on which side of the mkate nusu the particular institution falls under. E.g safaricom where gava owns 40% is majorly on the TNA side TKL which has now just being taken over by Hellios and GoK owns 40% henceforth is on the URP side and that's why John Barorot has been appointed the CTO. Now look at how the management of the two firms will be played out. Same case applies to energy sector where Kengen is on the TNA side while KPLC is on the URP This was brought to my attention by a guy who is neither URP nor TNA. He told me POINT BLANK that the scams being perpetuated in KPLC are huge. Furthermore, he said he prefers the TNA folks who don't completely kill off the golden geese unlike the URP folks. He said the rot will show up in 2-3 years. I stopped buying KPLC [& became a seller] after this conversation. [BTW, I do not care for KenGen either at this point]. http://www.standardmedia...peline-company-billions
maka wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Ericsson wrote:Yes they do and it depends on which side of the mkate nusu the particular institution falls under. E.g safaricom where gava owns 40% is majorly on the TNA side TKL which has now just being taken over by Hellios and GoK owns 40% henceforth is on the URP side and that's why John Barorot has been appointed the CTO. Now look at how the management of the two firms will be played out. Same case applies to energy sector where Kengen is on the TNA side while KPLC is on the URP This was brought to my attention by a guy who is neither URP nor TNA. He told me POINT BLANK that the scams being perpetuated in KPLC are huge. Furthermore, he said he prefers the TNA folks who don't completely kill off the golden geese unlike the URP folks. He said the rot will show up in 2-3 years. I stopped buying KPLC [& became a seller] after this conversation. [BTW, I do not care for KenGen either at this point]. http://www.standardmedia...peline-company-billions
As a taxpayer ... I need to find a job with GoK. Steal to my heart's content. No-one goes to jail. Sweetie has retired. Kibaki's squeeze & her daughter have done well for themselves. NCPB has 'lost" KES 1bn in "un-millable" maize that might have been bought as Grade 1 maize. Tunoi has retired. The KES 200mn case has collapsed/died. KQ has lost 80bn since 2012 yet Naikuni, Mbugua and friends are free. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote:maka wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Ericsson wrote:Yes they do and it depends on which side of the mkate nusu the particular institution falls under. E.g safaricom where gava owns 40% is majorly on the TNA side TKL which has now just being taken over by Hellios and GoK owns 40% henceforth is on the URP side and that's why John Barorot has been appointed the CTO. Now look at how the management of the two firms will be played out. Same case applies to energy sector where Kengen is on the TNA side while KPLC is on the URP This was brought to my attention by a guy who is neither URP nor TNA. He told me POINT BLANK that the scams being perpetuated in KPLC are huge. Furthermore, he said he prefers the TNA folks who don't completely kill off the golden geese unlike the URP folks. He said the rot will show up in 2-3 years. I stopped buying KPLC [& became a seller] after this conversation. [BTW, I do not care for KenGen either at this point]. http://www.standardmedia...peline-company-billions
As a taxpayer ... I need to find a job with GoK. Steal to my heart's content. No-one goes to jail. Sweetie has retired. Kibaki's squeeze & her daughter have done well for themselves. NCPB has 'lost" KES 1bn in "un-millable" maize that might have been bought as Grade 1 maize. Tunoi has retired. The KES 200mn case has collapsed/died. KQ has lost 80bn since 2012 yet Naikuni, Mbugua and friends are free. Admin housekeeping please, to the krnya economy thread "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:maka wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Ericsson wrote:Yes they do and it depends on which side of the mkate nusu the particular institution falls under. E.g safaricom where gava owns 40% is majorly on the TNA side TKL which has now just being taken over by Hellios and GoK owns 40% henceforth is on the URP side and that's why John Barorot has been appointed the CTO. Now look at how the management of the two firms will be played out. Same case applies to energy sector where Kengen is on the TNA side while KPLC is on the URP This was brought to my attention by a guy who is neither URP nor TNA. He told me POINT BLANK that the scams being perpetuated in KPLC are huge. Furthermore, he said he prefers the TNA folks who don't completely kill off the golden geese unlike the URP folks. He said the rot will show up in 2-3 years. I stopped buying KPLC [& became a seller] after this conversation. [BTW, I do not care for KenGen either at this point]. http://www.standardmedia...peline-company-billions
As a taxpayer ... I need to find a job with GoK. Steal to my heart's content. No-one goes to jail. Sweetie has retired. Kibaki's squeeze & her daughter have done well for themselves. NCPB has 'lost" KES 1bn in "un-millable" maize that might have been bought as Grade 1 maize. Tunoi has retired. The KES 200mn case has collapsed/died. KQ has lost 80bn since 2012 yet Naikuni, Mbugua and friends are free. Admin housekeeping please, to the krnya economy thread Admin: Please buy someone a dictionary. Please. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote:murchr wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:maka wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Ericsson wrote:Yes they do and it depends on which side of the mkate nusu the particular institution falls under. E.g safaricom where gava owns 40% is majorly on the TNA side TKL which has now just being taken over by Hellios and GoK owns 40% henceforth is on the URP side and that's why John Barorot has been appointed the CTO. Now look at how the management of the two firms will be played out. Same case applies to energy sector where Kengen is on the TNA side while KPLC is on the URP This was brought to my attention by a guy who is neither URP nor TNA. He told me POINT BLANK that the scams being perpetuated in KPLC are huge. Furthermore, he said he prefers the TNA folks who don't completely kill off the golden geese unlike the URP folks. He said the rot will show up in 2-3 years. I stopped buying KPLC [& became a seller] after this conversation. [BTW, I do not care for KenGen either at this point]. http://www.standardmedia...peline-company-billions
As a taxpayer ... I need to find a job with GoK. Steal to my heart's content. No-one goes to jail. Sweetie has retired. Kibaki's squeeze & her daughter have done well for themselves. NCPB has 'lost" KES 1bn in "un-millable" maize that might have been bought as Grade 1 maize. Tunoi has retired. The KES 200mn case has collapsed/died. KQ has lost 80bn since 2012 yet Naikuni, Mbugua and friends are free. Admin housekeeping please, to the krnya economy thread Admin: Please buy someone a dictionary. Please. I saw the typo and chose not to correct it to give you the opportunity to be petty.....oh boy, I was so right. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
VituVingiSana wrote:maka wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Ericsson wrote:Yes they do and it depends on which side of the mkate nusu the particular institution falls under. E.g safaricom where gava owns 40% is majorly on the TNA side TKL which has now just being taken over by Hellios and GoK owns 40% henceforth is on the URP side and that's why John Barorot has been appointed the CTO. Now look at how the management of the two firms will be played out. Same case applies to energy sector where Kengen is on the TNA side while KPLC is on the URP This was brought to my attention by a guy who is neither URP nor TNA. He told me POINT BLANK that the scams being perpetuated in KPLC are huge. Furthermore, he said he prefers the TNA folks who don't completely kill off the golden geese unlike the URP folks. He said the rot will show up in 2-3 years. I stopped buying KPLC [& became a seller] after this conversation. [BTW, I do not care for KenGen either at this point]. http://www.standardmedia...peline-company-billions
As a taxpayer ... I need to find a job with GoK. Steal to my heart's content. No-one goes to jail. Sweetie has retired. Kibaki's squeeze & her daughter have done well for themselves. NCPB has 'lost" KES 1bn in "un-millable" maize that might have been bought as Grade 1 maize. Tunoi has retired. The KES 200mn case has collapsed/died. KQ has lost 80bn since 2012 yet Naikuni, Mbugua and friends are free. Even when u try to forget how bad investing with government is, they keep reminding you.... The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
murchr wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:murchr wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:maka wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Ericsson wrote:Yes they do and it depends on which side of the mkate nusu the particular institution falls under. E.g safaricom where gava owns 40% is majorly on the TNA side TKL which has now just being taken over by Hellios and GoK owns 40% henceforth is on the URP side and that's why John Barorot has been appointed the CTO. Now look at how the management of the two firms will be played out. Same case applies to energy sector where Kengen is on the TNA side while KPLC is on the URP This was brought to my attention by a guy who is neither URP nor TNA. He told me POINT BLANK that the scams being perpetuated in KPLC are huge. Furthermore, he said he prefers the TNA folks who don't completely kill off the golden geese unlike the URP folks. He said the rot will show up in 2-3 years. I stopped buying KPLC [& became a seller] after this conversation. [BTW, I do not care for KenGen either at this point]. http://www.standardmedia...peline-company-billions
As a taxpayer ... I need to find a job with GoK. Steal to my heart's content. No-one goes to jail. Sweetie has retired. Kibaki's squeeze & her daughter have done well for themselves. NCPB has 'lost" KES 1bn in "un-millable" maize that might have been bought as Grade 1 maize. Tunoi has retired. The KES 200mn case has collapsed/died. KQ has lost 80bn since 2012 yet Naikuni, Mbugua and friends are free. Admin housekeeping please, to the krnya economy thread Admin: Please buy someone a dictionary. Please. I saw the typo and chose not to correct it to give you the opportunity to be petty.....oh boy, I was so right. Gasp! Brilliant! I am speechless! Your 20/20 hindsight is excellent! Nobel Prize in Literature pap! I noticed that you noticed the typo but gave me the opportunity to be petty so I indulged you. Was I right or was I right??? Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Aguytrying wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:maka wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Ericsson wrote:Yes they do and it depends on which side of the mkate nusu the particular institution falls under. E.g safaricom where gava owns 40% is majorly on the TNA side TKL which has now just being taken over by Hellios and GoK owns 40% henceforth is on the URP side and that's why John Barorot has been appointed the CTO. Now look at how the management of the two firms will be played out. Same case applies to energy sector where Kengen is on the TNA side while KPLC is on the URP This was brought to my attention by a guy who is neither URP nor TNA. He told me POINT BLANK that the scams being perpetuated in KPLC are huge. Furthermore, he said he prefers the TNA folks who don't completely kill off the golden geese unlike the URP folks. He said the rot will show up in 2-3 years. I stopped buying KPLC [& became a seller] after this conversation. [BTW, I do not care for KenGen either at this point]. http://www.standardmedia...peline-company-billions
As a taxpayer ... I need to find a job with GoK. Steal to my heart's content. No-one goes to jail. Sweetie has retired. Kibaki's squeeze & her daughter have done well for themselves. NCPB has 'lost" KES 1bn in "un-millable" maize that might have been bought as Grade 1 maize. Tunoi has retired. The KES 200mn case has collapsed/died. KQ has lost 80bn since 2012 yet Naikuni, Mbugua and friends are free. Even when u try to forget how bad investing with government is, they keep reminding you.... I think we have some civil servants on Wazua. The defenders in charge of the defense of the indefensible... I have Kenya Re [GoK 60%] as a core holding. I attend the AGMs and the CEO seems a straight-forward guy. They answer questions. They also have a lot of cash. They pays a decent [not spectacular] dividend. They own 20% of Zep-Re. DEG bought into Zep-Re in 2014 with 10% and have increased their stake to 16%. I assume they would have done Due Diligence into Zep-Re. I do not know if the IRA is as thorough as CBK [though the CBK dropped the ball on Imperial and Chase] in vetting Kenya Re's financials. I have some 'margin' for error on the P:B which gives me comfort. Or just my way of justifying my decision. Haram = merali, matu, zeph mbugua/TCL, ADSS-types, munga, etc and GoK. No NBK and no KCB until sufficient provisions are applied to the NPLs. Halal = KenolKobil, Unga, Williamson/Kapchorua, I&M, TPSEA and KenRe. When the price looks good then Jubilee & DTB. FTGH which looks attractive at 5.60-ish. Price is a consideration for Kakuzi, Centum, most banks, Bamburi & BOC. And I sleep at night. Peacefully. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote:murchr wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:murchr wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:maka wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Ericsson wrote:Yes they do and it depends on which side of the mkate nusu the particular institution falls under. E.g safaricom where gava owns 40% is majorly on the TNA side TKL which has now just being taken over by Hellios and GoK owns 40% henceforth is on the URP side and that's why John Barorot has been appointed the CTO. Now look at how the management of the two firms will be played out. Same case applies to energy sector where Kengen is on the TNA side while KPLC is on the URP This was brought to my attention by a guy who is neither URP nor TNA. He told me POINT BLANK that the scams being perpetuated in KPLC are huge. Furthermore, he said he prefers the TNA folks who don't completely kill off the golden geese unlike the URP folks. He said the rot will show up in 2-3 years. I stopped buying KPLC [& became a seller] after this conversation. [BTW, I do not care for KenGen either at this point]. http://www.standardmedia...peline-company-billions
As a taxpayer ... I need to find a job with GoK. Steal to my heart's content. No-one goes to jail. Sweetie has retired. Kibaki's squeeze & her daughter have done well for themselves. NCPB has 'lost" KES 1bn in "un-millable" maize that might have been bought as Grade 1 maize. Tunoi has retired. The KES 200mn case has collapsed/died. KQ has lost 80bn since 2012 yet Naikuni, Mbugua and friends are free. Admin housekeeping please, to the krnya economy thread Admin: Please buy someone a dictionary. Please. I saw the typo and chose not to correct it to give you the opportunity to be petty.....oh boy, I was so right. Gasp! Brilliant! I am speechless! Your 20/20 hindsight is excellent! Nobel Prize in Literature pap! I noticed that you noticed the typo but gave me the opportunity to be petty so I indulged you. Was I right or was I right??? OMG You are very petty human, it takes ALOT of energy to get to your level. Am not going to be your @obiero on this thread debating over none issues, so I will sign out #deuces! "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
MPESA debit cards, coming to a place near you"There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Veteran Joined: 8/10/2014 Posts: 977 Location: Kenya
Finally i can pay with mpesa at the till. I really hated using the phone. So many steps and the waiting periods just makes things awkward
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/21/2010 Posts: 6,183 Location: nairobi
watesh wrote:Finally i can pay with mpesa at the till. I really hated using the phone. So many steps and the waiting periods just makes things awkward true and especially when the people traffic is heavy with some doing it with alot of analog "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
mlennyma wrote:watesh wrote:Finally i can pay with mpesa at the till. I really hated using the phone. So many steps and the waiting periods just makes things awkward true and especially when the people traffic is heavy with some doing it with alot of analog safaricom should be cut to size before it becomes a hegemony in mobile and card payments If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:mlennyma wrote:watesh wrote:Finally i can pay with mpesa at the till. I really hated using the phone. So many steps and the waiting periods just makes things awkward true and especially when the people traffic is heavy with some doing it with alot of analog safaricom should be cut to size before it becomes a hegemony in mobile and card payments This is what disruptive technology is doing to old complacent modus operandi. The banks got owned. The onus lies with the banks on how to find a way back into their game. The book titled Who moved my cheese is applicable here. Uber, Twitter, Facebook, crowd funding, bitcoin etc are showing up just in time in a disruptive manner for a reason. Ask the horse and carriage industry what happened when motor vehicles were invented...
What has made mpesa popular? Do you think the bureaucracy in the banking world can compete at par with the agile digital tech-savvy outfits? Why couldn't the banks see the gap being served by mobi money? Let the banks fix their archaic modus operandi if they want to recover their cookie jar. Mpesa bank would be glad to face interesting competition since the mobi money game is still young. The big to fail tag on mpesa also makes it hard for them change fast when faced by a decent competitor.
The market is too young for control. That will kill innovation. Let the market find its equilibrium.$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
There is no competition for this monster. Their innovation is top notch in our market where organizations are slow to react to market needs and change. I also like the way that they keep on trying new products despite experiencing one or two failures once in awhile!!! Formal education will make you a living. Self-education will make you a fortune - Jim Rohn.
Investor
Stocks
Safaricom FY 2016 results net profit up 19.6%