kiash wrote:In a country of more than 40 million how come its only 5 million people pay taxes? Kenyans are heavily taxed but i just wonder how the country survives. I know that is just Income tax and the 40million pay VAT.
The figure captures those in the formal sector ans since the informal sector employs more people (according to the figures) then KRA should really look for ways to get those people on the list.
Every Kenyan should be on the KRA list, file your returns and pay tax depending on your income.Otherwise, the trips to Shyna will not end soon with the begging bowl.
http://www.nation.co.ke/...4/-/qn7s8l/-/index.html Let me speak as someone in the informal sector. Starting out in the streets looking out for "kanjo" then graduating to squatting in a cyber cafe then finally ending up in an office as sub-tenant.
Here I am thinking i'm finally getting a piece of the kenyan pie then KRA officers walk into the office afternoon just after i've had ugali madondo at the kibandansky. Gosh I felt i was an ICC suspect, they just threw papers at me and asked to fill in. "Write how much you make?, Who is your landlord? How much rent do you pay?" Then after like 15 minutes they walk out telling me they are going to confirm with their records and pay me another visit to find out if i was lying. Right there i felt like i was back on the streets running away from kanjos. I served my landlord notice pulled off the door signs and I'm now happily working from the cloud.
I just wonder why do the KRA guys come chest thumping? I wish they would send education officers to come and train jua kali guys on how to do the taxes. Yes we make cash in the informal sector we want to comply but the hostility we face from gava as small businesses is scary. It sometimes feels like a crime to carry out business.
If Njiraini reads this... please come slowly this is a jua kali economy these businesses are mostly for survival in a jobless economy you can operate them from anywhere. If you send education officer to train informal guys on paying taxes, how Itax works, how to go and pay at the bank or through mpesa then informal sector will start complying. But sending those guys with all those threats will not work. Stop that kanjo mentality among the KRA guys