wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

Safaricom and Equitel, the largest money transfer servi
ngapat
#1 Posted : Wednesday, June 29, 2016 8:00:27 PM

A recent report by the Communications Authority of Kenya shows that 90 per cent of the total amount of money transacted in the first
quarter of 2016 was through Safaricom’s platform M-Pesa. Kenyans transacted close to a trillion shillings on their mobile phones in the
first three months of 2016, as cash-less economy slowly takes root in the country. Equity Bank’s Equitel Money, leap-frogged Airtel
Kenya as the second largest mobile money transfer service. According to the report, Equitel customers managed to transact about
KES 62.4 billion in the first three months of 2016 against Airtel Kenya’s KES 12.3 billion. The latest figures from the Communications
Authority of Kenya (CA) shows that the value of mobile money transactions between January and March this year stood at KES 840.3
billion. “Overall, there was increased activity in mobile money usage during the period and this was attributed to the busy back-to-
school season during which parents and guardians actively deposited, transferred, withdrew, paid school fees and purchased other
goods and services using this platform due to its reliable and convenient nature,” read the report.
“Invest in yourself. Your career is the engine of your wealth.”
ARAP CHARLES
#2 Posted : Wednesday, June 29, 2016 8:15:01 PM

ngapat wrote:
A recent report by the Communications Authority of Kenya shows that 90 per cent of the total amount of money transacted in the first
quarter of 2016 was through Safaricom’s platform M-Pesa. Kenyans transacted close to a trillion shillings on their mobile phones in the
first three months of 2016, as cash-less economy slowly takes root in the country. Equity Bank’s Equitel Money, leap-frogged Airtel
Kenya as the second largest mobile money transfer service. According to the report, Equitel customers managed to transact about
KES 62.4 billion in the first three months of 2016 against Airtel Kenya’s KES 12.3 billion. The latest figures from the Communications
Authority of Kenya (CA) shows that the value of mobile money transactions between January and March this year stood at KES 840.3
billion. “Overall, there was increased activity in mobile money usage during the period and this was attributed to the busy back-to-
school season during which parents and guardians actively deposited, transferred, withdrew, paid school fees and purchased other
goods and services using this platform due to its reliable and convenient nature,” read the report.

PAPERLESS MONEY ECONOMY.... VERY INTERESTING... if matatus business (fares)were fully on board.. over trillion ➕ And No. joke..
Watch and Listen and Live
#3 Posted : Wednesday, June 29, 2016 8:55:59 PM

I still wonder why airtel is a laggard despite being the most friendly money transfer and call services
#4 Posted : Wednesday, June 29, 2016 9:04:02 PM

mlennyma wrote:
I still wonder why airtel is a laggard despite being the most friendly money transfer and call services

You have to really search for their agents; safcom's everywhere
Ericsson
#5 Posted : Wednesday, June 29, 2016 10:54:21 PM

And with a revamped Telkom kenya if Hellios manage to do that, Airtel will slide to number three
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#6 Posted : Wednesday, June 29, 2016 11:53:37 PM

Ericsson wrote:
And with a revamped Telkom kenya if Hellios manage to do that, Airtel will slide to number three

Says a lot about the vision the company has + management style.
mkate_nusu
#7 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2016 1:19:46 AM

Placing my bets on Equitel and Equity
KEGN, KPLC, KQ, SCOM
The Great
#8 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2016 12:39:44 PM

I dont know a single person using equitel. Safaricom is everyones choice
"Buy when there's blood in the streets, even if the blood is your own."
Ericsson
#9 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2016 12:45:24 PM

@The Great
Ouch!!!!
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
watesh
#10 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2016 2:42:39 PM

I have both Equitel and Mpesa. My usage for Mpesa hasnt declined at all. Equitel comes in usage for those who receive money via their Equity bank accounts eg salaries, paypal withdrawals, business payments etc. then send it to other bank accounts, its easier.

I think the war between Equitel and Mpesa will be won by who gets the money inflow first. People with bank accounts other than Equity will use Mpesa more for money transfer.
moneydust
#11 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2016 3:07:15 PM

watesh wrote:
I have both Equitel and Mpesa. My usage for Mpesa hasnt declined at all. Equitel comes in usage for those who receive money via their Equity bank accounts eg salaries, paypal withdrawals, business payments etc. then send it to other bank accounts, its easier.

I think the war between Equitel and Mpesa will be won by who gets the money inflow first. People with bank accounts other than Equity will use Mpesa more for money transfer.

Quite true,I have never used Mpesa since I acquired Equitel
moneydust
#12 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2016 3:13:02 PM

watesh wrote:

Quite true,I have never used Mpesa since I acquired Equitel
kollabo
#13 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2016 3:44:26 PM

Equitel it is for me as well. Rent, school fees, water, kenya power, GoTV etc is better and cheaper with Equitel.