kiash wrote:The thing is Kenya should just stop dreaming about Nuclear for the next 30 yrs or more. Not because there isn money, technology or even expertise but on very simple issues like safety.
When there will have a performing county /gava rescue service , then we shall start thinking about how to setup a plant. Look at what happens in Huruma after a flat goes down, fires in the CBD , road accidents, you just have to start praying coz before the rescue gets there ,

there is not even a functioning emergency number , there is a mobile number. How are people expected to remember these numbers?
We have private rescue like G4S zingine kama za Pipeline do not even have enough foam.
Lets stop dreaming.
Kiash I keep asking this folks one question,they keep saying we are fear mongers that's ok .BUT what they aren't answering is why is first world's running away from nuclear, the article above says California is shutting down its last nuclear plant ,why are we creating one ?? What is this sweet honey that we are seeing that mzungu havent?They aren't answering me that
Fact:since you want numbers ,after the disaster in Japan it's was ruled that housing sorrounding nuclear reactors should be 30km radius,example if a plant is set in Nairobi CBD then there should be no building till rongai and round till a circle is drawn. So where in kenya would you expect this without a fight from land owners ??kama SGR ilikuwa drama?
Fact ; you need waters to cool down the reactors. In some places like California they use ocean water,in Pullman they were using Columbia River ,where in kenya would you expect them to instal this reactors where there is abundant of water with no human life there ??
Fact ; hii ni ndoto.someome wants campaign money period.
Fact:forget the engineering bs, safety comes first then other bs follows. Our culture and behaviour cannot help in times of disaster management. The main reason why this reactors are being shut down is safety issues and storage of nuclear wastes .nothing else.so tuwache kudanganyana hapa ati we will go nuclear. Hakuna