3 Pages<123
Kenya nuclear power programme
enyands
#41 Posted : Monday, June 20, 2016 12:26:14 AM

enyands wrote:
Where will this plant be based? Nyanza?

Wasilete nyanza please they can take it to masukuma's county .he can help them with disaster management when the shit hits the fan.
Btw why is masukuma only for this nuclear crap?

because I have a brain and prefer to process information rather than buy B.S. narratives peddled by fear mongers. Wewe ukiogopa ogopa peke yako!

This dream will never ever materialize in kenya .the usa have given a warning shot .you read the paper yesterday .... good ... .wacha tuongonjee
#42 Posted : Monday, June 20, 2016 12:38:07 AM

enyands wrote:

Wasilete nyanza please they can take it to masukuma's county .he can help them with disaster management when the shit hits the fan.

because I have a brain and prefer to process information rather than buy B.S. narratives peddled by fear mongers. Wewe ukiogopa ogopa peke yako!

Even a fool processes information and is often bold, and is likely to regard other people's ideas as B.S.

enyands
#43 Posted : Monday, June 20, 2016 6:34:59 AM

enyands wrote:

Even a fool processes information and is often bold, and is likely to regard other people's ideas as He said Kenya should first exploit other energy sources before building capacity to adopt nuclear energy

“I am yet to be convinced over why we are talking about nuclear and yet we have not even exploited half of Geothermal. I will rally MPs to oppose this venture,” he warned. But in equal measure there are some legislators rooting for nuclear and say Kenya cannot afford not to go the nuclear way

In choosing this means of generating electricity, “you are committing yourself and future generations for hundreds and thousands of years to the nuclear fuel cycle and to the cost of maintaining safe disposal” of radioactive wastes, Mr Countryman noted kama usa wanaona shida and they have many of those reactors,wewe ni nani hapa kenya thinking you have a smart ass than these usa guys? Don't talk about ati them being jelousy of maendeleo kenya!!

More so if you can read my article above it will cost $5billiom to set up a reactor in masukuma's county, then how many eurobond will you take to cover this ? With all this debt burden?
anyway masukuma trust me ,Raila tried to make a deal with French when he was a PM,it failed , Ayako tried last year it failed ,this year some guys are trying and it will fail .So I'm at peace for now.BTW kenya has no industrial burst to demand all this energy ,they just say for domestic use only which is ironical.

I see hapa watu watashangaa na wataamuka .Keep on living on world of fantasy .For me I'm at peace there is no where this project is going nowhere .
#44 Posted : Monday, June 20, 2016 5:20:40 PM

enyands wrote:

This dream will never ever materialize in kenya .the usa have given a warning shot .you read the paper yesterday .... good ... .wacha tuongonjee

the reason hatutapata ni sababu ya fearmongers kama nyinyi!
enyands
#45 Posted : Monday, June 20, 2016 5:31:57 PM

enyands wrote:

the reason hatutapata ni sababu ya fearmongers kama nyinyi!

Germany is cutting down their nuclear ambition kabisa and are going green . Are we smarter than Germans . What kenya is doing is that they are living into 1930 when the first world's were going through industrial revolution .now they are using ocean wave technology to generate electricity.

Sisi kenyans with a mentality of masukuma want to go to 1930 where 1st world's were ? Which I believe is turning us into neanderthal pathways.look for newer techs .we have oceans why can't we instal windfarms at the oceans where it's no man's land and there is no conflict of interest like the famous flopped kinangop wind farms?

Some kenyans are just too greedy. They want quick and spontaneous energy source without thinking the cycle effect of those nuclear wastes .I call this dwarf thinking .Usa is managing because they have the resources to do it . Do we ???ama it's another eurobond we will need to cycle nuclear wastes ?
#46 Posted : Monday, June 20, 2016 5:36:18 PM

Where will it be based? If we have no idea....then ni pesa ya campaign inatafutwa.
enyands
#47 Posted : Monday, June 20, 2016 5:50:34 PM

enyands wrote:
chemirocha wrote:
enyands wrote:

Chemirocha with all due respect I clearly understand where you are coming from but I have 4 questions for you :

1 If there happens a leakage like the one that happened in pollman Washington state how would kenya government handle it mr.chemirocha? With all these boreholes people are digging left right and centre???

2 Countries that are managing well the nuclear powers are first world? Kenya do we have technology ? Do we even have courses in colleges about nuclear ?

3 do we have disaster management should there be a crisis of nuclear like japan ?do we?. An unfortunate accident happened in Thika road sometime .a woman had a leg that was cut and she was bleeding . People rushed to see and the went away screaming "huyo amekufa hayuko?" And she was still alive , guess what because of lack of ambulances and mere FIRST AID TRAINING she passed on.Now back to my point ,with this kind of mentality do we have disaster management structures

4 have we exhausted all the available green energies ???

5 kwani usa na Russia ni wajinga when they try to discourage people from doing nuclear?why are they even moving away from nuclear and going green ?

As you advised I have put my emotional feelings aside.answer categorically all these 5 questions with facts and I'll respect your contribution.meanwhile answer them one by one as I have stated ....I'm waiting

Very reasonable questions, I will try my best to answer you.

1. The facility at Pullman Washington State University is a research institution and not explicitly the field of power generation. The way I understand it, the incident involved a leak in the university sewer system and was picked before any damage to human life or the environment. A high standard of safety should be a must if we are to even consider the nuclear route.

2. Developing countries such as South Africa, Pakistan, India, Egypt and former Soviet Union/ Warsaw Pact states such as Ukraine, Romania, Slovakia have run nuclear power plants.

Since 2012, Kenya has been partnering with the International Atomic Energy Agency to train engineers and build capacity. Locally UoN does offer courses in nuclear science at the Masters level. The expertise is definitely there.

3. The biggest disaster from a power generation project was a dam failure in China. Over 100,000 perished and 11 million were displaced. At present there are also fears over the Kariba Dam in Zambia/ Zimbabwe and Mosul Dam in Iraq.

Secondly geothermal power projects have resulted in earthquakes in Switzerland and the United States.

Seven Forks and Olkaria have been running for many years without the fear of catastrophic failure. The point is Kenya has a reasonable level of competency when it comes to managing such complex and high risk projects. Nuclear should not be treated any different.

4. Kenya is presently at its peak capacity with hydroelectric power generation and geothermal capacity is not as promising as the state's ambition of achieving 5000 MW production.

Wind and solar may sound good but they are both expensive and impractical. Remember solar power is unavailable at peak consumer demand which is in the evening and night time.

Another example, the planned Kajiado wind farm is expected to bring a peak 100 MW from a construction cost of 22 billion shillings. Compare with Olkaria III which is expected to produce 110 MW from a construction cost of 3 billion. You be the judge on which is more cost effective.

5. Admittedly the European Union and Japan and strongly against nuclear power generation. The big powers Germany, UK and France intend to completely phase out nuclear power out of safety concerns.

On the other hand, the United States has commissioned nine new nuclear plants in the last ten years alone. Russia and China are also investing billions of dollars to build new nuclear power plants and upgrade existing facilities.

It doesn't matter if the nuclear material is for research or submarine use or nuclear bombs.once they are spent storage becomes a challenge. That's the bottom line . In kenya we don't have enough back up facility to support implementation of nuclear project especially R&D.

I'll finish by saying you have put up a good fight and it's not my wish to outsmart you or you outsmart me, albeit should a human error happen ,we don't have the contigency capacity to contain this . Our environment and ecosystem are too delicate to be exposed to this.

Hope as they implement this idea let it not happen in my county . We are peaceful there and have a vulnerable ecosystem there. Please chemirocha you can welcome those nuclear reactors in your county.for my county I'll use all my available resources to sue the govt and make sure they don't install those reactors there. I can't win fight with govt but I can buy time. I bow out

Just get your facts right sir. It's not a Washington state university nuclear research centre. WSU in pollman but doesnt mean they own this facility.its a government restricted area.these nuclear wastes are proceeds from nuclear bombs that were being used during the cold wars .please let Wikipedia be your friend

I repeat again the way you store nuclear wastes from manufactur of nucs and nuclear energy is the same .they both use plutonium and it has same wastes once done .

"Established in 1943 as part of the Manhattan Project in Hanford, south-central Washington, the site was home to the B Reactor, the first full-scale plutonium production reactor in the world.[1] Plutonium manufactured at the site was used in the first nuclear bomb, tested at the Trinity site, and in Fat Man, the bomb detonated over Nagasaki, Japan."

Didn't know WSU helped in the manufacture of nuclear bombs......according to masukuma
enyands
#48 Posted : Tuesday, June 21, 2016 7:44:22 PM

enyands wrote:
chemirocha wrote:
enyands wrote:

Chemirocha with all due respect I clearly understand where you are coming from but I have 4 questions for you :

1 If there happens a leakage like the one that happened in pollman Washington state how would kenya government handle it mr.chemirocha? With all these boreholes people are digging left right and centre???

2 Countries that are managing well the nuclear powers are first world? Kenya do we have technology ? Do we even have courses in colleges about nuclear ?

3 do we have disaster management should there be a crisis of nuclear like japan ?do we?. An unfortunate accident happened in Thika road sometime .a woman had a leg that was cut and she was bleeding . People rushed to see and the went away screaming "huyo amekufa hayuko?" And she was still alive , guess what because of lack of ambulances and mere FIRST AID TRAINING she passed on.Now back to my point ,with this kind of mentality do we have disaster management structures

4 have we exhausted all the available green energies ???

5 kwani usa na Russia ni wajinga when they try to discourage people from doing nuclear?why are they even moving away from nuclear and going green ?

As you advised I have put my emotional feelings aside.answer categorically all these 5 questions with facts and I'll respect your contribution.meanwhile answer them one by one as I have stated ....I'm waiting

Very reasonable questions, I will try my best to answer you.

1. The facility at Pullman Washington State University is a research institution and not explicitly the field of power generation. The way I understand it, the incident involved a leak in the university sewer system and was picked before any damage to human life or the environment. A high standard of safety should be a must if we are to even consider the nuclear route.

2. Developing countries such as South Africa, Pakistan, India, Egypt and former Soviet Union/ Warsaw Pact states such as Ukraine, Romania, Slovakia have run nuclear power plants.

Since 2012, Kenya has been partnering with the International Atomic Energy Agency to train engineers and build capacity. Locally UoN does offer courses in nuclear science at the Masters level. The expertise is definitely there.

3. The biggest disaster from a power generation project was a dam failure in China. Over 100,000 perished and 11 million were displaced. At present there are also fears over the Kariba Dam in Zambia/ Zimbabwe and Mosul Dam in Iraq.

Secondly geothermal power projects have resulted in earthquakes in Switzerland and the United States.

Seven Forks and Olkaria have been running for many years without the fear of catastrophic failure. The point is Kenya has a reasonable level of competency when it comes to managing such complex and high risk projects. Nuclear should not be treated any different.

4. Kenya is presently at its peak capacity with hydroelectric power generation and geothermal capacity is not as promising as the state's ambition of achieving 5000 MW production.

Wind and solar may sound good but they are both expensive and impractical. Remember solar power is unavailable at peak consumer demand which is in the evening and night time.

Another example, the planned Kajiado wind farm is expected to bring a peak 100 MW from a construction cost of 22 billion shillings. Compare with Olkaria III which is expected to produce 110 MW from a construction cost of 3 billion. You be the judge on which is more cost effective.

5. Admittedly the European Union and Japan and strongly against nuclear power generation. The big powers Germany, UK and France intend to completely phase out nuclear power out of safety concerns.

On the other hand, the United States has commissioned nine new nuclear plants in the last ten years alone. Russia and China are also investing billions of dollars to build new nuclear power plants and upgrade existing facilities.

It doesn't matter if the nuclear material is for research or submarine use or nuclear bombs.once they are spent storage becomes a challenge. That's the bottom line . In kenya we don't have enough back up facility to support implementation of nuclear project especially R&D.

I'll finish by saying you have put up a good fight and it's not my wish to outsmart you or you outsmart me, albeit should a human error happen ,we don't have the contigency capacity to contain this . Our environment and ecosystem are too delicate to be exposed to this.

Hope as they implement this idea let it not happen in my county . We are peaceful there and have a vulnerable ecosystem there. Please chemirocha you can welcome those nuclear reactors in your county.for my county I'll use all my available resources to sue the govt and make sure they don't install those reactors there. I can't win fight with govt but I can buy time. I bow out

Just get your facts right sir. It's not a Washington state university nuclear research centre. WSU in pollman but doesnt mean they own this facility.its a government restricted area.these nuclear wastes are proceeds from nuclear bombs that were being used during the cold wars .please let Wikipedia be your friend

I repeat again the way you store nuclear wastes from manufactur of nucs and nuclear energy is the same .they both use plutonium and it has same wastes once done .

"Established in 1943 as part of the Manhattan Project in Hanford, south-central Washington, the site was home to the B Reactor, the first full-scale plutonium production reactor in the world.[1] Plutonium manufactured at the site was used in the first nuclear bomb, tested at the Trinity site, and in Fat Man, the bomb detonated over Nagasaki, Japan."

Didn't know WSU helped in the manufacture of nuclear bombs......according to masukuma

It's better to read such news than nuclear ambition .130 acres is enough to produce 50mgw of clean green electricity than 10 acres producing 2000mgw dirty and dangerous electricity

Taurrus
#49 Posted : Tuesday, June 21, 2016 9:35:41 PM

Where will it be based? If we have no idea....then ni pesa ya campaign inatafutwa.

Kama kawaida ya mega projects na pyramidssmile This time around ni Betting!
Taurrus
#50 Posted : Tuesday, June 21, 2016 9:37:54 PM

Hio ni five years almost na bado ingine 15! serikali saidia!
#51 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2016 10:49:40 AM

Where France is going after phasing out some nuclear plants. Awesome innovation. I really like.

http://www.greenbuilderm...xt-5-years?ua-66594667-1
#52 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2016 5:29:59 PM

I have read through the posts and it is very interesting to reflect on their content.

I wish we had real engineers here in wazua who could argue this issue out using numbers and not theorists who cannot tell the difference between potential difference between two points of an active circuit, or active and reactive (quadrature) power at the generation location and the load side.

All that we are talking about are safety of reactors in the USA, European Union and other Asian countries which have been running for decades and putting ourselves in the daft domains like Kenya could never produce a single nuclear power generation engineers. What a shame!!

Masukuma has been right all along.

Taurrus
#53 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2016 6:45:49 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
I have read through the posts and it is very interesting to reflect on their content.

I wish we had real engineers here in wazua who could argue this issue out using numbers and not theorists who cannot tell the difference between potential difference between two points of an active circuit, or active and reactive (quadrature) power at the generation location and the load side.

All that we are talking about are safety of reactors in the USA, European Union and other Asian countries which have been running for decades and putting ourselves in the daft domains like Kenya could never produce a single nuclear power generation engineers. What a shame!!

Yeye ni team Bomas! wakati umefika!smile

enyands
#54 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2016 7:58:38 PM

Kaigangio wrote:

Happened to be read today's paper. @Masukuma and this is what I found .the problem isn't the benefits ,the problem is safety concerns.a country like kenya basic things are taken for granted.what you guys aren't telling me is why is Germany shutting down nuclear completely and California is too. Are these guys stupid to go green? Forget about circuits and engineers just answer me ,what is this that these first world's are seeing that we dont??

Kaigangio why are some of first world shutting down? What wrong thing have they noticed that shameful us aren't seeing? This is a question im asking you guys?
kiash
#55 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2016 8:47:19 PM

The thing is Kenya should just stop dreaming about Nuclear for the next 30 yrs or more. Not because there isn money, technology or even expertise but on very simple issues like safety.

When there will have a performing county /gava rescue service , then we shall start thinking about how to setup a plant. Look at what happens in Huruma after a flat goes down, fires in the CBD , road accidents, you just have to start praying coz before the rescue gets there , d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! there is not even a functioning emergency number , there is a mobile number. How are people expected to remember these numbers?
We have private rescue like G4S zingine kama za Pipeline do not even have enough foam.
Lets stop dreaming. Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
enyands
#56 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2016 9:54:49 PM

kiash wrote:
The thing is Kenya should just stop dreaming about Nuclear for the next 30 yrs or more. Not because there isn money, technology or even expertise but on very simple issues like safety.

When there will have a performing county /gava rescue service , then we shall start thinking about how to setup a plant. Look at what happens in Huruma after a flat goes down, fires in the CBD , road accidents, you just have to start praying coz before the rescue gets there , d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! there is not even a functioning emergency number , there is a mobile number. How are people expected to remember these numbers?
We have private rescue like G4S zingine kama za Pipeline do not even have enough foam.
Lets stop dreaming. Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

Kiash I keep asking this folks one question,they keep saying we are fear mongers that's ok .BUT what they aren't answering is why is first world's running away from nuclear, the article above says California is shutting down its last nuclear plant ,why are we creating one ?? What is this sweet honey that we are seeing that mzungu havent?They aren't answering me that

Fact:since you want numbers ,after the disaster in Japan it's was ruled that housing sorrounding nuclear reactors should be 30km radius,example if a plant is set in Nairobi CBD then there should be no building till rongai and round till a circle is drawn. So where in kenya would you expect this without a fight from land owners ??kama SGR ilikuwa drama?

Fact ; you need waters to cool down the reactors. In some places like California they use ocean water,in Pullman they were using Columbia River ,where in kenya would you expect them to instal this reactors where there is abundant of water with no human life there ??

Fact ; hii ni ndoto.someome wants campaign money period.

Fact:forget the engineering bs, safety comes first then other bs follows. Our culture and behaviour cannot help in times of disaster management. The main reason why this reactors are being shut down is safety issues and storage of nuclear wastes .nothing else.so tuwache kudanganyana hapa ati we will go nuclear. Hakuna
#57 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2016 12:06:14 AM

mimi huwa siDebate na watu ambao wakiona wengine wanatembea mguu tupu - wanatoa viatu wanaanza kutembea mguu tupu! they assume that the reason wengine wanatembea mguu tupu is the same na yao kutovaa viatu. wakiulizwa wanasema... eish! wewe huoni? watu wanatembea mguu tupu! wewe unataka kuvaa viatu na wengine wanatoa kwa nini? wewe ni mwerevu kushinda wale ambao wanatembea mguu tupu? priss... ukitaka kuArgue na mimi toa facts sio kunionyesha watu ambao wanatembea mguu tupu halafu uniulize kama mimi ni mwerevu kuwashinda. Watu wengine wanatembea mguu tupu kwa sababu walikuwa wamevaa viatu zenye walinunua 1975! wewe hujanunua kiatu unaAmbiwa usinunue kiatu... kaa mguu tupu!
enyands
#58 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2016 12:42:28 AM

mimi huwa siDebate na watu ambao wakiona wengine wanatembea mguu tupu - wanatoa viatu wanaanza kutembea mguu tupu! they assume that the reason wengine wanatembea mguu tupu is the same na yao kutovaa viatu. wakiulizwa wanasema... eish! wewe huoni? watu wanatembea mguu tupu! wewe unataka kuvaa viatu na wengine wanatoa kwa nini? wewe ni mwerevu kushinda wale ambao wanatembea mguu tupu? priss... ukitaka kuArgue na mimi toa facts sio kunionyesha watu ambao wanatembea mguu tupu halafu uniulize kama mimi ni mwerevu kuwashinda. Watu wengine wanatembea mguu tupu kwa sababu walikuwa wamevaa viatu zenye walinunua 1975! wewe hujanunua kiatu unaAmbiwa usinunue kiatu... kaa mguu tupu!

I get your point . Haya sawa wewe na wenzenu Mwende muvaae hizo viatu vya kisasa. Wacha Sisi tukae mguu tupu kwa vile Walio vaa viatu vya 1975 waliumia na wakaamua hawavai viatu vya kisasa ila wataenda kuvaa viatu vilivyo tengenezwa na majani. Ukitaka facts Nenda uangalie kwenye mtandao. Lakini kutakuwa na shida.tukutane wakati kutakuwa na nuclear hapa nyumbani.mimi nimeenda basi nawatakia la heri smile

Nitakuwaachia utafakari haya.tuonane kwenye uzi lingine hapa wazua

statistics showing decline in world nuclear plants
#59 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2016 8:50:13 AM

Government of Kenya which cannot even maintain hospital equipment at KNH and the likes want to do nuclear power plants. GL smile