wazua Mon, Aug 4, 2025

Why doing business with Meralli is tough business!
#1 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 12:50:31 PM

Merali’s swift exit from Zain earns him billions

Naushad Merali reaps Sh4 billion from sale of 15 per cent shareholding just in time before a revaluation impairs it.

Businessman Naushad Merali’s decision to significantly reduce his stake in telecoms firm Zain Kenya last year was yet another of the many sumptuous investment hat tricks he has pulled among local an d foreign business partners in the past 10 years, it has now emerged.

Shortly after Mr Merali’s stealth exit, Zain Kenya, the telecoms service provider which is now 95 per cent owned by Kuwait-based Zain Group, became the subject of a major asset impairment that cut back the firm’s valuation by more than Sh5 billion...Business Daily
#2 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 1:01:14 PM

i think this jamaa sees a mganga or he owns a crystal ball.... first uchumi then this... d'oh!
#3 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 1:34:29 PM

Lakini... bottomline... he is a crook
#4 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 2:15:35 PM

guru267 wrote:
i think this jamaa sees a mganga or he owns a crystal ball.... first uchumi then this... d'oh!

I think so too! From Kencell to Celtel to Zain he's made serious profits despite the companies' humongous losses!

@vvs, I ask again - huyu mtu alikufanya nini/lini?

#5 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 2:22:09 PM

@vvs, I ask again - huyu mtu alikufanya nini/lini?

maybe @VVS happened to buy sameer shares at 40bob when it had that two week jump a couple of years back... no offence @VVS
cnn
#6 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 2:26:02 PM

@2012, i also think VVS must have a personal one with merali.I took a gamble with sasini and sameer and the returns were superb when i offloaded sasini.I still hold sameer purchased cheaply.
Allank
#7 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 3:50:06 PM

Yap...you can never go wrong with a merali. I also reaped!!! alot from sameer.By the way i read that Naushad has already bagged 2B for gvt use of sameer park even before completion! LOL! talk about our own Warren Buffet
Kama kuoga ni usafi taulo lachafukani?
#8 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 3:56:26 PM

Allank wrote:
By the way i read that Naushad has already bagged 2B for gvt use of sameer park even before completion!

The Govt? For what purpose?

#9 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 4:34:38 PM

but this guy fronts for you-know-who
Gatheuzi
#10 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 4:46:16 PM

But still 2bn sounds crazy unless we get more facts like how many month's rent this is and how it is payable.

If upfront, then he will recoup a very substantial if not the entire cost of the project!!

@guru I remember the time sameer shares soured but this was actually due to the fact that some people believed or were made to believe that Sameer Africa was part of Sameer ICT - too bad.

Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
shalishali
#11 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 4:51:23 PM

Has bagged consideration for rent from the Gvt who are to rent the park for bussiness oursourcing-I hear so from sameers annual GM last friday. Where else apart sameer and sasini does Merali have his foot bigtime in NSE?so that I can tread carefully!?
UKITAFUTA UKABILA UTAKUFA BILA!
#12 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 5:17:14 PM

I followed Merali blindly into Uchumi (at the behest of his son, I heard) and did not exit as fast.

But I still accord the man begrudging respect. Often he's been referred to as a deal maker using shell companies, or as a front for Moi, but in my opinion his shrewdness shows some savy. Top marks for his handling of Vivendi/Celltel transaction at the expense of MTN and in KDN.

Much in the same way Chris Kirubi is often criticised for Uchumi or Kenatco; but at the end of the day, a study in his methods shows some business acumen - evidenced by moves in International House, Hacco, DHL, Centum.

So @sparkly is right on the money. I don't have to buy 100% into their principles, but you've got to be tough to get the better of them.
Jaguar
#13 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 5:44:33 PM

don't hate the player, hate the game
subaru
#14 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 6:19:18 PM

@ guru ati yuko na crystal ball ? anyway tuff businessman
#15 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 9:05:28 PM

Jameni: Seriously, u guys act like thieving is OK as long as you are not caught...

Sameer aka Firestone: merali used his moi connections (I am sure moi got a cut or owns part of the 'parent') to buy Firestone shareholding from ICDC (not ICDCIC) at 5/- then turned around & sold the shares at 35.50. One of the major buyers? NSSF (then completely controlled by GoK). In a non-corrupt Kenya, ICDC could have sold the shares DIRECTLY to wananchi.

Eveready: Something similar to Firestone but less egregious. Lakini, in this case, the wananchi should have read the prospectus. At least GoK did not lose much here.

KenCell: merali was the favored 'local' partner to Vivendi. There were only 2 licenses given. Safaricom was KPTC. The other to KenCell. moi & his cronies had shares in both firms. Mobitelea (Safaricom) + merali (KenCell). Vivendi paid the $55mn (not merali) for the license. It was not an auction i.e. the highest bidder wins.
the sage
#16 Posted : Tuesday, April 20, 2010 8:11:48 AM

@VVS, I agree, you can't comparee Merali to Buffet. Romour has it that the sudden surge in both Sameer and Sasini is not based on fundmentals, even the dividend share payout by Sameer.
The Sameer Park things is gobbling too much cash and he needs to complete it.
The story in Smart Company said that this guy s hould also have been prosecuted with Terry Davidson for insider trading.
Chandaria is more of the Buffet IMHO.
mv_ufanisi
#17 Posted : Tuesday, April 20, 2010 8:28:38 AM

Comparing Merali to Buffett is comparing apples to oranges. Buffett has built his wealth purely on the strength of his investing acumen not through making deals with government and politicians.
Merali has thrived in our third world environment. At least he is building businesses and employing many people and paying taxes.
But I have to say the Eveready IPO was a killer for the public. The company was overpriced in the IPO. So be careful what u buy especially when the IPO hype is feverish. That's when SHELL businesses are SOLD to an unscrupulous public.
#18 Posted : Tuesday, April 20, 2010 10:06:21 PM

@sage @MV - merali is no buffett... WB has made money for his other (long-term) shareholders...

Show me how many shareholders have made money with merali????

On the other hand... if not merali... moi wud have found some other jamaa to front his interests... so I guess merali is smart(er) than I am... LOL...
#19 Posted : Friday, November 12, 2010 5:59:50 PM

http://www.rich.co.ke/me...%20profit%20warning.pdf

Sameer Africa expects reduced profits in 2010...
#20 Posted : Friday, November 12, 2010 6:04:00 PM

Also check this out from Wazua

http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...amp;m=124841#post124841

http://www.nation.co.ke/...n/-/12jwlt1/-/index.html