wazua Tue, May 13, 2025

Bungalow Construction 2014
Coolbull
#1 Posted : Monday, April 28, 2014 4:56:44 PM

Does anyone have:-

1.The current approximate building rates per square meter. Seen only figures of 2012 -18K/Sqm.

2. Is it best to go for kawaida quarry stones and do the dressing or go for machine-cut stones?
The location is approx 30-40KM from Nairobi CBD, towards Naivasha.

Size Approx. 144sqm.
Red Soil,
A bit slopy.
Water on site.
Site House built.
Architect almost done.
QS - Bado.
Fundi/Contractor - Bado.

Shefad
#2 Posted : Monday, April 28, 2014 5:02:57 PM

The rates for that location are in the range of 30K/Sqm.
You definitely will not get quality work at 18K/Sqm
About the stone finish, that will be dictated by your tastes. If you want rustic, get good hands to do your stone dressing!
its2013
#3 Posted : Monday, April 28, 2014 5:31:07 PM

I have observed that machine cut stones commonly called "ndarugo" tend to crack when exposed to the elements eg in stalled constructions or when the stones are brought to the site and left there a while before construction starts. Apart from the convenience of not having to dress them at the site I do not think they are better than kawaida quarry stones for a bungalow.
Pretty hurts
#4 Posted : Monday, April 28, 2014 7:57:15 PM

is it flyover, magumu or ihindu - get materials from those sides, very cheap - you can get a guy to dress the stones at around 10 bob.
been comparing notes with a friend who is putting up a house those sides and he literally gets his materials (stones na sand) at half the price I get mine huko ruai, shida ni cement prices are relatively higher so he prefers to buy from town and transport huko
Coolbull
#5 Posted : Friday, May 02, 2014 9:26:27 AM

@Shefad - thanks, though 30K/Sqm seems to be very high for a 144sqm bungalow on red soil. What could I missing....another fundi was talking of 22-25K/sqm.

@its2013 - I've heard the same regarding machine-cut. I'll avoid them.

@nakujua - not that far but from what I am getting from the locals, it would be cheaper getting stones from those sides.

What about concrete-prefabs? Are they stronger/firmer than stones?
majimaji
#6 Posted : Friday, May 02, 2014 9:57:50 AM

is it flyover, magumu or ihindu - get materials from those sides, very cheap - you can get a guy to dress the stones at around 10 bob.
been comparing notes with a friend who is putting up a house those sides and he literally gets his materials (stones na sand) at half the price I get mine huko ruai, shida ni cement prices are relatively higher so he prefers to buy from town and transport huko

@nakujua, seems you are a fellow villager, ni Ruai wapi? Labda nakujuasmile
#7 Posted : Friday, May 02, 2014 12:28:16 PM

majimaji wrote:

mimi najenga that ka flooded place with maji mingi smile enyewe mimi ni jirani ya muheshimiwa Muchai.

@coolbull, stones those sides are very cheap and dressing labor is also cheap, lakini unless you are very 'chumd' do not focus on the price per sqm, especially those sides - get a fundi and ask him to give you the materials needed, buy that - then let him tell you the number of fundis and kym he needs for particular stages and half that number, aki complain duration mwambie utalipa - otherwise you will have a building gang that sits idly half the time.
longman
#8 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 11:51:52 AM

majimaji wrote:

mimi najenga that ka flooded place with maji mingi smile enyewe mimi ni jirani ya muheshimiwa Muchai.

@coolbull, stones those sides are very cheap and dressing labor is also cheap, lakini unless you are very 'chumd' do not focus on the price per sqm, especially those sides - get a fundi and ask him to give you the materials needed, buy that - then let him tell you the number of fundis and kym he needs for particular stages and half that number, aki complain duration mwambie utalipa - otherwise you will have a building gang that sits idly half the time.

@coolbull, @nakujua - I am planning to build a mansionette new KBC area, looking for construction materials. What would you advise for
- machine cut
- chumas
- cement
- kokoto/Balast.

Thanks
GalMU
#9 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 12:29:24 PM

Where do you get the construction metal from? I feel the hardware guy is making a killing out of me...I hate it
#10 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 1:06:35 PM

longman wrote:
majimaji wrote:

@coolbull, @nakujua - I am planning to build a mansionette new KBC area, looking for construction materials. What would you advise for
- machine cut
- chumas
- cement
- kokoto/Balast.

Thanks

for machine cut, my fundi used to get them from juja, most of the transport guys can get them for you - I think thats the best place to get them, the ones sold on the roadsides especially hapo ruai and along kangundo road are of very low quality, I would avoid those at all costs.

Chumas - there are many hardwares around, I used to go round asking for the best price and the one that offered me the best I got from them. I had been told about kariobangi, but that was too far and the transport and uncertainty made me ignore that avenue.

Cement - I was lucky enough there was a small hardware near my site, they were slightly expensive - but the good thing is that I could get the same on credit and even if the fundis run out of the same when I was not around it was easier to organize.
my 2 cents get a hardware near the site and talk to the owner, it would be better if they can deliver - it helps especially if you happen to be low on cash.

Balast is readily available those sides, the same as sand - the tricky part is that different qualities are needed at different stages - my advice on that would be before starting familiarize yourself with the different qualities and if possible always be present during unloading.

That kbc area is really opening up and looks like a very decent place. All the best, and remember a good fundi will save you lots of stress.
#11 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 1:24:05 PM

GalMU wrote:
Where do you get the construction metal from? I feel the hardware guy is making a killing out of me...I hate it

factor in transport also, the hardware guy price might just be fair.
dpmungai
#12 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 6:10:58 PM

GalMU wrote:

I got mine from Kariobangi (cannot remember the hardware name). There are many hardwares there which offer good discounts. Just make sure you insist on standard. And of course the total price savings has to cover the transport costs...

geofreygachie
#13 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 6:59:51 PM

dpmungai wrote:
GalMU wrote:

I got mine from Kariobangi (cannot remember the hardware name). There are many hardwares there which offer good discounts. Just make sure you insist on standard. And of course the total price savings has to cover the transport costs...

Try Jowamb Hardware in Kariobangi.You can however visit Jowamb Hardware and get prices and then walk around since the hardwares are located walking distance from one another comparing the prices.
Divers - can you laugh in scuba gear, or will you drown? I was wondering. - James May.
#14 Posted : Saturday, February 21, 2015 11:56:50 AM

dear admin,
how comes building a bungalow has been moved to market, while question for architect remains in the investment, aren't they touching on the same - ama when wanyama wengine join then everythng changes -
lakini this thing unge peleka, sk under talk to us
klan
#15 Posted : Tuesday, March 03, 2015 9:44:07 AM

what would the cost be for a mansionnete around ndarugo area in juja. no cotton soil. ( 4 bedrooms).perimeter already done. water and electricity on site.
mmunguti
#16 Posted : Thursday, June 02, 2016 3:13:18 PM

where are these places? (flyover, magumu, ihindu) in Limuru?
#17 Posted : Thursday, June 02, 2016 4:13:52 PM

mmunguti wrote:

The flyover to Njambini on NBO-NKR h/way
mmunguti
#18 Posted : Monday, June 06, 2016 6:10:20 PM

mmunguti wrote:

The flyover to Njambini on NBO-NKR h/way

Oh. Okay. Thank you