wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

Carrfoo @ The Hub
wa P
#1 Posted : Wednesday, May 25, 2016 2:43:58 PM

The good:

possibly 80% local brands, accepts mpesa, wide aisles, shelves not stacked to sky unlike games, eye-level category labeling unlike Nyakumat, really low prices esp on household electronics unlike Nyakumat, cereals, unga, salt, rice by the grams unlike the 'blue label' being shoved down your throat elsewhere.

No GMO-ey breakfast cereals from Bokono unlike Nyakumat, Nice sea food and fish display.

Boldly labeled kienyenji eggs; and generously priced at 2 x imprisoned chicken eggs.

sensible planogram unlike Turkish, Naivash,

the bad

too much shelf space per product...maybe 'holding brief' for imported stuff. Clothes and shoes from China - african quality, bakery is Turkish. s
Still limited variety of stuff - expected a richer variety, shelf staff wearing hipora badges, the sea food display while nice is too small and with thin variety unlike their mall of the emirates sister.
Vegetables and fruits are too clean and smooth.

the ugly:
their obsession with customer not entering from the left side.

Conclusion - if they balance local + imported; and keep those prices, someone at crossroads need to rethink strategy.

KPS may now open only for 3 hours on Tue, Thur night and Fri afternoon. (Though KPS has small, loyal patrons hence the 98% imported stuff)
#2 Posted : Wednesday, May 25, 2016 4:06:49 PM

Ebu enlighten us sisi watu wa kiosk, what is KPS? Mimi najua ile ya parking
sitaki.kujulikana
#3 Posted : Wednesday, May 25, 2016 4:12:10 PM

what is carrfoo?
I had read kafogo at the hub
Ngalaka
#4 Posted : Wednesday, May 25, 2016 4:39:02 PM

Carrefour retail chain of France!
Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
#5 Posted : Wednesday, May 25, 2016 4:42:34 PM

sitaki.kujulikana
#6 Posted : Wednesday, May 25, 2016 4:50:53 PM

Ngalaka wrote:
Carrefour retail chain of France!

ahh ka-4, smile I thought they were waiting for that 2 rivers place to open, kumbe they are already present
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#7 Posted : Wednesday, May 25, 2016 4:57:45 PM

Very warm on prices.
1kg beef retails at KES.410, much cheaper than the typical butcheries.smile
@SufficientlyP
omhangla
#8 Posted : Wednesday, May 25, 2016 5:30:18 PM

and their chapos are only 18 bob and very tasty. even after buying eating them several hours later
sitaki.kujulikana
#9 Posted : Wednesday, May 25, 2016 5:43:12 PM

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:
Very warm on prices.

I thought those guys have different classification of beef, 410 bob must be the lowest quality cut
Thitifini
#10 Posted : Wednesday, May 25, 2016 6:10:19 PM

omhangla wrote:
and their chapos are only 18 bob and very tasty. even after buying eating them several hours later

Jesus! Who buys chapo kwa supa? I thought bachelors huenda kwa "mama chapo" karibu na gate!

60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
#11 Posted : Wednesday, May 25, 2016 6:30:39 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Very warm on prices.

I thought those guys have different classification of beef, 410 bob must be the lowest quality cut

So now you know them smile
#12 Posted : Wednesday, May 25, 2016 9:31:54 PM

Thitifini wrote:
omhangla wrote:

Jesus! Who buys chapo kwa supa? I thought bachelors huenda kwa "mama chapo" karibu na gate!

Mama Chapo ni 20/=
sitaki.kujulikana
#13 Posted : Wednesday, May 25, 2016 9:35:25 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Very warm on prices.

So now you know them smile

Ka-4 siwajui never been to one, but that beef thing I have noticed it at another supermarket, they have a label noting that it's 400 Bob per kg, only to learn later on that is the jaw breaker cut, some other cut was 500 na ingine 700
#14 Posted : Wednesday, May 25, 2016 10:13:26 PM

Thitifini wrote:
omhangla wrote:

Yao ni gated community smile
Ms Mkenya
#15 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2016 10:25:43 AM

I hope they can maintain costs and quality like their other outlets..
....above all, to stand.
#16 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2016 11:41:51 AM

passed by that supermarket jana (juzi was a bit too crowded). the beef is 490 per kilo bone less! but it's on offer! they have lots of promotional stuff going on. it wasn't a bad shopping experience.
#17 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2016 3:54:16 PM

passed by that supermarket jana (juzi was a bit too crowded). the beef is 490 per kilo bone less! but it's on offer! they have lots of promotional stuff going on. it wasn't a bad shopping experience.

In Donyo, a kilo of boneless beef goes for only Kshs 250-Direct from the slaughter house!
#18 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2016 3:57:32 PM

In Donyo, a kilo of boneless beef goes for only Kshs 250-Direct from the slaughter house!

So what fact has your statement changed? smile smile
sitaki.kujulikana
#19 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2016 3:58:04 PM

does it have, the sign of quality ?

#20 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2016 4:15:10 PM

So what fact has your statement changed? smile smile

That a kilo is not 490 bob but 250 bob