wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

17 Pages«<1314151617>
How did you make your first Kes million?
#281 Posted : Tuesday, August 26, 2014 10:30:30 AM

Am wrote:
butterflyke wrote:
I wish the title would have read 'how did you make the first kes 10 million'.. Maybe then I would have created time to comment appropriately :)

LOL

For me I wish it had read " how did you make your first 100,000"...I would have surely contributed

..and the way you like fisss yawaLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

smile smile smile Fish and spending money have linear correlationship.

#282 Posted : Wednesday, June 24, 2015 6:08:30 PM

madhaquer wrote:
In 2005 I was 24 and flat broke after working for about 5 years in full employment. I joined a sacco started saving religiously and investing in stocks. Took a loan of 800k in 2007 bought 1/2 acre on what is now the eastern bypass (1/8 is going for 1.5mil). Later in 2007 i bought 4 plots in Kamulu each worth around 40k (today going for 200k)
Same year I cashed 400k out of nse and bought a car.

Now I'm building my own house so as to move away from the landlord.
I am still scouting for a decent second source of regular cashflow and also hold some pieces of land bought with friends.
I have done alot of things wrong like drinking beyond my budget regularly, investing in forex blindly (cost me 250k), lending friends who never repay, getting into the tuk tuk business, buying livestock etc...

I calculated my networth recently and estimated it to be 3.5m. How did I get here ? Wouldn't have done it without taking the risks to invest in all this stuff, wouldn't have learnt if it was not for all those risks. It's been a fun ride. I'm targeting 10m by 2012.

Hit or miss?
koscielny
#283 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2016 4:05:23 PM

Heck! This thread was just the one! Too much inspiration for one thread. No more millionaires willing to share their stories on wazua. Keep em coming please, i'm sure a lot of wazuans need the extra motivation to drive them to greater heights. A big congrats to those who've made their millies.
Personally I havent gotten there, but I have summarized my life goals into three parts:
1. Get as much much education as possible ( Includes travelling widely)
2. Create as much wealth as possible
3. Use or give out a large amount of the wealth for worthy causes (Philanthropy)
The Best is Yet to Come
#284 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2016 5:24:23 PM

real millionaires being made
#285 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2016 6:42:50 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly wachana na sisi and #Guka!!!
Ash Ock
#286 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2016 6:44:10 PM

This doesn't creste wealth. It merely transfers wealth to a tiny clique.
Sent from my Black Nokia 3310
koscielny
#287 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2016 11:31:38 PM

Ash Ock wrote:

This doesn't creste wealth. It merely transfers wealth to a tiny clique.

I concur. very many people burn and there is'nt any value addition in the whole process. Funny how betting just feeds off peoples greed and high affinity for making quick cash and before you know it, you are in too deep! Im quite certain thats not the type of inspiration wazuans are after. we can stick to the ones that bring out values and virtues.
@swenani usidigress,how did you make your other millions?
The Best is Yet to Come
Ash Ock
#288 Posted : Saturday, May 28, 2016 12:43:04 PM

An easy way to make your first million for the conmen just in time for the campaigns next year:

Sent from my Black Nokia 3310
kayhara
#289 Posted : Saturday, May 28, 2016 12:59:56 PM

Ash Ock wrote:
An easy way to make your first million for the conmen just in time for the campaigns next year:

Kenyan millionaires with no employees, no office, no registered business or company, no shares at NSe and no business partners, but 35-100 million turnover, KENYA POLICE
To Each His Own
mibbz
#290 Posted : Monday, May 30, 2016 4:35:02 PM

The thread is back!! Think i even commented some years ago! I've been a general creator and destroyer of wealth and I am currently on the 5th cycle of creating. Learnt a lot in the process of it all but importantly, run your own race and look out for Gods favour.

Ebenyo
#291 Posted : Monday, May 30, 2016 4:55:58 PM

i have not made my first million yet but i hope to do so through nairobi securities exchange and Treasury bond.
Towards the goal of financial freedom
OKEYO
#292 Posted : Monday, May 30, 2016 7:27:05 PM

Genghis Khan wrote:
I joined JKUAT aged 19. I have always had a taste for the good life so I spent most of my free time in 1st year partying & drinking myself silly. I give myself credit for passing all my units with either A or B.
Net worth: 0
Income: 0

In 2nd year I grew up a little bit. Juja town is like western province... lots of boda boda. I bought 2 at 3,300 each and paid a fundi another 1,000 to fix them with a strong frame and passenger seat. I gave them to two local boda guys & i was getting a fixed 120bob per bike per day (they took the rest and were resposible for maintainance and servicing). Total cost 7,600. Income approx 7,000 per month!
My father was giving me a monthly allowance of 10,000 per month - 3,000 rent and the rest for upkeep. I opened an CDS account at Suntra. At the beginning of every month I would deposit 7,000 and proceed to juja where my business was ready to take care of me! To put things in perspective, sample meal prices were Ugali 4/-, Rice 10/-, Mboga 5/-, Beef 28/-, Beans/ndengu 10/-, Chapo 8/-. An average meal of 2chapo+beans = 26/-! I was living like a milionaire already!
Net worth: 50,000 in CDS a/c
Income: I made 7,000pm from the bodas, maybe 2,000pm from miscellaeneous… I blew it all on the party!

The Kengen IPO came in 2006, I was worth about 60K. I liquidated all my stocks and borrowed 100k from my dad & an older cousin. I invested 160K and sold for over 500k. I repaid my cousin his money (i think 40k) but my dad told me to keep what he had lent me. He had made upto 5m on my advice on Kengen. In retrospect, we had gone with the herd on that one & just gotten lucky.

I got a 50:50 partner and through a proxy (student of UoN, non students were not allowed to have businesses on the grounds) opened a cyber cafe in one of the students halls of UoN. We invested a total of about 550k in the project. 15 pentium 3 & pentium 4 computers, switches, cabling, a telkom adsl modem and some bribes for SONU officials. Daily income varied between 1,500 - 2,000. We paid a guy & a chick 200 bob each daily to run the place. Since we were in a secure location we operated 15-24hrs per day depending on demand. Sometimes my partner & i had to pull all nighters servicing the machines then catch a matatu at 5.30 am to juja, sleep for 2hrs then go to class by 8am only to remember we had not had a meal for almost 24hrs! This is where I learnt the value of hard work. We paid ourselves a standard 500bob daily. There rest of the money we banked in a joint account for replacing equipment and for contingencies. Rent for the cyber was 1,500 per month!
Net worth: about 150,000 in CDS a/c, 300k in other assets
Income: I made 15,000pm from the cyber, maybe 20,000pm from miscellaeneous… assembling clone computers for other students, selling electronics / comps parts etc. I blew most of it on the party!

I continued investing in stocks. By the time i completed my 4th year i think i had 700k in cds. i also had various small businesses giving me income of around 40k monthly.

I did some internships & professional studies as I tarmacked & continued with business .
Net worth: 800k
Income: 40k pm

In Jan i got a good job, I bought my first car in Dec for 800k in cash, aged 24.
Net worth: 2m
Income: 150k

Extrapolate 2010 & 2011…
Life Principles & Lessons learnt
1. Learn from mistakes, never regret, move on quickly after failing
2. Work hard, play hard
3. Anything worth doing is worth doing well, never compromise on standards
4. Think & dream big
5. Invest before spending… I don’t budget my spending (whats the fun in that). Out of my total income there is an automatic check off for pension, my cds account, 2 saccos & a chama… whatever remains I take to the party. This works well for me.. eg. if I drink too much, I can’t buy that suit… the opportunity cost is always one expense for another.
6. Have fun with it

I feel challenged.
Jump-steady
#293 Posted : Monday, May 30, 2016 7:34:03 PM

kayhara wrote:
Ash Ock wrote:

Kenyan millionaires with no employees, no office, no registered business or company, no shares at NSe and no business partners, but 35-100 million turnover, KENYA POLICE

Nice microwaveApplause
koscielny
#294 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2016 10:30:01 AM

Ash Ock wrote:

d'oh! WASH WASH IS BACK!! NEW & IMPROVED! Laughing out loudly
The Best is Yet to Come
koscielny
#295 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2016 10:44:33 AM

mibbz wrote:
The thread is back!! Think i even commented some years ago! I've been a general creator and destroyer of wealth and I am currently on the 5th cycle of creating. Learnt a lot in the process of it all but importantly, run your own race and look out for Gods favour.

@MIbbz 5th cycle?? first of all congrats on your 4 previous cycles!Applause you really dont give up do you? but i bet that's been one hell of a journey! you should write a book smile
or you might as well be kind enough to share some do's and dont's that you learnt and defining moments of your journey to the upcoming youngins on the thread
The Best is Yet to Come
The Great
#296 Posted : Tuesday, June 07, 2016 9:31:42 AM

OKEYO wrote:
Genghis Khan wrote:
I joined JKUAT aged 19. I have always had a taste for the good life so I spent most of my free time in 1st year partying & drinking myself silly. I give myself credit for passing all my units with either A or B.

In 2nd year I grew up a little bit. Juja town is like western province... lots of boda boda. I bought 2 at 3,300 each and paid a fundi another 1,000 to fix them with a strong frame and passenger seat. I gave them to two local boda guys & i was getting a fixed 120bob per bike per day (they took the rest and were resposible for maintainance and servicing). Total cost 7,600. Income approx 7,000 per month!
My father was giving me a monthly allowance of 10,000 per month - 3,000 rent and the rest for upkeep. I opened an CDS account at Suntra. At the beginning of every month I would deposit 7,000 and proceed to juja where my business was ready to take care of me! To put things in perspective, sample meal prices were Ugali 4/-, Rice 10/-, Mboga 5/-, Beef 28/-, Beans/ndengu 10/-, Chapo 8/-. An average meal of 2chapo+beans = 26/-! I was living like a milionaire already!
Income: I made 7,000pm from the bodas, maybe 2,000pm from miscellaeneous… I blew it all on the party!

The Kengen IPO came in 2006, I was worth about 60K. I liquidated all my stocks and borrowed 100k from my dad & an older cousin. I invested 160K and sold for over 500k. I repaid my cousin his money (i think 40k) but my dad told me to keep what he had lent me. He had made upto 5m on my advice on Kengen. In retrospect, we had gone with the herd on that one & just gotten lucky.

I got a 50:50 partner and through a proxy (student of UoN, non students were not allowed to have businesses on the grounds) opened a cyber cafe in one of the students halls of UoN. We invested a total of about 550k in the project. 15 pentium 3 & pentium 4 computers, switches, cabling, a telkom adsl modem and some bribes for SONU officials. Daily income varied between 1,500 - 2,000. We paid a guy & a chick 200 bob each daily to run the place. Since we were in a secure location we operated 15-24hrs per day depending on demand. Sometimes my partner & i had to pull all nighters servicing the machines then catch a matatu at 5.30 am to juja, sleep for 2hrs then go to class by 8am only to remember we had not had a meal for almost 24hrs! This is where I learnt the value of hard work. We paid ourselves a standard 500bob daily. There rest of the money we banked in a joint account for replacing equipment and for contingencies. Rent for the cyber was 1,500 per month!
Income: I made 15,000pm from the cyber, maybe 20,000pm from miscellaeneous… assembling clone computers for other students, selling electronics / comps parts etc. I blew most of it on the party!

I continued investing in stocks. By the time i completed my 4th year i think i had 700k in cds. i also had various small businesses giving me income of around 40k monthly.

I did some internships & professional studies as I tarmacked & continued with business .

In Jan i got a good job, I bought my first car in Dec for 800k in cash, aged 24.

Extrapolate 2010 & 2011…
2. Work hard, play hard
4. Think & dream big
5. Invest before spending… I don’t budget my spending (whats the fun in that). Out of my total income there is an automatic check off for pension, my cds account, 2 saccos & a chama… whatever remains I take to the party. This works well for me.. eg. if I drink too much, I can’t buy that suit… the opportunity cost is always one expense for another.
6. Have fun with it

I feel challenged.

"Buy when there's blood in the streets, even if the blood is your own."
majimaji
#297 Posted : Tuesday, June 07, 2016 10:42:49 AM

I'm so tired of not being a multimillionaire
#298 Posted : Tuesday, June 07, 2016 10:58:59 AM

majimaji wrote:

I'm so tired of not being a multimillionaire

Relocate to zim and become a multi billionaire
wanyee
#299 Posted : Tuesday, June 07, 2016 4:34:11 PM

The Great wrote:
OKEYO wrote:
Genghis Khan wrote:

Extrapolate 2010 & 2011…
2. Work hard, play hard
4. Think & dream big
6. Have fun with it

I feel challenged.

kuna kitu ilikuwa inaitwo afco--half cost huko mess JKUAt quite a penny saver that one..
sitaki.kujulikana
#300 Posted : Tuesday, June 07, 2016 4:55:27 PM

somethings I don't get, one has like 700k plus businesses earning one 40k monthly and you still go tarmacking for employment