wazua Mon, Dec 23, 2024

Titles on riparian land to be cancelled
#21 Posted : Saturday, May 14, 2016 6:42:07 AM

mmhhh

Blame the constitution...

The constitution did not build a house on a river. It did not tell Nema to give approvals for the building. It did not tell the Kanjo Kingdom to approve the building plan.

In fact when you allow yourself to see the truth, most of these buildings were built during the old constitution.

Do you remember Wangari Maathai being beaten up over Westgate and the Mall? Was she being teargassed because of the constitution?

I know a lot of you here get excited when people who are lawfully picketing are being teargassed, but tafadhali, think kidogo.

The law is the law. You just can't come and destroy my house at night after you have approved my building. It was a corrupt Kenyan who approved those buildings.

The Kenyan laws are not as liberal as those in the UK or the USA. But you don't see people building on rivers do you?

When people fail to do the right thing they look for the easiest person to blame. The constitution.

If you were honest, you should be demanding that those that approved those buildings be sent to jail. Ohh no, you won't. It's the constitution.

If I were the judge of course I'd order a stay order. After all, the complainant shall come with gov't approved papers that gave him the right to build the property on a river.

However, if the gov't arrested those that approved the properties and then went to court seeking to nullify the orders, no judge however corrupt would allow the case to drag on.

Let us not give mediocre people in our leadership an excuse. They should never have approved those buildings in the first place and they should be arrested.

Hii mambo ya consitution, ni uwongo tu.

The liberal laws in the USA as you may wish to call them have not allowed anyone to build on public land.

However in Kenya, a human being in the name of a government official, has taken a bribe and given fake title.

The problem is not the constitution. It is the people of Kenya.

When you think about it, the same complaining Kenyan is the same fellow who is going to shop in these places. How can you go shop at Nakumatt when you know they have a habit of renting property either in public land or land that is right smack on top of a river?

How do you go to shop at TMall, then come here and complain about "the constitution"?

Leave the constitution alone, start arresting the thugs who approved the buildings. Or are you afraid of being shot 7 times in the head?

enyands
#22 Posted : Saturday, May 14, 2016 8:02:34 AM

mmhhh

The constitution did not build a house on a river. It did not tell Nema to give approvals for the building. It did not tell the Kanjo Kingdom to approve the building plan.

In fact when you allow yourself to see the truth, most of these buildings were built during the old constitution.

Do you remember Wangari Maathai being beaten up over Westgate and the Mall? Was she being teargassed because of the constitution?

I know a lot of you here get excited when people who are lawfully picketing are being teargassed, but tafadhali, think kidogo.

The law is the law. You just can't come and destroy my house at night after you have approved my building. It was a corrupt Kenyan who approved those buildings.

The Kenyan laws are not as liberal as those in the UK or the USA. But you don't see people building on rivers do you?

When people fail to do the right thing they look for the easiest person to blame. The constitution.

If you were honest, you should be demanding that those that approved those buildings be sent to jail. Ohh no, you won't. It's the constitution.

If I were the judge of course I'd order a stay order. After all, the complainant shall come with gov't approved papers that gave him the right to build the property on a river.

However, if the gov't arrested those that approved the properties and then went to court seeking to nullify the orders, no judge however corrupt would allow the case to drag on.

Let us not give mediocre people in our leadership an excuse. They should never have approved those buildings in the first place and they should be arrested.

The liberal laws in the USA as you may wish to call them have not allowed anyone to build on public land.

However in Kenya, a human being in the name of a government official, has taken a bribe and given fake title.

When you think about it, the same complaining Kenyan is the same fellow who is going to shop in these places. How can you go shop at Nakumatt when you know they have a habit of renting property either in public land or land that is right smack on top of a river?

How do you go to shop at TMall, then come here and complain about "the constitution"?

Leave the constitution alone, start arresting the thugs who approved the buildings. Or are you afraid of being shot 7 times in the head?

Pray I once complained of such but was labeled someone who whines. The system is broken. Totally broken. Constitution can't fix a broken system. It can fix a broken law but not a broken system. The surveying system is broken, the Kanjo is broken, ministry of land is broken and all the agencies involved in approval of lands are all broken.
h2s
#23 Posted : Saturday, May 14, 2016 11:23:57 AM

How many beach hotels will remain standing?
Cornelius Vanderbilt
#24 Posted : Saturday, May 14, 2016 11:50:28 AM

hii ni vitisho tu,
muandiwambeu
#25 Posted : Saturday, May 14, 2016 4:39:02 PM

Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote:
hii ni vitisho tu,

some statement here luck the real substance of life in Toto. burj khallifa, twin towers amongst many other buildings across the globe are built right in the middle of water masses. just because I do not have scales and gills does not declare me persona non granta by a river. and for any ones info 30m meters into my land my foot. am off to get m### to enhance my natural rights to my properties. so be warned coz am ceding nothing. not an inch. yes.
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
#26 Posted : Sunday, May 15, 2016 3:40:44 AM

muandiwambeu wrote:
hii ni vitisho tu,

some statement here luck the real substance of life in Toto. burj khallifa, twin towers amongst many other buildings across the globe are built right in the middle of water masses. just because I do not have scales and gills does not declare me persona non granta by a river. and for any ones info 30m meters into my land my foot. am off to get m### to enhance my natural rights to my properties. so be warned coz am ceding nothing. not an inch. yes.

The 30 metres was never yours. Should never have been!!!
iris
#27 Posted : Sunday, May 15, 2016 4:56:41 PM

mmhhh

Thank you @alma1. I am at a loss why @Maich and some otherwise intelligent Wazuans keep ducking the real issue, as they struggle looking for extraneous stuff to blame like the constitution, opposition, etc
#28 Posted : Sunday, May 15, 2016 10:18:54 PM

@iris - I want to assume that you are not blind given that you have (selectively) read some of the posts.

Kindly read the post quoted below. That was my first contribution to this discussion. Post #8. Please read slowly and carefully.

I still stand by my contribution on the constitution but I had already clearly stated what I thought the problem is.

And read before clicking reply!!!

But on a serious note, all those buildings on riparian land need to go. It doesn't matter how big or small, shady or prestigious, owned by a member of the 99% or 1% or whatever! Any building on riparian land should be brought down by yesterday.

And those Huruma landlords are MAD!!! I saw houses built right next to the river!!! The building is the river bank!!! What kind of madness is this??? I see very strong and stable fences brought down by rain water in a kawaida mtaro and some mad man builds a whole house practically inside a fast flowing river???

And where is the bloody council/county officials as all this is happening. It is not like someone imports a house from China and instals it at night!!! Na raia wa kawaida hawezi fungua kibanda without the kanjo showing up. Even unblocking your own drainage or making a very small adjustment or addition to your house/home unawaonaga hapo pap!!!

Corruption is literally killing people in Kenya every day - including our brothers and sisters who lost their lives in the Huruma tragedy!!!

#29 Posted : Sunday, May 15, 2016 10:25:38 PM

@iris - This was my second contribution. Post #11.

Go read post #18 also. I am tired of quoting myself!! This is a two page thread so far. I don't understand how you missed all those posts. And we have already concluded you are not blind!!!

@muandiwambeu - This is a very simple issue. You are not supposed to build within 30 metres of a river bank. Hiyo ni riparian land. Hata kama ni ya mawe ama chuma.

iris
#30 Posted : Monday, May 16, 2016 9:04:02 AM

@maichblack, you are right that I am not blind and I had read your previous posts with some understanding of what you meant. We are in agreement (and have always been) about corruption. What we are not in agreement on, and the point of my post was your proposed solution. My contention (and I believe @alma's) is that it is not more laws and changes in constitution that we need but an enforcement of the existing laws. How would our old constitution recover riparian land, without enforcement? Since you are not also blind and I know you are very intelligent, re-read @alma1's post, just as I have re-read yours.
muandiwambeu
#31 Posted : Monday, May 16, 2016 12:29:17 PM

@iris - This was my second contribution. Post #11.

Go read post #18 also. I am tired of quoting myself!! This is a two page thread so far. I don't understand how you missed all those posts. And we have already concluded you are not blind!!!

@muandiwambeu - This is a very simple issue. You are not supposed to build within 30 metres of a river bank. Hiyo ni riparian land. Hata kama ni ya mawe ama chuma.

am not trying to trivialise issues here @maichblack, but then the river should not keep eating into my land since Nema is simply busy pocketing unaware of my predicament. human fundamental rights to land and river can not be sacrificed in the name of an amorphous word called 30m riparian. an absolute title confers to the owner rights to till, plant, harvest in it and a dwelling place. how else would you realise your rights if curtailed. lands ministry should desist demarcating such lands in the first place. shoddily built houses will collapse wherever built, even titanic did sink for that terrible design error of commission. Good luck as you hire your small brains engineer or whatever the whuzie who can not tell you the difference between bending moments and jigrijigri bed ova bending moments is. /∆ and D.
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
#32 Posted : Monday, May 16, 2016 1:00:02 PM

muandiwambeu wrote:
hii ni vitisho tu,

The 30 metres was never yours. Should never have been!!!

@muandiwambeu - What I meant by this is that the 30 metres riparian land should never have belonged to you! Ask anyone who has ever bought a plot next to a river, the beacons are never put right next to the river!! They are placed away from the river. 30 metres away! So when you are being told not to build on the riparian land, it is not like you are being told not to build on your land! It is the same as being told not to build on the road next to your property - which is not yours!!!

The problem is that through corruption, people end up getting titles for these land. And that is why the titles are being revoked.

And there are no innocent bystanders in this. Even an idiot cannot buy land right next to river imagining it is legal land. Even an Inoorero trained Surveyor or Diploma law student will tell you hiyo ni shamba bandia!!!
streetwise
#33 Posted : Monday, May 16, 2016 3:24:27 PM

If this is applied strictly the number of landless citizens in Kenya will increase by atleast 20%.

#34 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2019 7:09:30 PM

Is Karibu homes built on riparian land?