wazua Mon, Dec 23, 2024

Titles on riparian land to be cancelled
popat
#1 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2016 1:00:33 PM

http://www.businessdailyafrica....16/-/aa2axc/-/index.html

This is a move in the right direction however am concerned about the possible litigation that will ensue from this action.
Fyatu
#2 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2016 1:05:27 PM

I apologize for being cynical but history shows that POLITICAL EXPEDIENCY will carry the day....hapa domo tu
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
Mike Ock
#3 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2016 1:30:48 PM

Bullcrap lip service. Mama Ngina herself is now the proud owner of the biggest development on riparian land: Westgate Mall. This declaration will just fade into the darkness with time.
#4 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2016 1:36:53 PM

Usual crap from Kenya's ruling class. Clueless!!!
The Great
#5 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2016 2:10:56 PM

All for the votes.
"Buy when there's blood in the streets, even if the blood is your own."
The Great
#6 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2016 2:13:19 PM

For a little cash someone will vote them back in
"Buy when there's blood in the streets, even if the blood is your own."
#7 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2016 2:56:58 PM

Mike Ock wrote:
Bullcrap lip service. Mama Ngina herself is now the proud owner of the biggest development on riparian land: Westgate Mall. This declaration will just fade into the darkness with time.

Mama Ngina is Israeli??? Coz to the best of my knowledge, Westgate mall is owned by Israelis.

And is it Westgate or Ukay that is on riparian land. Or it is both?
#8 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2016 3:07:07 PM

But on a serious note, all those buildings on riparian land need to go. It doesn't matter how big or small, shady or prestigious, owned by a member of the 99% or 1% or whatever! Any building on riparian land should be brought down by yesterday.

And those Huruma landlords are MAD!!! I saw houses built right next to the river!!! The building is the river bank!!! What kind of madness is this??? I see very strong and stable fences brought down by rain water in a kawaida mtaro and some mad man builds a whole house practically inside a fast flowing river???

And where is the bloody council/county officials as all this is happening. It is not like someone imports a house from China and instals it at night!!! Na raia wa kawaida hawezi fungua kibanda without the kanjo showing up. Even unblocking your own drainage or making a very small adjustment or addition to your house/home unawaonaga hapo pap!!!

Corruption is literally killing people in Kenya every day - including our brothers and sisters who lost their lives in the Huruma tragedy!!!
#9 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2016 3:21:56 PM

Mike Ock wrote:

Mama Ngina is Israeli??? Coz to the best of my knowledge, Westgate mall is owned by Israelis.

muandiwambeu
#10 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2016 3:39:20 PM

But on a serious note, all those buildings on riparian land need to go. It doesn't matter how big or small, shady or prestigious, owned by a member of the 99% or 1% or whatever! Any building on riparian land should be brought down by yesterday.

And those Huruma landlords are MAD!!! I saw houses built right next to the river!!! The building is the river bank!!! What kind of madness is this??? I see very strong and stable fences brought down by rain water in a kawaida mtaro and some mad man builds a whole house practically inside a fast flowing river???

And where is the bloody council/county officials as all this is happening. It is not like someone imports a house from China and instals it at night!!! Na raia wa kawaida hawezi fungua kibanda without the kanjo showing up. Even unblocking your own drainage or making a very small adjustment or addition to your house/home unawaonaga hapo pap!!!

Corruption is literally killing people in Kenya every day - including our brothers and sisters who lost their lives in the Huruma tragedy!!!

identification alone will take forever leave alone definition of a river and a storm drain. The unsuspecting Wanjiku will nab the bait as usual if it sees the light of the day.
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
#11 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2016 3:49:43 PM

@muandiwambeu - This is a very simple issue. You are not supposed to build within 30 metres of a river bank. Hiyo ni riparian land. Hata kama ni ya mawe ama chuma.
kryptonite
#12 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2016 3:51:19 PM

Mike Ock wrote:

Both Westgate and Ukay are on riparian land.
Westgate is majority owned by an indigenous Kenyan.

Ningemtaja laking naogopa nduthi usiku smile
The harder you work, the luckier you get
Mike Ock
#13 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2016 3:55:59 PM

Mike Ock wrote:

Mama Ngina bought out the Israelis and has now massively upgraded all the roads surrounding the mall. I have a conspiracy theory that they schemed to reduce the value of the mall using the whole terrorist show they put on with Ole Lenku. These gava guys are evil I tell you. And both are on riparian land. Just go to that area you'll see the river flowing beside that whole road for Westgate/Ukay.
#14 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2016 4:09:51 PM

Kenya should be voted the 13th wonder of the world. The corruption is just amazing.

Yaani Kidero has to be told which properties are on top of rivers? lol kweli jameni!

#15 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2016 8:21:20 PM

Kenya should be voted the 13th wonder of the world. The corruption is just amazing.

Yaani Kidero has to be told which properties are on top of rivers? lol kweli jameni!

I am telling you. Tulijid*nya na hii katiba. Nobody can do anything except the corrupt. If the county government tries to do anything there will be a million court orders to stop them and then Ojienda will demand 1 billion shillings to defend the county, and then the cases will have to go through 10 appeals whichever way they are determined, Ojienda and co get their billions, developer builds on a river and gets people in to pay rent. I was watching on news the other day a building going up right next to a river that has been diasallowed by NEMA but because the owner has a court order he doesn't care, mjengo inaendelea.
#16 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2016 10:00:53 PM

@Kusadikika - I totally agree with you. This "progressive" constitution is totally effed up!!! The rights and liberties are too many and they seem to favour the people on the wrong! That is why you can't even relocate the chokoras from the CBD because of their civil/human rights. A serial murderer is entitled to bail - and he goes back to live with the witnesses. Good luck getting him convicted.

That is exactly what happens when you let be written by Civil Society activist. Add a dose of partisan politicians with hidden and not so hidden agendas and you end up with the Kenyan Constitution!!! You are better off having your kids make the rules in your house!!!
#17 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2016 10:04:54 PM

I was watching on news the other day a building going up right next to a river that has been diasallowed by NEMA but because the owner has a court order he doesn't care, mjengo inaendelea.

Is it the one they showed an old clip where an official was standing next to a foundation right next to a river and saying there is no way the building will be allowed to continue. Fast forward, the building is now complete and there is another one coming up net to it which is even closer to the river than the first one.

#18 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2016 10:17:46 PM

By the way the lawyers eat double double.

They get paid by the tax payers and then get paid by the other side to bungle the case.

Why do you think the government is in the habit of losing so many cases. Fellows in the government and the lawyers are paid to make sure the government loses! The lawyers present a weak case, leave out key issues in their arguments and pap, the government loses. The idiots get paid and Wanjiku says "At least they tried".

One judge was once so annoyed that he laid it bare in court. He said that he makes the judgement with a heavy heart because in as much as the case was straight forward, the government side presented such a weak case that he had no option but rule in favour of the other side based on what was presented before him. He even pointed out obvious key witness that the government side refused to call!!!
#19 Posted : Saturday, May 14, 2016 4:47:16 AM

I was watching on news the other day a building going up right next to a river that has been diasallowed by NEMA but because the owner has a court order he doesn't care, mjengo inaendelea.

Is it the one they showed an old clip where an official was standing next to a foundation right next to a river and saying there is no way the building will be allowed to continue. Fast forward, the building is now complete and there is another one coming up net to it which is even closer to the river than the first one.

Ndiyo hiyo Maich. That's the one. The owner of that building has no worries at all spending millions....... he can get court injunctions till the year 2050 meanwhile he will rent and allocate some of the rent money as tax deductible legal fees na maisha inaendelea as he builds his reputation as a celebrated successful businessman.
Boris Boyka
#20 Posted : Saturday, May 14, 2016 5:02:51 AM

Ndiyo hiyo Maich. That's the one. The owner of that building has no worries at all spending millions....... he can get court injunctions till the year 2050 meanwhile he will rent and allocate some of the rent money as tax deductible legal fees na maisha inaendelea as he builds his reputation as a celebrated successful businessman.

Manoti himself.. @ T Mall near strathmore
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!