wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

Head lamps
tnai9
#1 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2016 2:29:07 PM

Wazuans, I have a weird problem with my headlamps(dim ones-xenon(Premio new model)), I have tried several mechanics but nothing is working. These lamps turn on ok at night, but one goes off after like 3 mins even if just idling. When you switch them off and back on, they light and then one again goes off(random bulb). Also when they cooperate and light for a while, while driving, then you apply emergency brakes, they go off. But when I hit potholes etc they don't. I have even changed one bulb -for 2500- but turned out not to be the issue. They are not loose. The full lights(normal halogen and different set of bulbs) work OK but you cannot drive always with full lights. Any good wiring mechanic anywhere? I am contemplating Toy E.A but I believe I can get it fixed somewhere without incurring the huge bill (imagined) at Toyota EA.
"The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence." ― Charles Bukowski
#2 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2016 3:40:43 PM

tnai9 wrote:
Wazuans, I have a weird problem with my headlamps(dim ones-xenon(Premio new model)), I have tried several mechanics but nothing is working. These lamps turn on ok at night, but one goes off after like 3 mins even if just idling. When you switch them off and back on, they light and then one again goes off(random bulb). Also when they cooperate and light for a while, while driving, then you apply emergency brakes, they go off. But when I hit potholes etc they don't. I have even changed one bulb -for 2500- but turned out not to be the issue. They are not loose. The full lights(normal halogen and different set of bulbs) work OK but you cannot drive always with full lights. Any good wiring mechanic anywhere? I am contemplating Toy E.A but I believe I can get it fixed somewhere without incurring the huge bill (imagined) at Toyota EA.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Finally someone who is appreciating and benefiting from the potholes in the city.

There are very big potholes on uhuru highway on your way to university roundabout.Also, try driving on outering road before they finish constructing itsmile smile
#3 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2016 5:00:18 PM

tnai9 wrote:

I had this very problem with one HID lamp, white, would go off after 10 minutes of switching on. It so happened that the lamp had reached the end of its life, the crystals inside had turned milky white (instead of the usual brown color). The remedy is to buy a new one. Go for Philips d2s/d2r depending on the housing. German, will last a good long while.
If the crystals are ok and the bulb has no fractures, then have someone check the ballasts. Well functioning ballasts produce a loud cracking electric arc when the lights are turned on with the buld removed, accompanied by an acrid smell of air being ionized. If its the ballast you might have to buy an entire lamp. All the best.
Caveat: I am not a mechanic, I got this as I watched mine getting fixed.
tnai9
#4 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2016 10:22:49 AM

tnai9 wrote:
Also when they cooperate and light for a while, while driving, then you apply emergency brakes, they go off. But when I hit potholes etc they don't.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Finally someone who is appreciating and benefiting from the potholes in the city.

There are very big potholes on uhuru highway on your way to university roundabout.Also, try driving on outering road before they finish constructing itsmile smile

Wewe S. Wenani smile I was qualifying the statement that they are not loose, since when they are roughed up(pot holes/Nairobi roads) they don't go off. Forgive me for my loud thoughts smile

"The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence." ― Charles Bukowski
tnai9
#5 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2016 10:30:03 AM

quicksand wrote:

I had this very problem with one HID lamp, white, would go off after 10 minutes of switching on. It so happened that the lamp had reached the end of its life, the crystals inside had turned milky white (instead of the usual brown color). The remedy is to buy a new one. Go for Philips d2s/d2r depending on the housing. German, will last a good long while.
If the crystals are ok and the bulb has no fractures, then have someone check the ballasts. Well functioning ballasts produce a loud cracking electric arc when the lights are turned on with the buld removed, accompanied by an acrid smell of air being ionized. If its the ballast you might have to buy an entire lamp. All the best.
Caveat: I am not a mechanic, I got this as I watched mine getting fixed.

Thanks @quicksand
Kindly share the contacts/location of your mechanic... Interestingly one bulb is new, but still also goes off, but the older one(came with the car is more notorious). I don't have money for a new headlamp, kwanza hii May - a mech told me its 60k.
tnai9
#6 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2016 10:56:45 AM

Got someone, will see him tomorrow. He says they also sell the 'ballast' so you don't need to buy the headlamp. Thanks though quicksand for the leads.
#7 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2016 11:04:14 AM

tnai9 wrote:
Got someone, will see him tomorrow. He says they also sell the 'ballast' so you don't need to buy the headlamp. Thanks though quicksand for the leads.

0705361206 His name is Evans, based hapo Baricho road.
As for the lamp costing 60k....ingia OLX. Lots of stuff on sale, very good bargains...and the car parts you will find its a parts shop. I am sure you can find one for much much less....if the cost of replacing ballasts is comparable to buying a used lamp, go for the lamp..just have it tested thoroughly first.
tnai9
#8 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2016 11:20:44 AM

quicksand wrote:

0705361206 His name is Evans, based hapo Baricho road.
As for the lamp costing 60k....ingia OLX. Lots of stuff on sale, very good bargains...and the car parts you will find its a parts shop. I am sure you can find one for much much less....if the cost of replacing ballasts is comparable to buying a used lamp, go for the lamp..just have it tested thoroughly first.

Thanks @quicksand. Will pay him a visit, as the other guy is also in Nrb west. Due diligence lazima, I really try to spend wisely..Thnks
Niko Salama
#9 Posted : Tuesday, May 10, 2016 6:09:13 AM

It could also be a naked wire touching on the car's body thus short circuiting the system ... had a similar problem the low beams would short circuit but the high beams would not ... it could be a wiring problem or the metal cases holding the light acting as a ground thus short circuiting the system ... good luck as you sort it out