37 Pages«<2627282930>»
Crazy Nairobi traffic!!
lexx
#541 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2016 6:26:46 PM

Ethiteri wrote:
Is it true that Ojijo rd is flooded?

Very very flooded and some fools still want to drive through...

Ojijo ni hapo K1??

#542 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2016 6:49:28 PM

Na mkiambiwa mhame Nairobi mnakataa. The drainage system is broken and cannot handle the capacity
#543 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2016 7:49:28 PM

Na mkiambiwa mhame Nairobi mnakataa. The drainage system is broken and cannot handle the capacity

Even with pathetic infrastructure, property prices are not tanking
sitaki.kujulikana
#544 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2016 10:58:42 PM

is it that people drive the cars into the flooded areas or the water gets them by surprise, who would be stupid enough to drive their cars in such high water levels.
#545 Posted : Friday, April 29, 2016 4:20:18 AM

Clear sign of a storm

The Aftermath

geofreygachie
#546 Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2016 10:17:55 AM

Meanwhile this is happening in Magufuli Land.

Dar Rapid Transit System
Divers - can you laugh in scuba gear, or will you drown? I was wondering. - James May.
#547 Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2016 10:21:35 AM

geofreygachie wrote:

Dar Rapid Transit System

Tag Kidero...
#548 Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2016 10:24:59 AM

geofreygachie wrote:

Dar Rapid Transit System

Me like.

wanyee
#549 Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2016 2:09:02 PM

Clear sign of a storm

The Aftermath

Araa kumbe unafanya kazi mavokosmile
sitaki.kujulikana
#550 Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2016 4:47:07 PM

geofreygachie wrote:

Dar Rapid Transit System

Me like.

sasa how will they access the estates or unashuka then go look for a boda or tuk for that last mile.
Alba
#551 Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2016 6:01:15 PM

Forget Tanzania, they are not tribal voters.

In Kenya we have chosen to vote on tribal basis. So politicians don't feel obligated to solve issues like service delivery traffic or corruption. The key to getting elected is to form tribal blocs. Service delivery is not important to Kenyan voters.

You come to wazua to complain about traffic. Then in 2017 you vote on tribal basis instead of issue based voting. Five years from now you will be complaining even more about traffic because the city is only becoming more crowded. By 2018 the population will reach 5 million.

Either Kenyans start becoming more issue oriented voters and get some improved infrastructure. Or we continue to emphasize tribal voting and get worsening infrastructure.

PS Nairobi's infrastructure problems require intervention from the national government. The City leadership is incompetent. But even they alone cannot solve it. Issues like the grabbing of land on road reserves need to be addressed.
#552 Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2016 6:24:11 PM

Alba wrote:

In Kenya we have chosen to vote on tribal basis. So politicians don't feel obligated to solve issues like service delivery traffic or corruption. The key to getting elected is to form tribal blocs. Service delivery is not important to Kenyan voters.

You come to wazua to complain about traffic. Then in 2017 you vote on tribal basis instead of issue based voting. Five years from now you will be complaining even more about traffic because the city is only becoming more crowded. By 2018 the population will reach 5 million.

Either Kenyans start becoming more issue oriented voters and get some improved infrastructure. Or we continue to emphasize tribal voting and get worsening infrastructure.

PS Nairobi's infrastructure problems require intervention from the national government. The City leadership is incompetent. But even they alone cannot solve it. Issues like the grabbing of land on road reserves need to be addressed.

In 2013 we tribally voted for a luo as governor and now you can see the mess we nairobians are in.
Alba
#553 Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2016 6:32:43 PM

In 2013 we tribally voted for a luo as governor and now you can see the mess we nairobians are in.

First off I think Kidero was voted not on tribal basis but because he was a corporate CEO and people thought his corporate leadership skills would fix the mess that is Nairobi.

The good news is that it is unlikely that Kidero will be re-elected. I am not even sure he will try. So at least there is no sycophancy around Kidero. He has no sycophantic followers Either he performs or he is gone.

However You are naive if you think he alone can solve Nairobi's problems. As I posited above, the problems are so complex and so myriad that a governor cannot solve them.

Also it is the height of nonsense to expect a governor to solve in 3 years problems that have taken 50 years to create.

Part of the reason we are in this mess is that for 50 years, we as Kenyans have voted in land grabbers. We vote land grabbers in because tribal affiliation is most important to us as Kenyans.

Along with their cohorts they have grabbed land that was set aside for roads expansion, fire stations, police stations, housing, sewers, drainage, refuse processing etc etc. Now there is nowhere to expand such facilities. And even if there was land available, our leaders do not feel obligated to improve infrastructure.

We are now paying for 50 years of tribal voting yet we still haven't learned a lesson. We are still intent on making the same mistakes in 2017. We deserve what we get.

I say this as a person who does'nt even live in Nairobi yet each time I visit I marvel at the mess that city has become.

No wonder Moi said Mwafrigha Bhure ghabisa
#554 Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2016 7:02:35 PM

Alba wrote:

In 2013 we didn't vote for a luo, we didn't want that stone throwing person. That was the real issue. Woe unto us we get another chokora running.
UpcomingPaperChaser
#555 Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2016 7:16:00 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
geofreygachie wrote:

Dar Rapid Transit System

Me like.

sasa how will they access the estates or unashuka then go look for a boda or tuk for that last mile.

Wenzetu wako down, but hapa wametunyosha kumi bila.......... that system would efficiently work in Nairobi but if slighlty expanded such that the Rapid Transit lanes accommodate 4 lanes............... am sure 120 buses would be enough to ease the nairobi traffic.....and the buses are very long, and allows for standing passengers, so per trip, it can accommodate more than 130 passengers....
Enjoy every moment of your life, you never know when your time will come.
githundi
#556 Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2016 7:30:33 PM

Alba wrote:

In 2013 we didn't vote for a luo, we didn't want that stone throwing baboon. That was the real issue. Woe unto us we get another primate running.

Is it possible to debate without use of abusive language. .If this came from a Mzungu it would be considered racist. ..mwafrika ajiheshimu kwanza ili aheshimiwe. .such language is retrogressive. .
Democracy does not belong to the dead
sanity
#557 Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2016 7:59:37 PM

Apart from the poor planning,corruption et al ,Nairobi issue with drainage started in 1902 when the colonial government identified the location.In a different forum,a letter to the then Colonial Governor from Public health official was revealed(it can be found at the archives)So the Long term solution for Nairobi's Drainage problem is simply identify another location and start building a new city.Otherwise its now 114 years since the drainage song began...
Hope is not a strategy
#558 Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2016 8:01:35 PM

githundi wrote:

Is it possible to debate without use of abusive language. .If this came from a Mzungu it would be considered racist. ..mwafrika ajiheshimu kwanza ili aheshimiwe. .such language is retrogressive. .

My sincere apologies. But I hope the gist was not lost.
#559 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2016 6:41:24 AM

sanity wrote:
Apart from the poor planning,corruption et al ,Nairobi issue with drainage started in 1902 when the colonial government identified the location.In a different forum,a letter to the then Colonial Governor from Public health official was revealed(it can be found at the archives)So the Long term solution for Nairobi's Drainage problem is simply identify another location and start building a new city.Otherwise its now 114 years since the drainage song began...

I saw an article on this. think it was by blogger owaah

The Brits wanted to move the city northwards but the railway guys blocked it. Rail transport was a key determinant of urban growth
#560 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2016 6:43:55 AM

sanity wrote:

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

One has to look at the 1902 letter written by Sadler and which said in part: “Doctors are unanimous in condemning this site. They pointed out that it was a depression with a very thin layer of soil and the decomposition of animal matter was abnormally slow. It should be removed”.