The biggest scandal of our times. Private state funeral. RIP mama Lucy.

A grandmother who went to be with the Lord days ago. Na bado munafuatafuata yeye. What the hell do you people want? You can gate crash the funeral if that is what will make you happy.

Your friend @mawinder has been on this thread 24/7, celebrating. #RottenVultures

Users browsing this topic
Guest, hardwood, mawinder

Ethiteri wrote:

As a former First lady she is entitled and deserves a state funeral.However because she will not be buried at Heros Corner the family takes over the last leg and it becomes a private family affair.

Machungu ni ya nini?

Even Former Prime Minister is entitled to one when he goes back to his maker.Relax and swallow the bitterness before it chokes you.

You guys didn't see my point, did anybody view the body? Wakenya wanacheswanga!!!!....or tomorrow?

I have absolutely no problem with the state funeral, I have with hiding the truth. I hope I'm proven wrong, I will apologize. If you attend and see her, please report back. Otherwise many of you might not know why Mweiga home is deserted!!!!

So you are saying that she died a long time ago and was secretly buried at mweiga?

Was there viewing of the body today?

Waiting for the feedback!!!

What happened when you were gone. You suddenly became very petty. Why is viewing here body that 'personal' to you?

@Washiku wacha feelings and answer the question!
#142 Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2016 6:32:00 PM

A grandmother who went to be with the Lord days ago. Na bado munafuatafuata yeye. What the hell do you people want? You can gate crash the funeral if that is what will make you happy.

Your friend @mawinder has been on this thread 24/7, celebrating. #RottenVultures

Users browsing this topic
Guest, hardwood, mawinder

Ethiteri wrote:

As a former First lady she is entitled and deserves a state funeral.However because she will not be buried at Heros Corner the family takes over the last leg and it becomes a private family affair.

Machungu ni ya nini?

Even Former Prime Minister is entitled to one when he goes back to his maker.Relax and swallow the bitterness before it chokes you.

You guys didn't see my point, did anybody view the body? Wakenya wanacheswanga!!!!....or tomorrow?

I have absolutely no problem with the state funeral, I have with hiding the truth. I hope I'm proven wrong, I will apologize. If you attend and see her, please report back. Otherwise many of you might not know why Mweiga home is deserted!!!!

So you are saying that she died a long time ago and was secretly buried at mweiga?

Was there viewing of the body today?

Waiting for the feedback!!!

What happened when you were gone. You suddenly became very petty. Why is viewing here body that 'personal' to you?

@Washiku wacha feelings and answer the question!

You people can go to lee and demand to view the body. Then your hearts can rest in peace.
githundi
#143 Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2016 7:01:20 PM

Allow me to digress here...millions of taxpayer's money from the have nots like me are being used by the haves for a burial. I am especially saddened as this culture of state funerals is taking root in this country. At the risk of cultural sensitivities. .I want say that this is absolute abuse of our African values as the haves feel nobody will ask them questions as it concerns the bereaved. . Think about it..Where is this provided for in the constitution?..who is supposed to be given the so called state burial?. Please allow me to repudiate the line of thought that akina Fidel and Lucy had done much for the country. .I say this and I shall repeat again..They were more than compensated for what they did through renumeration and other benefits some of us can only dream of...
What happens to have nots. ..I am expected to dip into poverty and take care of my kin burial ...We are constantly doing mchango from the have nots to give our kins a decent send off..

Kenya has enough resources for sustainable development . .but we have to get our priorities right. .
A State burial like this is a day light robbery on the have nots; an abuse of power.
Democracy does not belong to the dead
githundi
#144 Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2016 7:06:31 PM

Can Kibaki afford such a burial? Of course he can..He is a billionaire. .only a third world country like Kenya uses taxpayer's money to bury its elite. ..
#145 Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2016 7:11:05 PM

githundi wrote:
Allow me to digress here...millions of taxpayer's money from the have nots like me are being used by the haves for a burial. I am especially saddened as this culture of state funerals is taking root in this country. At the risk of cultural sensitivities. .I want say that this is absolute abuse of our African values as the haves feel nobody will ask them questions as it concerns the bereaved. . Think about it..Where is this provided for in the constitution?..who is supposed to be given the so called state burial?. Please allow me to repudiate the line of thought that akina Fidel and Lucy had done much for the country. .I say this and I shall repeat again..They were more than compensated for what they did through renumeration and other benefits some of us can only dream of...
What happens to have nots. ..I am expected to dip into poverty and take care of my kin burial ...We are constantly doing mchango from the have nots to give our kins a decent send off..

Kenya has enough resources for sustainable development . .but we have to get our priorities right. .
A State burial like this is a day light robbery on the have nots; an abuse of power.

Nothing to worry about. Kibaki's medical cover as former head of state covers hospitalization locally and abroad and also a "fitting" burial of him, spouse and dependents. Also when the better half of a former president, who is entitled to a state burial, dies the least we can do is give his half a state burial. Coz half of the presidency has died. President and first lady are one.
urstill1
#146 Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2016 7:20:31 PM

There may be a scandal in this death. Not money scandal. Personally, things don't add up. State burial yet no one has publicly viewed the body. People viewed Jomo's, Wamalwa's, Fidel's... and not this one!!! It may have happened long time ago, maybe. As a tax payer, I'm not convinced that things are the way we are being shown and told by first and former first families. Just my feeling and my thoughts.
#147 Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2016 7:20:52 PM

githundi wrote:

macabbages needed here to remind us that taxpayers sio nyinyi maskini peke yenu

we are not spending on Lucy's burial coz she's rich but because she's a former first lady
#148 Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2016 7:31:14 PM

urstill1 wrote:
There may be a scandal in this death. Not money scandal. Personally, things don't add up. State burial yet no one has publicly viewed the body. People viewed Jomo's, Wamalwa's, Fidel's... and not this one!!! It may have happened long time ago, maybe. As a tax payer, I'm not convinced that things are the way we are being shown and told by first and former first families. Just my feeling and my thoughts.

Wait....guys are serious! It may come as a surprise to many of you that first and foremost, not all cultures have a "viewing" of the body, similarly some cultures have a "wake" where the body is in an open casket for viewing before burial. That said, Mama Lucy had been ailing for more than a year now which in turn means her physical body does not resemble the lady in the pictures you see and so the family may have decided best not to have her viewed in that state.

Anyway who cares if people believe or not. RIP Mama Lucy Kibaki.

githundi
#149 Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2016 7:41:58 PM

githundi wrote:

macabbages needed here to remind us that taxpayers sio nyinyi maskini peke yenu

we are not spending on Lucy's burial coz she's rich but because she's a former first lady

Which law of this land shows that she is entitled to a state burial?
The simple question is if they can afford, ( bona wadoee?)..why dip their fingers into our taxes?
No wonder the poor can only get poorer. .
One of the greatest challenges towards economic emancipation of a people is that the most of the oppressed are ussualy a party to their oppression.
#150 Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2016 7:55:41 PM

urstill1 wrote:

these are what we call minor issues. who cares when she died? Thing is we are burying her now and everyone accepts she passed on. Planes crash at sea, bodies never recovered yet funerals are held by their loved ones.
#151 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2016 10:15:08 AM

Waaah!!!Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad
#152 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2016 10:29:58 AM

A 82yr old grandmother dies due to old age (age related complications) and some people can't get any sleep, they can't let the old lady rest in peace. Mara they complained when she was taken to hospital. They complained when she died. Now they are complaining and demanding that they want to see the body. They are even complaining about how she will be buried. What the hell is wrong with people?
#153 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2016 1:51:58 PM

1) The only scandal would be "if she is alive!!" if she is dead sioni shida ni nini!! When she died is immaterial

2) I am not sure who has the discretion to direct that certain individuals get state burials and why others should not. it's not a constitutional matter (cos the constitution is not the only law of the land). Sidhani pesa hiyo ya state funeral makes a world of a difference - how many people have been buried by the state? how much in total has that been? Kenya ingekuwa "mdosi" zaidi if they had not been buried using state resources? if you have beef with the discretionally manner state funerals are dished out - tafuta hiyo sheria ukikosa enda kwa Mutunga! by the way many states bury their prominent people. Si tulizika Wangari juzi? I agree with you - the metric that determines what should not be discretionally but in law and for that... ongea na MP wako apeleke motion parliament.

3) Kibaki is a billionaire and the reason people become billionaires is not because they love to spend! nope... if you went to lunch with him I am sure he would either do 3 things... a) let you pay b) go dutch c) pay coz he has figured out a way to milk you of this cash later! If the state steps up - he will not touch a shilling to bury kalucy! After all as @Lolest has alluded to... MALI YA UMMA SIO MALI YA MASKINI! NI YA UMMA and he is part of that "UMMA"
#154 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2016 2:12:16 PM

urstill1 wrote:

SMH. So what is the scandal? Is there a chance that if people view the body she might wake up?
#155 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2016 4:29:19 PM

1) The only scandal would be "if she is alive!!" if she is dead sioni shida ni nini!! When she died is immaterial

2) I am not sure who has the discretion to direct that certain individuals get state burials and why others should not. it's not a constitutional matter (cos the constitution is not the only law of the land). Sidhani pesa hiyo ya state funeral makes a world of a difference - how many people have been buried by the state? how much in total has that been? Kenya ingekuwa "mdosi" zaidi if they had not been buried using state resources? if you have beef with the discretionally manner state funerals are dished out - tafuta hiyo sheria ukikosa enda kwa Mutunga! by the way many states bury their prominent people. Si tulizika Wangari juzi? I agree with you - the metric that determines what should not be discretionally but in law and for that... ongea na MP wako apeleke motion parliament.

3) Kibaki is a billionaire and the reason people become billionaires is not because they love to spend! nope... if you went to lunch with him I am sure he would either do 3 things... a) let you pay b) go dutch c) pay coz he has figured out a way to milk you of this cash later! If the state steps up - he will not touch a shilling to bury kalucy! After all as @Lolest has alluded to... MALI YA UMMA SIO MALI YA MASKINI! NI YA UMMA and he is part of that "UMMA"

Or "if she was never born/lived".

But, Is the issue/argument/scandal that she is dead,alive or somebody is trying to steal public money using Lucy's death/non existence?
#156 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2016 5:05:58 PM

urstill1 wrote:

SMH. So what is the scandal? Is there a chance that if people view the body she might wake up?

#157 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2016 5:27:00 PM

technically "state" burials or burials of any sort do not add value to the deceased!!! hizi ni vitu munajifanyia... nyinyi ambao mumebaki! mkitaka kunitupa nikulwe na mbwa or munichome ni baki majivu ama nitupwe kwa ocean - ni shauri yenu na watu wetu... I am gone... cold...dead...story za burial ni story za wanaoishi... Kwa ufupi the question "DOES LUCY DESERVE A STATE BURIAL" is pointless - the larger question is "DO WE THINK LUCY OCCUPIED A PLACE/STATUS IN OUR LIVES THAT WE CHOOSE TO HONOUR HER FAMILY WITH A STATE BURIAL"
githundi
#158 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2016 5:55:09 PM

Here comes the other issue. .we tend to misuse public resources because of just that, that ni Mali ya Umma. It's is not a surprise when people don't care when the same is misused or stolen. .think about it. .the small public money misused here and there when put together can make a difference to the lives of many Kenyans...This also is one of the main reasons that Kenyans abet corruption. .With the thieves asking. .nimeiba kitu yako?..The so called small money when put together and used prudently means a more equitable society , better health care,better social and infrastructural benefits for all us; for the public good.
#159 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2016 5:57:54 PM

urstill1 wrote:

In some cultures death is associated with a lot of rituals e.g. Tero buru, running around the coffin, wailing around an open casket, feasting, caning the dead etc. So when some people see the "quiet" surrounding this case, they can't believe what's happening or that someone has actually died. It's a culture clash. The way things are done in western and nyanza isn't the same way they are done in central. We should understand "those people".
urstill1
#160 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2016 6:04:33 PM

Mnanibamba. A poor third world country, that's what we are.