wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

Please allow Pan Paper Mills to die
#1 Posted : Thursday, October 07, 2010 12:45:57 PM

.....i sincerely feel we should be doing the final rites for Pan Paper Mills.....the machines are old and dilapidated...for the short stint that it was in operation before closure this week, the paper produced could not be sold because the company does not have a bank account!!!

.....the Plant is ineffecient and is unlikely to compete effectively even if it were to be revived again...

....the company is technically insolvent with huge debts owed to KCB and other financiers billions of shillings...Pray Pray Pray Pray

Toxicity
#2 Posted : Sunday, October 10, 2010 1:52:48 AM

as much as the company has so much debts owned to kcb and the like....you should visit the small town of webuye..this was the main employer in the town...so clossing it down is really messing up the town.. i cant even collect my kidogo rent from my tenants there as they were all employees of the pan paper mills.....isifungwe jameni!!!
update president set president = speaker where president is null
#3 Posted : Sunday, October 10, 2010 12:05:22 PM

@Toxicity,
During my younger days,i used to pass by Half London and Park Villa.Most recent when i passed by on my way to Kapsokwony,i visited Park Villa.Jeez!!!.....I was really shocked....but again,if Vinii says the company is technically insolvent,there is no need to throw good money after bad.Leaders from this region should come up with a way of rejuvenating the town without reviving the toxic factory.How about moving part of Kabianga,Kibabii,Sang'alo and Masinde Muliro university colleges into the town?
PKoli
#4 Posted : Sunday, October 10, 2010 12:14:51 PM

Interesting ideas, Njung'e. There is potential power from Webuye falls. A 30 MW plant could provide employment during construction and some bit of activity during operation.
#5 Posted : Sunday, October 10, 2010 12:31:35 PM

@Pkoli,
Great idea too,although a 30MW plant would mean relocating people around Chetambe hills to create room for a reservoir dam.....but 5-8Mw is possible without the need for a reservoir.
kimanimsc
#6 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2016 1:05:30 PM

#7 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2016 1:15:19 PM

kimanimsc wrote:
http://www.nation.co.ke/news/Uhuru-announces-Sh6bn-plan-revive-Pan-Paper/-/1056/3180014/-/p5uy3yz/-/index.html

Hii ni kutenga tu, no actual money has been released.

KUTENGA!

#8 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2016 1:35:47 PM

kimanimsc wrote:
http://www.nation.co.ke/news/Uhuru-announces-Sh6bn-plan-revive-Pan-Paper/-/1056/3180014/-/p5uy3yz/-/index.html

KUTENGA!

We tax payers are tired of propping up these factories sijui mumias, panpaper. They should be left to die a natural death if they can't sustain themselves.
#9 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2016 1:43:04 PM

kimanimsc wrote:

KUTENGA!

We tax payers are tired of propping up these factories sijui mumias, panpaper. They should be left to die a natural death if they can't sustain themselves.

Nobody in Jubilee gaament is proping them up, ni kutenga tu wanatenga "pesa".
Take this to #Sidian.

#10 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2016 3:06:11 PM

kimanimsc wrote:

The strategic investor must be that group fronted by those wahindis/Kalasingas with investments in Top Fry, Kabras Sugar and I think Raiply. The Kenyatta family happens to have significant investment/shareholding in this Group.

Those guys have very good understanding of Western Kenya. Glad its local investors involved in the venture as they know what it will take.

PS, For those in the know, how much land do you think we are talking about here. smart movesmile smile
#11 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2016 3:20:53 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
kimanimsc wrote:

The strategic investor must be that group fronted by those wahindis/Kalasingas with investments in Top Fry, Kabras Sugar and I think Raiply. The Kenyatta family happens to have significant investment/shareholding in this Group.

Those guys have very good understanding of Western Kenya. Glad its local investors involved in the venture as they know what it will take.

PS, For those in the know, how much land do you think we are talking about here. smart movesmile smile

I hope we'll have a leak of these ongoings in the next anon data dump
#12 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2016 4:34:02 PM

I have always found it curious how the state flogs dead horses and creates the facade of employment. Sending good money after bad money!

The tribal wisdom of the Dakota Indians, passed on from one generation to the next, says that when you discover you are riding a dead horse, the best strategy is to dismount.
However, in Kenya, we chose to regard obvious things and:

Buying a stronger whip.
Changing riders.
Threatening the horse with termination.
Appointing a committee to study the horse.
Arranging to visit other sites/countries to see how they ride dead horses.
Lowering the standards so that dead horses can be included.
Appointing an intervention team to re-animate the dead horse.
Creating a training session to increase the rider's load share.
Re-classifying the dead horse as living-impaired.
Changing the form so that it reads: "This horse is not dead."
Hiring outside contractors to ride the dead horse.
Harnessing several dead horses together for increased speed.
Donating the dead horse to a recognized charity, thereby deducting its full original cost.
Providing additional funding to increase the horse's performance.
Doing a time management study to see if the lighter riders would improve productivity.
Declaring that as the dead horse does not have to be fed, it is less costly and therefore contributes substantially more to the bottom line of the economy than do some other live horses.
Purchasing an after-market product to make dead horses run faster.
Declaring that a dead horse has lower overhead and therefore has a better price/performance factor.
Forming a quality focus group to find profitable uses for dead horses.
Rewriting the expected performance requirements for horses.
** Promoting the dead horse to a supervisory position. **
Applying for a government subsidy to retrain dead horses.
Starting a campaign to deregulate the use of dead horses because regulation interferes with innovation and efficiency.
Declaring the work of dead horses as essential for national security thus making it illegal for dead horses to go on strike.
#13 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2016 4:45:27 PM

I have always found it curious how the state flogs dead horses and creates the facade of employment. Sending good money after bad money!

The tribal wisdom of the Dakota Indians, passed on from one generation to the next, says that when you discover you are riding a dead horse, the best strategy is to dismount.
However, in Kenya, we chose to regard obvious things and:

Buying a stronger whip.
Changing riders.
Threatening the horse with termination.
Appointing a committee to study the horse.
Arranging to visit other sites/countries to see how they ride dead horses.
Lowering the standards so that dead horses can be included.
Appointing an intervention team to re-animate the dead horse.
Creating a training session to increase the rider's load share.
Re-classifying the dead horse as living-impaired.
Changing the form so that it reads: "This horse is not dead."
Hiring outside contractors to ride the dead horse.
Harnessing several dead horses together for increased speed.
Donating the dead horse to a recognized charity, thereby deducting its full original cost.
Providing additional funding to increase the horse's performance.
Doing a time management study to see if the lighter riders would improve productivity.
Declaring that as the dead horse does not have to be fed, it is less costly and therefore contributes substantially more to the bottom line of the economy than do some other live horses.
Purchasing an after-market product to make dead horses run faster.
Declaring that a dead horse has lower overhead and therefore has a better price/performance factor.
Forming a quality focus group to find profitable uses for dead horses.
Rewriting the expected performance requirements for horses.
** Promoting the dead horse to a supervisory position. **
Applying for a government subsidy to retrain dead horses.
Starting a campaign to deregulate the use of dead horses because regulation interferes with innovation and efficiency.
Declaring the work of dead horses as essential for national security thus making it illegal for dead horses to go on strike.

Saw this somewhere online, the red statement kills meLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

In this instance, the reviving is being done by a private company and not the state, the investors bought it for Kes 900 Million.

I hope they acquired it procedurally coz as soon as they turn it around, politicians and civil society will come out screaming about how it was acquired.
#14 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2016 7:21:59 PM

majimaji
#15 Posted : Friday, April 29, 2016 9:45:55 AM

Really? Is the Investor from India or Lilliput?
#16 Posted : Thursday, April 04, 2019 6:40:09 PM

They have totally failed to rise up to the occassion. Surely should Kenyans be wondering what kind of paper they should use while shopping?