wazua Mon, Dec 23, 2024

45 Pages«<3738394041>»
Is Taking a Mortgage the WORST Decision Ever??
limanika
#761 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2015 6:07:59 AM

Xymalos wrote:
popat wrote:
I speak out of experience.I did a flat along Thika road sometimes before the highway was done.Thats was sometimes back in 2009.It was my first project and I was really excited.I use to get offers of land along the highway and the Eastern bypass,that I could readily afford with the money's I was using constructing.Fast forward 2013.The house was done guaranting me passive 250k p.m.but I can assure today I wish I bought land with all the 15m I used.id be worth more than 400m going by the value of the land I dissed those days. I would be doing same house from sales proceeds and believe you me I'd be having four or more flats of what I have now.Any young man shud invest in premium lands and not rush into building.My two cents

With kids grown up and out of house, I am considering selling my maisonette in a quarter (1/4) acre piece of land that can fetch 15 million and sell some plots to construct a flat/apartment complex in a good neighbourhood that can give me a passive income of at least 300K/month. I am happy living in the Penthouse. This income would give me financial freedom and liberate me from 8-5 job, thereby enjoy life more abundantly - maybe just travel, enjoy hobbies etc. Your thoughts - is this a wise idea or bad idea? Any downsides?

By current rates, to make 300k pm from rental you need to spend upwards of 30m. Unless you are versed with nitty gritties of construction A-Z and king of cost saving like the proverbial Pablo. My 2 cents.
Xymalos
#762 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2015 7:40:30 AM

limanika wrote:
Xymalos wrote:
popat wrote:
I speak out of experience.I did a flat along Thika road sometimes before the highway was done.Thats was sometimes back in 2009.It was my first project and I was really excited.I use to get offers of land along the highway and the Eastern bypass,that I could readily afford with the money's I was using constructing.Fast forward 2013.The house was done guaranting me passive 250k p.m.but I can assure today I wish I bought land with all the 15m I used.id be worth more than 400m going by the value of the land I dissed those days. I would be doing same house from sales proceeds and believe you me I'd be having four or more flats of what I have now.Any young man shud invest in premium lands and not rush into building.My two cents

With kids grown up and out of house, I am considering selling my maisonette in a quarter (1/4) acre piece of land that can fetch 15 million and sell some plots to construct a flat/apartment complex in a good neighbourhood that can give me a passive income of at least 300K/month. I am happy living in the Penthouse. This income would give me financial freedom and liberate me from 8-5 job, thereby enjoy life more abundantly - maybe just travel, enjoy hobbies etc. Your thoughts - is this a wise idea or bad idea? Any downsides?

By current rates, to make 300k pm from rental you need to spend upwards of 30m. Unless you are versed with nitty gritties of construction A-Z and king of cost saving like the proverbial Pablo. My 2 cents.

Limanika - I have limited experience in construction and believe in letting professionals (architects, engineers, QS etc) do the job. You are right, 30m+ will be the cost; I have glanced at Institute of Quantity Surveys construction guide posted at this --link-- and can roughly estimate the cost to be 30m+ based on overall square meters. By retiring from 8-5 job, I hope to withdraw my retirement savings to go towards construction. I am determined to avoid construction loans due to their unpredictable variable interest rates.
limanika
#763 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2015 8:44:25 AM

Ok xyma, all the best. When done with project you could buy some land in outskirts and do some farming, just to keep you busy.
Pesa Nane
#764 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2015 9:06:43 AM

Xymalos wrote:

caveat
I have a running court case since 2009.. Nikiskia Kitengela (replace with "land") ndio BP inapanda
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
mulla
#765 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2015 6:48:54 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Xymalos wrote:

caveat
I have a running court case since 2009.. Nikiskia Kitengela (replace with "land") ndio BP inapanda

@obiero...what happened in Kitengela? multiple ownership and fake title deeds??
#766 Posted : Monday, April 25, 2016 1:52:53 PM

Unaffordable mortgages. Only 22,000 mortgages in the country!

And these are mostly people putting up commercial buildings - malls, offices etc. - and can charge a premium to afford the loan repayments!!!
#767 Posted : Monday, April 25, 2016 2:21:20 PM

And these are mostly people putting up commercial buildings - malls, offices etc. - and can charge a premium to afford the loan repayments!!!

According to a report by real estate and investment firm Cytonn, apartments can only be affordable to the mass market at 8 per cent with detached houses at 3 per cent

Even the government does;nt borrow at those rates and the yields from T-bills and bonds is way above that; so why would banks give you a mortagage at 3% when they can buy t-bills and bonds at 10%+?

They should have asked government to use the monetary policies to manage interest rates
#768 Posted : Monday, April 25, 2016 2:27:44 PM

In mayuu countries Mogej rates are at 3 to 6%...hii yetu ya 23% and variable cant make it.

#769 Posted : Monday, April 25, 2016 2:40:59 PM

I will begin by saying that this is one of the super threads on this forum even surpassing the KQ thread.

I can reliably claim that the dreaded property burst is here with us. I can say that reliably because I have personally gone through a property burst and the data coming in is evident and the gimmicks now being applied by land selling companies.

According to a story I read recently there shall be 25 more high rise properties coming up in Nairobi in the next 5 years. However, the current high rises in Westlands, Upper Hill, City Centre remain unoccupied. If you don't believe me, step out of your car and walk. Don't read Cynton or Hass Consult reports, just take a walk.

The financing of properties in Kenya is just ridiculous to say the truth. It is easier to buy a kashamba in Florida and Kent UK than it is to buy a kabroti in Maili Sita.

That's why you should not be awed by someone who has an apartment in Lowell Ma, the fellow is only paying about 70k a month for a his mortgage. In Kenya, that is not rent in South C. Tafakari hayo.

Of course someone shall say that Kenya is not USA. I'll tell him that property is property.

If there is poor financing in property, then prices shall and must take a tumble. That is economics 101 and not patritism.

But it is time this happened. Too much land in Kenya is bought through illegal means. Fake titles, fake acquisitions, fake money enve the owners are called private developers.

Why do I say that it is happening now?

As I said, take a walk around. See how many tubrotis are up for grabs. Of course the developers cannot reduce the pricing since they have to pay the loans. But it is happening as we speak.

I have friends with land around Kikuyu, Thika road etc that people are just looking at and then saying "we shall come tommorow".

Property bursts are not reported in the newspapers. If they are, it is too late.

#770 Posted : Monday, April 25, 2016 2:47:14 PM

I will begin by saying that this is one of the super threads on this forum even surpassing the KQ thread.

I can reliably claim that the dreaded property burst is here with us. I can say that reliably because I have personally gone through a property burst and the data coming in is evident and the gimmicks now being applied by land selling companies.

According to a story I read recently there shall be 25 more high rise properties coming up in Nairobi in the next 5 years. However, the current high rises in Westlands, Upper Hill, City Centre remain unoccupied. If you don't believe me, step out of your car and walk. Don't read Cynton or Hass Consult reports, just take a walk.

The financing of properties in Kenya is just ridiculous to say the truth. It is easier to buy a kashamba in Florida and Kent UK than it is to buy a kabroti in Maili Sita.

That's why you should not be awed by someone who has an apartment in Lowell Ma, the fellow is only paying about 70k a month for a his mortgage. In Kenya, that is not rent in South C. Tafakari hayo.

Of course someone shall say that Kenya is not USA. I'll tell him that property is property.

If there is poor financing in property, then prices shall and must take a tumble. That is economics 101 and not patritism.

But it is time this happened. Too much land in Kenya is bought through illegal means. Fake titles, fake acquisitions, fake money enve the owners are called private developers.

Why do I say that it is happening now?

As I said, take a walk around. See how many tubrotis are up for grabs. Of course the developers cannot reduce the pricing since they have to pay the loans. But it is happening as we speak.

I have friends with land around Kikuyu, Thika road etc that people are just looking at and then saying "we shall come tommorow".

Property bursts are not reported in the newspapers. If they are, it is too late.

Can one get to buy a house in distress at a bargain? Not a house in sokyimau or those estates with overpriced houses and plots without supporting infrastructure!
#771 Posted : Monday, April 25, 2016 2:58:00 PM

Swenani in normal economies buying and selling property in distress is what makes an economy thrive.

If I have a mortgage in Massachussets, I can agree to sell it at a lower price to someone else to ensure that at least my debt is covered. Even now just google auctioned properties and even you Swenani can participate.

But this is Kenya

So lets say exactly what happens. There are even court cases about this. I belive Muite had a huge case about this too.

I have a property valued at 10 million. My mortgage debt is 2 million. The godammed bank will not allow my to sell that property for 8 million. They ought to but they won't.

What they shall do is send goons at night to remove me. Then sell it at night in the interbank theiving moments to the director for 2million who then proceeds to sell it to his buddy at 2.5 million. A loss to the country of 7.5 million in value. If you think this tabia does not affect the country then go back to school.

There are auctions announced in the papers every day. Do yourself a favor and try and participate in one. You won't even be able to buy a kijiko.

Corruption has suddenly caught up with Kenyans and the bloodbath shall not be nice. you can't play around with math.

I'm shopping for deals in property. Not from the usual sijui "developers". Just shop quietly from locals, there are lot of deals out there. Especially with the cost of living increasing in fact but decreasing in paper.

Right now the number of empty rentals in Kikuyu town would surprise you. Increase rent by 1k and they leave. That's just a sign of the times ahead. Or just ask Home Afrika.

#772 Posted : Monday, April 25, 2016 5:19:13 PM

@Alma, so we can now keep the dollars ready to purchase at a very very discounted price?
#773 Posted : Monday, April 25, 2016 5:32:09 PM

@Alma, so we can now keep the dollars ready to purchase at a very very discounted price?

Yes, just as the stock market advise is to hold your cash, the property market is even sweeter. Don't look at price, look at value.

There's a town center somewhere where the owners have not been able to complete their multistorey building. We call that opportunity.

My view on the property market is that the way Kenya is setup, even when the bubble has burst, you shall still get uneducated and compromised journalists telling you how hot the market is.

Your best option is walk away from your car and actually go door to door. You shall be surprised.

Keep away from grandiose projects. The most grandiose project in Kenya was South C. When it rains, you have to move your furniture to the upper floors. Even worse, your water is mixed with the sewage.

That is not investing, that is taking unneccessary risks.

And as this topic says, keep away from these mortgages. Just don't and don't even listen to these banks. I have friends who borrow in the US for 3% and buy in Kenya. How the hell are you supposed to compete like that?

Discounts are there if you stop talking to brokers and "property experts".

#774 Posted : Monday, April 25, 2016 8:06:28 PM

Xymalos wrote:
limanika wrote:
Xymalos wrote:
popat wrote:

Limanika - I have limited experience in construction and believe in letting professionals (architects, engineers, QS etc) do the job. You are right, 30m+ will be the cost; I have glanced at Institute of Quantity Surveys construction guide posted at this --link-- and can roughly estimate the cost to be 30m+ based on overall square meters. By retiring from 8-5 job, I hope to withdraw my retirement savings to go towards construction. I am determined to avoid construction loans due to their unpredictable variable interest rates.

Swahib, I advice to try a small construction project first, just to understand it. Say a house in the village. Else you'll be taken to the cleaners. From what I've experienced in construction, you are better off being your own boss. The price for your ignorance and unwarranted trust, will cost you millions

#775 Posted : Tuesday, April 26, 2016 10:55:14 AM

In mayuu countries Mogej rates are at 3 to 6%...hii yetu ya 23% and variable cant make it.

Mark Zuckerberg got his mortgage at 1%. The rest of the Americans were getting theirs at between 2% and 4%.

Giving a whole new meaning to "the" 1%
#776 Posted : Tuesday, April 26, 2016 12:07:53 PM

http://www.businessdaily...0/-/xccbn3/-/index.html

The appetite for prime properties has defied the tough conditions, with most of the deals said to be cash- based.

“Only one per cent of houses are bought through mortgages,”
said Hass Consult head of research and marketing Sakina Hassanali at a recent press briefing.
#777 Posted : Tuesday, April 26, 2016 12:24:04 PM

http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Nairobi-luxury-home-prices-second-fastest-growing-in-Africa/-/539552/2949560/-/xccbn3/-/index.html

The appetite for prime properties has defied the tough conditions, with most of the deals said to be cash- based.

“Only one per cent of houses are bought through mortgages,”
said Hass Consult head of research and marketing Sakina Hassanali at a recent press briefing.

I always wonder why KRA has shortfall on tax collection!!!
kaifastus
#778 Posted : Tuesday, April 26, 2016 1:14:58 PM

Alma,A crash in housing markets is unlikely to occur now. The empty rentals you are seeing reveals a disconnect between supply of housing stock (buildings) versus demand for housing services (rent. this is normal and usually clears. (price changes and migration into or out. Again if kenyas housing market collapse,pple will not be laughing as they pick bargains..oo no. All sectors will be affected. Again more developed Urban areas like nairobi,Nakuru town Kisumu mombasa towns (commercial and residential rental properties) will be more resilient to any crash. Dont expect a billionaire who owns property in nairobi CBD to sell it at throw away prices! Study the US housing market crash once again as well as demand and supply of housing in Urban economics. You are going to wait for bargains all your lifetime!
UpcomingPaperChaser
#779 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2016 12:40:44 AM

There is an oversupply of office space in Nairobi, so lets say the bubble has already burst for office complex developments.
Enjoy every moment of your life, you never know when your time will come.
Rongla
#780 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2016 2:14:31 AM

Well there is probably an oversupply of certain types of properties and this does'nt necesarily mean the bubble has burst or will any time soon.In Kenya, there are very few mortgages and if the bubble was to burst, Only a certain percentage of the22,000 mortgagees will be affected and its impact wouldnt be that significant.

The factors that lead to the last property bubble burst in the west was mainly due to subprime mortgages, where people with bad credit rating, low income and could'nt afford mortgages repayments were given mortgages of more than 100% of the properties value (plus furnishing mpaka HD TVs na shopping thrown in for good measure) and the interest rates were very low, in most cases less than 3%. when the rates increase by just half % , shida ikaingia. Defaulters increased na 50%.

On the contrary, in Kenya you can only get upto 80% mortgage if you are lucky and the interest rates are incredibly high, meaning the banks go overdrive in due diligence before giving out mortgages

I mean no hard feelings to Boda boda guys, I know they work incredibly hard and they do a fantstic job. But can you imagine giving the whole lot mortgages at say 3%. Their income is fixed. An increase in interest rates will be a crisis. That's when the bubble will burst.

Price stagnation is what is happening and is likely to hang around for some time.Why is it so? Well almost Every wazuan, boda boda guys, mama mbogas, teachers etc literally all hustlers have a plot or several around Nairobi( I mean Kiambu Ruiru Kite etc). The same lot are waiting (hoarding) for the prices to go up so that they can sell some of the plots and build flats etc. What they dont know is most of their "potential" buyers are sellers too.

China has ghost cities built for millions of people. Have you heard of a bubble burst in china yet?