KFCB
¿
#1 Posted : Tuesday, April 19, 2016 5:42:37 PM

¿
#2 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 1:28:51 PM

#3 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 1:40:40 PM

I have always wondered what "family values" are!! where are they serialized? do we have some act of parliament? regulation? that dictate what "family values" are? if not... what do they use to determine whether an ad/program/video infringes on "family values"? which is this model family? is it Mutua's family? can someone tell me what "family values" are!
#4 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 2:33:37 PM

I have always wondered what "family values" are!! where are they serialized? do we have some act of parliament? regulation? that dictate what "family values" are? if not... what do they use to determine whether an ad/program/video infringes on "family values"? which is this model family? is it Mutua's family? can someone tell me what "family values" are!

My argument has been been that values, morals, vices, ethics usually evolve.

In some kenyan communities it was immoral for a woman to cover her bread, it was against family values to marry one wife,it was moral to punish a woman by caning,it was moral to inherit a wife, it was ethical to kill over property and inherit airports etc.

KFCB has refused to evolve
¿
#5 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 2:38:51 PM

What's the difference between laws and "values"?
#6 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 2:45:09 PM

¿ wrote:

Values is what one considers to be good or bad; laws are rules set up by a society.

Laws can be against values and vice versa
mkeiy
#7 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 2:51:28 PM

From experience, my daughter asked me a disturbing question about the Coca Cola advert's "eroticism" i didn't know what to say to her.

Family values are where young children don't ask disturbing questions [for lack of better words or laziness].

@ masukuma, Does nudity/porn infringe on family values?

Who determines?

For me, the guy is doing a good job. Those adults who want adult content, pleaaaaaaaaaase, get the real deal.
¿
#8 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 2:54:52 PM

¿ wrote:

Values is what one considers to be good or bad; laws are rules set up by a society.

What's the relationship between laws and values?
#9 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 3:02:40 PM

¿ wrote:
¿ wrote:

What's the relationship between laws and values?

Laws are "supposed" to complement values not the other way round
#10 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 3:13:24 PM

They will on Wazua next looking for the pilots who discuss landings

LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL
#11 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 3:18:05 PM

@mkeiy
Don't shy away from parenting! So before you ask me if porn and nudity infringe on " family values" - kindly crystallise "family values" 1st - then we can determine if something is within our boundaries of "family values"! we forget that in this country there are families that share a single room.... parents and kids and when kids go to sleep... parents do things parents are supposed to do... in the same room. These are many families in the country. So let's first determine " family values" ni nini and where they are written. Once we are in agreement that we have them somewhere - a shared set, then we can determine what consitutes these values.
Anyone with Google can just type "Turkana girl" and bare chested individuals show up... is that nudity? or nudity ni kifua ya mzungu tu? Reminds me of this image!
mkeiy
#12 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 3:26:15 PM

mkeiy wrote:

From experience, my daughter asked me a disturbing question about the Coca Cola advert's "eroticism" i didn't know what to say to her.

Family values are where young children don't ask disturbing questions [for lack of better words or laziness].

@ masukuma, Does nudity/porn infringe on family values?

Who determines?

For me, the guy is doing a good job. Those adults who want adult content, pleaaaaaaaaaase, get the real deal.

@ masukuma, The dark blue part is my answer to your question about "family values" as per what Mutua and his team are doing.

Moving on, does nudity & porn infringe on family issues?
Yes , no or theory?
#13 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 3:27:23 PM

Totally agree with Masukuma

If you as a parent cannot tell your kids the meaning of erotism, the you are doing a diservice to them. They be shown by the makanga next door.

This board is not a parenting and morals board.

In fact I find some of their so called morals way beneath them. For example, taking selfies and bragging about how they are the only fellow in Business class while paid by my tax shillings.

This is the age of digital migration. We have remote controls. And if a coca cola ad can make these fellows shake in their knees, what say the top 10 most trafficked websites on mobile phones in Kenya. Most start with xx...

Ama now he shall become the internet police?

Just as that undermining law that disappeared yesterday, so too shall this one.

By the way, I'm saying that fully aware that there are some radio stations that are "naughty" but heck, I can change the godammed channel.

#14 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 3:55:32 PM

@mkeiy
Ukishindwa kulea watoto ufinye kila mtu? You are not your parents - they were lucky not to parent you on these things and you turned out ok... Wazazi tuwache kuDefer our parenting to others (this is also a note to self by the way). I remember once when Shaffie Weru and co were being asked about Radio and the content on it and they said... it's not the work of radio to parent children! those announcers are not your child's parent - do your job... Jibu hizo maswali... zinakuja kwa wingi... wacha za heterosexuality but rather za homosexuality so... prepare and stop using Mutua as a guard. Utakuta watoto wanaona vitu vingi sana so start parenting early coz what you have been doing is supplying!
kollabo
#15 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 4:20:53 PM

Mutua is doing a good job. Kudos!
#16 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 4:31:02 PM

kollabo wrote:
Alfred Mutua is doing a good job. Kudos!

Totally agree
mkeiy
#17 Posted : Thursday, April 21, 2016 8:41:43 AM

@mkeiy
Ukishindwa kulea watoto ufinye kila mtu? You are not your parents - they were lucky not to parent you on these things and you turned out ok... Wazazi tuwache kuDefer our parenting to others (this is also a note to self by the way). I remember once when Shaffie Weru and co were being asked about Radio and the content on it and they said... it's not the work of radio to parent children! those announcers are not your child's parent - do your job... Jibu hizo maswali... zinakuja kwa wingi... wacha za heterosexuality but rather za homosexuality so... prepare and stop using Mutua as a guard. Utakuta watoto wanaona vitu vingi sana so start parenting early coz what you have been doing is supplying!

@ masukuma. Nimeshindwa na kulea watoto wangu.

Now answer the question you've avoiding all along.

Does nudity/porn infringe on family values?
mkeiy
#18 Posted : Thursday, April 21, 2016 9:06:39 AM

If you as a parent cannot tell your kids the meaning of erotism, the you are doing a diservice to them. They be shown by the makanga next door.

In fact I find some of their so called morals way beneath them. For example, taking selfies and bragging about how they are the only fellow in Business class while paid by my tax shillings.

This is the age of digital migration. We have remote controls. And if a coca cola ad can make these fellows shake in their knees, what say the top 10 most trafficked websites on mobile phones in Kenya. Most start with xx...

By the way, I'm saying that fully aware that there are some radio stations that are "naughty" but heck, I can change the godammed channel.

@ Alma, You can change the damn channel, millions of Kenyans use public transport, how do you suppose they change theirs? Be mindful of other Kenyans. It is them/their kids who will school/play/work/socialize with your kids eventually. If those other kids will be "rotten" , tafakari.

What will makangas teach a four year old? There is right age to educate/sensitize children, appropriately.

"Watu wakikunywa hiyo soda wanafaa wafanye hivo"? That was the question my daughter asked me about that Coca Cola ad. Hebu mjibu niskie.

It is good as a parent to do your part.

But it is much better for all of us, to do their part responsibly, especially the media since you cannot be around your kids all the time.

Can someone tell me the harm in censorship?
#19 Posted : Thursday, April 21, 2016 11:31:43 AM

mkeiy wrote:

@ Alma, You can change the damn channel, millions of Kenyans use public transport, how do you suppose they change theirs? Be mindful of other Kenyans. It is them/their kids who will school/play/work/socialize with your kids eventually. If those other kids will be "rotten" , tafakari.

What will makangas teach a four year old? There is right age to educate/sensitize children, appropriately.

"Watu wakikunywa hiyo soda wanafaa wafanye hivo"? That was the question my daughter asked me about that Coca Cola ad. Hebu mjibu niskie.

But it is much better for all of us, to do their part responsibly, especially the media since you cannot be around your kids all the time.

Less revenue for the powers that be: 1. Media
2. Business corporations/entities.

This "freedom" cliche is just a way of capital ensuring control over consumers and entrenching consumerism.
#20 Posted : Thursday, April 21, 2016 11:36:30 AM

Rahatupu wrote:
mkeiy wrote:

Less revenue for the powers that be: 1. Media
2. Business corporations/entities.

This "freedom" cliche is just a way of capital ensuring control over consumers and entrenching consumerism.

Leading to unemployment of so many kenyans employed by media and advertising companies