Investor
Stocks
Kenya Power HY15 PAT Ksh. 3.8Bn
hisah wrote:KP tends to lose steam towards and during an election year. What's the connection? chief ,we accumulate or wait ,some got in during the rights
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,121 Location: Nairobi
instinct wrote:uwizi mingi Mob. And when the time comes for a proper audit of the assets... A lot will be missing. Poles, transformers, cables, meters, etc... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
mthaka wrote:hisah wrote:KP tends to lose steam towards and during an election year. What's the connection? chief ,we accumulate or wait ,some got in during the rights It depends on your investment goals. For now the pattern is bearish. Near term support at 10.00 zone. $15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Glad I got out at just a few cents sub 18. I'll be back only after change of management
Take aways -Share price down by over 34 percent over the last 52 weeks -Relatively cheap counter,trading at a trailing price to earnings multiple of 3.67 -Significant growth in number of customers from 1 million to 4.1 million in the last 5 years -Growing demand for power likely to boost revenues in the long term -However,there is possibility of reduced profitability in the medium term due to costly expansion plans
as advised by investment experts
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/21/2010 Posts: 6,183 Location: nairobi
mthaka wrote:KPLC pays dividends today,then we buy more to average down,i see us getting below kshs.10 soon 10.50 not bad,i started buying today downwards "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
As of Apr 09, 2016, the consensus forecast amongst 6 polled investment analysts covering Kenya Power and Lighting Company Ltd advises that the company will outperform the market. This has been the consensus forecast since the sentiment of investment analysts improved on Dec 15, 2015. The previous consensus forecast advised investors to hold their position in Kenya Power and Lighting Company Ltd. "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/25/2014 Posts: 2,300 Location: kenya
mlennyma wrote:As of Apr 09, 2016, the consensus forecast amongst 6 polled investment analysts covering Kenya Power and Lighting Company Ltd advises that the company will outperform the market. This has been the consensus forecast since the sentiment of investment analysts improved on Dec 15, 2015. The previous consensus forecast advised investors to hold their position in Kenya Power and Lighting Company Ltd. But it doesn't reflect on the share price value ama it's undervalued like the said kenyaRE
enyands wrote:mlennyma wrote:As of Apr 09, 2016, the consensus forecast amongst 6 polled investment analysts covering Kenya Power and Lighting Company Ltd advises that the company will outperform the market. This has been the consensus forecast since the sentiment of investment analysts improved on Dec 15, 2015. The previous consensus forecast advised investors to hold their position in Kenya Power and Lighting Company Ltd. But it doesn't reflect on the share price value ama it's undervalued like the said kenyaRE buy and forget, the next bull will take this stock to 25-30 kitu 2018 "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
mlennyma wrote:enyands wrote:mlennyma wrote:As of Apr 09, 2016, the consensus forecast amongst 6 polled investment analysts covering Kenya Power and Lighting Company Ltd advises that the company will outperform the market. This has been the consensus forecast since the sentiment of investment analysts improved on Dec 15, 2015. The previous consensus forecast advised investors to hold their position in Kenya Power and Lighting Company Ltd. But it doesn't reflect on the share price value ama it's undervalued like the said kenyaRE buy and forget, the next bull will take this stock to 25-30 kitu 2018 Surely mlennyma you want me to wait for two years ndio if I'm lucky my cash to double ? I'd rather play with your fav stock kk to earn that double in a year bwana . Don't Want to have a golden handcuffs
Trading at a PE sub 4. Really cheap stock. Just apprehensive about the govt influence. From KenRe, I can say KPLC might still be cheap even in 2018 and will still be recommended as a buy or hold.#my2cents
enyands wrote:mlennyma wrote:enyands wrote:mlennyma wrote:As of Apr 09, 2016, the consensus forecast amongst 6 polled investment analysts covering Kenya Power and Lighting Company Ltd advises that the company will outperform the market. This has been the consensus forecast since the sentiment of investment analysts improved on Dec 15, 2015. The previous consensus forecast advised investors to hold their position in Kenya Power and Lighting Company Ltd. But it doesn't reflect on the share price value ama it's undervalued like the said kenyaRE buy and forget, the next bull will take this stock to 25-30 kitu 2018 Surely mlennyma you want me to wait for two years ndio if I'm lucky my cash to double ? I'd rather play with your fav stock kk to earn that double in a year bwana . Don't Want to have a golden handcuffs i have just given you the maximum duration,, this can happen even this year or next year,right now kk is trading at a higher price than kplc ,although iam a kk die hard i know too well that kplc has more upward potential and its highly likely to double its price before kk does,watch this space meanwhile iam balancing this two energy stocks to 50/50 thank God their prices are at par "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
mlennyma wrote:enyands wrote:mlennyma wrote:enyands wrote:mlennyma wrote:As of Apr 09, 2016, the consensus forecast amongst 6 polled investment analysts covering Kenya Power and Lighting Company Ltd advises that the company will outperform the market. This has been the consensus forecast since the sentiment of investment analysts improved on Dec 15, 2015. The previous consensus forecast advised investors to hold their position in Kenya Power and Lighting Company Ltd. But it doesn't reflect on the share price value ama it's undervalued like the said kenyaRE buy and forget, the next bull will take this stock to 25-30 kitu 2018 Surely mlennyma you want me to wait for two years ndio if I'm lucky my cash to double ? I'd rather play with your fav stock kk to earn that double in a year bwana . Don't Want to have a golden handcuffs i have just given you the maximum duration,, this can happen even this year or next year,right now kk is trading at a higher price than kplc ,although iam a kk die hard i know too well that kplc has more upward potential and its highly likely to double its price before kk does,watch this space meanwhile iam balancing this two energy stocks to 50/50 thank God their prices are at par thanks for the tip
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 10,702 Location: NAIROBI
Unless Kenya power gives reasonable dividends its share price will continue suffering/be depressed. Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Ericsson wrote:Unless Kenya power gives reasonable dividends its share price will continue suffering/be depressed. at a price of 10.50 i think kpc is better of than many counters,you can say this when the share recovers upwards "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
Rank: Veteran Joined: 8/10/2014 Posts: 977 Location: Kenya
Ericsson wrote:Unless Kenya power gives reasonable dividends its share price will continue suffering/be depressed. That dividend isn't going up anytime soon. This is a capital intensive business esp with old infrastructure owned by Kenya Power
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/20/2015 Posts: 2,811 Location: Mombasa
watesh wrote:Ericsson wrote:Unless Kenya power gives reasonable dividends its share price will continue suffering/be depressed. That dividend isn't going up anytime soon. This is a capital intensive business esp with old infrastructure owned by Kenya Power There is unbecoming inclination of government owned firms to host I don't care attitude towards public interest as long as it is their turn to steal for those holding top positions. High dividend payout mtangoja sana ama sahau na hayo! John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
Rank: Member Joined: 1/1/2010 Posts: 511 Location: kandara, Murang'a
And stop giving measly interim dividends. Is someone on the take when they disburse these funds twice? ? Foresight..
are we likely to have hit the bottom at 10.50 today we are at 11.50
Investor
Stocks